• Report: #98716

Complaint Review: 1800GOTJUNK

  • Submitted: Tue, July 13, 2004
  • Updated: Thu, April 24, 2014

  • Reported By:West Carrollton Ohio
1800GOTJUNK
http://www.1800gotjunk.com Dayton, Ohio U.S.A.

1800GOTJUNK Bad Business Practices! Sky High Prices! Rip-off! Dayton Ohio

*UPDATE EX-employee responds: Actually It's True gotjunk is a rip off.

*REBUTTAL Owner of company: Dayton/Cincinnati 1-800-GOT-JUNK? response to teminated employee's comments

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

1800gotjunk in general may be a great business however the local franchise in Dayton and Cincinatti are a rip-off. Employees are encouraged to charge the customer for more truck space than they use.

One example is employees regularly come back with a truckload and a half of payments but, they still have room in the truck. How is this possible? How can someone return with a truck that still has room left in it and have payments for a truck and a half? The answer is simple. People are getting ripped off! When an employee has done this he gets and "awesome job" response from the owners of the franchise. One other practice they use is to advertise higher wages and then use excuses and lies once you are hired on to pay their employees less money.

They don't have a local office, they park all of thier trucks at the local mall, and oh by the way, the price for a full truck if thats what you really get is $478.00. Did I mention the truck is smaller than the local UHAUL truck for $19.95. How do I know all of this? I was once a customer and an employee. It would be wise to shop around before you end up paying a weeks salary to have your junk hauled away!

Concerned Consumer
Dayton, Ohio
U.S.A.

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 07/13/2004 11:40 AM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/1800GOTJUNK/Dayton-Ohio/1800GOTJUNK-Bad-Business-Practices-Sky-High-Prices-Rip-off-Dayton-Ohio-98716. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on 1800GOTJUNK

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
0Author 1Consumer 1Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 UPDATE EX-employee responds

Actually It's True gotjunk is a rip off.

AUTHOR: T Boy - ()

I was actually just reading some reviews about 1800gotjunk. Decided I'd add a rebuttal of my own. I won't say if I am or was an employee at the Kansas City franchise. But I know some things. I was only involved in their schemes for about 3 months one summer. They charge $500 for a full truck, their dump fee is generally $50 for a ton. They pay their guys $10 an hour in some cases less. I saw employees make and average over $2,000 a day per truck. They illegally dumped paint, tires, and hazardous items hiding them in the bottoms of the trucks burried by trash. But they charge $5 a gallon for removal of cans of paint. They claim to every customer they donate to several local charities. Actually in the 3 months I worked there and from 2-3 year veterans they never donated one item to charities. They sold any nice items furniture etc to some guy who owned a flea market. Not one employee at that franchise could pass a piss test they all smoked weed in the trucks and sold drugs right in the parking lot.....Daily. Also all felons too not one could pass a background check. Shouldn't be going into peoples houses. I remember the bosses Josh and Tyler they would have meeting focused on making more revenue regardless of the circumstances. They would charge commercial businesses for an extra truck when they didn't pay attention. The guys I worked with would "fluff" the trucks to add volume say they had empty trucks and be half full double charging people. My paycheck was over $100-200 short every check. Scandalous dudes. When they wanted to fire me they just scheduled me to work one day a week until I quit to avoid paying me unemployment.  You guys here in KC actually do deserve to be socially bashed. 

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 REBUTTAL Owner of company

Dayton/Cincinnati 1-800-GOT-JUNK? response to teminated employee's comments

AUTHOR: Cliff - (U.S.A.)

The Dayton/Cincinnati Franchise of 1-800-GOT-JUNK? is pleased to respond to the verbal attack by a terminated employee.

1-800-GOT-JUNK?, North America's largest junk removal company, believes integrity and professionalism to be foremost among its core values. Our employees represent these values every day as they perform our services for our customers. What you have read on this website, signed Concerned Consumer are the ramblings of a disgruntled employee whom we had to let go. His remarks are inaccurate, and are not an honest assessment of the services we deliver. The complainant claims that, in addition to being an employee, he was also a customer of ours, but this is not true. He simply was a former employee whom we had to terminate for significant and inexcusable infractions of our employee standards of performance and accountability.

Our company proudly embraces four basic tenants of business: Up-front pricing, friendly uniformed drivers, clean shiny trucks and on-time service. When a customer contacts our call center, a representative explains that we price by volume and describes our pricing levels. When our service team comes on-site to the customer location, we always start by giving the customer a free estimate of the volume of the truck that will be needed to complete the removal. Our price sheet is standard and is shown to the customer by the team. It is also available by calling the Client Services Center or by visiting our web-site. Our employee are instructed to show the truck to the client before and after the job is done so that our customer can confirm for himself the volume used before he or she is asked to pay for the service. The client is often very pleasantly surprised by how much our trucks can hold! Our service concludes with the cleaning of all areas in which we've worked, with no additional charge.

Our trucks are the key to our business and they are located throughout the communities we serve, by agreement and/or lease with various businesses. In addition, we have two local offices, one in a retail shopping center in the Dayton market and one in a business office park in the Cincinnati market. Our outstanding business growth has allowed us to grow our resources, including the number of trucks, people and offices we have. That business growth has been fueled by providing our customers with excellent services and values.

Our customers routinely rate our services and our company with the highest ratings. Toward that end, we can keep only those employees who themselves represent the highest ethical, quality and business standards that our customers expect and deserve. We are proud of the current team of 1-800-GOT-JUNK? employees! More than 20 % of our business is repeat business, while another 10% of our business is through referrals. This is a great testament to the value we provide our customers and to the high quality business practices by which we live.

Visit us at www.1800gotjunk.com to book online, or simply call our toll free number 1-800-GOT-JUNK? (1-800-468-5865) to speak to one of our agents. You will be impressed with our friendly, uniformed, and trustworthy drivers; our clean shiny trucks; our on-time service; and our up-front rates. I guarantee you will be pleased with the services we provide and the value of those services in relation to their price.
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
X