• Report: #950087

Complaint Review: High Speed Performance

Thank You

Read how Ripoff Report saves consumers millions.

  • Submitted: Wed, October 03, 2012
  • Updated: Fri, October 05, 2012

  • Reported By: Mike — Ontario Canada
High Speed Performance
1199 kingston rd unit 6 Pickering, Ontario Canada

High Speed Performance Pickering, Toronto, 1199 Kingston Rd WINTER TIRE FRAUD!! High Speed Performance Pickering, Ontario Canada

*Author of original report: GET YOUR FACTS RIGHT

*REBUTTAL Owner of company: Response from the owner

*Author of original report: THE LYE CONTINUES

*REBUTTAL Owner of company: Response from the owner

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

Just got off the phone with High Speed Performance in Pickering about the " Winter Tire Sale" and after our conversation, was completely and utterly shocked!! they are advertising brand name tires for a very very discounted low price and after realizing it could be too good to be true, my instincts did not fail me...

I called in inquiring about tires for my vehicle, and what I was hearing from the gentleman over the phone was disturbing...He was selling brand name tires for less than economy brand tires, so after thinking about our conversation, I decided to call back and get some information about the tires they are offering, and here is when it gets interesting.. I asked if the tires were in stock, and he replied " No, they will be coming in November" I asked if the DOT (code numbers on the tires) were new, and he replied saying " I don't know"..

this is very disturbing to me, considering how can you sell and advertise tires without knowing if the DOT numbers are expired!! How can you get deposits on tires that are potentially unsafe!!  he also stated that you should trust us, that they are a repair facility and the reason why they are priced low is to get customers in the door and potentially sell them service!..so in simpler terms, they want to up sell you things you may not need...

When I asked if these were from the U.S he replied,  " YES they are. We are bringing them from the states and our container will not arrive until November" this really scared me again because he was clueless of the condition of the tires that might arrive at the door, and warranty issues!

When he was pressed on the topic, his best answer was " trust us, trust us" well guess what, we can't trust businesses that cheat and scam people like the way they are trying to do..He also said the reason why he is selling them for a near loss in profit is to double the sales he did last year from 300 tires to 600 tires..really? you want to double your sales on a loss? does that really make sense?

The Tires are the most crucial part of the Vehicle in terms of safety next to the brakes, and there is no way you could play around with that! DO NOT BUY TIRES FROM HIGH SPEED PERFORMANCE IN PICKERING AS YOU WILL NOT KNOW WHAT YOU ARE GETTING!!!!!!

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 10/03/2012 05:30 AM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/High-Speed-Performance/Pickering-Ontario-l1v1b5/High-Speed-Performance-Pickering-Toronto-1199-Kingston-Rd-WINTER-TIRE-FRAUD-High-Speed-950087. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on High Speed Performance

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
2Author 0Consumer 2Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 Author of original report

GET YOUR FACTS RIGHT

AUTHOR: Mike - (Canada)

I guess you didn't read the previous statements properly because you are still selling the tires cheaper than TIRE RACK WHOLESALE after shipping!

I do not trust you guys, what if my tire has a problem...I have to wait until you ship my tires to the states? what will I do in the meantime? stay without a tire? you are a fraud! let me guess, you will say you will replace it right away..B.S! after doing some research on your comapny, I have run into a couple of people that have said they have been ripped off from you as well!

How can you claim Tire Rack offers Road hazard warranty! Did you even know Tire Rack does not offer Road hazard warranty to tires that are sold in Canada? or do you have some sort of way to scam that as well!

bottom line, your statements still don't make sense! ANYONE READING THIS PLEASE GET YOUR SERVICE / TIRES FROM A REPUTABLE COMPANY OR YOU WILL BE SCAMED..

MY FRIEND FROM THE TORONTO SUN IS ACTUALLY INVESTIGATING THESE GUYS AND WILL HAVE A STORY ON THEM SOON! STAY POSTED!
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 REBUTTAL Owner of company

Response from the owner

AUTHOR: TeamHSP - (Canada)

Im assuming you have a mazda 3. 16" tire size is 205/55R16.
Tirerack list that tire for $101

http://www.tirerack.com/tires/TireSearchResults.jsp?cameFrom=WinterSection&startIndex=0&vehicleSearch=true&width=205/&ratio=55&diameter=16&sortcode=44950&performance=W&minLoad=S&search=true&autoMake=Mazda&autoYear=2005&autoModel=MAZDA3%20i%204-Door&autoModClar=

30% markup - $131.30

30% markup covers - shipping, duties, broker fees and remaining is profit

Second, as a wholesale account tirerack gives us a better price. Retail customers do not have access to tire rack wholesale price.

https://www.tirerackwholesale.com/whlogin/Login.jsp?page=/404error.jsp&

We do not get a better price by buying more but save in shipping.
Shipping from the USA is very expensive. The more we buy, cheaper the shipping.

