• Report: #566164

Complaint Review: Dr. Jay Calvert

Thank You

Read how Ripoff Report saves consumers millions.

  • Submitted: Mon, February 08, 2010
  • Updated: Mon, April 07, 2014

  • Reported By: Patient — Beverly Hills California U.S.A.
Dr. Jay Calvert
465 N. Roxbury Drive, Suite 1001 Beverly Hills, California United States of America

Dr Jay Calvert, MD Verified REVIEW: Customer Satisfaction Commitment: Dr Jay Calvert, Roxbury Clinic and Surgery Center, work to treat each patient equally, aim to please all patients. Safety is number one concern in taking care of patients with satisfactory results.. Beverly Hills, CA, Newport Beach, CA
*UPDATE: Recognized by Ripoff Report Verified .. as a safe business service. Dr. Jay Calvert, MD pledges to always resolve any issues, feel safe, confident & secure when doing business with Dr Jay Calvert, MD.

*Consumer Comment: Not impressed with how they treat their patients

*Consumer Comment: OMG!! DR. CALVERT IS SO FULL OF S*T!

*Consumer Comment: RETRACTION

*Consumer Comment: VERY Satisfied Actual Patient of Dr. Jay Calvert.

*General Comment: Cannot remove reviews on Rip Off Report! They are permanent.

*Consumer Comment: Strange Story Again

*Consumer Comment: Help for Anna and Jamie (and any other victims of Dr. Calvert) to bring Dr. Calvert to justice

*REBUTTAL Owner of company: Legal Action

*Consumer Comment: Jamie, I am also a victim of Dr. Calvert.

*Author of original report: 'Lynette' is a plant from Dr. Calvert's office!

*Author of original report: More information to back up my report

*Consumer Comment: Calvert has a clean record w insurance and all medical boards and is an AMAZING DR.

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

Ripoff Report Verified REVIEW:

EDitors UPDATE: Positive rating and recognition has been given to Dr. Jay Calvert, MD, Professional Corporation / Roxbury Clinic and Surgery Center for its commitment to excellence in customer service.

Ripoff Reports discussions with Jay Calvert, MD, Professional Corporation have uncovered an ongoing commitment by the company to total client satisfaction. This means that clients can expect that the company will work towards finding a mutually satisfactory resolution to any complaints or concerns. Dr. Jay Calvert listens carefully to client concerns and sees them as an opportunity to learn from past mistakes and become more efficient as a company in the services offered and the support for those services.

The Doctors at Roxbury Clinic and Surgery Center state that they are committed to doing whatever it takes to make the patient happy because they have always worked tirelessly to revise surgery when necessary. In knowing that plastic surgery is not perfect, they always let patients know that there is a 10% chance of revision rate on any plastic surgery procedure. They do not charge for the revision operation, but the patient does pay anesthesia fees. This is standard practice in plastic surgery industry. Dr. Calvert feels the Corporate Advocacy Business Remediation and Customer Satisfaction Program is an opportunity to demonstrate their commitment to customer service and he is glad that there is a program that can address these concerns that have been voiced on the Internet.

The information provided in this report is based on comments made by Dr. Jay Calvert during an on-site inspection held by a third party verification company with no biases toward Roxbury Clinic and Surgery Center.

Roxbury Clinic & Surgery Center and Dr. Jay Calvert, MD, PCs surgical health care team have expressed that they feel very confident when taking care of patients. The project manager at Jay Calvert, MD, PC stated "I have seen Dr. Calvert intimately involved in all steps of the surgical care making sure that every aspect is performed at the highest level. It always gives me great pleasure to go back to the customer a year after their operation l and find that their results have exceeded their expectations.

Jay Calvert, MD, PC takes employee satisfaction seriously. Employee feedback and surveys reveal comments such as this: "Dr. Jay Calvert provides a very positive environment to work. Opportunities for suggestions and improvements are encouraged. The management is truly concerned about our contribution to the company and providing growth opportunities for us. They take the time to listen and communicate with employees and patients." Ripoff Report was pleased to learn that Jay Calvert, MD, PCs past and current approach to business is focused on its pledge to safety, service, and gorgeous results for their patients.

YouTube Video .. Dr Jay Calvert Breast Reconstruction Large Areolae - Follow Up.

