symbolic
  • Report: #461433

Complaint Review: Furniture Showcase

Thank You

Read how Ripoff Report saves consumers millions.

  • Submitted: Sat, June 13, 2009
  • Updated: Sat, July 28, 2012

  • Reported By:Raleigh North Carolina
Furniture Showcase
9008 Glenwood Avenue Raleigh, North Carolina U.S.A.

Furniture Showcase Does Not Deliver Furniture Refuses Refund, Made a deposit for furniture. Furniture has not arrived in over 3 months. Store refuses refund. Raleigh North Carolina

*Author of original report: Response to Consumer Comment

*Consumer Comment: Glad you got your money back I'm still waiting

*Author of original report: One More Thing.......

*Author of original report: Response to Manager's Rebuttal

*UPDATE Employee: Hear the other side.

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

I ordered living room furniture from Furniture Showcase over three months ago. The pieces were from two different manufacturers. I made a partial payment over the phone with my debit card and was told that the furniture would arrive in 4-6 weeks.

I moved a month after I ordered the furniture and called the store to check on my order. I was told then that the furniture would arrive in about two weeks. So with the assurance that the furniture was on the way I did not bring my old furniture to my new place.

The furniture did not arrive within the time frame I was given and I was not contacted by Furniture Showcase. I made several calls to the store over the next month. I was told each time that the manager was the only person who could help me and that he would call me back. He never did.

The manager actually answered the phone on a couple of occasions and I was told that he had to contact the manufacturers and that he would call me back. He never did.

Finally, after two and a half months of no answers I called Furniture Showcase and stated that I wanted to cancel and have my money refunded. Again, I was told that only the manager could help me with that and he would call me back.

He actually did call me back and immediately began making excuses and blaming the manufacturers. I made it clear to him that the lack of communication from Furniture Showcase was the main reason that I was cancelling. The manager then stated that he was not going to go back and forth with me and if that is the way I feel he would cancel the orders and follow up the next day regarding my refund.

Naturally, I did not hear from him. I called the store the next day and was told that the manager was unavailable. So, I went to the store and spoke with the manager in person. The manager then told me that part of the furniture had been shipped from the manufacturer so he could not give me a full refund. However, he still has no delivery date for this furniture. He also told me that he had not been able to confirm the cancellation of my order with the other manufactuer.

I expressed very clearly that I want a full refund and once again that the lack of contact from the store was my biggest concern. The manager then told me that he does not have the "capacity to contact all his customers." He also stated that even if he could give me a refund it would take 7-21 days. It took them all of 24 hours to take my money so what's the hold up in refunding it?

I told the manager that I was contacting the Better Business Bureau and began to leave. He laughed and said, "Yeah, see you in eight weeks." I became upset and the manager then told me that he cannot help it if he sees the humor in the situation.

Since then I have filed several complaints against Furniture Showcase and e-mailed the owner. The owner replied to me in a lengthy e-mail blaming China and the sluggish economy for their poor customer service. Not once, did he address any of my concerns. I replied to him that I simply want a full refund and have not heard back.

I paid Furniture Showcase $650.00 over 3 months ago. I have no furniture and they refuse to refund my full deposit. They have made no apologies just ridiculous excuses.

Jennifer
Raleigh, North Carolina
U.S.A.

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 06/13/2009 02:06 PM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/Furniture-Showcase/Raleigh-North-Carolina-27617/Furniture-Showcase-Does-Not-Deliver-Furniture-Refuses-Refund-Made-a-deposit-for-furniture-461433. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Furniture Showcase

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
3Author 2Consumer 0Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 Author of original report

Response to Consumer Comment

AUTHOR: Anonymous - (U.S.A.)

