• Report: #1118183

Complaint Review: Enterprise rent A Car

Thank You

Read how Ripoff Report saves consumers millions.

  • Submitted: Fri, January 24, 2014
  • Updated: Fri, January 24, 2014

  • Reported By: Robert849 — Trumbull Connecticut
Enterprise rent A Car
370 North Ave Bridgeport, Connecticut USA

Enterprise rent A Car False Claim Of Damage Bridgeport Connecticut

*Author of original report: Enterprise Didnt Care The First Time This Form Letter Was Sent

*UPDATE Employee: Enterprise Cares

*Author of original report: Risk Manager @ Enterprise Holdings regional office Wilton Connecticut. Didnt seem to care after all

*Author of original report: Risk Manager @ Enterprise Holdings regional office Wilton CT. Didnt seem to care after all

*Author of original report: I heard from Enterprise - let's see if they really care

*UPDATE Employee: Enterprise Cares

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

  On Saturday, 1/4/14, I rented a car from Enterprise at 370 North Avenue, Bridgeport, CT at 10:48AM. It was 15 degrees, with a wind chill of 10 degrees, and had been colder earlier in the morning. The Enterprise office was very busy, and was crowded with several customers. According to at least two employees, the pipes had been frozen since the day before and the hose used to clean off the cars was not working. The employees were rushing to get the customers into their cars, and hurried inside as quickly as possible to escape the cold weather. When it was finally my turn to get my car, an employee took me out to the car, and did a very quick walk-around. She attempted, and failed, to remove some of the snow from the car with her partially gloved hand, and actually laughed at her futile attempt, because the snow was frozen solid all over the car. In addition, the car was covered with ice, dirt, salt, and sand, making it impossible to see the color of the vehicle, let alone see any kind of damage. I could see that she was very cold and uncomfortable, and she assured me that the car was fine. I could also see that all of the employees were very busy, and were trying to get people in and out as fast as possible. I signed the paper, never thinking that I would have any problems. The employee was appreciative that I was so understanding, and did not demand that the car be cleaned, and she was able to go back inside the office quickly and get out of the frigid weather. It had snowed several inches between Thursday evening and Friday afternoon ( I have print-outs of the weather reports if needed). I was told that the car had come in Friday evening and had not been washed because the hose was frozen. I don't believe that the Enterprise employee did any kind of a return inspection when the car was returned on Friday evening 1/3/14, as the car was still covered in snow, ice, sand, salt, and dirt when I rented it on Saturday, and it would have been impossible to see any damage. In addition, the car had not been vacuumed, as I discovered when I got the car home and opened the back door to put something in the back seat. The car's gas tank was on "empty," so I had to put gas in the tank in order to get the car home. I drove the car a total of 39 miles over the three day period, 11 of which were the drive back and forth to the Enterprise location. The car spent the majority of the time during the rental period in the driveway of my single family home in Trumbull. I did not cause any damage to the bumper of this car. I believe that the damage to the bumper was already there when I rented the car, but was not observed by Enterprise employees because the car was turned in on Friday, 1/3/14 covered with snow, ice, salt, and sand, and it was still covered with those items on Saturday, 1/4/14, when I rented the car, making it impossible to see any kind of damage. By the time I returned the car on Monday, 1/6/14, the temperature had risen to 53 degrees, and it had been pouring all day. Most of the snow, ice, salt, and sand had washed off the car, and you could now see that the car was blue. I returned the car to the same Enterprise location where I rented it on Saturday, and was helped again by the same employee. I was absolutely shocked when she came back into the office and told me that there was damage to the car's bumper, and that I would be charged $487.97 for the damage. She had the nerve to look me in the eye and tell me that the car was clean on Saturday, that she had done a complete and thorough walk-around of the car before I left on Saturday, and that the damage was my fault. I was completely flabbergasted by her blatant lie, and couldn't believe that she would be so dishonest, especially after I had been extremely understanding about the terrible condition the car was in when I picked it up on Saturday. During this whole incident, I spoke to several employees who told me that the hose was frozen, and that the cars were going out dirty because they could not be washed. In addition, when I spoke with the manager and explained the situation to him, he said that he would look into it and get back to me, saying that he would do what he could to help me resolve this problem. I even suggested that he view the security camera footage from that weekend, which would have given him an accurate view of the condition of the cars, and which would have shown that the condition of all of the cars were as I have explained here, including the one I rented. I do not know if he did that, but when I finally did speak with him on Friday, 1/10/14, he was dismissive, offering no explanation, no compassion for my situation, and telling me there was nothing he could do. It is clear that Enterprise employees were negligent in their duties over the weekend of January 3-4, 2014, and that they are trying to hold me responsible for their negligence. Instead of taking actions to clean the cars, they cut corners to get out of the cold. Instead of taking responsibility for her own negligence in failing to do an inspection when the car was returned by the previous renter on Friday, 1/3/14, and failing to do an inspection before I rented the car on Saturday, the employee decided to take the easy way out and place the blame on me. It is very easy to see that I was wrongly accused of damage to a rental car that was not properly inspected due to the extreme weather conditions, making it impossible to see anything on the exterior of the car. I should not have been charged for any damage that was there before I rented the car. Sincerely,


