• Report: #507452

Complaint Review: Family Savers Inc

Thank You

Read how Ripoff Report saves consumers millions.

  • Submitted: Sat, October 10, 2009
  • Updated: Sat, October 10, 2009

  • Reported By: OneUnhappyChick — Charleston South Carolina USA
Family Savers Inc
2060 Northbrook Blvd # 101 Charleston, South Carolina United States of America

Family Savers Inc John Barbour Wouldn't refund money until after being served a lawsuit from Constable... Bait and Switch... Charleston, South Carolina

*General Comment: Thanks for your report!

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

On Sept 1, 2009, we went and heard the information about family savers.  We were told we would get $100 in gas and one of three gifts: a hotel stay, a 42" tv, or cash.  (I knew it would be the hotel stay).  It sounded wonderful!  The ability to buy things directly from the manufacturer and have it sent to your home for less!!  They said it was exactly like "Direct Buy" (a horrible slander of that company.) 
It was high pressure...we'd been there for over an hour and a half; but it was Wednesday night, so we had to leave for church.  The man said this was the only time we would ever have a chance to get the offer because manufacturers don't want word getting out about it--it would kill the business from stores like Ashley Furniture.  They sold us on the fact that we had a 3 day grace period in the contract to change our minds.  (Otherwise, we would have NEVER spent $2,400!!)
We went home after church and searched the internet.  WOW!!  They didn't tell us those prices they showed us were only if you had it shipped to their store.  We're military and asked them several times about shipping.  They kept saying, "It is either $5 or 5%...whichever is least."  (But that was to the store).  The nail hit the coffin when I called my friend and next door neighbor.  Turns out she bought from them a few years ago...she, too, thought it sounded great at first.  She paid HALF of what I did!!  (I want to know how they knew we were so stupid.)  She said they tricked her into thinking the items were shipped directly, too.  She said they go to the warehouse in boxes where you have to pick them up and assemble them yourself.  She said she knew John Barbour and thought of him as a slime-ball.  (She likes his wife a lot, though, and feels sorry that she is married to such a horrible person.)  She was happy to hear about the clause where we could get my money back.
We sent the certified mail out immediately on Thursday, September 2nd.  They received it on September 4th and had 10 days to return our money to us per the contract.  It was a relief because one of the people on the internet said they got their money back on the 10th day!! 
On September 14, we called up there...(Business days they said.)  So we waited longer.
On September 22, my husband and I knew they were giving us the run around, so he called up there.  "John isn't here now," said one of the secretaries.  (She didn't know my husband was about 10 minutes from the store.)  When my husband arrived, there John was!!  He played dumb and innocent (well, he played innocent anyway).
After hearing him promise to get our money back to us, and his admittence that he was supposed to, we waited until 9/28 at 1015 to call again.  My husband got Emily, the secretary this time.  John wasn't in.
9/30 Called at 1210 and left message with Melissa
10/01 Called at 1730
10/02 called at 1430 (Spoke with Emily again)
10/03 called at 1443  no response or return of call
10/06 Called at 1148 Spoke with Melissa again (John still not in)
10/06 Filled small claims complaint against John Barbour with the county of Charleston.  This had an $80 non-refundable fee for the constable to serve him the notice of his court date.
10/09 Our money magically appeared in our account!!  NO APPOLOGIES, no notice, nothing.  BUT we are still out the 80 bucks.  It is amazing how "quickly" he "fixed" this!!
The JAG office said they have had A LOT of complaints against this company!!
The Commander won't put it on the list of places military personal shouldn't go!
OH!!  The "One hundred dollar gas card" as they called it, is actually a program anyone can sign up for on the internet.  You sign your life away at www.tryitforgas.com and have to go to different places testing the product, and then you get 10 bucks a trial.  (NOT A $100 gas card!!)  BAIT AND SWITCH
Then the 3 day-2 night hotel stay...you have to select the location, send $10 for shipping and handling, and then receive a reservation form to book your room.  You have to give them 60 days in advance notice and pay 15 dollars a night for taxes.  OH--AND YOU CAN'T GET WEEKENDS WITHOUT A SURCHARGE!!  I guess I can see how they can legally defend THAT one as not being a bait and switch, but it is a ton of more work that you are going to have to do!  (And after you deal with this "company" you don't want anything else to do). 
DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY!! 
 

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 10/10/2009 07:34 PM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/Family-Savers-Inc/Charleston-South-Carolina-29406-9811/Family-Savers-Inc-John-Barbour-Wouldnt-refund-money-until-after-being-served-a-lawsuit-fr-507452. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Family Savers Inc

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
0Author 1Consumer 0Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 General Comment

Thanks for your report!

AUTHOR: Kimberly - ()

 This company does nothing but take advantage of people.  I also filed a report here about them a few years back.  We are military too and were also told they couldn't be black listed.  I'm not sure I understand why when they are complete rip offs!  I'm glad you got your money back.  My daughter still has the wrong bed they ordered and sent us and we never got one penny back from them.  After paying $1200 in costs to get what we ordered hauled to us in AZ when we were told shipping was free out of state, it was like insult to injury.

I spoke with my husband about wanting to buy something else maybe a year or so ago.  I thought I would contact them just to see how much they would charge me (to gauge if I would have saved anything buying through them rather than the store I purchased it from.)  They were not only not a better price, they were a LOT higher.  Then they had the NERVE to ask me to take down my ripoff report of them!  That cracked me up!

They claimed I saved a LOT of money during the time I was placing orders with them, but when you factor in the cost we paid for getting the items they said would ship for free to us, we actually paid more.  Plus, we were out the cost of the platinum membership that we paid up front to supposedly save on the cost of freight that we ended up having to pay anyway.

Everyone in that office lies and they all cover for each other.  I am totally amazed you got anything back from them.  I think you are the exception rather than the rule!

Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.



Ripoff Report Legal Directory