At Roxbury Clinic and Surgery Center, they work to treat each patient equally and we aim to please all of our patients. Safety is their number one concern in taking care of patients and secondly is that they obtain satisfactory results. It is their goal that each patient has a great experience from the time they make an appointment until the time they are done healing from their procedures. Communication between staff is very important to ensure the quality of patient care.

Each patient comes into the office for a consultation to discuss their concerns. The area of concerned is examined and a treatment plan is formulated if possible and medically advisable. The patient then will meet with the patient coordinator to schedule the surgery and will be given a price quote. The patient is welcome to come back to meet with the doctor during my office hours if they still may have questions that are unanswered or any other concerns.

The treatment plan is advised at the time of the first consultation. If a treatment plan is not made at the first visit because of need for further information then the patient is asked to come back for a second consultation once all information has been obtained or the patient is referred out to another surgeon. Each patient is assessed and consulted prior to obtaining any treatments or services to ensure they are fully aware of their course of treatment. At the time prior to the procedure (usually the pre-op appointment), the patient will fill out informed consents and is advised to ask any questions that they may have regarding the procedure. All risks and complications are discussed with the patient at this visit as well.

In a scenario that the doctor would not advise a procedure be done on a patient, Dr. Calvert stats that he would discuss with them their goals for the procedures, look at alternatives, and try to help direct them to either a better solution for their concerns. If they are still unable to come to a resolution, the doctor would refer them to someone for more information if he did not feel comfortable doing it for them. Dr. Calvert would communicate that in his hands that it probably wont give them what they want and he would refer them to someone for another opinion who may be able to address their concerns.

After treatment, the office makes sure to place frequent follow up calls (video calls if the patient is from out of town), frequent postop visits to the office, and having competent staff that can handle any issues that may arise with patients. They also send each patient a post-operative questionnaire that specifically addresses their care and service. The patient has multiple opportunities to voice concerns as the office is heavily staffed with nurses and/or PAs. It is not uncommon for patients to feel more comfortable addressing their concerns with the PA or nurse and therefore it is their goal to make sure that the patients concerns are addressed and proper action is taken.

Since the office has been a part of Ripoff Report, they make sure all patients are well informed and educated which begins at the very first phone call or email that they may receive from a potential new patient. They also have clarified our consent forms and policy and procedure materials that are given to every patient. Patient complaints are taken very seriously and are dealt with immediately. No matter what the complaint may be the office will try to resolve the issue as soon as possible or come up with a solution that is agreeable between all parties.

Furthermore, the office has discovered that better patient selection is key in prevention of complaints. There are many patients that have had multiple procedures from other surgeons, that makes Dr. Calvert am very careful to assess whether or not further surgery is advisable for that patient. They also have heavier screening for body dysmorphic disorder and major depression that has allowed them to save patients the frustration of having further surgery and not being satisfied with the results.

As stated above something that needs to be repeated to those seeking any kind of plastic Surgery .. The company states that they are committed to doing whatever it takes to make the patient happy because they have always worked tirelessly to revise surgery when necessary. In knowing that plastic surgery is not perfect, they always let patients know that there is a 10% chance of revision rate on any plastic surgery procedure. They do not charge for the revision operation, but the patient does pay anesthesia fees. This is standard practice in plastic surgery industry. Dr. Calvert feels the Corporate Advocacy Business Remediation and Customer Satisfaction Program is an opportunity to demonstrate their commitment to customer service and he is glad that there is a program that can address these concerns that have been voiced on the Internet.

Dr. Calvert, recognizes that complaints posted on Ripoff Report (whether true or not) are issues that need to be addressed, not ignored. If handled correctly, complaints can be valuable learning opportunities. With the feedback generated by Ripoff Reports on-site review of Roxbury Clinic & Surgery Center, Dr. Jay Calvert, has made organizational changes allowing its clients and employees a more streamlined approach to problem resolution and a commitment to a great patient satisfaction.

In summary, after our on-site review, which included discussions with Dr. Calvert, Ripoff Report is convinced that Dr. Jay Calvert, is committed to total patient satisfaction.

Read more about why consumers should feel confident when doing business with a member of Rip-off Report's Corporate Advocacy Business Remediation & Customer Satisfaction Program. Yes, its a long name for a program that does a lot for both consumers and businesses alike.

