• Report: #1069914

Complaint Review: Asphalt Kingdom

  • Submitted: Thu, July 25, 2013
  • Updated: Thu, July 25, 2013

  • Reported By: Reiner — Dover Delaware
Asphalt Kingdom
17595 N 1750 E Road Pontiac, Illinois USA

Asphalt Kingdom Overcharges on Returned Item and Unclear Directions in Operating Manual Pontiac Illinois

*Author of original report: Summary of Experience with Asphalt Kingdom

*Author of original report: Summary of Facts in My Complaint

*Author of original report: To St the Record Straight

*UPDATE Employee: False and Dishonest Claim

*Author of original report: This vendor will concede nothing that is true

*REBUTTAL Owner of company: Fraudulent Claim by his own admission:

*Author of original report: MANUAL NOT ON WEBSITE

*Author of original report: Asphalt Kingdom's Conclusion is False

*UPDATE Employee: Mr. Horst Reichelt did not read the manual and follow instructions

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

I am a home owner with a 300'+ fairly new asphalt driveway.  I wished to sealcoat this drivewy myself with spray equipment  instead of paying someone or doing the work with a brush every 2-3 years. I am very mechanically inclined doing all my own home repairs and having made extensive improvements  to my home & constructing several yard structures.  I felt that I could easily handle the seal coating job with spray equipment. 

I researched seal coating equipment on the internet and was attracted to Asphalt Kingdom.  Asphalt Kingdom had a AK2200=B Pavement Sealcoating Machine for $1,210.  All the reviews were 5 stars and one review was from a home owner so I decided to purchase this machine.  I also purchased a 55 gallon drum of asphalt for $350 which came with about 80% aggregate at the bottom and 20% water at the top.   

The machine consisted of a 2" waste pump and a box of pipes, hoses, and valves partially assembled but mostly not.  The manual consisted of 5-6 pages of copy print and was for a sealcoating system that had a 275 gal. plastic tank.      

There were no directions or pictures on how to assemble the piping, hoses, and valves to the machine and drum.  The directions noted several highly recommended tests, etc. to do to mix the asphalt & spray which were impossible with a 55 gal. drum system but could be done with the 275 gal. plastic tank.                                                                 

 I contacted the company concerning assembly directions, a manual for my system and the problems I would have mixing the asphalt & testing the system with the drum system.  Their response was that "Tim" would call me.  At this point I decided that I would return the pump and pipes for a refund because there would be significant problems with this ystem.  I talked to Tim and it was decided that the pump and piping would be returned.  I would keep the drum of asphalt because it would be impracticle to return the 650lb. drum.

I paid $1210 for the seaolcoating system and was told that $321.50 would be withheld as follows: $140 for shipping to me; $180 return charge; $1.20 misc. charge.  It cost me $101 UPS shipping back to them including insurance.

I contacted the company and complained about the return charge requesting that they waive it because of the lack of adequate manual direction;  including no directions for this particular unit with the drum system and no assembly directions.  They refused.

I feel that my entire $1210 should have been returned, at least the $180 return charge.


This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 07/25/2013 03:18 AM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/Asphalt-Kingdom/Pontiac-Illinois-61764/Asphalt-Kingdom-Overcharges-on-Returned-Item-and-Unclear-Directions-in-Operating-Manual-P-1069914. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Asphalt Kingdom

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
6Author 2Consumer 1Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 Author of original report

Summary of Experience with Asphalt Kingdom

AUTHOR: Reiner - ()

 To summarize my experience with this product, a potential buyer of this equipment needs to take into account the following:

1.  Do not take at face value the reviews posted by the vendor on their web site.  Asphalt Kingdom claims that they have sold thousands of these asphalt sprayers but posted only 5 five star reviews.  Surely others have found problems similar to mine with this equipment.

2.  Get and review the manual for this equipment prior to purchasing it and callor email  the vendor to discuss all aspects of it.  I could not find the manual on their site and what I received with the product was not adequate.  There also was no diagram or discription as to how to assemble the box of parts.  When I contacted the vendor they asked me to call "Tim" which was highly inadequate.

