• Report: #761302

Complaint Review: Fast Growing Trees

Thank You

Read how Ripoff Report saves consumers millions.

  • Submitted: Fri, August 05, 2011
  • Updated: Fri, August 05, 2011

  • Reported By: NJT — Fayetteville Arkansas USA
Fast Growing Trees
4475 Morris Park Dr Ste J Charlotte, NC 28227-82 Internet United States of America

Fast Growing Trees,fastgrowingtrees.com My detailed VERY NEGATIVE experience with Fast Growing Trees Internet, Internet

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

Consumer's Original Complaint :

Trees shipped 5/24/11 ` Dead 6/24/11 We were In communication regarding the issue, end result 2 of the 3 purchased dead, very poor customer service.

Trees shipped 5/24/11 and were Dead 6/24/11.  I made sure I communicated with www.fastgrowingtrees.com regarding the issue in the interim. End result, 2 of the 3 Thuja Green Giant's purchased are dead, very poor customer service.

Fast Growing trees Homepage has a logo that reads "ONE YEAR GUARENTEE 1 YEAR" That made me comfortable enough to not read the fine print. That was a mistake on my part. The first call I made was a clear indication to me as to how I would be treated in the end. I explained to the "supervisor" that two of the three Thuja Green Giant trees we purchased were dying and that my Husband noticed they didn't look perfect when taking them out of the box, but he hoped they would be fine, she came up with one excuse after another as to the possibility of why. "Too much water, not enough water, type of soil, air pockets in the soil etc., etc." I told her we have 4 acres with Beautiful, Healthy evergreens of various species so that she would be clear in understanding we are very intelligent individuals with substantial experience and knowledge in the planting and landscaping arena. She said "fertilize them to try and get them to green up...and if no difference call mid July and we can start the replacement process." I called July 12th and stated that we simply wanted to have the two dead Tunja Green Giant's REPLACED with two new, living ones." This supervisor told me that after I take a photo of the dead tree's and click on their replacement authorization application link, upload the photo's and give a reason for wanting them replaced, that we would receive a 75% coupon to use on their site." I said your homepage has a logo that reads ONE YEAR GUARENTEE 1 YEAR, she replied "I don't see where it reads ONE YEAR 100% GUARENTEE?" At that point I basically let her know that I had better things to do with my time than to try and match wits with her, and also let her know that I would notify the BBB and everyone I could via reviews etc., to warn people of the very poor, could care less attitude they have at www.fastgrowingtrees.com and to let people know to be sure to read their fine print! I do business with many retailers and have never been told that I would receive 75% back of my 100% given if I'm not happy or if their is a problem, especially in such an incredibly short period of time.

Not only would I absolutely NOT recommend www.fastgrowingtrees.com The ONLY reason I will accept their "coupon" is so I can donate something that I'm hoping will survive to a local park. Donating will help recoup the feeling of our actual loss. Loss of money and time.







Consumer's Desired Resolution:

A fair settlement would be to receive Two Healthy Thuja Green Giant Trees that we paid 100% asking price for to replace the Two Thuja Green Giant Trees that were dying 2-4 weeks after planting and are now dead And an apology from the owners of www.fastgrowingtrees.com for the "could care less, smart attitude" of the employee/supervisor they have representing their company

RECEIVE BUSINESS RESPONSE : I am sorry that this customer feels we were not helpful. She has spoken to all of our representatives including myself.

Her original call was one month after receipt of the trees. The notes in her account indicate that she was calling for advice about her trees. The first thing we look at is the watering schedule.

This information is not an excuse as we didn't need to provide an "excuse" if the trees had started to yellow.

Our hope is to help the the customer in an effort to turn the trees health around. Most customer appreciate the time we take to do that.

We do have a One Year Warranty and I do hope this customer will take advantage of her replacement credit as we extended the first 90 day portion of our warranty for her, and she can use it towards anything on our website.