Read about Ripoff Report Corporate Advocacy Business Remediation & Customer Satisfaction Program,.. A program that benefits the consumer, assures them of complete satisfaction and confidence when doing business with a member business. this program works.

As a matter of policy, when a business becomes a member of the Corporate Advocacy Program they agree to allow Ripoff Report to contact every client who filed a complaint so they can make things right with them. In order to confirm that the complaints were resolved, Ripoff Report is copied on all responses so we can insure that the member business did right by their customer ..

Check out some of these YouTube videos below.. Ripoff Report is impressed.

Dr. Calvert - Primary Rhinoplasty with Airway Obstruction.

Dr Jay Calvert Orange County Refresher Face Lift.

Dr Jay Calvert Revision Rhinoplasty.

Dr. Calvert - Ethnic Rhinoplasty and Rib Graft.

Dr. Calvert - Post Pregnancy Breast Augmentation.

====
NOW TO THE ORIGINAL REPORT THAT WAS FILED
====

Dr. Jay Calvert - Roxbury Surgical Associates, Inc. Of Beverly Hills Scam! The office charges you thousands, and they"ll also bill your insurance a HUGE fee (   which they'll collect) but the the surgeon and clinic refuse to repay the patient , as they promised! Scam!  Beverly Hills, California

Having Dr. Calvert perform my surgery was the WORST MISTAKE that I've
ever made in my life. I'm still in pain years later and my cosmetic
result was horrible. I had to have another surgeon correct Dr.
Calvert's mess, which cost me a huge amount of money and much physical
and psychological pain. Dr. Calvert and his staff will tell you what
you want to hear before surgery, then you'll be left in the dust if you
have any problems afterward that may need revised. Before surgery he
told me that he would be calling me a lot after my surgery to check on
me. He didn't even call me once! He is not a compassionate surgeon. All
he cares about is money. I paid him a HUGE amount of money, plus he
billed my insurance for an outrageously exorbitant amount (which he
collected  ), and then he refused to repay me when my insurance company paid him, as he promised he would. This was HUGE SCAM. This is insurance fraud at it's worse! If you care about yourself, then please choose another
surgeon. I don't trust him or his scams. One day, he will get caught. I hope he's enjoying his new home in Beverly Hills and Newport Beach on my and other patients money and his insurance scam money. Thank you
for reading

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 02/08/2010 06:45 AM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/Dr-Jay-Calvert/Beverly-Hills-California-90210/Dr-Jay-Calvert-MD-Verified-REVIEW-Customer-Satisfaction-Commitment-Dr-Jay-Calvert-Roxb-566164. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Dr. Jay Calvert

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
2Author 9Consumer 1Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 Consumer Comment

Not impressed with how they treat their patients

AUTHOR: judy - (United States of America)

I went with mother to see Dr. Calvert about a procedure he was doing for her. They have poor communications with their patients.  my mother feels the procedure was adequate, but I feel she looks terrible.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 Consumer Comment

OMG!! DR. CALVERT IS SO FULL OF S*T!

AUTHOR: Heady - (United States of America)

Calvert, you moron, suing your victims just makes you look even more pathetic than you already are.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#3 Consumer Comment

RETRACTION

AUTHOR: Patient - Beverly Hills California - (United States of America)

 After discussing the matter with Dr. Calvert, through my counsel, I acknowledge I was mistaken on various points regarding my surgical treatment by Dr. Calvert, his professional ethics, his billing procedures, and the manner in which he was paid. I was also mistaken in my assertions that Dr. Calvert is being investigated by the Medical Board or the Insurance Commissioner for insurance fraud. I apologize to Dr. Calvert, his associate physicians, staff and family for any damages caused thereby, and wish to clarify to the readers that they should not rely upon my statements alone in determining
whether Dr. Calvert is a competent and trustworthy physician.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#4 Consumer Comment

VERY Satisfied Actual Patient of Dr. Jay Calvert.

AUTHOR: Karen Logue - (United States of America)

I know people will say this is fake I have seen that before.  But I personally have had 3 surgeries by Dr. Jay Calvert. I lost over 110 lbs and have had much skin removed on arms, thighs and a complete body lift,face lift, eyeslids, lipo, breast lift and augmentation. I could not have asked for better results or care. Dr Calvert was extremely caring

and interested in what I wanted and how I felt as well as his entire staff. Dr. Calvert was very reasonable for the work that he did and the extensive attention and aftercare I have received. I know I have seen several reviews by a couple of people that seem like personal vendetta's and it is very sad.  I would hope that others get the opportunity to experience the quality of service and care that Dr. Calvert provides.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#5 General Comment

Cannot remove reviews on Rip Off Report! They are permanent.

