• Report: #67664

Complaint Review: Amden Corporation - Cybersonic II

  • Submitted: Fri, September 26, 2003
  • Updated: Fri, October 10, 2003

  • Reported By:brooklyn New York
Amden Corporation - Cybersonic II
www.amdencorp.com Internet U.S.A.

CyberAmden Corporation - Cybersonic II RIPOFF - FAULTY DESIGN IN PRODUCT - DO NOT BUY CARSON California

*Author of original report: Addendum to the above update

*Author of original report: RESPONSE FROM BBB-AND MY RESPONSE TO AMDEN

*UPDATE Employee: Bad Design? We immediately tried to resolve the problem.

*UPDATE Employee: Bad Design? We immediately tried to resolve the problem.

*UPDATE Employee: Bad Design? We immediately tried to resolve the problem.

*UPDATE Employee: Bad Design? We immediately tried to resolve the problem.

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

I ordered the Cybersonic II and purchased the 3 year warranty. I started to be billed after a month but did not receive the product. After calling the company, they stated that it was at the post office, but I had not received notice.

I got the Cybersonic II used it for about two weeks and then the brush attachment started to detach while using it. The package comes with 2 brushes, so I used the other brush and after approximately 3 weeks the same thing happened.

Because Cybersonic's attachments are made to snap-on and after being constantly swapped between the flosser and toothbrush the connection becomes weakened. Eventually the toothbrush handle begins to detach while you brush your teeth. The better design would have been for the attachments to have been in a twist-on fashion to give the attachment a more secure fit.

I contacted customer service via email on 9/11/03 and told them the problem and requested a return authorization number. I received an email back from a Haleemah Rahim, basically stating too bad, so sad, your outside the thirty day refund period, send it in for a repair.

I then faxed a letter to the manager of customer service and the Present of Amden. I get another email back from Haleemah Rahim, stating the above, again. I then contacted the Better Business Bureau and Consumer Affairs.

I did find out that Amden was in court because of consumer complaints/business practices on the BBB website. I was able to get a Corporate HQ number from that site and spoke to a nice lady name Lynda who said she would sent me two replacement brush attachments, which is nice, but the issue is design and replacing the brush heads or repairing the handle won't fix it.

Just stay away from this product. And if you have it already please conplain to the BBB or Consumer Affairs and contact your Credit Card company.

Stacey
Brooklyn, New York
U.S.A.

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 09/26/2003 01:34 PM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/Amden-Corporation-Cybersonic-II/internet/CyberAmden-Corporation-Cybersonic-II-RIPOFF-FAULTY-DESIGN-IN-PRODUCT-DO-NOT-BUY-CARS-67664. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Amden Corporation - Cybersonic II

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
0Author 6Consumer 0Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 Author of original report

Addendum to the above update

AUTHOR: Stacey - (U.S.A.)

In response to Ms. Mia Grisham an alledged employee of Amden Corporation's post:

According to the Better Business Bureau's site the Federal Trade Commission (FTC) filed a complaint in U S District Court, Central District of California on April 18, 2002. The BBB site mentions that on that date without admitting any wrongdoing, and to settle the suit, the company agreed not to violate any provision of the Rule and pay civil penalties to the Commission (FTC).

It also mentions that complaints received by the Bureau included: non-delivery of merchandise, defective merchandise, or improper packaging. Many also complain of inability to reach the company and difficulty obtaining refunds for defective items or items which were not received. Some customers complain they are unable to return merchandise within the 30 day trial period because they are unable to reach the company to obtain a return merchandise authorization number as required.

Yes I did receive two new brushes of the C2 (regular sized toothbrush with springs) type from a woman named Lynda at Amden. This occurred after, a couple of emails to Haleemah Rahim at Amden, that basically said I was not getting my money back, return the unit for repair.

I then filed a complaint on this board, another board and filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau. It was from the Reliability Report on the Better Business Bureau site that I obtained an alternate number for Amden (there are eight numbers listed there). I explained the situation to Lynda and she immediately sent me two brushes (free of charge), even though this was not the resolution I wanted. When I received the brushes by first class mail, I noticed the postage cost was only $0.37. (Amden requests $4.65 for auto shipment cost of the replacement toothbrushes.)

Oddly enough, a couple of days after all of my complaint filing (it could have been a coincidence, you be the judge), I received two brushes of the C1 type (small compact head - no springs). I believe it was sent certified mail, someone else in my building signed for the delivery and left it at my door. I had not requested these additional brush heads, wasn't interested in this type of brushhead attachment and there was no letter in the box stating the reason I was receiving them or if my credit card was being charged. I had already received an auto shipment for $14.60 was concerned about additional unapproved charges showing up on my card (based on the information I have read so far on this company).

I contacted my credit card company and told them I wanted to dispute the charges for the Cybersonic II. I faxed them copies of the communication between myself and Haleemah Rahim denying my request for a refund and a copy of an email from this site from an alledged Amden employee, talking about Amden and their practices. They processed my request for the dispute.

Quite naturally, it could be a batch of bad brushes', but I doubt it. This was the first electronic toothbrush I have used with attachments that do not on twist on and off of the base, which in my opinion insures a snug, tight, secure fit. Cybersonic II's attachments snap on and off and with repeated switching of the attachments and the strong sonic vibration of the handle I found it caused the brush to become loose after consistent use. This seems like a design issue to me and replacing the brush attachments and repairing the handle may not resolve the issue unless the design is changed on both. If Amden sends me a return label or even a return authorization number, I will more than happily send them there wonderful product back.

In the meantime, I hope other consumers read about my experience with this company and their product before purchasing from them.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 Author of original report

RESPONSE FROM BBB-AND MY RESPONSE TO AMDEN

AUTHOR: Stacey - (U.S.A.)

