• Report: #750090

Complaint Review: Duntara Moving & Storage

  • Submitted: Thu, July 07, 2011
  • Updated: Mon, August 01, 2011

  • Reported By: Tim — Altamonte Springs Florida United States of America
Duntara Moving & Storage
1100 NW 53rd Street unit 2 Ft. Lauderdale, Florida United States of America

Duntara Moving & Storage Robbers Ft. Lauderdale, Florida

*Author of original report: Resolution Provided

*Consumer Comment: Hi, Rocksright! How's Globe Moving going?

*Author of original report: Reviewer 0

*Consumer Comment: DUNTARA 1 CUSTOMER 0

*Consumer Comment: DUNTARA 1 CUSTOMER 0

*Consumer Comment: The customer should return the boxes to you?

*Author of original report: Still no service

*REBUTTAL Owner of company: Rebuttal

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

Duntara Moving & Robbery should be the name of the company. I'll get to the theft at the end keep consumers informed of all the other numerous reasons why NOT to use this so-called company.

First order of business. When they come to pick your items, the driver sits with you and explains policies and agreement terms. What he doesn't tell you is the add-on fees which they will attempt to add later such as steps, what they refer to as a long carry, and furniture packing, which is done after they haul your items away. The pickup is spotty and common sense does not apply. They do not wrap your mattress until after they haul it outside to the truck, making it all dirty as they drag it, not carry, drag it outside. The other problem is that the manual labor person is not clean, has sweat dripping of him and he drips his sweat all over your mattress. When you actually receive your mattress and the drop-off, you will definitely notice ALL the dirt that is on it, which I'll get to in the second issue.

Primary experience complaints are as follows. The truck conveniently breaks down somewhere in Florida. What was originally estimated to be delivered within 3 days took 7 days total. Meanwhile the driver, Ruben, who has been doing this for over 8 years, couldn't estimate a delivery date to save his life. He never answers his phone when you are trying to contact him back. When you do get him, he tells you he'll call back in 5 minutes or later in the afternoon. He never does. He had me waiting around for 4 days while the truck was supposedly broken down. I finally go a hold of my "Handler" Darren and he tells me there is nothing he can do.

Second order of business, the delivery. These clowns not only just dump your belonging wherever they please, they never setup the bed again nor anything else. Think about what I wrote, everything is filthy due to them being so poor at moving household items and they don't want you to notice while they are there. Their primary goal, collect the C.O.D. and get the h**l out of there as soon as they can. They make you sign for your items without giving you an opportunity to inspect anything. I now know why they try to get out so quickly.

Primary complaints continue. Once these jokers have left, I start inspecting and opening boxes. The furniture is all scuffed up, the lamps are damaged from having been dropped, stepped on and other items falling on them. The mattress has black dirt marks all over it.The boxes are now re-taped from what I had originally taped. There are items in the boxes that don't even belong to me. The big item that is missing, my iPad. It was a gift and I had yet to open it. It was still sealed and naturally, it was missing. What these clowns didn't take is the leather cover which was also not opened and stored right next to it. I noticed immediately that ALL of my boxes and storage totes had been opened. None of my original taping had been untouched. The truck mysteriously broke down for 4 days and now I know why.

I tried contacting the company and they don't return calls or messages. Just as another consumer wrote, how do you claim 60 cents on the pound for items that are worth thousands and have little weight? The movers are criminals who work for this so-called company. Do not trust them, should you decide to actually this company to move your belongings.

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 07/07/2011 08:46 AM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/Duntara-Moving-Storage/Ft-Lauderdale-Florida-33309/Duntara-Moving-Storage-Robbers-Ft-Lauderdale-Florida-750090. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Duntara Moving & Storage

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
3Author 4Consumer 1Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 Author of original report

Resolution Provided

AUTHOR: Tim - (United States of America)

When I first wrote my complaint on this forum, it was a combination of anger over my poor experience and and effort to provide a service to other consumers of my initial bad experience with this company.
I am very pleased to provide the following update:

Richard from Duntara Moving & Storage called to work with me in coming to a resolution for the unfortunate experience on Saturday, July 23, 2011. He was professional and courteous and I have now received a very satisfactory resolution from Duntara Moving & Storage which puts an end to any previous dispute with this company. To be fair to the company, I cannot provide the details of the resolution but, I assure you readers, it was very satisfactory. The fact the company does care about providing quality service and satisfactory resolution(s) in the event unfortunate occurrences should happen is a company worthy of being recognized as an excellent service provider of moving and storage services. 

