• Report: #1013702

Complaint Review: Calvert's Express

Thank You

Read how Ripoff Report saves consumers millions.

  • Submitted: Wed, February 13, 2013
  • Updated: Thu, February 21, 2013

  • Reported By: DeDe — Kansas City Missouri United States of America
Calvert's Express
1501 Main St Kansas City, Missouri United States of America

Calvert's Express Incompetent Kansas City, Missouri

*Author of original report: Owners Reply

*Author of original report: calvert's express

*UPDATE Employee: Not Incompetent

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

My husband took our 2009 journey into the shop for an oil change, tune-up and wheel alignment. After he picked it up he noticed right away that the car was knocking. We stopped at an auto parts store and they told us the lifting rod was bent and Calvert's Express did it when they changed the oil. The next morning we had the car towed back to the shop. The mechanic said they weren't at fault and we had caused the problem. While my husband was waiting another customer said the same thing happened to him. Calvert's still deny that it was their fault. Now we are stuck with the towing bill and no car. I urged everyone who is reading this do not go to Calvert's Express because they are liars, incompetent and negligent.

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 02/13/2013 02:45 PM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/Calverts-Express/Kansas-City-Missouri-64108/Calverts-Express-Incompetent-Kansas-City-Missouri-1013702. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Calvert's Express

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
2Author 1Consumer 0Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 Author of original report

Owners Reply

AUTHOR: djett - (United States of America)

In response to what this area manager has said about my vehicle on the 2009 Journey. There was no knocking noise when I brought the car in. I've taken my vehicle there before and just like this time when I came in for a oil change and tune-up they will always tell you what services they see that you need on the car. Before they did work with my car, they had sugested that I needed rear struts.  No where on the report does it state about a knocking noise. I drove my car after leaving their location and got on the highway and thats when the car started knocking, and I mean knocking hard. When I had the car towed back to their location the following day, one of the workers who had worked on the car had said "you know I heard a noise on the car, but I just didn't put it in my report OR TELL THE MANAGER" That is because the noise he heard was not knocking and to him it was not thing major, which is the only reason a certified mechanic may have not commented. As far as this area manager giving alternatives, that is a lie. He only told me to make sure I get the car before he starts adding storage fees.... Now the manger at that location did give an alternative "I'm not going to fix your car, maybe you can turn it back into the place you financed it from and have them throw the remainder of the cost unto another vehicle if you still owe. You need a new engine"  That's the alternative I got. As was stated before, what about the other consumer that was there that ended up having the same problem "knocking noise" that I had.  Oh, he put too much oil in the car.  I had told them, that I had another oil change after they did one as well.  If you have a vehicle which you have serviced for the past 7 months putting in new items and never noticed a problem before and now something occurs right after the consumer leaves your shop like this.  Customer Service on the company's side is to tend to the problem that was never there before. You have to learn how to accept responsibility on a problem that was never addressed before because you knew the issue was not there when you inspected the car. That's what good customer service is, and I've been in Customer Service for 25 years and you need to display that even if you feel like "I may have to bit the bullet on this one".  You did not express there was a problem, and after leaving the location there was one, then you do your job and make sure it's corrected.  Or job is to serve those that come to us for service, every now and then a slip up may happen on either side, but when you know that it can be corrected...Good Service is what you should give, because it's really not costing you a thing. You are gaining confidence in the one's you serve.  This was not good service and the latter advise given by the manager was not something that should have been stated to a consumer. Calvert's Express may be a fine place (they have many locations) but the confidence and concern they had show me at their Main St. location in KC was terrible and now it's become costly for me and my family. And don't whine to the consumer about being written up in a report, just learn how to correct your problems when you inspect car's and the issues they may be having.  Yes, I should have taken it to a Dodge dealership; they would have made sure it was corrected before I left, because they would have known the hard knocking noise was not there when I brought it in.  Mr. Jett
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 Author of original report

calvert's express

AUTHOR: djett - (United States of America)

In response to the owner's comments about our 2009 journey, when my husband took the car to them, as far as the knocking noise he's stating that he heard, on a scale of 1-10 the noise was a mere 1, but after the work was done it was a 10. We had to pull over on the side of the expressway because the car sounded like it was going to shut off. We barely made it home. When we had the car towed back to the shop the next day (2/13/13), my husband was told by one of the mechanics that he didn't hear the car knocking that loud when we first took it in. Calvert's express is still claiming that it wasn't their fault. Our car was drivable and working good until we took it there. As far as the oil changes, the dates that he provided are when we went to them, which doesn't mean we didn't have anything done since 2012.  As far as the rod, that's what we were told when we stopped at Advance Auto the day we got the car from the shop (2/12/13).We were also told not to drive the vehicle because the engine will lock. Now we're told that the engine is ruined and they're trying to charge us storage fees. If they would'nt have damaged our car all of this could have been avoided. All they have to do is refund us the money we had to pay for a rental $500.00, the tow charge $139.00, the down payment we have to pay for another vehicle, the $191.00 they charged us for the initial "work" that ruined our car and the amount it would be to get the car fixed.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#3 UPDATE Employee

Not Incompetent

AUTHOR: Calverts Express - (United States of America)

To whom it may concern

Our records indicate the vehicle came in to our shop with a knocking noise present. The last oil change our facility performed was in June of 2012 with no subsequent services performed at that location until February 2013, with 31,000 additional miles on the vehicle.

Request from Calverts Express - show proof of oil changes since June 2012 accompanied with mileage at the time of each (should be a total of nine). Suspected cause of failure - Lack of oil changes at the appropriate mileage interval

False accuisation from auto part store - no human can bend a connecting rod that is an internal component to a gas powered engine.  This part connects the piston to the crankshaft. Calverts Express empathizes with the owners of this vehicle and their situation. We have provided a solution to their issue, but they declined our services.

We'll let you make a decission on the level of incompetency and negligence. Calverts Express also suggests that you visit an auto repair facility to maintain your vehicle on its regular scheduled maintenance and stresses the importance so you don't end up like the reporter of this complaint.

Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.



Ripoff Report Legal Directory