(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)

The response from FGT does not address the issue of receiving trees that were already stressed and showing yellow leaves. We were very clear when we called FGT the first time and explained this. All we are asking for is to receive what we paid for...healthy trees. When FGT ships stressed Dying trees, then hides behind a less than 100% replacement warranty. This borders on the line of fraud. ALL we have asked for form the start is to receive what we paid for... Live healthy trees. That is all I will accept since that is what I paid for. It is up to FGT to stand behind this and stop making excuses. *Please note ~ I unfortunately had to take time out of my hectic schedule to call 3 times. The first time was well within 30 days, so that there would be documentation for myself regarding the fact that the trees were already not looking healthy so that in the likely event they would need to honor their ONE YEAR WARRANTY 1 YEAR, this would be noted. I was told at that time to call back mid July to "give the trees a chance to green up & to apply 10-10-10 fertilizer." The second call was in Mid July, as directed to do by FGT, to notify them that the dying tree's were now dead. At that time I was told I would only receive a 75% coupon for the replacement of the two of three tree's purchased (one lived) I asked the individual if I could speak with the Owners since this was not acceptable and she said "they don't take calls." I asked if they had a Manager and she said they have a supervisor and that she would have her call me that day. The third call was the last call, and I made that the following day due to the fact that the supervisor had not returned my call.

This statement made by FGT "Our hope is to help the the customer in an effort to turn the trees health around. Most customer appreciate the time we take to do that." Is a perfect example of the excuse/could care less attitude FGT Representatives have and have had. Customers shouldn't "need" to appreciate your efforts to help them turn trees health around.  #1 This statement proves this is a chronic issue with this business. Also FGT employees are paid to do their job, consumers/customers help make that possible by purchasing their products. Assistance of any kind should be an effort to show Appreciation to their customers and not that they are going out of their way to offer any kind of help.

The following statement also made by FGT " We do have a One Year Warranty and I do hope this customer will take advantage of her replacement credit as we extended the first 90 day portion of our warranty for her." I have no idea of what this person is talking about, this was never mentioned and we hadn't even had the trees for 90 days? Not even 30!

Again, All we are asking for is to simply receive what we paid for...healthy trees.100% back for what we gave 100% for.

If this is not resolved 100% to my satisfaction, my next step is to file a complaint with the North Carolina Attorney General's office since FGT are located in NCRECEIVED BUSINESS' REBUTTAL RESPONSE : We're sorry to hear that the customer is still not happy. Per our terms of service, replacement trees are sent out only if the customer contacts us within the first two business days and a picture is sent in to prove the plant arrived damaged or dead. As the customer stated, she did not communicate with us until exactly one month after receiving the trees. We then explained to her the replacement guarantee policy. Our policy reads: If your tree dies within 90 days, Company will offer a 75% store-issued credit that can be redeemed on any future purchase. The representative she spoke to then went beyond the Terms of Service and extended this 90 day period to 120 days for her in the case she sent in a replacement application.



The statement made by the customer that we have a chronic issue by helping customers out is not true. We get many calls a day from customers asking for planting directions and care information for their plants.

We encourage the customer to fill out our very simple replacement application online and, as a courtesy, we will still honor it as 75% credit for 120 days from the date of delivery instead of the standard 90 days.

CONSUMER REJECTS BUSINESS' FINAL OFFER : (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)

This latest statement "We're sorry to hear that the customer is still not happy. Per our terms of service, replacement trees are sent out only if the customer contacts us within the first two business days and a picture is sent in to prove the plant arrived damaged or dead"..#1. Of course I'm still not happy with this business, I have not received 100% of what I gave 100% for.  #2. I did call, as I stated previously and I did send photo's. If the BBB or anyone else needs these I'd be happy to provide. Or in the case it would be FGT, Re-provide.

Their statement "only if the customer contacts us within the first two business days and a picture is sent in to prove the plant arrived damaged or dead" Are they kidding? To prove? I explained very clearly to FGT in the 1st call that when my Husband removed the trees from the box there were a few discolored areas, but he decided to give them a chance due to their ONE YEAR WARRANTY 1 YEAR. Again, I made this call so that there would be a trail of correspondence. Why wasn't it brought up as a "two day issue at that point??