 

 

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 Author of original report

Summary of Facts in My Complaint

AUTHOR: Reiner - ()

The following are the facts regarding why the spray system was returned and why I should receive the entire purchase price back.

1.  I researched and purchased the apshalt spray equipment because the company doing this for my 300' driveway did an inadequate job requiring yearly sprays.  I also needed filler with the spray which was never provided.

2.  I was attracted to Asphalt Kingdom's website because of its 5 star reviews.  I should have been more cautious because they only had 4 reviews for the sprayer ordered and all were 5 star.  If they sold thousands of these you would think that there would be more reviews, positive and negative.  I tried recently to write a review about this item on their website and, even though I have an account & password  with them, I was prevented from doing so.

3.  The instructions provided for this system were for the 275 Gal. plastic container system & did not contain a diagram for connecting the valves, hoses, etc. required to put it together. ( I did open the hose, etc. box and could see what it contained.)  The instructions provided  for the 275 gal. system had several mixing and highly recommended testing recommendations which could not be done with the 55 gal. drum system that I purchased.  I contacted the company regarding this several times and was told that "Tim" would call me.  Tim called when I wasn't home and when I called him he was not available.  I finally did talk to Tim. 

4.  I went to the vendor's website looking for a manual at the time I was having these problems.  It said that the system was not avaialbe and may not be available in the future.  I concluded that there may be a problem with this ystem.  It is possible that the vendor now has a manual for the system that I purchased, but I saw none when I needed it.

5.  Under these circumstances I requested that the full purchase proce be returned.  They returned approximately 65% of the amount paid, including return freight charges. 

 

 

 

 

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#3 Author of original report

To St the Record Straight

AUTHOR: Reiner - ()

 The following summary are the facts to set the record straight as to why I returned the spraying system and why the entire purchase price should have been returned:

1.  I researched and purchased this type of equipment because the person who sprayed my 300' driveway was doing an inadequate job and hence it needed spraying again within 9 months..

2.  I was attracted to Asphalt Kingdom's website because of 4 five star reviews.  I should have been cautious because there were only a total of 4 reviews all of which were 5 star.  They now state they  have sold thousands of these systems and so there should be more reviews both positive and negative.  I recently tried to place a review on this product and was unable to do so even though I had an account and a password with them.

3.  I became disallusioned with the product because the instructions sent with the 55 drum system were for the 275 plastic tank system.  I read them several times and found that I could not test, and carry out other procedures with the drum system that were highly recommended in the instructions for the 275 gal. plastic tank system.  I contacted them for an assembly diagram and other information but they said "Tim" would call me.  Nothing was said about another manual for the 55 gal. drum system or that they had an assembly diagram. Tim called when I wasn't home and when I called him back he was not available.  But I finally did talk to him.   I did go on their website to look for a manual for the 55 drum system.  What I found was a note saying that the system was not available and may not be availabe in the future.  This indicated to me that there was a problem with this system.  I therefore decided to return the item because of potential problems I would have with this system. 

4.  The item was not returned because I changed my mind, or that I have budget problems, or because I can't follow simple instructions, but because of getting instructions that were inadequate and, when this information was not provided after several attempts, determining that I would have problems with it.  Accordingly, as I told them, I should have received back the entire purchase price.  Perhaps they now have an adequate manual on their website, but they did not have it when I needed it.  They did have  a video of peopel spraying a parking lot but that did not help me in anyway.

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#4 UPDATE Employee

False and Dishonest Claim

AUTHOR: Asphalt Kingdom.com - ()

Mr. Horst Reichart states "This whole experience with this equipment was a nightmare."

We don't understand why Mr. Horst Reichart would say this when:

1) We shipped the machine and sealer in a timely fashion.

2) The sealer and machine were shipped to the client the same way thousands of others were shipped to other clients.

3) The machine wasn't even taken out of the box to attempt setup.