From Amden Corporation
The company states our refund policy offers a 30 day money back guarantee. The unit was delivered 7/26/03. On 9/11/03 we received the customers request to return for refund - this is well beyond
30 days, refund was not granted. As of 9/24/03 - 1 set of Cyber1 brushes were scheduled to ship at no charge. (C1 brushes fit handle tighter than C2 brushes) This will resolve the issue of the brushes falling off the handle. The handle may be replaced, upon return of the handle in question. The company does apologize for any inconveniences this may have caused.

------------------
From the Better Business Bureau
If you are not satisfied with the company's response, tell us why
------------------
From Me
The FTC filed against this company for BAD BUSINESS PRACTICES and I understand why.

I was 17 days over the refund period. I was on vacation for two weeks and therefore did not start using the product right away. This does not constitute 'well beyond 30 days.' The C1 brushes are totally different from the C2 brushes in design; they are a small compact head with no springs. Part of the reason I brought this unit was because of the unique brushes. Which tells me the company knew there was a problem with these brush heads but still send these as the free replacement brushes and charges $4.95 for shipping and handling. These brushes weigh no more than an average letter which costs $.0.37 and on average they last 2 1/2 weeks.

As stated before, part of the problem is a design issue which does not become apparent until you use the unit. The snap-on and off design of the handle and the attachments is not secure enough to allow you to constantly change between the three attachments. Supposedly Amden sends you two brushes so that two different people can use the unit. Well, if you are going through a brush every 3 weeks, and need the other brush just to get through the month, you can't possibly share this unit without ordering more $4.95 'free' brushes. So in fact, I am spending $2.50 for a brush head that will only last 3 weeks on average.

If you go to Complaints.com and BadBusinessBureau.com and do a search under either Amden or Cybersonic you will find literally hundreds of unsatisfied customers. Even customers who have filed within the '30 day' period state that they have not received requested refunds, so I am not buying the 'you are outside of your 30 return limit' statement.

Amden has a history of poor customer service and from the customer complaints I have read this includes just 'ripping off
customers' (continuing to charge their credit card once they have requested the autoshipment be canceled, etc.) and not replacing items sent in to be repaired (handles).

Following Amden's less than receptive responses, I have disputed their charges on my credit card. If Amden is really concerned about there customers they need to start making good with there customers for a product they know is at least (if not totally) inferior.

Please note, I will be posting this email on BadBusinessBureau.com and any other web site applicable, including any responses received so that customers can see how Amden's product performs and how they treat their customers when their complaints are voiced.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#3 UPDATE Employee

Bad Design? We immediately tried to resolve the problem.

AUTHOR: Mia Grisham - (U.S.A.)

Dear Stacey,

I am sorry to hear that you had trouble with your brush head popping off of the handle. We had a bad batch of brush heads and unfortunately this was this was the side effect. We immediately tried to resolve the problem. All of the new brush heads should not have this problem. I think you'll find that this doesn't happen with the ones that Linda sent you. We feel that 30 days is a significant amount of time to evaluate whether or not you like a product. If you have a product that doesn't funtion proplerly and you are within the warranty period we will make sure that you get one that does. Should you have any future problems please contact Linda or myself and we will make sure that they are resolved. You had also mentioned that we are in court, which we are not.

Thank you,

Amden Corporation
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#4 UPDATE Employee

Bad Design? We immediately tried to resolve the problem.

AUTHOR: Mia Grisham - (U.S.A.)

Dear Stacey,

I am sorry to hear that you had trouble with your brush head popping off of the handle. We had a bad batch of brush heads and unfortunately this was this was the side effect. We immediately tried to resolve the problem. All of the new brush heads should not have this problem. I think you'll find that this doesn't happen with the ones that Linda sent you. We feel that 30 days is a significant amount of time to evaluate whether or not you like a product. If you have a product that doesn't funtion proplerly and you are within the warranty period we will make sure that you get one that does. Should you have any future problems please contact Linda or myself and we will make sure that they are resolved. You had also mentioned that we are in court, which we are not.

Thank you,

Amden Corporation
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#5 UPDATE Employee

Bad Design? We immediately tried to resolve the problem.

AUTHOR: Mia Grisham - (U.S.A.)

Dear Stacey,

I am sorry to hear that you had trouble with your brush head popping off of the handle. We had a bad batch of brush heads and unfortunately this was this was the side effect. We immediately tried to resolve the problem. All of the new brush heads should not have this problem. I think you'll find that this doesn't happen with the ones that Linda sent you. We feel that 30 days is a significant amount of time to evaluate whether or not you like a product. If you have a product that doesn't funtion proplerly and you are within the warranty period we will make sure that you get one that does. Should you have any future problems please contact Linda or myself and we will make sure that they are resolved. You had also mentioned that we are in court, which we are not.

Thank you,

Amden Corporation
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#6 UPDATE Employee

Bad Design? We immediately tried to resolve the problem.

AUTHOR: Mia Grisham - (U.S.A.)

Dear Stacey,

I am sorry to hear that you had trouble with your brush head popping off of the handle. We had a bad batch of brush heads and unfortunately this was this was the side effect. We immediately tried to resolve the problem. All of the new brush heads should not have this problem. I think you'll find that this doesn't happen with the ones that Linda sent you. We feel that 30 days is a significant amount of time to evaluate whether or not you like a product. If you have a product that doesn't funtion proplerly and you are within the warranty period we will make sure that you get one that does. Should you have any future problems please contact Linda or myself and we will make sure that they are resolved. You had also mentioned that we are in court, which we are not.

Thank you,

Amden Corporation
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
X