• Report: #85321

Complaint Review: EMC Mortgage Corporation

  • Submitted: Thu, March 25, 2004
  • Updated: Tue, February 15, 2005

  • Reported By:Reno Pennsylvania
EMC Mortgage Corporation
MacArthur Ridge II, 909 Hidden Ridge Drive, Suite 200 Irving, Texas U.S.A.

EMC Mortgage Corporation harassment and withholding of payments ripoff Irving Texas

*Consumer Suggestion: recording laws

*Consumer Comment: Phone Recording

*Author of original report: Don't Let EMC Bully You

*Consumer Comment: we will never own our homes

*Consumer Comment: EMC pain in the arse...

*Author of original report: For Fans of EMC Mortgage Corp, Texas ..What bull!

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

I am currently in the process of "foreclosure" on my home, a process I am not taking lightly. I have already paid on this loan for 7 years without problem, until last Nov. when I was suddenly hit with all kinds of charges to my account.

Not only did I comply, but discovered that they were not even applying these charges to my account. I charge they have stolen my money, period. I write on my checks the loan number and the month due. I have received all these checks from the bank which indicates to me that this company accepted my money for what it was intended, period. I have filed complaints with the Federal Trade Commission, the PA State Attorneys General office, and am seeking legal council.

If anyone would be interested in joining me in a class action suit, let me know. This has gone on long enough, and good, law abiding citizens, hard working and deserving citizens are being literally robbed of their homes due to unscrupulous business practice. This company has a history of harassing it's customers, I do not wish to continue to dread the phone ringing, or while I am busy at work, taking care of patients in a busy wing, that I will be called away to be harassed for NOTHING.

Glenda
Reno, Pennsylvania
U.S.A.

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 03/25/2004 08:56 AM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/EMC-Mortgage-Corporation/Irving-Texas-75038/EMC-Mortgage-Corporation-harassment-and-withholding-of-payments-ripoff-Irving-Texas-85321. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on EMC Mortgage Corporation

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
0Author 6Consumer 0Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 Consumer Suggestion

recording laws

AUTHOR: Craig - (U.S.A.)

As long as EMC gives you the "we may record calls for quality assurance" you have FULL legal authority to record the call with or without notifying them. Both parties have been notified, and that meets all state and federal guidelines for recording a call.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 Consumer Comment

Phone Recording

AUTHOR: Christi - (U.S.A.)

Just FYI for anyone in Texas reading this. In Texas, only one party needs to be aware that a phone call is being recorded, so if you're the one doing the recording, you obviously know, therefore you may record without telling the other party.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#3 Author of original report

Don't Let EMC Bully You

AUTHOR: Glenda - (U.S.A.)

I wanted to update you re my particular relationship with EMC, and I can tell you, they are a LARGE company owned by the Bear-Stearns corporation, but they are not, I repeat, not inexcapeable of the law. Be diligent, and persistant, file complaints with your States Attorneys General Office, Bureau of Consumer Protection, AND the Federal Trade Commission. Both will take your complaints by email or phone, and they WILL follow up, and you WILL be contacted by them. Just because EMC makes you feel like a victim, you do not have to act like one. If they are calling you and harassing you without reason, they are breaking the law. Get yourself a phone with a recording device, and tell them the minute they call that you would like to record the call for possible legal reasons. I am sure that when they call you, that is the first thing YOU hear is that the call may be recorded for "whatever" reason. Tell them also that you have involved the FTC and the Bureau of Consumer Protection once you have filed your complaints. I finally got some action after 6 long months battle. I also have a hint, when you deal with them, tell them you want a three way conference call to straighten out this mess, and it doesn't hurt to have a copy of your payment history, which is basically your evidence of good payment history. They will charge you for it of course, but you may think it's worth it in the end. I mean it, don't let them push you around, and don't let them continue to make a business out of taking our homes. I would appreciate and update from any others. Glenda Rector
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#4 Consumer Comment

we will never own our homes

AUTHOR: Heidi - (U.S.A.)

i am also a victim of emc. when we buy a home we do it knowing that after paying for so many years we will own it, well in most cases, any of us who are with emc will never own our homes. yes we have payed on them for years but only for them to own it because they foreclose on us and who wins? they do! i agree something needs to be done about this. we try to make a home for our families and look what happens, crooked companies like this take it right out from under you and get away with it! what i would like to know is how they sleep at night. they need to be STOPPED!!!!!!!
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#5 Consumer Comment

EMC pain in the arse...

AUTHOR: Tom - (U.S.A.)

Glenda,

I also had a mortgage through UC Lending which was bought out by EMC. They are not threatening to forclose on me (Although I wish they would) They call me almost every day claiming that my payments are late. They get paid when they send out a bill to me... not before. Then once they receive the check, they hold it for weeks and the collections calls start back again.

I am tired of them, and they are impossible to find when you ned to call them.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#6 Author of original report

For Fans of EMC Mortgage Corp, Texas ..What bull!

AUTHOR: Glenda - (U.S.A.)

I just recently clicked on to EMC's website and found out that they "specialize in the acquisition, securitization,servicing and disposition of commercial and residential loans. That explains to me how they "bought" my loan from UCLending Corp, turned an unsecured loan into a secured loan, pay no attention to the servicing of the loan and now plan to dispose of my property. What a setup! They claim that they "buy distressed portfolios and transform them into performing loans with established pay histories". What bull! My loan at UC Lending was not "distressed" by any means, they had no business selling it to EMC in the first place and yes they turn these loans into performing loans by making illegal charges to these loans, make a profit and have more to lend. By the way, they also claim that their "proven success" is built on a foundation providing competetive pricing AND , get this,for all of you out there who are having trouble getting your payments applied to the loan, they have "excellent portfolio management". How absurd. Talk about predatory lenders. I am still waging the fight. Glenda Rector
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
X