4) We answer our customer service and sales line all day long without hitting a voicemail system. We have live people waiting to take calls to help. If the person answering is unable to answer the question, the call is passed off to someone who can.

5) We accepted a return and followed our return policy clearly stated on the site.

Mr. Horst Reichart, if you purchase a computer from a company and it requires that you install a program, at least attempt to put the program in the computer to load it.  Don't rush back and return the computer because it required you to slide the program in to load.

Again,

According to Mr. Horst Reichart's own words:  "The system was returned in the very condition and boxes as it was shipped to me.  It was only taken out of the boxes because Asphalt Kingdom wanted a picture before it was returned."

That begs the obvious question: How did Mr. Reichart have difficulty with a unit that was never removed from the box prior to the return request - by his own admission?  It is impossible to attempt to attach the hoses to the machine while still boxed, therefore it is clear no attempt was ever made.
 
Claim that the Operating Manual was Incorrect and not on website: FALSE

Easy to refute: All one has to do is click this product link to view the machine which has the OPERATING MANUAL you can download right from the "Specs" tab on the page. One can click the "Photos and Video" tab to view clear pictures and videos of the machine.  It's very simple to set up and use:

 
Claim: Product came in many pieces with complicated assembly: FALSE
The only thing a customer has to do when receiving unit, it to attach the hoses using easy "quick-camlock-couplers".  THATS IT! The hoses cannot be attached during shipping because the fitting would risk being damages during shipping. The directions to attach the hoses are clear in the manual and on the website photos and videos.
 
We have shipped thousand of these unit this year and it is one of out best selling units sue to its easy operation.  It is unfortunate Mr. Horst Reichart did not make the effort to take the machine out of the box and actually try it, since we have many happy customers who love their machines: http://www.asphaltkingdom.com/sealcoating-testimonials.html
 
We will not be continuing anymore rebuttals. The facts are all here for people to review.
 
Read our case studies and look at credible clients that purchase from our company http://www.asphaltkingdom.com/pavement-maintenance.html
 
All the best,

AK
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#5 Author of original report

This vendor will concede nothing that is true

AUTHOR: Reiner - ()

I would suggest that any potential buyer of this equipment carefully review the website, make inquiries, compare this type equipement with other websites and make up their own mind.  Don't be swayed by 100% five star reviews as I did before ordering it from Asphalt Kingdom.   It is always wise to see some negative reviews as there genrally are.  This whole experience with this equipment was a nightmare. 

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#6 REBUTTAL Owner of company

Fraudulent Claim by his own admission:

AUTHOR: Asphalt Kingdom.com - ()

According to Mr. Horst Reichart's own words:  "The system was returned in the very condition and boxes as it was shipped to me.  It was only taken out of the boxes because Asphalt Kingdom wanted a picture before it was returned."
 
That begs the obvious question: How did Mr. Reichart have difficulty with a unit that was never removed from the box prior to the return request - by his own admission?  It is impossible to attempt to attach the hoses to the machine while still boxed, therefore it is clear no attempt was ever made.  
 
Claim that the Operating Manual was Incorrect and not on website: FALSE

Easy to refute: All one has to do is click this product link to view the machine which has the OPERATING MANUAL you can download right from the "Specs" tab on the page. One can click the "Photos and Video" tab to view clear pictures and videos of the machine.  It's very simple to set up and use:

 
Customer requesting 100% refund under "these circumstances"
 
AK policy is clear, if a customer changes their mind on a product when there is no defect, "If we have processed your payment and your purchase has shipped and you then decide to cancel your order, you will be charged a 15% restocking fee plus the cost to ship the order to you and the cost to ship the order back to us. If your order has yet to ship and you cancel your order, you will be charged a $125 fee for cancellation of the scheduled freight order plus a 15% restocking charge."
 
Claim: Product came in many pieces with complicated assembly: FALSE
The only thing a customer has to do when receiving unit, it to attach the hoses using easy "quick-camlock-couplers".  THATS IT! The hoses cannot be attached during shipping because the fitting would risk being damages during shipping. The directions to attach the hoses are clear in the manual and on the website photos and videos.
 