I would also like to include the one positive element throughout this ordeal, my "Handler" Darren. Without his willingness to provide such a resolution, this update could not be provided. Duntara Moving & Storage is fortunate to have him as a representative of the company. Thank you Darren and Duntara Moving & Storage for providing such a nice resolution.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 Consumer Comment

Hi, Rocksright! How's Globe Moving going?

AUTHOR: voiceofreason - (United States of America)

Ha ha hardy har har! Rocksright, the pro-Duntara poster above, has posted elsewhere as the owner of Globe Moving in Kansas, that has also had a lot of issues posted here lately. You actually used another moving company, the one you say you offered drinks to? Can we now surmise that whoever you are, you own both Duntara and Globe? How's that ratings review by the BBB on Globe going? I've actually defended you somewhat in other posts. I'm still trying to keep an open mind to both sides, but I gotta tell ya, y'all making it very difficult.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#3 Author of original report

Reviewer 0

AUTHOR: Tim - (United States of America)

Not that an explanation to you, a non factor party unless you happen to be an employee of this company, needs to be provided the details but here is more information and additional comments to your ignorant input.

First, you have no idea as to what happened. Cold beverages and even coffee or tea was offered to the movers since they showed up at 7:00AM. They accepted the bottles of water and drank them.

Second, there was no need to sit around with them, provide high fives and have a family gathering. Hooray for you and your wife for inviting them to have a feel good session. The move was simple, as no packing was required by them with the exception of the mattress. All the boxes were sealed as were the storage totes. They simply had to move the items from the living floor down to the truck. The main goal was to complete the loading as quickly as possible. One of the movers even indicated that speed was everything as they are constantly trying to speed up the loading process as time is money. When the first item was picked up to be loaded and the last item was being loaded, the total time took 22 minutes. This is how simple my move was.

Third, you are assuming that the iPad was not reported stolen, why? Because the moving company representative said so in their weak rebuttal? You don't know what you're writing about. Everything would have been fine had I not discovered this item missing. No report would have been filed despite the other major concerns. The company offered no resolution here. They received their money and they have disappeared, knowing that the move should have gone a lot easier, none of my furniture should have damaged so much, my mattress should have been wrapped prior to leaving the building, none of my boxes should have been opened and nothing from my boxes should be missing. 

What you and the so-called owner failed to do was read the complaint for what it states. Poor communication, damaged items and having my boxes and storage totes opened and resealed and a major item missing. The fact that I have items in my boxes that don't belong to me is clue that even your wife would question. One item was immediately noticeable as they stuffed some one else's Amazon package not even opened into one of my other lamps, which I immediately told the driver that it did not belong to me. (Alias, season 1 & 2 DVD) The fact that the new truck which arrived to deliver my items had some of my items on the floor of the truck that were once in sealed boxes. When I asked the driver if there was spill, no answer was provided. These are my late father's cuff links on the floor of the truck which one is now broken. How did they get there? No answer. Having the furniture all damaged, a glass lampshade missing from a packed and taped up box which was re-taped, having the iPad missing from a once sealed and re-taped box.

So, go and find another report to write about. Only the next time, choose one where you don't read like such a fool, Big Boy.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#4 Consumer Comment

DUNTARA 1 CUSTOMER 0

AUTHOR: Rocksright - (U.S.A.)

What a lot of people DO NOT seem to understand is that they are not the only ones moving, their are a lot of factors that can delay a move.

I read the customers complaints and I have to say they DO NOT make sense. What it seems to me is that the company was delayed and because of that the customer is bitter and has created a nightmare move (which is easy to do). If you were
really missing an I-PAD I think instead of spending the time to post your feelings all over RRR, I would have spent the time to report it stolen. Some people are just never satisfied and expect the impossible, they also think that because the movers are movers that they can belittle them or talk down to them, they are workers that deserve respect and one thing is for sure people will treat you how you treat them. How can you be so ignorant and NOT expect a man in Florida Heat not to  sweat, when he is moving your furniture...? Did you offer him a glass of water?

