• Report: #1012044

Complaint Review: Carmax

Thank You

Read how Ripoff Report saves consumers millions.

  • Submitted: Mon, February 11, 2013
  • Updated: Mon, February 11, 2013

  • Reported By: Duagdinn — Gainesville Georgia United States of America
Carmax
1975 Beaver Ruin Rd NW Norcross, Georgia United States of America

Carmax Carmax, The runaround and a lost car title Norcross, Georgia

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

 We were recently at the store in Norcross, GA. It was very unpleasant. I had went in to look/buy a 2010 Dodge Caliber. It took about 5 minutes to find the vehicle we wanted since we had done some research on their website prior. We sat down with the salesman Keith Palmer. The first day we spent 5 hours there. We went through everything paperwork, down payment, insurance. You name it we did it.

 He kept running back and forth, and coming back with "The financial department needs this, and this". He was extremely UN-organized. When it was all over with we had given him everything. Just as we went into the signing room he pulled us out of the signing room and said "Carmax" would not let us have the car until my DL had been changed over to GA. Now..I can agree that was my fault, but he had seen my DL at the very beginning he couldn't tell me this before I wasted all that time, and we had went through all of that? Well I left the dealership and the next day I went and got my correct DL. So at that point there was nothing else that needed to be done.

 I had kept in contact with him every single day since he had said he would hold the vehicle for me. He assured me when we came in again that it would be a very quick process and nothing else would happen. Well we showed up a 2nd day, and he had to redo the paperwork. After telling us he wouldn't have to, that everything was finished with the Caliber. That took almost 3 hours. The sales person was extremely UN-knowledgeable and did not answer many questions. When we asked him why he kept re-submitting the information for the loan approvals he said he had to do that every time he had to correct something on the paperwork. All the mistakes on the paperwork was his fault. I was sitting behind him in the office looking at his computer screen and I corrected him several times on things that were wrong.

 Finally when the paperwork was done and we went into the signing room we sat there for almost a hour. No one came over people kept looking at us and finally I asked, "What is going on"? No one said anything. Finally someone came over, sat down and said.."We are sorry we cannot find the Calibers Title. We are looking for it.." Now..we had spoken to our sales person several times we were under the impression the deal was done, then when we get to the final stages the car title is not available.

 My sales person was not even going to tell me this until I asked him. Let me add to this my Grandmother was with me she is elderly, has some health problems..but she was there helping me find a good vehicle since she has had some dealings with dealerships, and she knows how they work. My grandmother had to ask the sales person 3 times, "What was going on with the car, and why was it taking so long"? He kept dodging the question and would not answer her. Finally he told her, and she asked him the same thing we did, "How can you have a vehicle for sale on your car lot and have no idea where the title is"?

 Now out of all of those days that I spoke with him, and the first day of going through the paperwork I was told all of this was done. It wasn't anything of the sorts. I would think if he knew we were coming back and had shown that much interest in that vehicle he would have made sure everything was together. To top it all off shortly after that happened, he told us he had to go home. His wife was there to pick him up. So he handed us off to another salesman. Yes the other salesman was great, but we had to go through everything all over again.

 To top it all off..They had no other calibers, and told us they could have one shipped from another Carmax but it would not be there until tomorrow. So we ended up having to choose something else off of the lot. We did not leave the dealership until 10:30 p.m. that night. All over Carmax there were signs up saying, "You can have a stress-free, enjoyable, good price, buying experience." We got none of those things. Also the commercials that say, "The way car buying should be". After that I will probably never go through any of that ever again. I walked away with a car I do like, but some what feel like we settled because we could not get our first choice. The car is a great car, but it was not exactly what we wanted. I am very unhappy about this whole situation. I've never had a experience like this in my life. I feel lied to, and ran-around.

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 02/11/2013 12:06 AM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/Carmax/Norcross-Georgia-30071/Carmax-Carmax-The-runaround-and-a-lost-car-title-Norcross-Georgia-1012044. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Carmax

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.



Ripoff Report Legal Directory