• Report: #590695

Complaint Review: Camper World

Thank You

Read how Ripoff Report saves consumers millions.

  • Submitted: Wed, April 07, 2010
  • Updated: Wed, June 27, 2012

  • Reported By: anonymous — Utah United States of America
Camper World
4055 South 700 East, Suite 101 Salt Lake City, Utah United States of America

Camper World Camperworld, Cabin Fever Camping, camping memberships, camping time shares, camping resorts Salt Lake City, Utah

*Consumer Comment: Camper World SLC, UT. SCAMMERS

*Consumer Comment: you haven't been a member long enough

*REBUTTAL Owner of company: half truths and misinformation

*Consumer Comment: Our experience was quite different

*Consumer Comment: Nice to know

*Author of original report: Camper World Rip Off

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

My husband and I responded to an offer we received from Camper World after we bought our trailer.  "Once in a life time opportunity! These memberships don't open up to the public very often! Hurry now!" When we went to the meeting we were told that we could bring family, friends and pets with no problems. We can even let them use our membership without us there! We were told our maintenance fee would be $295.00 per year for exclusive access to 9 campgrounds here in Utah and that fee would never go up. 


Since then...We found out that there are many restrictions making it almost impossible for us to enjoy our membership. They made it impossible to bring family. Not only can you not have guests with you on holidays, but they also demanded to see birth certificates to prove they were our kids or our parents. That is such BS. We listed our family on our membership papers when we signed up. Not to mention that the camp ground hosts are rude as hell and constantly harass you while your there! Every park we've been to, they've treated us with nothing more than disrespect. I guess they don't realize where their paychecks really come from?



Last year they jacked up our maintenance fee to $400.00 WITHOUT NOTICE! Then they also charged all their members a $600.00 Assessment fee! Also WITHOUT NOTICE! If we didn't pay it, they wouldn't allow us to use our membership nor would they allow you to sell your membership.  They claimed that because of the economy it was necessary for them to charge this assessment to all their members in order for them to pay off all of their properties and be debt free!  Well that's great for them because they put a lot of their members in financial hardship for their own personal gain. They didn't care about the impact this would have on their members. I wonder what they will hit us with next year?



Now today... we get a letter in the mail stating that we have to register our dog with them on an annual basis AND we have to have submit annual vaccination records AND a liability insurance policy! AND we have to present our "Camper World Dog Card" every time we go to the park or our dog won't be allowed in the park. I'm a good pet owner. My dog is registered with a chip, she is vaccinated. She's only 3 lbs and I'll be damned if I'm going to run out a pay for a liability insurance policy on her.  

Camper World is only interested in getting you locked into a $7,000.00 contract that you have no way out of. They will lie and deceive you to get you to sign and then you will find out that in the end.... you got screwed because they make it impossible for you to use your membership. Buyer Beware! 

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 04/07/2010 06:46 PM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/Camper-World/Salt-Lake-City-Utah-84107/Camper-World-Camperworld-Cabin-Fever-Camping-camping-memberships-camping-time-shares-c-590695. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Camper World

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
1Author 4Consumer 1Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 Consumer Comment

Camper World SLC, UT. SCAMMERS

AUTHOR: bobbi - ()

Just like the 100's  (1000's?) of other Camper World Members that claim this company is one big fraud--I too, as a member, have experienced all the very negligent, illegal, rude, policy changing practices associated with this outfit.  In fact--I have never heard of any member who doesn't feel totally scammed and lied to by this company (Camperworld).  I agree with the other members who have filed legitimate negative reports about this company!  What is wrong with our justice system? Dozens of official reports and complaints have been legally filed against Camperworld!  Why are they still able to continue blatantly "rip off" their members --even their  "supposed" trustee members who were told that they held shares and had vested ownership in the overall Camper World Org.  I have invested thousands of dollars into this company--and yet have been denied full use "as was promised" by these manipulative scam artists!  ATTENTION OTHER CAMPERWORLD MEMBERS!  Let's join ranks  and take  control from the few top company officials who are ripping everyone else off!  I know there are literally "hundreds" ( if not "thousands") of you right here in Utah, who have been similarly scammed over and over again--year after year--while being deprived of the full benefits that were promised when membership was purchased.  I'M CALLING FOR A HUGE GIANT COMBINED LAWSUIT AGAINST THE FEW DISHONEST TOP OFFICIALS IN CONTOL OF CAMPERWORLD! (THOSE HANDFUL OF REIGNING TYRANTS CONTROLLING THE "PURSES STRINGS" AND POLICIES) WHO ARE PRIMARILY RESPONSIBLE FOR THE MAJORITY OF THE DISHONEST ONGOING FRAUDULENT PRACTICES WHICH HAVE BEEN TAKEN AGAINST CAMPERWORLD'S MANY OTHER "VESTED"  CO-OWNERS AND MEMBERS! IF ALL DISGRUNTLED PARTIES WILL UNITE-- TOGETHER WE CAN FILE SUCH A HUGE MASSIVE CIVIL ACTION AGAINST CAMPERWORLD that THE CIVIL AUTHOURITIES WILL BE MORE COMPELLED TO INVESTIGATE AND PROSECUTE THOSE CAMPERWORLD OFFICIALS WHO ARE PRIMARILY RESPONSILBLE FOR THE LARCENY COMMITTED AGAINST THE REST OF US WHO COMMONLY ALSO HOLD A VERY LARGE "UNACCOUNTED FOR" VESTED INTEREST IN CAMPERWORLD!

