I received a mysterious charge on my credit card about a month ago in the amount of 9.95, from a company called KCSOFTLLC.com.
I never ordered anything from them or even heard of them. I tried to call them ((509) 461-1556), email them (support@kcsoftllc.com). No response for 2 weeks. Then I received a “pre-prepared” email response as shown below:
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
From: Maria Torina [postmaster@kcsoftllc.com]
To: (me)
KCsoftllc.com Customer Service greets you.
We received $9.95 charge claim from you. Thank you for timely letting us know about it.
The main industry our company produces is website templates - primary web pages with no content. Each item costs $9.95 so that your card was charged for the price of a template bought on our website.
Here I have to ask you if someone else except you has access to your card information ? If your card was charged and you don't have an idea who did it it may mean that somebody possess your card information and can use it. Please check it out.
As for the charge you reported it is removed. The refund will be stated in the account within three or four business days.
Also I advise you to call your bank and ask the bank people to issue another card for you. The reason is that there's no guarantee that the person having access to the CC information wouldn't use it again.
Some banking error is also possible.
Sincerely,
Maria Torina, KCsoftllc.com Customer Care
mailto:postmaster@kcsoftllc.com
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
As you can see it is quite vague... it doesn't mention the amount I referenced, my name etc…
I did receive the amount back on my credit card. But only after disputing it with my CC company and emailing/calling them.
They have no customer service, just an answering machine no matter what day or time you call. And their emails are all automatically generated (took 2 weeks for a response).
I sent them back a nasty email and there was no response from them except!!! They sent me another $9.95 back again. Its as if its automatic or they are saying “ok here's another $9.95 now shut up” Ok so that I wouldn't bother to take it further with them.
On top of all this on the FRONT PAGE of their website (http://www.kcsoftllc.com/) they have a link that says “What is KCSOFTLLC.com billing me for?” as if many people have a mysterious charge on their billing statements from them?? Why the hell would they need that unless that's exactly what they are doing.. if you click on this link it gives you first a warning that their ssl certifate is invalid, then if you accept it anyway… if gives you options and then asks you for your personal info so they can contact you (ya right!). I'm not going to enter in my personal info so you can completely steal my identity. I'm not sure whats after that point on their website cause I never have put in my info.
I have since changed my CC number obviously.
Also when I called my bank (which is my credit card company) they mentioned that $9.95 is too low amount for them to bother going after the company responsible. So that's obviously why KCSOFTLLC.com is only charging $9.95 so that it doesn't raise any problems with Credit Card companies.
These people are still getting away with this, and its unfortunate that theres nothing I or anyone else can do about it (other then post here of course). I just hope they get caught, and soon.
Hopefully this will help others resolve their problems with this company, or realize that they are being RIPPED OFF.
Thank you,
RM
R.
Houston, Texas
U.S.A.