GO DADDY SOFTWARE, INC. - domain name registration
14455 N. Hayden Road #226
Scottsdale Arizona 85260
U.S.A.
|
|
welcomehome2002.com Supposed job opportunities --took money--($39.95)-no jobs-then disappeared - consumer fraud ripoff protected by the BBB? Internet
1Author
3Consumer
1Employee/Owner
On 2/19/2002 I signed up with (welcomehome2002) to find a job I could do from home as I am retired and need extra money.
I applied to several of the jobs listed but never got an answer from any of them. This kind of suprised me with my qualifications but you never know.
The $39.95 seemed like a fair price for a year of job availability but all of a sudden I could not reach their web page anymore. I have been hunting for them for a couple of months when I went to your site and saw the ripoff box on them.
I just recently also had a bad website program sent to me so now I am completely turned off to buying ANYTHING through the internet.
I hope your program does some good at getting rid of the parasites on the web.
Thank You.
Arthur
Hanover Park, Illinois
Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on GO DADDY SOFTWARE
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
1Author
3Consumer
1Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals
#1 Consumer Suggestion
AUTHOR: anti - Irvine ()
SUBMITTED: Saturday, July 27, 2002
POSTED: Sunday, July 28, 2002
One way to recognize fraudulent web-sites is to check the id of the registrant, the person, company who bought/reserved the web site from one of the domain registrar companies.
If the registrant is a fake bs name, if the registrant only have pobox as contact info, stay away from the site.
Yes, the registrar is godaddy, but the registrant is not them... You should go one step further.
Here is what can you see about welcomehome2002.com
- definetely EVERYTHING is fake:
Registrant: AA AAA AAA
123 AAA road
Los Angeles, California 90001
Domain Name: WELCOMEHOME2002.COM
Created on: 02-Jan-02
Expires on: 02-Jan-03
Last Updated on: 03-Jun-02
Administrative Contact:
AAA, AA
welcomehome2002@yahoo.com
AA
123 AA Road
Los Angeles, California 90001
Phone -- (000) 000-0000
Fax -- (000) 000-0000
Technical Contact:
AAA, AA
welcomehome2002@yahoo.com
AA
123AA Road
Los Angeles, California 90001
Phone:(000) 000-0000
Fax -- (000) 000-0000
How can you chek ANY web site? (Yes, I know you already did this, but maybe other people reading this rebuttal are not familiar with the process.)
First: go to http://whois.dotregistrar.com/
type in the web site address you want to get info without http, www.
Only: welcomehome2002 then chose .com
Second: look for the REFERRAL URL line:
Referral URL: http://registrar.godaddy.com
Third: Go to the referral url, and look for the WHOIS link somewhere on the page. For godaddy this WHOIS in the right bottom corner of the site.
Fourth: type in again the welcomehome2002, chose .com
Fifth: type in the password - the red number, and there it is: everything about this "company."
This process silghtly different on every registrar site, but there is always a wois somewhere....
#2 Consumer Comment
AUTHOR: Jerry - dallas ()
SUBMITTED: Saturday, August 03, 2002
POSTED: Sunday, August 04, 2002
Since you have correctly pointed out that the company is a fake and that there is no way to contact them, how do you propose tracking them down? Don't you think the registrant has a modicum of responsibility for this scam? I say go after godaddy.com, which incidentally is a member of the BBB... but that's another scam.
#3 Consumer Suggestion
AUTHOR: anti - Irvine ()
SUBMITTED: Thursday, August 08, 2002
POSTED: Friday, August 09, 2002
Jerry,
in my last post I very simply wanted to show an easy tool how to check ANY web site before deciding making business with it.
I meant, it is not only go daddy. People should check every website, even with "honest-looking" registrars. If the registrant's address, phone number etc. seem fishy, fake, inconsistent - stay away from the site.
No, I did not mean in any way to defend go daddy.
Regarding the fight against these registrars/registrant I had already a couple of rebuttals, similar way regarding the shameless bbb-s, I very simply did not want to repeat myself.
You might be interested in this:
http://www.ftc.gov/os/2002/05/whois.htm -
you are not alone with your concern.
#4 Employee
AUTHOR: John - Paris ((Scottsdale???)) ()
SUBMITTED: Thursday, August 15, 2002
POSTED: Friday, August 16, 2002
This rebuttal was redacted because the individual did not provide a bona fide e-mail address and uses their anonymnity to further victimize the contributor.
::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
I was just curious what made you