Again, I invite you to come see our store.

Thank you,

Saif Sanwal
Hi-Speed Performance
416-561-0815 

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#3 Author of original report

THE LYE CONTINUES

AUTHOR: Mike - (Canada)

So you are saying for my Mazda, you are only marking it up 30% to cover all costs? that is strange considering Tire Rack wholesale department just quoted the tires to be $128.70 (including the 30 percent mark up )on the same exact Generals you have advertised for $125.00 and when investigating about the quantity, they mentioned the discount will be the same even if you order a 1000 pieces...

this means one of two things- Tire Rack is either lying, or you guys are! in any case, we have the media investigating these kind of fraudulant activity!
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#4 REBUTTAL Owner of company

Response from the owner

AUTHOR: TeamHSP - (Canada)

Hello Mike,

I'm sorry to hear that you feel that way, I believe we had a misunderstanding. I just want to set the record straight.

- Yes we are advertising brand name tires at a great price point. Its possible because we are shipping in tires from the USA. We buy from Tire Rack and MSRP price in the USA is substantially lower than Canada. If you would like to confirm that please contact our sales rep from Tirerack.

Mac McNabb - Wholesale Sales Specialist
Tire Rack
7101 Vorden Parkway
South Bend, IN 46628
P: 866 981 3952 Ext.739
P: 574 287 2316 ext. 739
F: 574 236 7700
mac@tirerackwholesale.com

- Yes our first shipment is coming first week of November because the chance of snow appearing before that is unlikely. It doesn't make sense for us to stock winter tires in October. This practice is shared across the industry. Second, if we are able to fill a larger order than the price for shipping is lower. Its just good business practice.

- Tirerack is the largest tire retailer/wholesaler in the USA. They have a very strict policy on DOT numbers. We have been dealing with Tirerack for the last 5 years and have never seen any problems related to DOT numbers. We sell all season tires, winter tires, summer tires and track tires. As the largest US retailer of tires, Tirerack guarantees what they sell to us, offer road hazard warranty and if a tire is bad, we simply ship it back to them.
Please Read: http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tiretech/techpage.jsp?techid=172

- Please do not assume "the reason why they are priced low is to get customers in the door and potentially sell them service!..so in simpler terms, they want to up sell you things you may not need...". I take a lot of pride in my business and how I deal with customers. We do not sell work or repairs that are not needed. We are a NAPA auto care center and we have met NAPA's strict regulations. If you buy winter tires, we complete a fall/winter check-up on your vehicle (no charge), to make sure your vehicle is safe for the winter. If additional work is required (brakes, bad battery, coolant, etc) we let you know and you are under no obligation to do the work. For me its all about good long term relationship with my customers, I provide good service and they come back to me. please go to our facebook page to see what customers have to say about us:

https://www.facebook.com/hispeedperformance

- I am not clueless about the condition of the tires, Tirerack sends us brand new tires with warranty. If we get a defective tire, we send it back. We have been dealing with Tire Rack for the last 5 years and continue to do so without any problems. 

- "He also said the reason why he is selling them for a near loss in profit is to double the sales he did last year from 300 tires to 600 tires..really? you want to double your sales on a loss? does that really make sense?" That does not make any sense. I told you we sold close to 800 tires last winter (all season/winter tires) and would like to double that number. Its a target we set but has nothing to do with loss. I think we had a misunderstanding.

Bottom line, Its unfair for you to assume all this simply talking to me for a few minutes. I'm sorry if I didn't explain everything to you in depth in our phone conversation. The only reason our price is lower than the competitions is because we buy from tire rack. I'm sure after you compare the price on tirerack you will understand. We markup tire rack price by 30% to cover shipping and border fees. We are not committing any scams and I invite you to my shop to find out for yourself. 

I look forward to hearing from you :)

Thank you,
Saif Sanwal
Hi-Speed Performance
1199 Kingston Rd.
Pickering, ON L1V 1B5
Tel - 416-561-0815
Email - saifsanwal@hispeedperformance.com
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.



Ripoff Report Legal Directory