Dear Consumers:
Most companies (ours included) do not normally respond to the often petty and misleading comments, that are occasionally posted abot them online. However, this comment is so false, dangerous, and misleading, that we feel compelled to respond.
The individual who wrote this posting is describing the most common type of internet money scam. Our website has nothng to do with such scams. Every classified website online (ours, Craigslist, the Boat Trader, etc) have been fighting the perpetrators of these money scams for years. In fact, on our websites "Boats for Sale" page, there is a specific warning to our boat sellers, to be on the lookout for such scammers.
Sellyourboatnow does not have or maintain ANY Gmail accounts. If you believe you know of a Gmail account that is associated with us, that attempted to defraud you (or anyone) as described in this posting, PLEASE contact the FBI and REPORT the matter to the authorities IMMEDIATELY! You also should contact Gmail, and have them find out who is behind the email account you allege to be involved.
After you file all of the reports, you will notice that Sellyourboatnow is still online and in business, with fully active PayPal accounts, placement on Google search, etc. The reason that we will remain in business after such reports are made, and investigations are complete, is because Sellyourboatnow has ABSOLUTELY NOTHING to do with what you describe is happening. Therefore we will suffer no consequences from the aforementioned reports and investigations.
Scammers visit every classified website online. Whether those sites sell boats, cars, or anything else. They collect the email addresses and other information associated with the sellers. And they contact those sellers offering complicated wire transfer type of payments. Anyone who's been around the internet for a while has heard of these things. Another more common form of the same scam is the "Nigerian check cashing scheme" that has been widely reported on over the years.
Sellyourboatnow has never employed a "Paul Smith", "John Jones", or anyone using similar "fictious names".
Like most companies that run a classifieds oriented business, we are very concerned for our customers safety. Scams like the one described have resulted in victims suffering significant monetary loss. We are as hopeful as you are that the individuals behind scams like the one described are caught and prosecuted, as quickly as possible. And we are proactive in trying to warn users of the web to avoid such scams. Thus, we have the posted warning right on our site site, alerting you to be on the lookout for such things.
In the future, we hope before you go forward and post patently false information (as this individual did)...You actually investigate whether or not the company you are accusing of being behind such a scam ACTUALLY is.
And again, if anyone reading this posting, believes they have been, or know of anyone who has been the victim of any scam as described, PLEASE CONTACT the FBI, ATTORNEY GENERAL, PAYPAL, GOOGLE, or LOCAL LAW ENFORCEMENT and have the criminals behind scams like the one described brought to justice. We will help you do so in any way that we can, if you contact us about such a situation.
Thank you for your time.
Neil B. - Sellyourboatnow.com