AUTHOR: Anonymous - (USA)

I am certain that if the person who wrote these negative reviews could remove them that they would. Ripoff Report will not allow removal of any reviews. The person who wrote the reviews shouldn't be penalized, as maybe they were expressing their opinion.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#6 Consumer Comment

Strange Story Again

AUTHOR: daduff001 - (United States of America)

The first question that needs to be asked is "what was the cosmetic procedure that was performed?"  In general, health insurance pays for virtually no cosmetic surgery other than that which is medically necessary for some valid health reason and/or reconstructive in nature.  Even if the cosmetic surgery in this report did fall under the valid medical reason category, I can think of no cosmetic procedure where a surgeon could actually obtain $65,000 in actual reimbursement from an insurance company (after deductibles and discounts).

Furthermore, what is described in this report constitutes criminal fraud - it is totally illegal to bill an insurance company for a medical procedure and then "kickback" any part of the payment to a patient.  Why was this alleged practice not reported to the police, the Medical Board of California, or the California Department of Insurance?  Both organizations can be publicly checked for any actions taken against Dr. Calvert (http://www.mbc.ca.gov/ and http://www.insurance.ca.gov/).  Dr. Calvert has been in practice close to 10 years - I did this check before I had my surgeries with Dr. Calvert.  This is yet another very strange story of alleged criminal misconduct with no substantiation whatsoever - and I see that Dr. Calvert is taking legal action against the authors of these unsubstantiated claims (as he should given the very serious nature of the allegations).  

One final point - Dr. Calvert does indeed work one day a week at the Veteran's Hospital in Long Beach - you can simply call and confirm at 562-826-8000.  My wife works at the Long Beach VA but it does not take a medical professional who actually works at the VA to make this kind of determination.  In fact, you could actually call him this Monday - the one day a week that he works there.  Again, yet another very strange story!
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#7 Consumer Comment

Help for Anna and Jamie (and any other victims of Dr. Calvert) to bring Dr. Calvert to justice

AUTHOR: justice4calvertvictims - (United States of America)

To Anna and Jamie, here are agencies where you can file complaints against Dr. Calvert.  You can email and call each agency, but it is essential that each complaint be filed IN WRITING and you must be persistent with your follow-up until you get the response you deserve.


California State Medical Board: http://www.mbc.ca.gov/consumer/complaint_info.html. (800) 633-2322

American Medical Association: http://www.ama-assn.org/ama/pub/physician-resources/medical-ethics/code-medical-ethics/frequently-asked-questions.page (800) 621-8335

State of California Department of Insurance - Fraud Division: http://www.insurance.ca.gov/0300-fraud/0100-fraud-division-overview/index.cfm (323) 278-5000. Here is their complaint form: http://www.cra-ca.com/images/fd1-form-07_05.pdf

FBI Health Care Fraud Task Force: www.fbi.gov and search for your local field office.

Coalition Against Insurance Fraud: http://www.insurancefraud.org/fraud_bureaus.htm

National Insurance Crime Bureau: https://www.nicb.org (818) 830-6546 Publicly, they claim to focus primarily on vehicle insurance fraud. But they have an investigative unit for medical insurance fraud.

National Health Care Anti-Fraud Association: http://www.nhcaa.org/eweb/StartPage.aspx (202) 659.5955

 

Local Law Enforcement: Go to the police in the jurisdiction in which the incident(s) occurred, either Beverly Hills or Newport, and file a report.  Beverly Hills has a financial crimes unit.

You can also report Dr. Calvert to the fraud department or customer service department at your medical insurance provider.  Again, this should be in writing in addition to any phone call report.


You should also file complaints with your medical insurance provider.  Make sure you follow up by sending a certified letter.

