• Report: #826735

Complaint Review: BUIRKHART PETERSON @ CO

Thank You

Read how Ripoff Report saves consumers millions.

  • Submitted: Sun, January 22, 2012
  • Updated: Tue, September 25, 2012

  • Reported By: MIKEETT — Omaha Nebraska United States of America
BUIRKHART PETERSON @ CO
9504 N IH 35 SAN ANTONIO, Texas United States of America

BUIRKHART PETERSON @ CO TAX RELIEF SCAM False promises,Deceptive tactics $5,000 Dollars up front fee Then fail to provide promised tax relief SAN ANTONIO, Texas

*REBUTTAL Owner of company: Response to Client Complaint

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

Burkhart Peterson & Co (BBc) employ an array of false promises and deceptive tactics to take unfair advantage of Me who desperately need help resolving their back tax debt to the IRS. They charged  me a high upfront fee, $5,000 dollars, for their services.  Telling me they can stop IRS collection activity and resolve IRS problems. After collecting their advance fee, This  Co.kept , requesting the same documents time and time again from me, they conclude that the,  IRS Form 1040 Prepared by IRS Adj. assigned to my case showing Income and no deductions,  I should sign. BBc.then could give the IRS an Offer in Compromise for pennies on the Dollar.

Thanks




This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 01/22/2012 02:27 PM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/BUIRKHART-PETERSON-CO/SAN-ANTONIO-Texas-78233/BUIRKHART-PETERSON-CO-TAX-RELIEF-SCAM-False-promisesDeceptive-tactics-5000-Dollars-u-826735. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on BUIRKHART PETERSON @ CO

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
0Author 0Consumer 1Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 REBUTTAL Owner of company

Response to Client Complaint

AUTHOR: Burkhart, Peterson & Company - (USA)

We apologize for the delay in responding; we weren't aware that this had been reported here until now. 

Please know that this case was closed for more than two years and was put into a storage status before we ever heard about a client complaint.  The client complaint was filed AFTER we eventually sent the case to a collection agency for non-payment.  This is clearly a case where the client is simply trying to avoid paying for services rendered.

We provided audit representation services to the client on multiple tax years in a situation wherein the client had significantly under-reported revenues on the original return and was not able to verify deductions/expenses that had been claimed. We worked this audit through conclusion (but not Appeals) with the IRS Revenue Agent that believed client had filed false returns and got a good result in light of the bad circumstances we were dealt. 

At the conclusion of the audits, the client owed balances due.  We attempted to help the client address the IRS collections efforts, but did not receive the data/info requested from the client to do this and also did not receive the remainder of the fee request that had been made of the client when work first began on this case.

Client never requested that we stop work.  Instead, we advised client that we were resigning from the case because client wouldn't pay agreed upon fee requests and wouldn't make timely responses to our data and info requests.

$1,750 was the amount of the fee request made at the beginning of casework that was

not paid by the client (not $5,000).  We actually REDUCED the fee amount on our own initiative after closing the case because the actual work didn't take us as long as anticipated.  This is contrary to our agreement with client but we did it to be as fair as possible.  

To summarize:

1. When this person hired us, we took the initial payment to get started.

2. We quickly thereafter provided an overall budget for the case in excess of the startup payment and requested payment arrangements be made for that budget, which client agreed to.

3. We did the audit work the client hired us to do using the supporting data that he could provide.  Client was unable to provide all of what was requested.  We requested information needed from client to address the tax debts that resulted from client inability to provide substantiation requested.  Client did not provide all of what was necessary to do that properly.

4.We never exceeded the budget we provided at the beginning of work (came in below it actually) and reduced the overall fees to be fair to client.

5.Client never paid enough to pay off the budget that was provided to him up front that he agreed to (or even enough to pay off the reduced fee amounts charged).

6.We closed the client case on our own initiative and tried to collect balance of fees due for more than two years.  Client was non-responsive. 

7.We sent client to a collection agency because he was non-responsive for so long.

8.Now client is voicing complaints through BBB and this website because he doesn't want to pay for work that we did for him and did well.  The dialogue of client complaint and company responses can all be found on BBB website!

Everyone please know that the BBB rates our company as an A+ because we charge fair fees and we do great work.  For information about tax preparation or tax debt resolution services, please contact us at (888) 272-8297! 
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.



Ripoff Report Legal Directory