I did a move where the minute the guys walked through my door, I offered them a cold glass of Lemonade my wife made in anticipation, we had a mini meeting, I shook all of their hands (dirty or not) and by Lunch time these guys were working as if it were their home they were packing. Lunch time we fed the fellas and by sundown we were all done, laughing and joking...Sure through out the day, there were snags and some items hit the wall but overall these guys worked their a*s off. The movers arrived two days late but did get their one day early so who am I to complain...I was grateful in what they did for us and
the appreciated the effort they put forth, I also tipped the movers which showed my appreciation I was not unreasonable in my expectations and I treated them ALL with respect. I think the Employers rebuttal is adequate and shows truth, I have looked this company up on the BBB and they have an A rating with 3 complaints on here, 2 of which are many years ago...Your complaint is the only one on here! This company probably does 100's of moves per month and if this is the only complaint, judging by their
"A" rating, I would assume that is a pretty good complaint ratio, defeintely less then 1%. THESE ARE FACTS...

So, put your BIG BOY PANTS on, stop crying about the little things and look at the BIGGER PICTURE, I think your move actually went well compared to some of the stories I have read on other companies.. if I were you I would start looking for your I-PAD
because since you didnt care to report it stolen then chances are, its somewhere in your house....if you ever even have one.

Thats my opinion, DUNTARA 1 CUSTOMER 0
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#5 Consumer Comment

DUNTARA 1 CUSTOMER 0

AUTHOR: Rocksright - (U.S.A.)

What a lot of people DO NOT seem to understand is that they are not the only ones moving, their are a lot of factors that can delay a move.

I read the customers complaints and I have to say they DO NOT make sense. What it seems to me is that the company was delayed and because of that the customer is bitter and has created a nightmare move (which is easy to do). If you were really missing an I-PAD I think instead of spending the time to post your feelings all over RRR, I would have spent the time to report it stolen. Some people are just never satisfied and expect the impossible, they also think that because the movers are movers that they can belittle them or talk down to them, they are workers that deserve respect and one thing is for sure people will treat you how you treat them.

I did a move where the minute the guys walked through my door, I offered them a cold glass of Lemonade my wife made in anticipation, we had a mini meeting, I shook all of their hands (ditry or not) and by Lunch time these guys were working as if it were their home they were packing. Lunch time we fed the fellas and by sundown we were all done, laughing and joking...Sure through out the day, there were snags and some items hit the wall but overall these guys worked their a*s off. The movers arrived two days late but did get their one day early so who am I to complain...I was grateful in what they did for us and the appreciated the effort they put forth. I was not unreasonable in my expectations and I treated them ALL with respect. I think the Employers rebuttal is adequate and shows truth, I have looked this company up on the BBB and they have an A rating with 3 complaints on here, 2 of which are many years ago...Your complaint is the only one on here! This company probably does 100's of moves per month and if this is the only complaint, judging by their "A" rating, I would assume that is a pretty good complaint ratio, defeintely less then 1%. THESE ARE FACTS...

So, put your BIG BOY PANTS on, stop complaining about the little things and look at the BIGGER PICTURE, if I were you I would start looking for your I-PAD because since you didnt care to report it stolen then chances are, its somewhere in your house....if you ever even have one.

Thats my opinion, DUNTARA 1 CUSTOMER 0
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#6 Consumer Comment

The customer should return the boxes to you?

AUTHOR: voiceofreason - (United States of America)

What kind of crap is that? Go and pick up the boxes that don't belong to the customer. Why should he have to lift a finger to get them back to you? I can gripe with such a customer maybe on a couple of points. He can't expect moving men in Florida's summer heat to not sweat and get grimy as they work. But clearly things went wrong here, and many complaints about movers include intimidation tactics at delivery to sign off on everything being okay, or the delivery guys would just truck your things to a storage facility and hold them hostage. It doesn't look like that happened here, but if the customer was hounded in a rush to quickly sign and let them go, I can see how stressed out customers would do so, only to find the damage later.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#7 Author of original report

Still no service

AUTHOR: Tim - (United States of America)

Yes, I'm obviously still NOT satisfied over this bad experience. And clearly the owner has done nothing to validate my concerns nor even read my complaint thoroughly.

