• Report: #108257

Complaint Review: Action Moving And Storage

Thank You

Read how Ripoff Report saves consumers millions.

  • Submitted: Mon, September 13, 2004
  • Updated: Tue, July 05, 2005

  • Reported By:Vancouver British Columbia
Action Moving And Storage
35 Stinson, Suite 200 Montreal, Quebec Canada

Action Moving And Storage moving ripoff did not comply with the contract, put extra charges Montreal Quebec

*REBUTTAL Owner of company: Wrong Action Moving

*UPDATE Employee: The Real Story about extra charges

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

We have a complaint against a moving&storage company (registered out of province of BC). They failed to deliver the goods within the timeframe stated in the contract and were trying to force on us charges for storage of the goods after supposed delivery date, then demanded that we pay the full charge + "redelivery" charge in cash (final amount close to 3000CAD), though in contract it was stated that the method of payment would be cash/credit card. This demand came imperitevely within a short notice which caused extra bank charges for cash advance. Even after we were forced to comply with all their demands and paid all the charges in full in cash, they still haven't delivered the order.

The service has been everything but courteous or friendly; we find the way they talk to the customers, particularly your imperative tone and refusal to listen, insulting. They refused to provide their customer with the legal policies information upon request.

Maxim
Vancouver, British Columbia
Canada

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 09/13/2004 10:02 PM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/Action-Moving-And-Storage/Montreal-Quebec-H4N-2E1/Action-Moving-And-Storage-moving-ripoff-did-not-comply-with-the-contract-put-extra-charge-108257. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Action Moving And Storage

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
0Author 1Consumer 1Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 REBUTTAL Owner of company

Wrong Action Moving

AUTHOR: Customer Service Dept - ()

Our Action Moving is registered out of Quebec.

This complaint was filed under the wrong company.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 UPDATE Employee

The Real Story about extra charges

AUTHOR: Teri - (Canada)

First off I would like to say for the record that we did not insist on getting cash and then not deliver. We were very courteous and cooperative and polite, and most certainly did return their phone calls, and I must insist that our service was very much punctual.

The above client was picked up on time and delivered within two days of his estimated date of delivery of which he requested.

Originally, the delivery date(sept 1-5)that Mr.Lyutikov is refering to was an estimated delivery date only.It was not a guaranteed delivery date because his shipment was too small, so he was consolidated with several other small shipments in order from him and others to benefit from cheaper rates based on consolidation.

Secondly, Mr.Lyutikov is wrong when he says he only heard from us on Sept 7th. His belongings were picked up on saturday Aug 28th in Toronto and we wanted to deliver on sept 7,2004, but were refused delivery.The delivery was refused due to Mr.Lyutikov being out of town and his wife was unable to let the movers in so they could unload.

On august 30, 2004 we called the client and told him his final balance and reminded him that the balance is c.o.d. to be paid by cash or credit card. We then advised them that the truck will be leaving on Sept 01 or 2nd and would be there within a week, and that the driver will again call them 24 hours in advance to make delivery arrangements.

Several times during that week, Mr.lyutikov and his wife had called to find out what day we would be arriving,again we reiterated that we cannot predict a day, and that the driver would call 24hrs in advance. Mr.lyutikov insisted that this was not good enough. We could not provide him with a precise day. He was not happy. He said he was not going to be there, because he had to travel for work, and that his wife would be home but we could not deliver till he returned on saturday sept 11,2004 from his trip.

We told him not to worry because our men are trained to handle the move from start to finish, in other words we do all the work anyways so all we need is someone to direct traffic and tell the men where to place the goods.

He still insisted that this was bad service and that our driver was to wait till he returned from his trip days later to unload.
He then advised us that he was not happy and that he was going to protest the credit card charges. Upon hearing this, we decided (like anyone else would I am sure of it) that the only method of payment now would be cash. He did not like this but we told him he now has no choice because we do not want to have a charge back from the credit card company, so we insisted on cash as the only safe form of payment. He still protested but we told him that this is the only form of payment or we will not unload his shipment.

Several times that week, we were in contact with Mr.Lyutikov and his wife. He would call us from his trip because he did not have a cell phone and we could not contact him during his trip. We told him over and over again that the only method of payment was cash.
Finally he admitted that he was'nt going to be in Vancouver until the night of Sept 10th(fri), we told him that if his wife was home and ready and waiting to receive the goods she could pay my driver and we could unload.Though he did not want this because he wanted to be there.

So now everything was contradictory to what he was telling us previously. First he was complaining that we were not delivering on time, and then he wanted us to wait until the 10th or 11th to deliver, and he still insisted on paying by credit card.Let me also add that he also wanted to pay by credit card without having the card present, which means we couldn't get a imprint of the card.

We called Sept 6th to tell his wife that we would be delivering in 24 hrs, Sept 7th and that we could not unload unless she had the balance in cash. She said she did not and that her husband, who was out of town was going to pay by credit card. We told her that her husband had informed us that he was planning on protesting the credit card payment so we made a smart business decision and insisted on cash. We told her that this was a red flag and that we were not going to risk it, either have the cash or we don't unload.

So we were there on sept 7 to unload , but they did not want to pay or have the money. We told them that we are going to unload other shipments in the meantime until we heard from them,and that they had the proper funds.

Several days passed, and the same argument of method of payment was still going on.

Finally on saturday Sept 11, (clients prefered delivery date) our driver contacted him to arrange for delivery and still Mr. Lyutikov did not have the cash.
My driver advised him that he would be in the area for two more days (sat and sun) and to come up with the money,orelse we would have no choice but to put it in our storage.

On Monday sept 13,2004 the truck had to leave and do pick- ups for the east coast to go back home and unfortunately, Mr.Lyutikov's shipment was still on the truck and very much in the way. So we had no choice but to unload his shipment in our agents warehouse.

All day Sunday we gave him another chance to come up with the cash or on Monday we were going to place it in storage. Monday morning came and yet he was given one more chance to pay cash or we were leaving. Still nothing. So now my driver was instructed to place it in storage so that we could get on with all our other work that we were behind in.

As we were unloading, Mr.Lyutikov finally called and said he had the cash. We told him it was too late we were already unloading in the warehouse. He said that he wanted his stuff. We told him that we gave him so many chances before, so now if he wanted to get his stuff delivered he would have to meet my driver at the warehouse(which was outside the city)and pay us for the delivery from Montreal to Vancouver. I then informed him that I would get my driver to deliver it that day if he had time, or else it would have to be our agent to re-deliver at an extra cost for time wasted and extra labor.

On numerous occasions we told him to have the cash ready and then we would deliver right away, but he could not come up with the cash.

If you add extra work you are going to pay extra charges. You can't say we did'nt give enough chances to resolve this problem before we had to incur extra charges.

In conclusion, I would like to say that never ,at any time, did we talk to Mr.& Mrs.Lyutikov in an insulting tone or refuse to provide them with any pertinent information concerning our companie's policies. As you can see we were very upfront from the beginning concerning the delivery schedule and the method of payment, and that we do stand by our claim of "Your Peace of Mind is our Top Priority",and never do I scream "either pay cash or I hang up" unless of course it is to repeat it over and over again so that I would have to scream it out loud from Montreal, so you could hear it all the way to Vancouver

Also let me add that Action Moving and Storage did not overcharge them in any way or we did not break or damage any furniture,we just wanted our money for services we had provided.
I think that if the client would have had money to pay for his move none of this would have happened instead he was trying to get us to deliver and get a free move.
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.



Ripoff Report Legal Directory