Here are some articles that may help: http://www.quackwatch.org/02ConsumerProtection/insfraud.html, http://www.cigna.com/customer_care/member/rights_responsibilities/health_care_fraud.html, and http://nhcaa.org/eweb/DynamicPage.aspx?webcode=anti_fraud_resource_centr&wpscode=TheProblemOfHCFraud

Anna and Jamie, once again, thank you for speaking out.  Please do not let Dr. Calvert scare you.  The only way to prevent him from doing this to other is to continue to speak out.

If youd like more free information, please email me at justice4calvertvictims@usa.com.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#8 REBUTTAL Owner of company

Legal Action

AUTHOR: Pasquale Caiazza, Attorney for Dr. - (United States of America)

To Patient
On January 28, 2011, a complaint entitled Dr. Jay W. Calvert, an Individual; and Jay Calvert, M.D., Professional Corporation, a California Corporation v. Jamie Lynn Fox, an Individual; and DOES 1-25, Inclusive, was filed in Los Angeles County Superior Court Central District, located at 111 North Hill Street, Los Angeles, California 90012, and designated Case No. BC453946 (hereinafter, the California Action).  The California Action includes causes of action for defamation, trade libel, slander per se, intentional interference with prospective economic advantage, negligent interference with prospective economic advantage and false light.  The Plaintiffs in the California Action seek money damages, including punitive damages, as well as declaratory relief.  As alleged in the California Action, these causes of action are brought against the individual(s) who intentionally published on the www.ripoffreport.com website a report containing false statements about Dr. Jay W. Calvert and Jay Calvert, M.D., Professional Corporation.  The report was published by an individual using the name Patient.  The report number assigned by the website to the false report that is the subject of the California Action is 566164.  The California Action was instituted because the published report contains statements that 1) are false; 2) were read by third persons; 3) were intended to disrupt Dr. Jay W. Calvert and Jay Calvert, M.D., Professional Corporations business relationships with third parties; and 4) place Dr. Jay W. Calvert and Jay Calvert, M.D., Professional Corporation in a false light.  Dr. Jay W. Calvert and Jay Calvert, M.D., Professional Corporation have suffered damages as a result of the publication of the false statements contained in report number 566164.    
On or about August 15, 2011, Case No. CV2011-014893 was assigned to a legal action entitled Dr. Jay W. Calvert, an Individual; and Jay Calvert, M.D., Professional Corporation, a California Corporation v. Jamie Lynn Fox, an Individual; and DOES 1-25, Inclusive, by the Superior Court of the State of Arizona In and For the County of Maricopa, located at 201 West Jefferson, Phoenix, Arizona 85003 (hereinafter, the Arizona Action).  The purpose of the Arizona Action was to obtain a Subpoena Duces Tecum compelling XCentric Ventures LLC, an Arizona Limited Liability Company (hereinafter, XCentric), the manager of the website found at www.ripoffreport.com, to provide Dr. Jay W. Calvert and Jay Calvert, M.D., Professional Corporation with information that will lead to the discovery of the true identity of the individual(s) who published report number 566164 on the www.ripoffreport.com website which is referenced in the preceding paragraph.  The purpose of obtaining this information is so that Dr. Jay W. Calvert and Jay Calvert, M.D., Professional Corporation can properly serve, and prosecute the California Action against, the actual individual(s) who published the statements on the www.ripoffreport.com website which is referenced in the preceding paragraph.
On August 15, 2011, the Superior Court of the State of Arizona In and For the County of Maricopa issued a Subpoena Duces Tecum directed at XCentric which included certain requests that will lead to the discovery of the true identity of the individual who used the name Patient and intentionally published the report on the www.ripoffreport.com website which is referenced in the preceding paragraphs.  Said Subpoena Duces Tecum has been served on XCentric.
The individual who used the name Patient as referenced above, PLEASE BE ADVISED that you have the right to timely and anonymously file and serve a response to the Subpoena Duces Tecum.  Such a response can include an objection to the Subpoena Duces Tecum.  Any response to the Subpoena Duces Tecum should be filed with the Superior Court of the State of Arizona In and For the County of Maricopa, located at 201 West Jefferson, Phoenix, Arizona 85003 and a copy of the response should be mailed to the following (1) Lori V. Berke, Berke Law Firm PLLC, 1601 North 7th Street, Suite 360, Phoenix, Arizona 85006; (2) Pasquale P. Caiazza, Law Office of Pasquale P. Caiazza, 606 E. Chapman Avenue, Suite 201, Orange, California  92866-1601; (3) XCentric Ventures, LLC, 3200 N. Central Avenue, Suite 2000, Phoenix, Arizona 85012.  If you desire copies of any pleadings filed in the California Action and/or the Arizona Action, you may obtain them from the Los Angeles Superior Court Central District and the Superior Court of the State of Arizona In and For the County of Maricopa.
PLEASE BE FURTHER ADVISED that, if necessary, fourteen (14) days from September 8, 2011, legal counsel for Dr. Jay W. Calvert and Jay Calvert, M.D., Professional Corporation, namely Berke Law Firm PLLC referenced above, will file a motion in the Arizona Action requesting that the Superior Court of the State of Arizona In and For the County of Maricopa issue an order compelling XCentric to provide the information requested in the Subpoena Duces Tecum that was previously issued on August 15, 2011 and subsequently served on XCentric.
This notice is being provided to you pursuant to the Court of Appeals, State of Arizona, Division One holding in the matter entitled Mobilisa, Inc. v. John Doe 1, et al., Case No. 1 CA-CV 06-0521.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#9 Consumer Comment