I'm sorry to hear that you're still waiting for your refund.  I can't believe this stuff is still going on.  I found several name changes as well, 3 years ago when I was fighting to get my money back.  The local news has run a report on Furniture Showcase since then.  Don't give up.  Use every means available to you to get your money back.  I filed complaints with the Better Business Bureau, NC State Attorney General's Office and Visa.   
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 Consumer Comment

Glad you got your money back I'm still waiting

AUTHOR: Terri - (USA)

I'm glad for you...  He continues to change the name of his companies google his name I think he's up to 9 now.  I spent some of my inheritance for what I was hoping to become a family heirloom only for him to take my money and get nothing for it.  :( 
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#3 Author of original report

One More Thing.......

AUTHOR: Anonymous - (U.S.A.)

The manager states in his rebuttal that I had been fully credited.  The date his rebuttal was submitted is 08/05/09.   I received a letter from the bank dated 08/25/09 stating that additional information is required to continue the dispute.  Attached to it was a letter from Michael Whetzel of Furniture Showcase dated 7/30/09 asking that the chargeback be reversed.  Furniture Showcase stated on this website that I had been fully credited knowing that the matter was still in dispute.  I have copies of all documentation.  I was fully credited on 10/29/09.

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#4 Author of original report

Response to Manager's Rebuttal

AUTHOR: Anonymous - (U.S.A.)

The rebuttal filed by the representative of Furniture Showcase contains a number of inaccurate statements which I would like to clear up.

I placed the order for the furniture on 3/12/09.  I was told the furniture would arrive in 4-6 weeks, not 4-8 weeks.  That was all I was told regarding delivery time.  I contacted the store to check the status of my order on 4/11/09.  This was the first time that I contacted Furniture Showcase since placing my order.  I was told that the furniture was due to arrive the last week of April or the first week of May.  I was not contacted by Furniture Showcase on a weekly basis for the next month nor did I call Furniture Showcase every week. 

I contacted Furniture Showcase for the second time on Saturday, 5/9/09 - a full month later and a full week after I was told that the furniture was due to arrive.  I spoke with the manager who stated that he would call me back on Monday, 5/11/09. My call was not returned on 5/11/09.

I called the store on 5/12/09 and left a voicemail asking for a return call regarding the status of my purchase.  Again, my call was not returned.

I called again on 5/13/09 and spoke with an employee who stated that the furniture was due to be shipped from the manufacturer to the store on 5/29/09.  I asked what was causing the delay and why no one had contacted me.  The employee stated that the manager would have to call me back.  Again, my call was not returned.

I did not call again until 5/23/09.  I spoke with the manager who stated that he did not have any information regarding the status of my order and could not provide me with a delivery date.  (Please note that it had now been 10 weeks since I placed my order and was told 4-6 weeks.)  I expressed my frustration at not receiving any return calls.  We even discussed sending updates via e-mail, which never happened even though I gave them my e-mail address when the order was placed.  The manager stated that he would contact the manufacturer and contact me no later than Tuesday, 5/26/09.  My call was not returned on 5/26/09.

On 5/28/09 I called at 12pm and left a voicemail.  I called again at 1:30pm and spoke with an employee who stated that the manager would return my call.  I called again at 5:30pm and finally spoke with the manager.  This is the first time I called several times in one day - 11 weeks after placing my order.  The manager stated that he was having trouble contacting the manfucacturer.  He said he was trying to get his boss involved to help expedite the process and that he would call me back with an update the next day.  I received no call the next day.

6-1-09 I called at 1pm, asked to speak to the manager and was told he would call me back.  I called again at 5pm and was told the same thing.  I told the employee that at this point I would like to cancel my order and have my money refunded.  She stated that the manager would call me back.

6-1-09 The manager called me back at 6:45pm.  This was the first time I received a call back from any employee at Furniture Showcase since I placed the order on 3/12/09.  The manager again stated that he had no information regarding the status of my order and could not provide me with a delivery date.  I again stated that I wanted to cancel the order and have my money refunded.  The manger stated that the problem was with the manufacturer and not Furniture Showcase.  I stated that the lack of communication from Furniture Showcase was majore reason for my decision to cancel.  The manager stated that he was not going to go back and forth with me and that if that was the way I felt he would cancel the orders and follow up the next day regarding my refund.  He further stated that that it should not be a problem to cance the orders since the furniture had not been shipped yet.

