• Report: #919008

Complaint Review: Colonial van lines -movers

Thank You

Read how Ripoff Report saves consumers millions.

  • Submitted: Sat, July 28, 2012
  • Updated: Mon, December 03, 2012

  • Reported By: Mary — Brockport New York United States of America
Colonial van lines -movers
859 Wilard st. Braintree, Massachusetts United States of America

Colonial van lines -movers Always Affordable movers and storage What Colonial movers didn't steal,they broke!! They do not make hide the fact that they will steal from you ! Braintree, Massachusetts

*UPDATE Employee: Dear Customer

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

They were told when I first called that I have a little under 2000lbs of things that need moving from WV to Upstate NY. With out me knowing they booked it with another company called "Always affordable movers" out of Elizabeth N.J who has a 3000lb minimum charge...so even though I had 2000 or less lbs they still ripped me off and charged me for 3000lbs!!
They agreed to a Saturday pick up- they showed up on Sunday. Oh they called to tell me.. On Saturday!
They showed up and tossed my things into a truck which was already loaded up with another household of stuff- so when they showed me the weight slip they thought I was stupid enough that I didn't see the other people's stuff on the truck and would buy that my stuff weighed the weight on the slips!
Then instead of the 2 day delivery to where I was putting the thing into storage it turned into 6 days waiting for them to show up!! That morning they called and told me the total price I will owe them when they showed up later that day...I just about fell over!! They said if I wanted to meet the overs at the weigh station I could so I could witness the weight for myself that my things weighed over 3000lbs,I said heck yes I do!!! A little while later Colonial called me back and told me that I could not meet them at weight station because it didn't matter because the company they hired to move me (A affordable movers) had a 3000lb minimum anyway, so it didn't matter that my things weighed less than 2000lbs and if I didn't pay the guy when he got there I wasn't going to get my things!! I told them that Dennis (worker at colonial that booked my move) WAS TOLD several times in our conversation that it weighed less than 2000 lbs.... She said they have to use whom ever was available for the dates that I needed and I was pretty much out of luck..."I'm sorry ma'am"
This was also the worst day to bring my stuff, I was on the way to the vet with my dog who was dying of heart failure, so when he (yes only ONE mover showed up to unload the truck!) I was in a hurry so I didn't get to open the ton of boxes they put everything in til later that day when my nephew met me there to go though everything. That was when I discovered they stole my 1700.00$ iMac computer and my 900.00$ iPad that was in the iMac box also. And one tv was smashed that THEY packed (27" LCD flat screen) and almost every piece of china that was very well packed, broken..thing that were in the family for over a hundred yrs!!
When I called to inform Colonial of all this the women said "oh I'm so sorry, give us a few days, they probably still have it on their truck" and she asked me not to leave negative feedback on the computer because they always make good on these things.
Several days went by-no call. I called them and she said oh let me Check and I'll call you back..2 more days went by. Nothing!! So again I call and this person says, no they did not report finding anything extra on the truck....surprise surprise.. So this person emailed me a claim form which I filled out, including meny pictures of all the broken china. A couple weeks went by- nothing. Again I call and was told that it's not being reviewed by adjusters... "we will call you in a day or 2".. 3 days later (now 2 months after moving) I call them...again.. And was informed they completed my claim and the settlement offer was just emailed to me- I was told to read it and ok it and then they will send me the money...so I read my email, they offered me....$65. Yes $65.00. The standard .60cents per lb that the standard policy overs!!
I called them back after seeing this "offer" and asked her (Joanne) is she was crazy?.! and she said sorry ma'am but you should have bought the added insurance that covered the worth of all things missing or broken!! Are you kidding me?? So because I didn't that makes it ok to steal my stuff??
I guess so!!! It sounds like black mail to me, buy extra protection or we will rip you off! I'm a disabled person who can't just walk in and buy new things like these things, now what do I do?

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 07/28/2012 06:36 PM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/Colonial-van-lines-movers/Braintree-Massachusetts-02184/Colonial-van-lines-movers-Always-Affordable-movers-and-storage-What-Colonial-movers-didn-919008. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Colonial van lines -movers

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
0Author 1Consumer 0Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 UPDATE Employee

Dear Customer

AUTHOR: Colonial Van Lines - (USA)

 Colonial Van Lines Relocation wishes to express regret in hearing of the events that occurred during your relocation. We have reviewed your posting and located your account with the information you provided. We always take pride in ensuring that our coordinated relocations are completed successfully. It is always in our intention to provide our customers with the most exceptional service ensuring a smooth transition to their new surroundings as we understand how stressful relocating can prove to be, however at times we may fall short of our ultimate goal.

To complete relocation arrangements, all documentation outlining company policies and terms of agreement are supplied for review prior to execution of any relocation to be signed and returned in acceptance of our coordinated services. We make our customers aware in our terms of services that all suggested dates supplied within their contract are estimates. Due to the nature of the business, we ensure our customers are aware that delays may occur and with this in mind, our contracted are drafted as such. We make every effort in performing the pick up and delivery of our customers items within reasonable time. Based on our records your items were indeed loaded within your estimated load dates and delivered within your estimated delivery dates as well. We apologize if your move was not completed sooner than you had anticipated and if any inconvenience was caused as a result.

In regards to your weight dispute, please be advised that you booked at a 3000lb minimum as an estimate. Therefore, if your weight proved to be more than such you would be entitled to pay for the overage. Based on our records, your weight came in slightly over the 3000lb minimum and also you incurred packing charges and accessorial services. We notice that a certain amount was deducted from your balance for the weight overage, however this was not your only concern once your items were delivered.

Colonial Van Lines Relocation Division sincerely apologizes for the damages sustained and losses sustained as a result of the move. Unfortunately, due to you not purchasing any additional insurance your claim was settled at 60 cents per pound per item as indicated by the shipping agreement. We apologize that the claim settlement was unsatisfactory for you, however pursuant to the terms of the shipping agreement & and valuation of coverage you selected for your move we were unable to settle with an additional amount.

Once again, we extend our sincerest apologizes and should you have any further questions regarding this response please contact our office at 1-800-853-0039.

Thank you.
Sincerely,
Colonial Van Lines Relocation Division.

Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.



Ripoff Report Legal Directory