email: keithnbobbi@gmail.com.       if you would be interested in pursuing this cause!

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 Consumer Comment

you haven't been a member long enough

AUTHOR: wjjenn - ()

The fee that was discussed was a new maintenance fee was a requirement to remain a member.  You either paid the $600 or lose your rights to use the parks that you had paid for.  My yearly maintenance fees have gone from $199 per year to $499 per year.  Other than that I love the parks except for Echo Island where I had several run ins with the manager.  He is very rude!

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#3 REBUTTAL Owner of company

half truths and misinformation

AUTHOR: Finny - ()

I stumbled upon this ripoff report while searching for something else.  I read it out of curiousity, and find it to consist largely of half-truths and misinformation.

I have been a camperworld member for about four years, give or take.  We people who run the individual campgrounds are not rude, but rather are some of the nicest people I have ever met.  They bend over backwards to help us.  Neither I, nor any of our seven kids have ever had a cross word from a signle one of them.

 

There was no $600 assessment last year, as this report suggests.  That is not in any way true.  There was an option to pay $600 if you wanted access to a new campground in Zion's National Park area, that was not included in anyone's original membership.  However it was very clearly communicated that it was not mandatory, and only available as an option if we wanted it.  

 

Our fees did not increase dramatically, etc.

 

Given all the misleading information in this post, I am left wondering about the motives of the person who added it.  Disgrunteled employee perhaps?

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#4 Consumer Comment

Our experience was quite different

AUTHOR: Hiram - (U.S.A.)

In 2009 my parents purchased a membership, after attending one of their dinner / sales meetings.  They had just purchased a new rv, and like many others, were invited to attend the meeting.

They decided that they liked what they heard, and purchased the membership.  The next thing we know, they are gone for weeks at a time, exploring the ten campgrounds that they had access to.  At the time we didn't know that they had this membership.

Out of curiosity, my wife and I inquired into their new found love for camping.  They invited us to go camp with them, since children were allowed to visit as guests for free.  We had zero problems getting in. 

The staff was amazingly gracious.  We do a lot of camping, and RV parks are almost always run by kindred spirits, but I have to say that the folks at echo island, where we stayed that first time were especially so.  The provided crafts for our kids, let us borrow tools, and even gave us free ice cream.

We were impressed, and decided to go to a presentation / dinner ourselves.  The sales rep was not pushy.  If any thing he was shy and quiet.  We purchased a membership that night, and have not looked back.

We love it.  My work allows me to telecommute.  In the summer, we often run off to one of the campgrounds, (several are within a few hours drive).  I bring my laptop and work in the motorhome, while the kids swim, hike, or whatever.  

Our fees have not increased.  We have never been treated rudely by the staff of any of the campgrounds.  In the winter we probably go to the hotspring three or four times.  It is great.  The kids swim in the outdoor pool, and think it is a blast to do so in the winter.  It is only a little further than crystal hot springs, but much better cared for, and far less expensive (Free)

In the spring, summer, and fall we go on average probably ten times to the other campgrounds and probably spend a total of 30-40 days a year on their facilities.  

We are there enough that a few of them are starting to remember us.  The Nice older lady that cares for Mt. Pleasant with her daughters is always very friendly, as is the little family in Kamas, and the couple who take care of Echo Island.  Likewise the couple (though we usually only see the husband since we typically arrive late and leave after swimming) at the hotspring.  