Jamie, I am also a victim of Dr. Calvert.

AUTHOR: JS1977 - (United States of America)

Jamie, I am also a victim of Dr. Calvert.  Can you please reach out to me at (email)?
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#10 Author of original report

'Lynette' is a plant from Dr. Calvert's office!

AUTHOR: Jamie - (USA)

Everything that Lynette said about the insurance information is the EXACT same wording that the dishonest office manager, and scheming money manager, for Dr. Calvert told me, verbatim! Coincidence? I think not. Lynette is quite obviously a plant from Dr. Calvert's office trying to aggrandize him with her phony, glowing, review, she is trying to regain his stature after his reputation has been soiled.

I'm a well educated, perceptive, highly intuitive, and highly vigilant individual, who has an almost infallible memory for recall.

'Lynette' doesn't fool me for one second! Dr. Calvert knows exactly what he is doing. He is a underhanded business man first, and a incompetent surgeon, to boot! There's no 'Lynette'!

I do not believe that 'Lynnette' is a model who needed a revision rhinoplasty. Her friends didn't have breast augmentations done by Dr. Calvert. Please don't fall for this. It's just another scam.

'Lynette's' rebuttal is obviously written by Dr. Calvert himself, or an unscrupulous staff member.

I also do not believe that Dr. Calvert does any volunteer work for the Veteran's administration. My sister in law is a physician for the VA and her staff did some investigative research and found NO records that Jay Calvert has worked at any V.A. facility in Southern California. More lies!

Dr. Calvert had me at an aftercare facility for 3 days following my surgery. All of the other patients had their surgeons coming in to check on them. Dr. Calvert never came to check on me. When I asked his staff member why he wasn't available, she told me that he was busy filming a promotional video. He couldn't squeeze a small amount of time out of his busy day to check on me, or even call me?!

Bottom line: all he cares about is money. That's it.

Please believe me, and steer clear of Dr. Jay Calvert. I only wish that someone had warned me.

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#11 Author of original report

More information to back up my report

AUTHOR: Jamie - (USA)

I went to ten of the top plastic surgeons in L.A. for consultations before I saw Dr. Calvert. He was referred to me by the owner of a plastic surgery forum on the Internet. She promised me that Dr. Calvert was excellent. Only after my surgery, did I discover that Dr. Calvert pays to advertise on that forum.

Dr. Calvert quoted me, $24,500, which was 10k over every other surgeon that I saw. When I balked at the cost he had me fax the quote that I had gotten from another surgeon, who Dr. Calvert knows is the absolute best in his field, and he soil match the price. The reason that I didn't choose this other surgeon is that he doesn't work with medical insurance. The only reason that I chose dr. Calvert was because he sais he would bill my medical insurance. Dr. Calvert said that he would charge me what this other surgeon quoted me, plus he would bill my medical insurance for my procedure to make up the difference of Dr. Calvert's original quote. His dishonest and rude office manager, Raquel, told me that anything that was paid by my insurance, that exceeded the additional 10k that quoted to me, would be paid to me to cover my out of pocket $15,200, and Dr. Calvert would pocket the rest. Basically, I was swindled for believing their outright mistruth. As it turns out, I paid Dr. Calvert $15,200, and he billed my medical insurance for close to 90k! He collected 65k from my insurance. So, between what I paid him, and what my medical insurance paid, Dr. Calvert made a total of $80,200, for my procedure! Give me a break! The leading (most expensive) Beverly Hills surgeon that I saw, who doesn't submit claims to insurance, wanted $15,200 for the same procedure, total.

