• Report: #1037731

Complaint Review: Global Wealth Protection LLC

Thank You

Read how Ripoff Report saves consumers millions.

  • Submitted: Mon, March 25, 2013
  • Updated: Tue, March 26, 2013

  • Reported By: Bill — Palm Harbor Florida
Global Wealth Protection LLC
3305 West Spring Mountain Rd Suite 60-15 Las Vegas, Nevada United States of America

Global Wealth Protection LLC Bobby Casey Reneged on 100% refund of Global Escape Hatch ticket price Las Vegas, Nevada

*REBUTTAL Owner of company: My position is clear

*Author of original report: false statements, innuendo and rumors

*REBUTTAL Owner of company: Attendee - Bill Sanders - Was refunded according to our guidelines

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

I recently attended the 3 day Global Escape Hatch asset protection conference in Belize. Before I registered, I was concerned about the high price tag ($1997), so I wrote Bobby Casey, the owner.

He replied: I can tell you that the info I have personally learned from just one of our speakers earned me more money in one week than the cost of the event. And we have more than one dozen other speakers. Keep in mind we also have a 100% money back guarantee. If you come to the event and don't feel the ticket was worth the price just come tell me or Steve and we will refund the ticket price.

On the day after the conference ended, I decided that it was not worth the ticket price, so I found Bobby Casey and informed him that I would like a refund. I followed up with an email request.

He replied: Sorry to hear that.  We will be happy to refund your fee and can process the refund in the next 3-5 working days. Please be advised that since you did not receive the expected value, we will be informing each of the speakers of your decision and they will be instructed as per our agreement to not engage in any business with you. 

Also, as you attended all events, we will be deducting the food and beverage cost from your ticket price. If you are agreeable to those terms, please let me know at your earliest convenience.

My reply: I was going to offer to pay for the food and beverage cost, so that part is fine (NTE $100). However, you said, "we have a 100% money back guarantee." There was no mention of any other terms. No deductions for food and beverages, no notifying the speakers of my decision
and certainly no attempt to blackball me from doing business with them. This would be vindictive and mean spirited. And it was not part of the deal. Please issue the refund for either $1997 or $1897. And do not contact the speakers. Thank you.

His reply: The refund will be offered minus the $485 food and beverage fee.  Not sure where you got the $100 figure.  Each dinner alone cost us $50pp.  Our contract with each speaker stipulates they are only allowed to do business with "PAID" attendees therefore they will be contacted directly regarding your refund.  If you do not want the speakers contacted then no refund will be offered.  Please confirm your decision.

My reply: I got the $100 figure for food and beverages from my own estimate of their value. 10 meals or events. Some worth less than $10 (half a burrito with rice for lunch). Some worth
nothing (the welcome "cash bar"). Some worth more (dinner at Sunshine Grill). Although now that I think about it, some lunches and the dinner on Maya Island were sponsored - so those cost you
nothing. $100 is a very fair number. Especially since your promise was "we have a 100% money back guarantee." This should be "no questions asked" with a blanket promise like that.

As for your contract with the speakers, please send me a copy. I find it hard to believe that such a clause would be included. Either way, I still want a FULL refund, per your legal offer and my legal acceptance. If you feel compelled to notify all the speakers, go for it.

His reply: You have been refunded.  It may take a few days to clear from the merchant processor.

He also copied me on this message: Hi GEH speakers.

I wanted to drop all of you a quick note to inform you of an attendee refund.  The following attendee (my name) has requested a refund of his ticket price.  He has informed me that he did not receive the expected value from you as speakers. We have processed the refund and you should make note of this attendee in your records as per our agreement.

I was promised a 100% refund of my ticket price - period. Not 75%. No blackballing. Just a warning to anyone thinking about doing business with Mr. Casey in the future. This is the reality.

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 03/25/2013 06:22 AM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/Global-Wealth-Protection-LLC/Las-Vegas-Nevada-89102/Global-Wealth-Protection-LLC-Bobby-Casey-Reneged-on-100-refund-of-Global-Escape-Hatch-tic-1037731. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Global Wealth Protection LLC

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
1Author 0Consumer 2Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 REBUTTAL Owner of company

My position is clear

AUTHOR: GWPro - ()

My position related to Bill Sanders is clear.  We refunded his ticket price minus the food and beverage fee as per our guidelines. 

The event began on the evening of March 6th with an open bar cocktail party, dinner on the beach and a live band.

On Thursday March 7th, included in the ticket price was breakfast, lunch, mid afternoon snack, cocktail party with live band, and dinner.

On Friday, March 8th, included in the ticket price was breakfast, lunch, mid afternoon snack, cocktail party, boat excursion to casino, dinner party by the pool with live band, and return boat ride.

On Saturday, March 9th, included in the ticket price was breakfast, lunch, boat excursion to a private islands party, cocktail party, dinner party by the pool with live band, and return boat ride.

On March 10th, there were no official meeting times, only availability for one-on-one meetings with speakers which were included in the ticket price.  Each speaker charges a minimum of $250/h for consultations and this was included in the price.