We have shipped thousand of these unit this year and it is one of out best selling units sue to its easy operation.  It is unfortunate Mr. Horst Reichart did not make the effort to take the machine out of the box and actually try it, since we have many happy customers who love their machines: http://www.asphaltkingdom.com/sealcoating-testimonials.html
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#7 Author of original report

MANUAL NOT ON WEBSITE

AUTHOR: Reiner - ()

In Asphalt Kingdom's rebuttal to my problems concerning assembly and use of this product(resulting in myeventual  return of the item) they state that they have a manual on their website for this item.  When I was having dificulty with this product I went on their website for directions and found that the website said that this item was unavailable and may not be available again in the future.  What they sent me with the product were the directions for a 275gal. system and not a manual for the 55 gal. drum system.

This included no assembly directions and some of the directions for the mixing and testing of my particular product could not be done.  I therefore concluded that I would have problems with this product and it needed to be returned.  I asked Asphalt Kingdom for the aseembly instructions and the other problems but did not receive an answer other than talk to "Tim" which I did and decided to return this product.  Under these cicumstances I should have been refunded my entire purchase cost instead of losing about 35% of what I paid in shipping, re-shipping and restocking fees.

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#8 Author of original report

Asphalt Kingdom's Conclusion is False

AUTHOR: Reiner - ()

Asphalt Kingdom's conclusion that this item was returned because of budget problems is completely false.  It is a fabricated reason without merit.  I would not have ordered the equipment if I had "budget problems."  The item was returned because. after reading the instructions, which were actually for the 275Gal. unit, it became clear that it was impossible to carry out some of the "highly recommended" procedures such as mixing the 55 gallon asphalt and practicing using the system.  Furthermore, there were no instructions for assemblying the box of valves and pipes.  In this respect the instructions for assembly and use of this product are  very lacking. I became frustrated by this lack of  information and  so decided to return it.  I did not feel that talking to "Tim" would be a substitute for the lacking manual and the potential problem with the system. The system was returned in the very condition and boxes as it was shipped to me.  It was only taken out of the boxes because Asphalt Kingdom wanted a picture before it was returned.  So, at the very least, the $180  restocking fee should not have been charged.  Also, the vendor charged me $140 to send the pump and box of pipes to me.  It only costs me $101, including insurance, to return it UPS. 

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#9 UPDATE Employee

Mr. Horst Reichelt did not read the manual and follow instructions

AUTHOR: AK - ()

At AK we have the asphalt industries’ top customer service team.  We provide UNLIMITED phone and tech support to our customers for life, instructional videos and an owner’s manual for each product.

Mr. Horst Reichelt ‘s AK 2200-B was delivered to him in March of 2013 at 80 S. Shore Dr., Dover, Delaware 19901 along with the correct owners manual which is also downloadable directly from our website.  See for yourself if you think it is too complicated:

Public link to the marketing page where the manual can be downloaded to any computer: http://www.asphaltkingdom.com/pavement-sealcoating-machine-ak2200b.html

Direct link to the same owners manual: www.asphaltkingdom.com/support-files/AK2200-B_OPERATING_MANUAL.doc

Out of thousands of customers purchasing the very same unit in 2013, Mr. Horst Reichelt was the ONLY customer this year who despite multiple phone calls with tech support and customer service, decided that this simple unit was too complicated for him and finally ask to return the unit.  Not because of any defect whatsoever in the unit, but rather because he claimed it was too difficult for him to operate.

We have call recordings of each of the calls with Mr. Horst Reichelt documenting the effort made by the AK team to answer all questions. It became clear Mr. Horst Reichelt was also having a personal budgetary issue and we suspect that was the real motivation for the return request was not just his failure to grasp very simple concepts in equipment operating.

The return policy for all equipment is clearly stated: http://www.asphaltkingdom.com/our-policies.html

Please view what some of our thousands of happy customers have to say about our equipment and service: http://www.asphaltkingdom.com/sealcoating-testimonials.html

Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
X