• Report: #764462

Complaint Review: Coral Springs Animal Hospital & Donna Schwartz, D.V.M.

  • Submitted: Fri, August 12, 2011
  • Updated: Sat, August 25, 2012

  • Reported By: Ryan — Pompano Beach Florida United States of America
Coral Springs Animal Hospital & Donna Schwartz, D.V.M.
2160 University Drive Coral Springs, Florida United States of America

Coral Springs Animal Hospital & Donna Schwartz, D.V.M. coral springs animal hospital complaints, Donna Schwartz, D.V.M, coral springs animal hospital horrible service, complete and total ripoff, con job, hack doctor, lies, threats, and intimidation attempts, tries to push multiple products Coral Springs, Florida

*Author of original report: Coral Springs Animal Hospital | Ripoff Complaints | Overcharges | Not Compassionate | Kills Animals

*Author of original report: Happy New Year Coral Springs Animal Hospital

*REBUTTAL Individual responds: Response From Dr. Schwartz

*Consumer Comment: Exactly!

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

On 07/15/2011 I brought my dog "Andrea" in to get a DA2P boost shot which was going to be required at the facility I was planning on boarding her at for 2 weeks while I traveled out of town.  After filling out 3 or 4 pages of paperwork and submitting past medical records and waiting for approximately 45 minutes I was admitted by a nurse, had Andrea weighed, and then brought into Donna Schwartz's exam room.  The nurse, Kara, IMMEDIATELY began explaining to me that I needed to have Andrea vaccinated for CIV (Canine Influenza) which had apparantly "wiped out the entire kennel" at the Coral Springs Animal Hospital mere months prior.  I was informed that it was a new disease and that not many people knew about it, but it was absolutely NECCESSARY that I get Andrea vaccinated lest I risk her dying from this unstoppable airborne dog super virus.  Shortly after, Donna Schwartz entered the room and informed me about the CIV vaccination. [continued below]....
.....  She then attempted to change the boarding facility I was planning on taking Andrea to by literally telling me "Ok - I am going to change your mind right now - you are going to bring your dog to Pompano Pet Lodge" and proceeds to go into an entire diatribe about why Pompano Pet Lodge (which itself has horrible reviews on the internet - SEE POMPANO PUPPY PRISON) was better than the best boarding facility in the area.  Donna then informed me that I needed to get insurance for my dog through a company I don't recall the name of, by attempting to scare me with the prices of several different "extremely common" surgeries in dogs.  I ended up getting the CIV vaccination in addition to the DA2P boost shot I initially came for.  The CIV vaccination is a 2 part vaccination so I was to return on 08/11/2011 to get the other part of the vaccine.  In addition to the vaccinations  I was charged $49.00 for a general wellness exam which stated "Great Dog! Very Cute!" under the physical examination section and "Healthy Girl" under the medical section.  Donna literally did nothing except play with Andrea for less than 30 seconds for her part. 

(Note: Upon further research - CIV is indeed a seasonal respiratory illness in dogs - and while can be serious in a FEW cases, VERY FEW dogs actually die from this disease.  I imagine it is common to the flu virus in humans - only fatal to sick infants and the elderly and infirmed.  Obviously, the nurse, Kara, LIED when she said that the entire kennel at Coral Springs animal hospital was wiped out by Canine Influenza.)

On 08/11/2011 I returned to Coral Springs Animal Hospital to receive the second and final CIV vaccination.  I was informed that Andrea needed A Heartworm Tick-Borne Disease Screen, Rabies Vaccine, Kennel Cough Vaccine, and a Fecal Test for OVA & Parasites.  I declined the additional vaccine and fecal test.  I opted for a Rabies 3 (3 year rabies vaccine) only because Andrea's current vaccine was close to expiration and Heartworm Tick-Borne Disease Screen only because in order to get prescription heartworm medication for dogs, you MUST pay a veterinarian for this service. On both occassions I was unfortunate enough to visit Coral Springs Animal Hospital I was informed by multiple members of the staff and Donna Schwartz at the importance of ALL of this vaccinations - and that Coral Springs Animal Hosptial would NEVER board an animal that didn't have proper vaccinations - especially after the Canine Influenza episode which "wiped out the entire kennel."  On 08/11/2011 I learned from the nurse that she kept her dog on the premises which had received NO vaccinations whatsoever, and in addition was not even on heartworm medication.  I found this to be outrageous. 