Once again The response from FGT does not address the issue of receiving trees that were already stressed and showing yellow leaves. We were very clear when we called FGT the first time and explained this. All we are asking for is to receive what we paid for...healthy trees. When FGT ships stressed Dying trees, then hides behind a less than 100% replacement warranty. This borders on the line of fraud. ALL we have asked for form the start is to receive what we paid for... Live healthy trees. That is all I will accept since that is what I paid for. It is up to FGT to stand behind this and stop making excuses. *Please note ~ I unfortunately had to take time out of my hectic schedule to call 3 times. The first time was WELL WITHIN 30 days 2 WEEKS, NOT "EXACTLY 30 DAYS." so that there would be documentation for myself regarding the fact that the trees were already not looking healthy so that in the likely event they would need to honor their ONE YEAR WARRANTY 1 YEAR, this would be noted. I was told at that time to call back mid July to "give the trees a chance to green up & to apply 10-10-10 fertilizer." The second call was in Mid July, AS DIRECTED TO DO by FGT, to notify them that the dying tree's were now dead. At that time I was told I would only receive a 75% coupon for the replacement of the two of three tree's purchased (one lived) I asked the individual if I could speak with the Owners since this was not acceptable and she said "they don't take calls." I asked if they had a Manager and she said they have a supervisor and that she would have her call me that day. The third call was the last call, and I made that the following day due to the fact that the supervisor had not returned my call.

This statement made by FGT "Our hope is to help the the customer in an effort to turn the trees health around. Most customer appreciate the time we take to do that." Is a perfect example of the excuse/could care less attitude FGT Representatives have and have had. Customers shouldn't "need" to appreciate your efforts to help them turn trees health around. #1 This statement proves this is a chronic issue with this business. Also FGT employees are paid to do their job, consumers/customers help make that possible by purchasing their products. Assistance of any kind should be an effort to show Appreciation to their customers and not that they are going out of their way to offer any kind of help.

The following statement also made by FGT " We do have a One Year Warranty and I do hope this customer will take advantage of her replacement credit as we extended the first 90 day portion of our warranty for her." I have no idea of what this person is talking about, this was never mentioned and we hadn't even had the trees for 90 days? Not even 30!

This latest statement once again made by FGT "The representative she spoke to then went beyond the Terms of Service and extended this 90 day period to 120 days for her in the case she sent in a replacement application." Is not truthful! Not truthful at all! However, Lets imagine it was true, At this point, why would I even consider doing business with this company? A company that has chosen to take up an incredible amount of my time (which is money) In addition to the money they are keeping by refusing to give me 100% of the 100% given to them. They are hiding behind their fine print. They have no problem having the logo that reads ONE YEAR WARRANTY 1 YEAR right on the home page In clear view, however its not as simple locating the fine print they continue to hide behind. Why wouldn't that be up front as well? Just treat me as you would wish to be treated and give me what I paid for, I mean really. In the short amount of time from purchase to planting, the calls in between and now this back and forth. I'm Amazed this company would take this stand at any time, but especially Amazed in this economy. All this business had to do was exchange two of the three tree's we purchased from them and we would have not only been happy, we would have returned, recommended them to others and avoided all of this additional money, time and energy.

Again, All we are asking for is to simply receive what we paid for...healthy trees.100% back for what we gave 100% for. *Note. We never asked for a refund of any kind. Just a replacement of healthy trees, the same size we paid 100% for, nothing more.



In ending I will simply state this. I Appreciate the BBB And the efforts they have made for me. I will not go back and forth with FGT any longer, I do not have the time and have done all I can do using this avenue.

If this is not resolved 100% to my satisfaction via the BBB, my next step is to file a complaint with the North Carolina Attorney General's office since FGT are located in NC And notify consumers anywhere, anytime using all means available to consumers, to let other potential consumers know of my experience in order to hopefully protect them from having to spend such an incredible amount of money, time (more money) and even more time, to only get the same could care less attitudes, untruthful statements and clear unwillingness to make a customer happy.






This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 08/05/2011 08:41 AM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/Fast-Growing-Trees/internet/Fast-Growing-Treesfastgrowingtreescom-My-detailed-VERY-NEGATIVE-experience-with-Fast-Gro-761302. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Fast Growing Trees

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.



Ripoff Report Legal Directory