• Report: #936705

Complaint Review: ABC Bartending School Orlando

Thank You

Read how Ripoff Report saves consumers millions.

  • Submitted: Tue, September 04, 2012
  • Updated: Tue, September 04, 2012

  • Reported By: Potential Student — Orlando Florida United States of America
ABC Bartending School Orlando
653 North Mills Avenue Internet United States of America

ABC Bartending School Orlando Rude staff only interested in obtaining my social security # and DL # (illegal), Internet

*Consumer Comment: This is a questionable school

*Author of original report: I am not a lawyer

*Consumer Comment: What is illegal about asking for a DL and SSN?

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

I have decided to post my complaint here because Google removed my honest review for some reason, and the owners response made me look like a liar which I do not tolerate kindly. Here is my Google review copied and pasted: Let me start off by saying, I was super excited to see that this school popped up on my daily Groupon's deals giving me a nice 60% off of the tuition... I was very eager to get started on my new career.

So, even after finding this place in what I would call "the butthole" of Orlando... And seeing the structure of the building this school is located in... I was still willing to look thru all of that. Here is my story... I purchased my groupon deal right away ($199 for the 35 hours of instruction). I called the next day to schedule my enrollment appointment with a man by the name of Kevin. He had asked me to bring my social security card and drivers license as well as the groupon.

I arrived at my scheduled time to the school and walked into this shady building... Grin on my face and ready to get excited about my future... Only to be greeted by an even shadier looking man who seemed disgruntled at my very existence. His name was Chris. He had no idea about my appointment and claims that "sometimes" he doesn't get his messages. All I'm thinking at this point is, why is there absolutely no one here except this guy?

They have classes daily and nightly... Yet no one was there. Moving on... When he asked me if I had 2 copies of my DL, Social Security Card and Groupon Voucher... I apologized for forgetting the voucher print out at work and I wasn't aware they needed 2 Xerox copies of my DL and SS Card (which is disconcerting in itself... Why do they need your SSN?) So, I politely ask him if they have a copier of some sort since I had my SSC and DL with me and he informed me that they do, but that I am not allowed to use it and that I need to walk down the street to Kinkos.

I'm sorry, but this is a school that doesn't allow you to use their copy machine to make copies of your information for their own records? Odd... So, I calmly stand up and tell him I am going to think about enrolling some more because I was a bit disappointed in his attitude. This was a mistake. He then became even ruder which I didn't think was possible... By saying this to me: "From the moment you walked in the door you haven't given me anything we asked for".

I didn't understand what he was so upset about or why he thought being so absolutely unwelcoming to me would make me want to ever come back. He refused to provide me with the enrollment paperwork without Xerox copies of my personal information which was very alarming. I felt the entire time that he was only interested in obtaining my information; I believe this place is doing some "side" business or possible even selling people's identities.

I am very saddened by this establishment and will now proceed with caution to any other bartending school I look in to. It was the most ridiculous attempt at a "school" that I've ever seen in my life, and I was completely disappointed by the behavior of their staff. Above all, as soon as walking in he wanted to get straight to business. Didn't offer me a walk around the school... Didn't ask about my intentions or why I was joining... Nothing nice about the experience at all. If I were the owner I would be ashamed of this place.

This is ORLANDO, one of the biggest when it comes to hospitality business... Put a little more effort into the presentation of your school. First impressions are vital, this place was a big fail. A few days later the owner responded, calling me a liar and that I am a spy for a competing school. I found this quite humorous, but the red flag was raised when the owner stated in their response that they do NOT ask for social security numbers, as this is in fact illegal. This worries me, because they completely lied and told me in person that it was required in order to receive the enrollment contract. This place needs investigating in my opinion.

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 09/04/2012 12:27 PM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/ABC-Bartending-School-Orlando/internet/ABC-Bartending-School-Orlando-Rude-staff-only-interested-in-obtaining-my-social-security-936705. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on ABC Bartending School Orlando

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
1Author 2Consumer 0Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 Consumer Comment

This is a questionable school

AUTHOR: lakecity21 - ()

I decided that I didn't want anything to do with this school after I checked it out. The school is located in an old building between a bunch of old Chinese stores. There are no signs indicating that this place even exist. On the glass door for the building there is the school's name and address along with another business's information. Unless you are looking for it you won't probably won't notice it.  The inside of the building looked like an empty office building. After going up a flight of stairs There is a door with crooked letters indicating the school's name. So I opened the door and walked inside. The inside was dark, dreary and dated. This guy name Chris who appeared to run the school came out of an office He was wearing an old t-shirt and jeans. His personality seemed apprupt. There was a room to the side that had a bar set up. There was only one student there.

The school and the one staff member that I came in contact with did not look professional. I know that if I was looking to hire bartenders I wouldn't trust the training someone received from this school based on their appearances. Unless, someone is just looking to get a job at a trashy dive bar I wouldn't trust the professionalism that they are suppose to teach.

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 Author of original report

I am not a lawyer

AUTHOR: Cora - (United States of America)

As I am not a lawyer, I do not know if it is illegal for them to ask for 2 copies of my social security card and DL. I understand needing the DL for proof of age, however I do not understand needing 2 copies of my social security card. I am basing that off of the "Owner's Response" left on google. They are the ones who said that I lied about them asking for it, and that they don't ask for Social Security numbers because it is illgal. I did show my proof of purchase for the Groupon, using my iPhone application that provides the Voucher number that the Merchant utilizes. Most established facilities do not even require a print out anymore, seeing as they only need the Voucher number. The groupon issue did not bother me, what bothered me was the gentleman Chris who would not help me any further strictly because I could not walk down the block in the ghetto to get 2 Xerox copies of my SSN and DL. He would not even provide me with an enrollment contract to take home with me to fill out. And then he posted a reply on Google telling everyone that I was a liar and a spy for a competing school. This was the issue that concerned me "Mr. Author".
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#3 Consumer Comment

What is illegal about asking for a DL and SSN?

AUTHOR: Steven - (U.S.A.)

You are signing up for classes. Please provide proof that it is illegal to ask for a DL and a social security number. Did you really forget proof that you bought the Groupon? Was that part of your scam.
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.



Ripoff Report Legal Directory