Mt. Pleasant has some fantastic hikes behind it.  If you sneak off through the trees, there is a hike back to a scout camp that is very peaceful.  

I can't imagine not having the membership.  Without it, our motorhome would maybe get used a week or two a year.... in which case, why bother paying for it.  With camperworld, we put real use on the motorhome, and have been able to create a lot of memories for the kids.

Your comments to the contrary strike me as odd.  Because our experience has been very different.  
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#5 Consumer Comment

Nice to know

AUTHOR: Justfun - (USA)

We purchased a trailer earlier this year and have been bombarded by a sales person to attend a dinner and presentation about how wonderful this is. I have been reluctant because of a previous timeshare purchase and don't believe a thing these sale people will say to close the deal. I'm sorry that it isn't what you expected and appreciate you posting your experience. I have talked to a friend that purchased a whole membership and has nothing but good to say of their experiences with Camper World. I'm still being cautious and think I will let this "Once in a Lifetime" pass me by.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#6 Author of original report

Camper World Rip Off

AUTHOR: anonymous - (United States of America)

My husband and I responded to an offer we received from Camper World after we bought our trailer.  "Once in a life time opportunity! These memberships don't open up to the public very often! Hurry now!" When we went to the meeting we were told that we could bring family, friends and pets with no problems. We can even let them use our membership without us there! We were told our maintenance fee would be $295.00 per year for exclusive access to 9 campgrounds here in Utah and that fee would never go up.  


Since then...We found out that there are many restrictions making it almost impossible for us to enjoy our membership. They made it impossible to bring family. Not only can you not have guests with you on holidays, but they also demanded to see birth certificates to prove they were our kids or our parents. That is such BS. We listed our family on our membership papers when we signed up. They never mentioned that we would have to pay a pet deposit either.  They said our family and friends could bring pets. Then when they tried we were told it wasn't allowed. Not to mention that the camp ground hosts are rude as hell and constantly harass you while your there! Every park we've been to, they've treated us with nothing more than disrespect. I guess they don't realize where their paychecks really come from? 



Last year they jacked up our maintenance fee from $295.00 to $400.00 WITHOUT NOTICE! Then they also charged all their members a $600.00 Assessment fee! Also WITHOUT NOTICE! If we didn't pay it, they wouldn't allow us to use our membership nor would they allow you to sell your membership.  They claimed that because of the economy it was necessary for them to charge this assessment to all their members in order for them to pay off all of their properties and be debt free!  Well that's great for them because they put a lot of their members in financial hardship for their own personal gain. They didn't care about the impact this would have on their members. I wonder what they will hit us with next year? We even tried to sell our membership back to them or even someone else, but they wouldn't allow it.



Now today... we get a letter in the mail stating that we have to register our dog with them on an annual basis AND we have to have submit annual vaccination records AND a liability insurance policy! AND we have to present our "Camper World Dog Card" every time we go to the park or our dog won't be allowed in the park. I'm a good pet owner. My dog is registered with a chip, she is vaccinated. She's only 3 lbs and I'll be damned if I'm going to run out a pay for a liability insurance policy on her.   Camper World is only interested in getting you locked into a $7,000.00 contract that you have no way out of. They will lie and deceive you to get you to sign and then you will find out that in the end.... you got screwed because they make it impossible for you to use your membership. Buyer Beware! 




After searching the internet high and low I've come across more complaints. It seems that Camper World has a long history of decieving people ripping them off. I guess if they keep getting away with it then there's no reason for them to stop. This complaint can be found at http://www.afnash.com/forum/view_topic.php?id=114&forum_id=10&jump_to=76083#p76083