When I saw Donna this time, she again attempted to push me to board my dog at Pompano Pet Lodge and tried to push a different heartworm medication on to me than the one I am currently using.  Several hours after leaving the Coral Springs Animal Hospital I received phone call from Donna Schwartz informing me that Andrea had tested "slightly positive during the heartworm test" but not to be alarmed because sometimes their office tests show a "slightly positive result" but for an additional "$25.00 or $30.00" fee that they could send Andrea's results to the lab and get additional results.  And "Just in case it is positive from the lab, and I've been feeding Andrea her heartworm medication religiously - we can switch up from my current heartworm medication" -  to the one Donna had previously recommended during the office visit that I declined at the time).  Donna told me that it was absolutely necessary that I got this lab test done - so I declined the test and informed her that I felt at this point she was attempting to take advantage of me.  She then attempted to use guilt to persuede me to paying for the test by asking me if I "realized I was taking a chance with the life of my animal" by not following up and paying an additional "$25.00 to $30.00" for a lab result just to make sure that the false positive from the office  test was indeed false positive.  I informed Donna that I did not want the test and if she wanted to give me the results for free then I would take them but other than that I was not interested.  She continued to try to use different tactics to persuede me, from guilt, to suggestions that I was a neglectful pet owner. 


Disclaimer: THIS IS MY OPINION - It was hard to know where to begin with this report - so I did my best to account, in its entirety, the absolutely horrendous experience I suffered when dealing with Coral Springs Animal Hospital, and more specifically Donna Schwartz, D.V.M.  My first experience was dated 07/15/2011 and my second (and last - I will NEVER go back there) was dated 08/11/2011.  I will admit that I was taken in the first time by this complete and total con job.  Donna (AND the nurses!) plays her part very well with a cheerful attitude, painted-on smile, and even pictures of her dog, "Breezie" (I doubt she owns a dog) on the wall to back up her stories and assist her in trying to immediately begin conning you out of your money, pushing unwanted and unneeded goods and services onto clients, and lastly and most importantly sell you tons of "vaccinations" AKA poison that your dog doesn't need.  As a last resort, if you don't cave in - she will try threats and guilt - and don't forget implications that you are neglecting your animal.  At best, you will end up paying an outrageous price for shots your animal really doesn't need.  At worst, you will pay an outrageous price to make your animal extremely sick (which I'm not certain they don't want - so that they can in turn charge you thousands of dollars for surgeries).

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 08/12/2011 04:49 PM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/Coral-Springs-Animal-Hospital-Donna-Schwartz-DVM/Coral-Springs-Florida-33071/Coral-Springs-Animal-Hospital-Donna-Schwartz-DVM-coral-springs-animal-hospital-compl-764462. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Coral Springs Animal Hospital & Donna Schwartz, D.V.M.

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
2Author 1Consumer 1Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 Author of original report

Coral Springs Animal Hospital | Ripoff Complaints | Overcharges | Not Compassionate | Kills Animals

AUTHOR: Ryan - (USA)

Was really disappointed to hear that Coral Springs Animal Hospital:

1)  Wasn't compassionate with this sick dog and his owner (but wanted to charge $2,400.00 immediately):  http://www.ripoffreport.com/veterinarians/coral-springs-animal/coral-springs-animal-hospital-5833d.htm

2)  Wasn't compassionate with this sick dog and his owner (but wanted to charge over $700.00 for simple procedures):  http://www.ripoffreport.com/veterinarians/coral-springs-animal/coral-springs-animal-hospital-eb365.htm

3)  Charged this woman over $10,000 and killed her cat:  http://www.ripoffreport.com/miscellaneous-companies/coral-springs-animal/coral-springs-animal-hospital-e0fed.htm
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 Author of original report

