• Report: #827209

Complaint Review: Access America travel insurance

Thank You

Read how Ripoff Report saves consumers millions.

  • Submitted: Mon, January 23, 2012
  • Updated: Mon, April 02, 2012

  • Reported By: Disgusted by Access America — Atlanta Georgia United States of America
Access America travel insurance
PO Box 72031 Richmond, Virginia United States of America

Access America travel insurance Deceptive practices, hidden terms/conditions, buyer beware Richmond, Virginia

*UPDATE Employee: Response from Jackie, Help Team

*Author of original report: thanks for nothing

*UPDATE Employee: Response from Jackie, Help Team

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

If you're hoping to get a refund on a plane ticket by buying an Access America trip insurance policy, you're better off paying for a fully refundable ticket. Stay away from this company. How the state insurance departments have not found legal cause for conviction of insurance fraud is a complete mystery. What trustworthy company gives you the terms and conditions only AFTER they have your money?!?! 

My company purchased trip insurance for a corporate function. During the purchase process, we were never asked to include any details whatsoever about the flying employee's dates of hire when purchasing the coverage. We clicked the online purchase options, and then (only then) did they release their host of terms and conditions. After we had to cancel an employee flight and filed a claim, we were advised that since they had not been employed for a minimum of three years, the claim would be denied.  This is insurance fraud 101.  We spend thousands of dollars a year in airfare and I guarantee this is the last of our corporate dollars that this company will be stealing from us.

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 01/23/2012 02:03 PM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/Access-America-travel-insurance/Richmond-Virginia-23255/Access-America-travel-insurance-Deceptive-practices-hidden-termsconditions-buyer-bewar-827209. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Access America travel insurance

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
1Author 2Consumer 0Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 UPDATE Employee

Response from Jackie, Help Team

AUTHOR: Access America Help Team - (USA)

Hello,

Jackie from the Help Team here. Were sorry to hear that you had to cancel your trip at the last-minute, and that we were unable to provide you with coverage in your situation.  I am unsure of the exact details of your case, but please note that travel insurance is like any other type of insurance, in that there are terms, conditions and exclusions that affect coverage. You are correct we do offer all of our customers a list of covered reasons in our policy, along with a 10-day free look, so they have the opportunity to cancel the policy at no cost if it doesn't meet their needs.  We offer this 10-day free look to ensure our customers have time to carefully review their policy, and assess whether it will provide them with the coverage they need during their travels.

We apologize once again that we were unable to provide you with coverage, and we wish you the best in your future travels.

Regards,

Jackie, Help Team
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 Author of original report

thanks for nothing

AUTHOR: MrsL from Atl - (United States of America)

Very interesting that the stupid policy has a 10 day cancellation clause. That's so extremely helpful when the airline ticket was purchased as a 21 day advance. Your 10 day cancellation policy is a joke. The trip was not cancelled until the day before the trip. Do the math. It's a fail-fail situation. Next time I'll just buy a refundable ticket as I suggested before. Nice try.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#3 UPDATE Employee

Response from Jackie, Help Team

AUTHOR: Allianz Global Assistance - (United States of America)

Hello

Jackie from the  Help Team here.  We apologize for the confusion and frustration you are experiencing in regards to the trip insurance you purchased for your corporate function.  You are correct, there are terms, conditions, and exclusions that affect coverage depending on the policy you purchase, and we apologize if you feel that this information wasnt clear when
you purchased your policy.  However, we do provide a 10-day Satisfaction Guarantee which we encourage all of our customers to read once they receive it, which allows customers to cancel their policy and receive a full premium refund if they feel that the policy they purchased does not meet their needs.

If youd like more information on the specific policy you purchased, please call the number on the back of your policy, and one of our customer service representatives will be glad to provide you with more information.

Regards,

Jackie
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.



Ripoff Report Legal Directory