What the owner's rebuttal also doesn't mention is the other obvious complaint which was reported, the driver's inability to provide accurate timelines and communicate. This guy kept changing the dates of delivery as he went along day by day and when he'd call, he would leave one false message after another and not be available when you would call him back. I expect nothing less than the company to hide behind their documented estimates after the fact. The final end date was not the issue with the delivery estimate, it was the constant bad communication during.

If the delivery personal do not give you an opportunity to inspect anything prior to them having you sign and leave as quickly as possible, how would anyone know that items were damaged or missing?
I clearly wrote on the report that the furniture as damaged.
As for the mattress, common sense owner. If one man took a queen sized mattress from the third floor of an apartment, after having removed all other items to be shipped without wrapping it first and dragging it throughout the building prior to getting outside, it would be filthy. Why would you not wrap it prior to moving it so it wouldn't get so filthy? I could have performed a fingerprint identification with all the entire black soot imprints of your movers' hands and fingers.

The handler Darren was available, after I wrote this report of your company. He immediately stops communication when I write him for a resolution instead of messages of empty promises. It was quite simple, he could have called with offers of resolution to remove this report but the moment I stated this to him in an email, he stopped, the moment he realized what I had lost was more costly than what was paid to your company for lousy service, he disappeared again.

You actually wrote in your rebuttal to return the items that don't belong to you to your office?? What about the items I am missing owner? How did these items that don't belong to me get in my boxes owner? Why were my boxes even opened during the transport owner?

Yes, this is a very disturbing report which your company could have avoided by simply providing much better service and not have so much damaged nor items missing. Your victims/customers are the ones who have suffered and still do because you fail to provide good service upfront and fail to provide resolutions when good service is not provided.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#8 REBUTTAL Owner of company

Rebuttal

AUTHOR: Duntara moving & storage - (U.S.A.)

Dear Tim,
 
We pride ourselves in providing excellent service and are sorry to hear that you believe you have not been provided such.  We are unhappy that you received service that resulted in a complaint and regret any inconveniences you have incurred. Thank you for acknowledging the driver took the necessary time to explain policies and agreement terms.  You mention add on fees, such as steps, long carry and furniture packing.  There was no additional money charged or received for any of these services.  As for the dirty mattress, it is our policy to protect such items prior to moving.
 
The delivery window was agreed and signed by you from 07/01/11 07/14/11.  Although we did make every attempt to deliver you as soon as possible we apologize for not getting your delivery to you sooner. Please know that we delivered your order right in the middle of your delivery window as agreed.
 
Your handler Darren has always been there for you and his response of there is nothing he can do was to your request of delivering your goods sooner.  Darren is still here for you if you need him and a great asset to our team.
 
You mention clowns dump your belongings wherever they please and never setup the bed or anything else. After speaking with Reuben you asked for your bed frames to be set against the wall of which he complied.  As for not assembling any other furniture, what are you referring to as your furniture list you signed for included the following: Bed, Boxes, Golf Bag, Floor Lamp, Night Stands, Suit Cases, TV and End Table.  Were there any other items moved not listed on your inventory as there were no additional charges collected?
 
You mention their primary goal is to collect the C.O.D. and get the h**l out of there as soon as they can.  They make you sign for items without giving you an opportunity to inspect anything.  Reuben did in fact bring back signed documents from you agreeing that all items were delivered and none were damaged or missing.  You never mentioned that you seen them dragging your mattress or had any other concerns or displeasures.
 
You now state after you sign all paperwork agreeing to your satisfaction, that there is damage and missing items.  You also stated very angrily because we could not deliver you as anticipated for us to keep your stuff it wasnt worth anything anyway.  Now you are missing and iPad that was a gift and yet to be opened.  You also state that you noticed immediately that ALL of your boxes and storage totes had been opened, but yet you mentioned nothing to no one and signed all documents requested.
 
You also state there are items in boxes that dont even belong to you.  Please identify those items and return them to our office.
 
This is a very disturbing email to read and we still would like to assist you in resolving these issues.  In the future, if you (or anyone reading this reply) are ever not satisfied with a service, the time to speak would be prior to signing.  We have contacted Apple Inc. and have provided them with the serial numbers you provided to us and they stated they have not been notified of that item being stolen.  We informed them that you are missing that item and have accused us of taking it.  They stated they will note their file and will assist you upon your request.  Please provide any and all documents including pictures that would help us in our decision making process.  Once again, we apologize for any inconveniences you may have incurred.
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
X