• Report: #1036818

Complaint Review: Freedom Steel

Thank You

Read how Ripoff Report saves consumers millions.

  • Submitted: Thu, March 21, 2013
  • Updated: Thu, June 05, 2014

  • Reported By: George — Edmonton Alberta
Freedom Steel
110 SE 2nd Street DelRay Beach, Florida United States of America

Complaint Review: Freedom Steel | Notice: Ripoff Report VIP Arbitration Decision: A neutral and independent Arbitrator has determined that the following Report contained one or more false statements of facts. The false statements have been redacted as ((Statement REDACTED as false pursuant to Ripoff Report VIP Arbitration)) | Freedom Steel Freedom Steel Buildings BEWARE DOING BUSINESS WITH FREEDOM STEEL!!!! DelRay Beach, Florida

*UPDATE Employee: Freedom Steel Response

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

RIPOFF REPORT VIP ARBITRATION

SUMMARY OF ARBITRATOR’S DECISION

Freedom Steel Building Corporation, Complainant

v.

Author of Report #1036818,

________________________________________________________________________

Complainant Freedom Steel Building Corporation (the “Complainant”) has challenged the truthfulness of certain specific statements (each, a “Statement”) posted by Author “George – Edmonton Alberta” (the “Author”) on the Ripoff Report website at www.ripoffreport.com as Ripoff Report #1036818 (the “Report”). The Complainant denied all such allegations. The Author did not submit a response to the Complainant or any contact information. Therefore, in accordance with the Ripoff Report VIP Arbitration Rules (the “Rules), the Author waived their right to participate in this Arbitration. By submitting a Report and a Complaint on the Ripoff Report websites, both the Complainant and the Author have agreed to submit the dispute to the Ripoff Report VIP Arbitration Program.

In accordance with the Rules, the Arbitrator was asked to decide whether the challenged Statements were an opinion or a fact. If, and only if, the Statement was determined to be a statement of fact, the Arbitrator was asked to further decided if, by a preponderance of the evidence, to determine if the Statement was true or false. If the statement identified by the Complainant is determined to be an opinion, no determination will be made as to that particular Statement because an opinion cannot be determined to be true nor false.

In this case, the Arbitrator had only the evidence submitted by the Complainant to consider. The evidence submitted included Ripoff Report #1036818, Complainant’s Arbitration Statement, and supporting documentation Addendums A through E.

Each Statement challenged by the Complainant has been considered, together with any Witness Statements and Documents provided by the Complainant for determination of the truth or falsity of the Statement. The Author did not provide a response to the Complaint.

The Arbitrator determined that the certain statements challenged in the Report were false. Therefore, according to the VIP Arbitration Rules, those statements have been redacted.

Decided November 7, 2013

Sandra J. Franklin, Arbitrator

* A copy of the full Arbitrator’s Decision is available upon request. Please e-mail arbitration@ripoffreport.com with the name of the Complainant and Report number.

________________________________________________________________________

I ordered a steel building from Freedom Steel in early 2012. I told the salesman I had to have the building on time because of a short building season in my location. I was promised the blueprints would arrive in 2-3 weeks, the building would arrive in 5-8 weeks, and that it would meet all local and required building codes.

 I was told by the salesman that Freedom Steel had factories and plants in the U.S. I later found out they were brokers, not manufacturers.

Five weeks after I sent Freedom Steel thousands of dollars in deposit, I still did not have the promised blueprints.

Three months later, the blueprints arrived and they were wrong!! Freedom Steel said they would fix the blueprints, if I sent more money, and would also schedule a delivery date.

Against my better judgement, I sent them more money. Now Freedom Steel would not guarantee a delivery date, and I still didn't have corrected drawings.

((Statement REDACTED as false pursuant to Ripoff Report VIP Arbitration)).

The county development office REFUSED the drawings because they didn't meet code and wouldn't issue my building permit.

I found out that Freedom Steel was in Chapter 11 BANKRUPTCY proceedings. Without me paying the full balance of the money for the building, Freedom Steel wouldn't give me a delivery date so I would know if I could put the building up before the ground froze. I requested my money back. Freedom Steel REFUSED. The company said their contract HAD NO PERFORMANCE GUARANTEES! 

((Statement REDACTED as false pursuant to Ripoff Report VIP Arbitration)). And with good reason, because four months later, all I have to show for my almost $20,000 is unuseable blueprints, from a company in bankruptcy.

((Statement REDACTED as false pursuant to Ripoff Report VIP Arbitration)).

((Statement REDACTED as false pursuant to Ripoff Report VIP Arbitration)). If I hadn't taken the settlement, as the owner of Freedom Steel gloated, and went through the trustee, I might receive 15% of the actual money I had paid over 3 years.

Plus, the company could go out of business at any time and has a list of creditors dozens long.

Total Loss: more than $13,000

Time Lost:  An entire year lost, no building.

I have concluded that anyone sending Freedom Steel money runs the risk of

 

a) ((Statement REDACTED as false pursuant to Ripoff Report VIP Arbitration))

b) ((Statement REDACTED as false pursuant to Ripoff Report VIP Arbitration))

c) ((Statement REDACTED as false pursuant to Ripoff Report VIP Arbitration))

d) ((Statement REDACTED as false pursuant to Ripoff Report VIP Arbitration))

e) ((Statement REDACTED as false pursuant to Ripoff Report VIP Arbitration))!!!

f) becoming yet another creditor in a long list of people Freedom Steel owes money look online for their bankruptcy filing (public information

 


This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 03/21/2013 03:49 PM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/Freedom-Steel/DelRay-Beach-Florida-33444/Complaint-Review-Freedom-Steel-Notice-Ripoff-Report-VIP-Arbitration-Decision-A-neutra-1036818. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Freedom Steel

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
0Author 1Consumer 0Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 UPDATE Employee

Freedom Steel Response

AUTHOR: Freedom Steel - ()

Freedom Steel would like to be case specific on this post because we know exactly who it is:

You purchased a building from Freedom Steel on May 15th, 2012, in which you signed an agreement with Freedom Steel for a steel building delivered to Edmonton, Alberta, Canada.

Because of the complexity of the building and the location  of the project, his drawings were received on 6/25/2012.  Which he signed off on and said they were correct.

On 7/2/2012 he called in and said that he wanted to change his drawings, we told him we would look into it. On 7/5/2012 we told him that we would re-do his plans, that we normally have to pay to for, because we have to pay the engineer in Alberta to re-stamp the drawings. He then received new drawings on 8/1/2012, we then tried to schedule him for delivery  and he said he wanted to cancel.

However Freedom Steel again went above and beyond and told him that we would refund him a certain percentage of his money because of the work already done. Which he agreed too and again signed another agreement. So Freedom Steel refunded him back his deposit and now he is posting negative comments about us.

Freedom Steel doesnt do business like this nor do we ever intend to do business like this.  With over 40 years of experience coupled with the number one customer service department, which we pride ourselves on. We are the leaders in the industry and intend to keep it that way.


Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.



Ripoff Report Legal Directory