• Report: #992795

Complaint Review: Cornett Roofing

Thank You

Read how Ripoff Report saves consumers millions.

  • Submitted: Mon, January 07, 2013
  • Updated: Fri, January 25, 2013

  • Reported By: LostRoofer — Carlisle Ohio United States of America
Cornett Roofing
1442 Amy Lane Franklin, Indiana United States of America

Cornett Roofing Chan Cornett Cornett Roofing = Sales scam Franklin, Indiana

*REBUTTAL Owner of company: Clearing Things Up

*Consumer Comment: may have been involved

*UPDATE Employee: Disappointed

*UPDATE Employee: Unfortunate

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

Cornett Roofing hired me as a salesman for there Cincinnati Office.  It wasn't long in till the owner (chan cornett) fired the manager who hired me.  I was hired to sell Roofing products in the ohio valley.  I agreed on  a weekly draw.  Which means in till I start selling roofs that I had a draw in till my jobs came in and I was paid strictly 100% commission.  Soon after Cornett fired my manager he was after me.  I was assaulted in a meeting and was told that I needed to be more of a family style employee.  I agreed to be closer with the company and help anyone who needs my assistance outside of selling roofs.  Two weeks after I was assaulted I was then terminated from my employment.  

I was ripped off over $2,000 dollars in draw and reimbursement money that he owed me from previous weeks.  Cornett sent me on long distance trips that I had to use my own personnel money and my personnel vehicle. He will not reimburse me any of the money that I used to go on these trips.  He sent me on average 3 hours away form my home to do an estimate.  Cornett never gave me the chance to work for him.  He woke up one day and fired a few people and screwed them over because he doesn't want to pay quality employees there fair wage that was already agreed upon.  I never met a person with so much arrogance, than mr.cornett. I never worked for a company that I actually lost money from working there. 

It wasn't long in till his sister started scamming me on my checks.  I was shorted a hundred here and few hundred there.  I didn't have any time to resolve my lost money in till they fired me and will not answer any of my calls to resolve this problem.  I also emailed her about this and she never returned that either.

I just wanted to let anyone know who is thinking about working for or doing business for cornett roofing/metal pro roofing out of Franklin Indiana. Mr. Cornett is a  cold man and will not hesitate to screw you over and leave you without nothing.  Because that is what I have after wasting my time with him after two months. 


This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 01/07/2013 01:16 PM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/Cornett-Roofing/Franklin-Indiana-45005/Cornett-Roofing-Chan-Cornett-Cornett-Roofing-Sales-scam-Franklin-Indiana-992795. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Cornett Roofing

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
0Author 3Consumer 1Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 REBUTTAL Owner of company

Clearing Things Up

AUTHOR: Chan - ()

 

I am sorry that you are feeling this way and as a company we apologize for your experience.  We went to your home the first time in November and provided you with a free estimate.  At that time, you were not ready to make a decision and you asked us to call back in February to revise the quote and make a decision. We re-quoted because the first contract was not complete, which is our fault and we are sorry that this happened.  We mailed a Starbucks gift card thanking you for giving us another opportunity to come back out in February with a thank you note. When our specialist came back out in February you agreed to the revised contract, signed the contract, gave us a deposit, and then cancelled.  We are sorry you feel we were inappropriate or deceiving, because we certainly never intended for this response.  Again, we are sorry for our mistakes and we hope that we were able to help clarify the details of this situation.

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 Consumer Comment

may have been involved

AUTHOR: Toni - ()

Hi, I'm T and we may have been involed in this conflict. We had an estiment given in Nov. last year by prometal. We were not ready at the time. In Feb. this we were ready. Prometal came back for new estiment. The price went way up for less work, meaning they were not taking off old roof, no metal under gutters, no titainem under layer, and other things. We estimated about an $8000.00 difference. need less to say we choose a different company and very angrey and dissappointed at prometal. I have a feeling we where involved. If we can help, let us know!

