• Report: #765838

Complaint Review: Jared The Galleria of Jewelry

Thank You

Read how Ripoff Report saves consumers millions.

  • Submitted: Tue, August 16, 2011
  • Updated: Mon, March 31, 2014

  • Reported By: Psychfed08 — Austin Texas United States of America
Jared The Galleria of Jewelry
375 Ghent Road Internet United States of America

Jared The Galleria of Jewelry Hit or Miss Customer Service, Ridiculous Financing Issues Internet, Internet

*REBUTTAL Owner of company: Horrible customer service

*General Comment: Not the employees responsibility

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

On April 30, 2011, I opened a credit account with Jared, The Galleria of Jewelry located in Arlington, Texas. With the account opening, I purchased my fiancs wedding band for our July 2 wedding. I received a June 2011 statement for my account. During that time, I paid $78.79 for a $65 balance. On July 20th, 2011, I went into the Jared store located in Austin, Texas (4301 W. William Cannon Drive, Austin, Texas 78749) to have the ring re-sized. During my thirty (30) minute store visit, I was not informed that I had an outstanding balance on my account, nor was I informed that there was an incorrect mailing address within Jareds system. Both my account information and identification were used to access my Jared account to ensure I purchased the warranty for my husbands ring. The service at this location was mediocre to say the least. I was not greeted when I walked into the store as all of the employees were huddled around carrying on their own personal conversations nor was I thanked for going to the store and doing business with them.  I decided at that moment I would not be returning to that location despite its close proximity to my residence.

                                            

On August 1, 2011, I received a phone call at my place of employment from a Jareds customer representative asking why I had not paid my Jareds account balance for July. I informed the representative that I had not received a July statement, nor had I been informed that my statement balance was past due. The representative determined that the company had the incorrect mailing address for my account and that there would be no late fee associated with the missed payment as it was a company error. The statement amount of $65 was paid at that time. On August 14, 2011, I took my husbands ring to get resized at another Jared location (11047 Pecan Park, Cedar Park, Texas 78613) due to the poor customer service I received at the 4301 W. William Cannon Drive location. I should not have to drive over thirty (30) minutes to another store location to receive the treatment that I deserve as an account holder. I was prompted by the store representative to set up my account online for easier accessibility.

 

On August 16, 2011, I set up my account on www.jared.com so that I could have my payments automatically deducted from my account. Once accessing my account, I noticed a $51.11 past due charge on my account. I immediately contacted Jareds Customer Service to dispute the charge. I was informed that there are only a set amount of days until the system recognizes that an account has not been paid. Once those days pass, a past due fee is generated. The difference between Junes overage, $13.89 went towards Julys balance of $65. Despite me paying the total balance for Julys charges ($65) and being told by Jareds representative that I would not get a late fee, I am still responsible for paying the $51.11. The $51.11 should be removed from being past due as the account is now current. That charge should have been disposed once the payment was received. Due to the poor customer service and lack of communication between the store and its customer, I no longer desire to do business with Jared or any of its affiliates. I wish to have the $51.11 late fee removed from my account. Once my account is paid off in full, I will close it as I feel my hard earned money and patronage will be appreciated elsewhere. Jared is supposed to have an excellent reputation; however, after conducting minor research on various business complaint sites, I realize that the services received are simply sub-standard in comparison to other major jewelers. I've filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau and will be sending a letter to their Corporate office in Ohio.


This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 08/16/2011 11:46 AM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/Jared-The-Galleria-of-Jewelry/internet/Jared-The-Galleria-of-Jewelry-Hit-or-Miss-Customer-Service-Ridiculous-Financing-Issues-I-765838. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Jared The Galleria of Jewelry

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
0Author 1Consumer 1Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 REBUTTAL Owner of company

Horrible customer service

AUTHOR: Aarma - ()

ABSOLUTE worst! HORRIBLE customer service! Never told us the small diamonds on the band would fall out cause finger size. Jeweler broken the original ring, 2 wks b4 my wedding had to pick out a new setting. Threw away my yellow diamond. Reordered second wedding set, told us it would be there Nov, it was never ordered. Reordered it & said it would be there Jan/Feb & went to pick it up, it was the wrong setting! We fraught w/ this place & got no money back, only store credit! We'll NEVER GO BACK!

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 General Comment

Not the employees responsibility

AUTHOR: Polybore - (United States of America)

Sorry to hear that you were not greeted or treated in the manner that should be upheld by Jared, or any store for that matter. Simple kind customer service.

However, as a past employee i can tell you that your anger towards them for not accessing your billing information, and finding the outstanding balance is not something that is possible when looking to see if you have warranties for a repair. 

We don't access your account to find that information. We don't see your account information unless you are making a payment on your account. Your account information is a totally different area of the computer system that we use. We can see your account number in your basic information, but we don't see details.

There is nothing that tells us there is an issue unless you go to make a payment and your minimum payment happens to be more due to a late fees, but the sales associates would not know that unless you said something about the minimum payment being more. Which in that case, we would have to call the home office credit department and ask them what is going on with your account.

We have no control over your account, and it is not our job to inform you of outstanding balances. That is all contained to our home office. We have no way of knowing what is going on with your account without contacting the home office, which also homes the customer service team. 

The only thing we are able to see is what you paid last time, what your minimum payment is, and what your balance is. We can't see anything in depth, like what the credit department sees. Rightly so, we shouldn't be able to see all of your account information as a sales associate.

It's fine if you want to be angry for not receiving a hard copy stating that you have an outstanding balance from the home office in Ohio, but too often are sales associates blamed for issues that are totally  of their hands and not in anyway part of their job. As a sales associate you can only access so much information about an individual we don't touch credit issues, we sell merchandise, take in repairs, are the face people yell at when they have issues with corporate, and we have to call corporate to even figure out what is going on.
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.



Ripoff Report Legal Directory