I kept a record of all phone calls and correspondence with Furniture Showcase as is evident.  If the management of Furniture Showcase insists that the inaccurate statements made in their rebuttal are true, I'm willing to pull my phone records if they are.

I called the next day, 6/2/10, to follow up on the status of the refund.  I was told the manager would call me back and he did not.  I then went to the showroom that evening to speak with the manager in person.  He then told me that part of the furniture had been shipped so he could not provide me with a full refund.  Although, he still could not provide a delivery date for the furniture.  I told him that at this point that was unacceptable.  I was told 4-6 weeks when I placed the order and it had been 2 1/2 months.  I further expressed my outrage at not being contacted by the business.  I was told by the manager that he cannot be expected to contact all his customers.  Excellent customer service if you ask me.  You give them money, they don't provide you with the merchandise you paid for and they will contact you whenever they feel like it.

At this point, I informed the manager that I was done dealing with him and that I would be contacting the Better Business Bureau.  I did not say the "F***ing BBB."  I headed toward the door and that is when the manager said, "Yeah, see you in eight weeks."  At that point, I did lose my temper and curse.  Yes, I was angry and upset before that point, but I did not scream or curse until the manager's inappropriate remark.  He continued "snickering" after I lost my temper and said, "I can't help it if I see the humor in the situation."  Again, excellent customer service.

As for the manager's statement that the contract was signed, that is also completely false. I first went to Furniture Showcase on 3/11/09, but did not make up my mind on the purchase until the following day.  I called the store and placed my order over the phone using my debit card.  I signed no paperwork, not even my card receipt.  I received the unsigned invoice with a copy of the unsigned Visa receipt in the mail a week later.  The invoice, by the way, states nothing regarding delivery times.

As far as being fully credited for the transaction, Furniture Showcase did not refund any part of my deposit willingly.  I filed a charge back with Visa.  Furniture Showcase appealed the charge back unsuccessfully.  I received a refund on 10/29/09, 7 1/2 months after placing the order. 

 

 

 

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#5 UPDATE Employee

Hear the other side.

AUTHOR: Fs - (U.S.A.)

This customer placed an order for a product that was not in stock and was given an estimated time frame of 4-8 weeks; with the understanding that we could not confirm the dates until the order had been placed. After 4 weeks the customer called the store for an update; which she was given the latest information that we had. Over the next month she was contacted on a weekly basis with the current status of the order; however the customer had called several times a week to try and get new information. In several instances the customer called in the morning and demanded an answer that day; however since there are multiple parties involved the answer may take 24 hours. This was unacceptable to the customer and demanded more attention.

The customer contacted us after 9 weeks and said that they would like a full refund; to which they were told that if we could stop the shipment we would give them a full refund. However the process can take 21 days to be resolved. This again was unacceptable and was demanded that we credit the account that day. We tried to explain the situation, the contract that was signed, and apologize for the delay; however this was not acceptable. We were given a demand to call back the next day with the cancellation information; again it was explained that it could take 21 days.

The following day the customer came into the showroom and started making demands and threats. We tried to explain everything again and that we were working to have everything canceled; however at that time some of the items had already shipped and we were working to have this diverted. We were told this was not the consumers' problem and that if we did not give the refund on the spot other actions were to be taken. The consumer became very agitated, began screaming, and making extremely vocal demands. The consumer was then asked to leave the building and that the issue would still be taken care of as quickly as possible. The consumer then stated that she would be going to the F'ing BBB to which the manager tried asking for the opportunity to process the refund. The consumer again started screaming and the manager turned away and inappropriately snickered at the situation. However at no time was a refund refused.

The consumer has since been fully credited for the transaction.
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.



Ripoff Report Legal Directory