This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 01/24/2014 12:35 PM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/Enterprise-rent-A-Car/Bridgeport-Connecticut-06606/Enterprise-rent-A-Car-False-Claim-Of-Damage-Bridgeport-Connecticut-1118183. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Enterprise rent A Car

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
4Author 2Consumer 0Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 Author of original report

Enterprise Didnt Care The First Time This Form Letter Was Sent

AUTHOR: Robert849 - ()

As I wrote in my last rebutal, this form letter is to only make readers believe something may be in the process of getting done. I will do as Chris asks and send the info. I bet we go in another circle. What do you think?

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 UPDATE Employee

Enterprise Cares

AUTHOR: Enterprise Rent-A-Car - ()

Robert849

Customer service and satisfaction are very important to us at Enterprise. I would like to follow up with you. Please email me at care@enterprise.com with the complete details, exact renting location, and any rental agreement numbers. Please reference #140203-002322.  I look forward to hearing from you soon, thank you. Chris, Social Media Monitor, Enterprise Rent-A-Car

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#3 Author of original report

Risk Manager @ Enterprise Holdings regional office Wilton Connecticut. Didnt seem to care after all

AUTHOR: Robert849 - ()

After her investigation, which included speaking only to the Enterprise employees, She came to the same shockinng conclusion. That I am still responsible for the damage. Although now she is admiting that the car was dirty. Thank god she is only ivestigating rent a car claims. It may look like good PR when you see Enterprise contacting the people leaving bad reviews in this forum, but I am here to tell you that it does not mean that they have made good of the situation. At least yet!

 

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#4 Author of original report

Risk Manager @ Enterprise Holdings regional office Wilton CT. Didnt seem to care after all

AUTHOR: Robert849 - ()

After her investigation, which included speaking only to the Enterprise employees, She came to the same shockinng conclusion that I am still responsable for the damage. Although now she is admiting that the car was dirty. Thank god she is only ivestigating rent a car claims. It may look like good PR when you see Enterprise contacting the people leaving bad reviews in this forum, but I am here to tell you that it does not mean that they have made good of the situation. At least yet!

 

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#5 Author of original report

I heard from Enterprise - let's see if they really care

AUTHOR: Robert849 - ()

This is the reply I got from Enterprise.  Let's see if anything happens.  I'll keep you posted.

 

---------------------------------------

Robert,

Thank you for your email and all of the information. Our team acts as a bridge between our customers online and the upper managers that can best address your concerns. Based on the information you have provided, I have forwarded our correspondence over to the corporate office that handles the 370 North Avenue, Bridgeport, CT location to address further with you.

If you have any further questions or concerns, please email us at Care@Enterprise.com

 Respectfully,

Christina B.    

Social Monitor Coordinator

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#6 UPDATE Employee

Enterprise Cares

AUTHOR: Enterprise Rent-A-Car - ()

Robert849, 

our team would like to make the proper management aware of your concerns. Please email us at: Care@Brand.com. Please include your contact information, reference #140128-002440, rental agreement number and any additional details you would like to share about your experience. Thank You. 

 Best regards,

Christina 

Social Monitoring Coordinator

 

Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.