8  Posted: Sun Mar 27th, 2005 18:17


















Ignore

Quote

Reply

PM

Report
Just a note for what it's worth.  We were new to RV camping and parks etc. We got an invitation to Camperworld presentation when we purchased our little travel trailer. I don't remember what the circumstances were but we couldn't attend the presentation. So, the salesman came right to our house, amazing. So, We probably unwisely, at the time, purchased a Camperworld full membership in about 2001 for about $3000.   This gave us access to the 6 parks at the time.  Our annual fee was $350.00. :) The next year the annual fee went up to $466.00. :? We were really upset about this and wrote Camperworld about our objection to the 25% increase. We didn't say there shouldn't be one, but another $116.00 annually seemed quite a bit to us. Still raising a family, mortgage, etc. And not enough time to really enjoy what we were paying for (our miscalculation). They sent back information on how we could sell our membership, with their approval.  Still had to pay the annual fee until it sold or the buyer would have to pay the back payments.  Then the next year we were assessed $1600.00.  If we payed the assessment our annual fee of $466.00 would be locked in, never raised and no more assessments. Which ment to us that if we didn't pay they could raise our annual fee as often as they wanted to what ever they wanted. So, with reservations, we payed the assessment $1600.00, on top of the annual $466.00 fee. It cost us $2066.00 to camp that year, which we were able to do about 8 days of. It seemed almost like extortion. We even talked to a lawyer we were so surprised and angry.  Now we received a notice that Camperworld is leasing a KOA South of SLC.  I under stand this is a very nice place. They want $99.00 registration fee to register to use that park.  Call it what they want it still sounds like an assessment to us, just called by a different name. Again we are angry.:X  When Camperworld bought the old Belmont Hot Springs up near Tremonton they didn't charge a registration fee to use the new park.  I thought our $1600.00 assesment covered any further surcharges, fees, assessments, registrations whatever you want to call them.  Maybe we'll talk to the lawyer again, maybe we just won't pay the $99.00 and not use that campground. There may be assessments and registration fees in your future that you may not be aware of. We'd like to know if there are other Camperworld members who feel kind of "taken advantage of" and have a similar experience. Surely we aren't the only ones who are miffed. I talked to a friend of mine who's father had bought a membership years ago. She said he was really mad about the increase and assessment. With the money we've spent we could camp in several other public or commercial grounds and be financially ahead. With our initial $3,000.00 + 4 years annual fees, and $1600.00 assessment we've paid over $6000.00 for 4 to 4 1/2 years Camperworld membership, jsut to camp. Even at $50.00 a night, that's 120 days of camping over a 4 year periond. That's about 30 days a year for the last 4 years.  I don't know to many people that can do that. We could have camped at state or federal campgrounds or KOA or whatever for less that $50.00 a day for 120 days.  The Coast to Coast fee is about $150.00 annually. But you still have to pay a fee to stay at the affiliated campground. I think it's less than $10.00. If we had more time to just go camping it would probably be worth what it has cost us and continues to cost us. Our schedules at this time don't allow for a lot of time to camp. Of couse we realize that's our problem.  And we probably should have bought a less expensive package but we unwisely allowed ourselves to be pursuaded.  If you are going to buy into a membership of any kind listen to the presentation, but give yourself sometime to evaluate the cost, how much you think you'll use it, any possible additional fees, assessments, registration costs and raises in annual maintenance fees.  If you buy a small package you may later be able to add to it. I remember we asked the representative about increases in fees he said they hadn't had one for awhile and couldn't say if there would or wouldn't be one in the future, obviously. Now, on the other hand the Camperworld campgrounds are well kept.  Managers are friendly.  Almost all have had some kind of improvement whether is has been additional camp spots, recreation centers, pool improvements, more 50amp upgrades etc., due to the $1600.00 assessment so many of us paid.  Echo Island, Coleville is okay, it's close about 40 min drive,  new camping spots there. Somewhat noisy on the East end due to it's close proximity to the freeway, lots of traffic/road noise. Nice view of the surrounding are if you take a hike up the mountain.  The grounds at Bear Lake are nice, some road noise depending on where you camp but not too bad close to the Idaho boarder, lotto tickets:D. Plenty to do at Bear Lake. Hope the water rises. Don't remember the improvements there.  Starvation resevoir quiet, good access to the resevoir if we get enough snow and rain. It's quiet.  Knotty Pine, some road noise, the North side of the park is right next to the road.  Provo river runs through it. It's a nice place. It is great to just pack your stuff up and go anytime without having to make a reservation.  They have to let you in even if you have to camp in the over flow without any hookups. But, that's why you're self contained, right.  Enjoy the outdoors.



Here's another one I found: 



COMPLAINT ACTIVITY REPORT Case # 22067332 Better Business Bureau of Utah
Business Info: Camperworld Trust
4055 South 700 East Ste 101 
Salt Lake City, UT 84107-2508
801 262-8166

Consumer Info?: 
Eric.
Layton, UT 84041 




Location Involved: (Same as above)

Consumer's Original Complaint :
Yearly dues misrepresented. We were told the two-park membership was specially designed to avoid the larger fees, and that fees hadn't increased in many years. In the 4 years we have been members the fees increased from $195 yearly to $400.

