• Report: #724890

Complaint Review: IFriends

Thank You

Read how Ripoff Report saves consumers millions.

  • Submitted: Tue, May 03, 2011
  • Updated: Tue, May 24, 2011

  • Reported By: Don — Chattanooga Tennessee United States of America
IFriends
3395 S. Jones Blvd., Suite 22 Internet United States of America

IFriends Unclear and fraudelent charges/ Complete online scam!!! Internet

*UPDATE Employee: Reply from Service

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

I was mislead by this website.  The private chat rooms were indicated to be priced at between $2.99 and $9.99 per minute.  The chat was friendly and the host attempted to get me to go to a private room, where pricing was discussed at that time; however, I did not upgrade to a VIP status and did not go into a private room.  At the conclusion of a chat, I was going to look for another person to chat with when my access was denied as my credit card was "maxed out".  I immediately check my bank account to find pending charges of $479.04; $79.84; $62.79; and $1.19. 
I was instructed upon creating a user account that charges of up to $2.00 would appear on my statement, which I was ok with.  But the additional charges were absurd.  I had spoken candidly with one of the hosts regarding charges when she wanted to chat in private and discussed the charges.  I was never aware that just accessing the room would begin charging my account.  The charges apparantly kept rolling up.
I immediately called the 1-800 number for IFriends, who obviously knew I was upset, actually asked me to quit cussing him.  He agreed to credit $373 to my account of the total amount, which is a travesty.  But as of right now, no credit has appeared on my statement, but the charges are still reflected.  He even gave me a confirmation number of the credit.
This website is misleading and is a bogus internet scam.  Please beware!!  The website offers rewards and free access and indicates the credit card information is used for age verification purposes.  Furthermore, the hosts indicate the billing is for private room chats and indicate the free chat areas are "free". 
A refund of only a partial amount of this billing is unjust and this company should be closed all together on the internet.  This company is not listed on the Better Business Bureau website and numberous complaints have been made against this company, which all seem to be very similar to my current complaint.  I should have been more suspicious of the scam and checked this site before entering the IFriend website.  I do not and have not frequented these type of websites and was quite naive to the type of scam I had gotten involved in. 
I hope anyone has some suggestions as to how I can get my money back from this company.  And I would like to know how I can assist in having this company shut down and removed from the internet.  The owners and operators of this company should be jailed for committing internet fraud.

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 05/03/2011 03:46 AM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/IFriends/internet/IFriends-Unclear-and-fraudelent-charges-Complete-online-scam-Internet-724890. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on IFriends

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
0Author 1Consumer 0Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 UPDATE Employee

Reply from Service

AUTHOR: Sarah - (U.S.A.)

Don contacted our Customer Care department shortly before writing his report above.  During that conversation, Don indicated that a 60% refund of all charges billed was satisfactory.  Per Dons ripoffreport request, however, we have refunded *all* charges billed to him. 
 
The only reason that a customer will see charges from us is if that customer participates in premium areas of our service, or chooses to upgrade to a premium membership.  Information about charges is provided in advance, and a customer must independently choose to participate in premium areas.  If Don has any further questions, we invite him to contact us directly at 1-800-437-4363.
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.



Ripoff Report Legal Directory