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#3 UPDATE Employee

Disappointed

AUTHOR: Anonymous - (United States of America)

I am truly disappointed and somewhat disheartened by the report posted by this individual.  This report is not only a grammatical nightmare in its inaccuracies, but in its content as well.  I normally have to ignore such responses as this, but unfortunately, I feel strongly compelled to defend the integrity of this company as well as the owner.

This individual was hired at the end of October, 2012.  At the time of his hire, it was explained to him what the responsibilities were and he agreed to those responsibilities by signing a legal document.  This legal document stated what the responsibilities of the company were and what the responsibilities of the individual were.  It was explained that he would have appointments 20-30 minutes away, as well as 4 hours away.  He was reimbursed for any and all expenses incurred per the agreement.  Referencing the first rebuttal, he was not able to provide sales, which in turn was putting him in a deeper hole with regard to the draw system.

The meeting, that this individual stated above that he was allegedly "assaulted" in, has been very inaccurately described.  I was in that meeting, as was one other individual, in addition to the owner.  This meeting was held two weeks prior to his termination, and was nothing more than a counseling session with expectations clearly defined at the conclusion. In essence, this individual was given more time to prove that he would be a valuable asset to the company.  At the conclusion of two weeks there were still no improvements in performance, and parting ways was, without a doubt, the right answer for both parties.  If he continued with the company, he would only be increasing the draw debt that already had accumulated to thousands of dollars. 

After his termination, he was asked by various office staff, via email for files and documents that he still obtained, that belonged to the company.  His response to these emails were unacceptable, unprofessional and vulgar.  These were female office staff, and language and dialogue that was received by him were offensive and hurtful.  This particular aspect of this ordeal is very disheartening to me.  I specifically stated to this individual, on the date of his termination, that this was going to be tough.  He will go through a period of grief and some anger.  But what he needed to focus on was channeling all of his energy on the positive and not the negative.  He obviously did not heed anything I stated, as this inaccurate report proves.

In reference to the owner of this company.  If he has any faults, it would be that constantly looks for the good in everyone.  He has provided countless individuals with opportunities to succeed, and usually at his expense.  This obviously is not a true fault, but in essence, his attempts to help more often than not seems to come back to bite him.  He at, no time, presented with a "head hunter" mentality.  The meeting that was referenced above, was an attempt to help this individual to get into an aligment conducive to succeed.   


It is my hope that the individual that filed this report will come to the realization that his energy is being used inefficiently and ineffectively.  Put the time, effort and energy into positive thinking and positive action.  Nothing productive can come from vindictive or vengeful behaviors such as this. It is selfish and very counterproductive.  He can and will be successful when he focuses all of his energy on positive thinking and making a difference.  The owner of this company is a great example of this.



Respond to this report!
What's this?

#4 UPDATE Employee

Unfortunate

AUTHOR: dmarmat - (United States of America)

It's sad to see someone who uses this forum to vent their frustration at loosing a job in which they had neither the skill nor talent to perform. One can clearly see by the use of written word, this individual lacks the knowledge, skill and proficiecy to articulate thoughts well. I can only imagane how this translated into spoken word during presentations.  This company spent many hours teaching, training, coaching and mentoring a young man who's ability was never realized.

Definition of a Commission Draw: this is an agreed upon amount of money paid to someone in advance for furture commission earnings.  Once you begin to make money, that draw or cash advance is then paid back to the company. It is a benefit given by the company;helping those individuals until they begin to earn.  At some point, the company must make a decision as to whether this individual will be able to perform OR whether they may never meet the requirements of their job.

Dear Friend, you signed and agreed upon those terms and conditions. It's unfortunate your skills and talent were not a good fit. Sadley, we didn not reccognize these deficits sooner. Either way, the bleeding had to stop.  We wish you well in your future endeavors.

Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.



Ripoff Report Legal Directory