Membership value misrepresented. We were originally sent a document mentioning a $3000 discount due to our recent RV purchase. The two-resort membership was sold to us for $1690, said to be a $4600 value, and the value of these exclusive memberships increased yearly. In November 2008 Mike Hatch told us the value was $1400-1600.

Coast to Coast membership misrepresented. We were told this was part of the Camperworld membership, but is another membership and set of fees. We were told purchasing Camperworld gave us two weeks worth of Coast to Coast every year, but once we contacted Coast to Coast we were told about a $99 yearly membership fee, then we need to buy our two weeks of time.

Cancelling within the first 30 days. Within the first 30 days of membership we realized we did not want this membership and requested details on cancelling this membership via phone. We were told there was absolutely no way to cancel; there was no lemon law to this membership.

Pets. We were told dogs were welcome at all Camperworld locations. There are deposits for dogs which is fair. We have one dog. Every time we arrived we were treated as second-class citizens for having a dog. Now in 2009 dogs will require an additional fee.

Reselling to Camperworld. Was told in November 2008 by Mike Hatch that Camperworld does not purchase memberships which is contradictory to their resale document, and that the $495 transfer fee applied. The resale document is also worded to make one infer the $495 transfer fee does not apply when reselling to Camperworld.

$495 transfer fee. There is no reason for that high of a cost. Adding the $495 transfer fee as part of reselling to Camperworld is a rip off.

Multiple attempts to resell. Many intents to sell were sent to Camperworld in a time span of over one year, reducing the price to $700, which, including the $495 transfer fee, would reduce the price of the membership to $205. Many weeks are taken between responses and the length of response time increased as the end of year approached, likely to secure another year's dues, and all intents to sell have been denied.


Consumer's Desired Resolution:
Refund of $1690 for the membership. No $400 dues for 2009.

BBB Processing 

01/03/2009 web BBB Complaint Received by BBB
01/05/2009 BB BBB Member Complaint Validated by Operator
01/05/2009 Otto EMAIL Send acknowledgement to Consumer
01/05/2009 Otto EMAIL Inform Member Business of the Complaint
01/21/2009 OttO BBB Member No Response to first Notice to Business
01/21/2009 OttO MAIL Resend to Member Business
01/27/2009 BB BBB RECEIVE BUSINESS RESPONSE : Refer to "ALL ATTACHMENTS FOR THIS COMPLAINT" on your complaint website link. 

01/27/2009 BB EMAIL Forward Business response to Consumer
01/28/2009 WEB BBB RECEIVED CONSUMER REBUTTAL : (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
No resolution is provided in the response. As with all previous transactions with Camperworld there is no flexibility or customer service on Camperworld's part.
01/29/2009 BB BBB No Middle Ground Provided By Consumer
01/29/2009 Otto EMAIL Inform Consumer - No Middle Ground Provided
01/30/2009 WEB BBB RECEIVED CONSUMER REBUTTAL : Regarding the middle ground offer: Please explain to me where Camperworld offered any kind of middle ground offer in their statement?
As for my middle ground, I am happy to get 75% of my purchase price refunded and this year's dues, for a total of 1667.50.
01/30/2009 BB EMAIL Forward Consumer Rebuttal to Member Business
02/02/2009 otto BBB Business Requests Complaint Password
02/17/2009 OttO BBB Member No Response from Business re: Consumer Rebuttal
02/17/2009 OttO EMAIL Send Membership Notice for Consumer Rebuttal
02/25/2009 OttO BBB Member Complaint Review - No Response Received
02/26/2009 BB BBB Dispute Counselor Phone Call to Business
04/02/2009 BB BBB RECEIVED RESPONSE FROM BUSINESS RE: REBUTTAL : Refer to ''ALL ATTACHMENTS FOR THIS COMPLAINT'' on your complaint website link. 
04/02/2009 BB EMAIL Forward Business Response to Consumer re: Rebuttal
04/10/2009 WEB BBB CONSUMER REJECTS BUSINESS' RESPONSE : (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As always this business provides no resolution, no compromise, and no customer service. I will accept a refund of $1600.
04/14/2009 BB EMAIL Inform Consumer - Case Closed AJR
04/14/2009 Otto EMAIL Inform Business - Case Closed AJR
04/14/2009 Otto BBB Case Closed AJR
 

Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.



Ripoff Report Legal Directory
youd