When I found out how much money was paid to Dr. Calvert by my medical insurance I was so happy because his office had promised to reimburse me the $15,200 that I paid to the office. When I called the office manager, she finagled her way out paying me, and said that she never told me I would get reimbursed. She outright lied to me! A complete and total scam! She told me that the money that Dr. Calvert received wasn't being paid to him, and that it was going to be paid to the facility, Roxbury Surgical Center. This is the operating room in Dr. Calvert's office, that he owns! So, he made a huge profit and didn't follow up on his promise to pay me my $15,200. I learned a huge lesson. Get everything in writing! I am sure I'm not the only other person who fell for this scam.

Not only did I get lied to, my intelligence and superior memory were insulted, by the office manager, Raquel, and the money manager, Mike Christensen, who told me that I was mistaken. NO, I was not mistaken. I was taken! To the cleaners and back, by Dr. Calvert and Roxbury Surgical.

My surgical result was horrendous! I begged Dr. Calvert to revise it, as I was in terrible pain, but because he couldn't squeeze any more money out of my medical insurance, I was completely ignored. I could no longer take the pain after waiting months for Dr. Calvert to adhere to his revision policy. He doesn't care. He never called and offered to fix my problem.

I ended up having to go to the original surgeon who didn't take medical insurance. He couldn't believe what Dr. Calvert had done to me! So, I spent my life savings to get myself out if horrible pain and looking normal.

I learned a huge lesson. Don't believe the plastic surgery forums on the net, they are all work on kickbacks. And, get every financial agreement in writing.

I do not care what Lynette claims. Dr. Calvert had terrible bedside manner, no empathy, he is greedy, and he doesn't have his patient's best interest at heart. If he had his way, he would have left me with scars all over. He practically begged to do more unnecessary procedures to me, for which he could have padded the bill to my medical insurance. When I told the other surgeon about the two other procedures that Dr. Calvert wanted to do to me, he was just incredulous why a surgeon would want to scar a woman to that extent. I believe Dr. Calvert is 'scalpel happy' and wants to use his patients bodies to bilk their medical insurance.

This experience with Dr. Calvert was the worst thing emotionally, physically, and financially that I have ever experienced in my lifetime. I have had to see a psychiatrist for years following this experience, that has had me on the brink of suicide many times because of physical pain caused by Dr. Calvert and huge financial loss.

I was ripped off mind, body, soul and bank account by Dr. Calvert and Roxbury Surgical.

Thank you for reading. Please avoid Dr. Calvert. I have been 100% honest in this report.

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#12 Consumer Comment

Calvert has a clean record w insurance and all medical boards and is an AMAZING DR.

AUTHOR: Lynnette - (United States of America)

Dr. Calvert is an AMAZING Dr. He did the most wonderful job on my nose and I was actually referred to him by 2 other "top nose Dr's to the stars" because my case was too "complex and risky for a natural look." I'm a model so I was VERY nervous...until I met Dr. Calvert. In addition to the cosmetic work I wanted- I had a major deviated septum. My insurance company gave authorization in 48hrs. So any fraud insurance claims postings about him are false. No way would a major insurance company grant approval so quick if he had ANY history of fraud. Yes he charges insurance a lot- but he spends tat LEAST twice as much time on his procedures than others and is the best in his field- if he didn't earn it- there's NO way insurance would pay. It's no secret that insurance co's aren't in the known for overpaying- or paying patients for the Dr's work. People need to remember the checks they receive for the Dr. from insurance are for the Dr. For him to let them have it would be fraud! Also, if he would've done such a botched procedure; or committed insurance fraud then why and how is his record CLEAN with EVERY regulatory board in the state? He's awesome. He's done 3 breats augs on my friends and they look great as well. And to say "he's not compassionate"- The only time I couldn't get in to see him was when he was volunteering at the Veteran's hospital.
Insurance: CIGNA
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.



Ripoff Report Legal Directory