Happy New Year Coral Springs Animal Hospital

AUTHOR: Ryan - (United States of America)

Dear Dr. Schwartz & Staff at Coral Springs Animal Hospital,

Happy Holidays, and Happy New Year first of all.  My apologies for anything stated out of anger towards you or your staff - it was inappropriate and I was upset.  It is my personal preference to keep Andrea on heartworm medication & 3 year rabies vaccinations only at this point - and I am fully aware of the pros and cons involved with choosing this course of action.  It is my hope that everyone who reads this and all pet owners in general make the best decisions with regard to the well being of their animal - in the end that is all that is important!  My sincerest wishes for all the best of the New Year - you deserve it.

Best,

Ryan Gianos
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#3 REBUTTAL Individual responds

Response From Dr. Schwartz

AUTHOR: Coral Springs Animal Hospital - (United States of America)

Dear Ryan,

This is a response regarding your disappointment involving your experience with myself and Coral Springs Animal Hospital during your visits with Andrea. I would first like to say that Im sorry you feel the way you do.  After meeting with you and your dog Andrea, you never showed any concern or regret during your visit. If you recall from your first visit, we had discussed that Andrea may be traveling out of the country with you. You were planning on boarding her prior to you leaving the country. We discussed different options for boarding Andrea who you described as a very active and sensitive dog.  I asked if you wanted a tour at our hospital for boarding but you were looking for a place that would allow her a lot of interaction with other dogs and play time. Since Andrea has a similar personality to my dog Breezie (who really does exist), I suggested you consider a trial at Pompano Pet Lodge. The vaccination boosters we discussed were ones that are recommended for dogs that are going to be boarding and exposed to other dogs. The CIV (canine influenza virus) is an airborne virus that can make dogs very sick and potentially be fatal. As discussed, it would not prevent her from getting influenza, but would potentially decrease the severity.  No vaccination covers a dog 100%, just like the flu vaccination in people that you referenced to. Please review your physical exam report. You will see that each body system was checked off after being examined. Above the comments I made about Andrea, you will see it says PE: all wnl. This means her physical examination was all within normal limits. I have to say you are the only person who has ever been put off that I said their dog was a great dog and very cute.
 
I recommended pet insurance for Andrea later on the visit. Its part of educating pet owners of what their options are and what could ultimately help them financially should an unforeseen emergency arise with their pet. Again, you are the only person who has ever complained about me trying to save you some money in the future.
 
Andreas second visit for the CIV booster and heartworm test revealed that she was weakly positive for heartworm. This was verified by repeat in-house testing (at no charge to you). I know that you are very diligent with her heartworm prevention, but sometimes dogs will vomit the pill without an owner ever knowing it, making them vulnerable to heartworms. I had suggested that we submit the test to the outside lab for further verification because false positives can occur. Thats inevitable with any screening test. Unfortunately, yes, that would have been at your expense. I was only trying to suggest that we make sure Andrea does not have heartworm disease. My recommendation to switch her to different heartworm prevention was essentially the same one she is on now. It has another medication in it that would also protect her against fleas. Again, her best interest was still my concern and I would have never recommended anything for her that I wouldnt do for my own dog. At that point you became very angry with me on the phone and elected to end the conversation and accept the risk of continuing to give her the heartworm prevention if she truly is heartworm positive.
 
Again, Im sorry you felt your experience with myself and Coral Springs was so horrible. I can assure you my recommendations were truly in the best interest of your pet. If you still have concerns, I strongly encourage you to contact a member from our management.  The hospital takes pet owner concerns very seriously and strive to ensure amicable resolutions to every issue. I wish you the best with Andrea.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#4 Consumer Comment

Exactly!

AUTHOR: mr rik - (USA)

The longest living dogs STAY AWAY! from the vets.

and Pedigree dog food!

Good job catching on to this scam.  Just how much drugs can you safely shove into a dog at one time???

SCUMBAGS!
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
X