Bill Sanders claims that the food/beverage package had a value of $100.  Our cost on lunch alone was approximately $100pp.  This is why we do not refund for the food/beverage cost as that is significant out of pocket expense. 

Bill according to his own admission to many other attendees was only seeking a free ride.  We refunded his entrance fee but are unwilling to foot the bill for his entire free vacation.

He complains that we "blackballed" him from the speakers.  We only abided by our private contract with the speakers to inform them of his desire to seek a refund.  Once he chose to seek a refund for his ticket price, he was no longer in the "paid attendee" category.  Nothing more.

This is my last response as I already know the outcome of his attendance to the Argentina conference that followed our event.  They have been in contact with me regarding Bill Sanders and his activity there.

We had glowing reviews from our attendees like Mike S., "I have attended offshore conferences for over 20 years and this is hands down the best event I've ever been to." or Andrew C., "This was our first event with you, but it won't be our last.  We learned more at this event and made more business connections than in the past 2 years combined.  We will be at every event from now on."

And dozens of others.  Bill Sanders was looking for a free ride.  It's a pity, but clearly people like him must exist.  I will offer no additional rebuttal.  Our reputation will stand based on the value we add.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 Author of original report

false statements, innuendo and rumors

AUTHOR: Wildbill562 - ()

Rather than defend the discrepancy between his offer of a 100% refund of the TICKET PRICE if I did not feel the event was worth the ticket price, Bobby Casey is now making false statements, spreading innuendo and rumors.

The conference was 3 days with 3 meals each day provided plus a cocktail party the night before. I skipped a few of the speaker presentations, but did attend each meal - which is how I know they did not cost anywhere near $50 each - as claimed by Mr. Casey.

I had 2 one-on-one appointments with speakers. I agreed to do business with one and rejected the offer of the other because it did not match what he claimed verbally during his presentation. I hung out and socialized with a few of the other speakers.

I did not say, "Hi Bobby, I had a good time at the conference and learned a lot. Can I get my refund issued?" Frankly, I didn't learn alot. I said, "Hi Bobby, I enjoyed the conference, but I don't feel it was worth the TICKET PRICE. Can I get a refund check before I leave?" This is exactly what Bobby told me to do if I attended and did not feel the event was worth the ticket price.

The following statements are flat out lies:

Casey: Bill was also overheard by several of the speakers and attendees bragging about how he attends events and demands a refund as a way to participate in conferences at no cost.  Bill even mentioned that he went to a seminar that promoted such a strategy.

Casey: Ironically, just a few days later I received an email from one of our attendees who was at another event also attended by Bill Sanders.  This other attendee informed me that Bill attempted the same thing by demanding a refund from this seminar provider. 

I did attend the Harvest Celebration at Doug Casey's (no relation to Bobby) La Estancia de Cafayate later that week, but I never requested a refund. In fact, I paid $225 for 3 days of property tours, golf, free massage, spa/pool, Casey Research presentation, wonderful lunches, dinners and cocktail parties. I can say without reservation that I got much more for $225 with Doug Casey than I did for $1997 with Bobby Casey!

I did receive a credit of $1512 from Bobby Casey - thank you. My point in writing this report is let others know that Mr. Casey will not honor his word regarding 100% money back guarantee of the ticket price. And I am discovering more about his lack of honor each passing day...
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#3 REBUTTAL Owner of company

Attendee - Bill Sanders - Was refunded according to our guidelines

AUTHOR: GWPro - ()

The conference attendee who made this ROR complaint is Bill Sanders with Sanders Equipment Company in Palm Harbor Florida.  Bill was refunded his fee minus the food and beverage fee according to our guidelines (http://www.globalescapehatch.com/register/) which states that refunds will be issued minus the food and beverage fee.

The conference was held over 4 days and each day included breakfast, lunch, dinner, cocktail parties and boat excursions, which were included in the event price.  Bill Sanders attended every event, every meal, every cocktail party, and every excursion. 

Bill Sanders even had one-on-one appointments with more than half (15) speakers and even attempted to engage several of them in business transactions.  Bill approached me on the final day while I was sitting at the table with 8 other conference attendees and stated, "Hi Bobby, I had a good time at the conference and learned a lot.  Can I get my refund issued?"

Bill was also overheard by several of the speakers and attendees bragging about how he attends events and demands a refund as a way to participate in conferences at no cost.  Bill even mentioned that he went to a seminar that promoted such a strategy.

Ironically, just a few days later I received an email from one of our attendees who was at another event also attended by Bill Sanders.  This other attendee informed me that Bill attempted the same thing by demanding a refund from this seminar provider. 

As per the contract with our speakers, they participate in our events presenting their educational material to our attendees and can only conduct business with our "paid" attendees.  As Bill Sanders requested (and received according to our guidelines) a refund, we informed the speakers that Bill Sanders was no longer a paid attendee.

This is part of the private contract between my company and our speakers and thus we are required to inform speakers of any refunds issued. 
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.

Wal-Mart.com USA, LLC


Ripoff Report Legal Directory