• Report: #310178

Complaint Review: Judy P. Methven - Majestic Yorkies & Maltese

Thank You

Read how Ripoff Report saves consumers millions.

  • Submitted: Tue, February 19, 2008
  • Updated: Sat, November 10, 2012

  • Reported By:Holtville California
Judy P. Methven - Majestic Yorkies & Maltese
4868 Stonewall Terrace Sand Springs, Oklahoma U.S.A.

Judy P. Methven - Majestic Yorkies & Maltese Sold me a yorkshire terrier with a congenital defect Sand Springs Oklahoma

*General Comment: Seller is irresponsible.

*Consumer Comment: This is a difficult one ...........

*Consumer Comment: This is a difficult one ...........

*Consumer Comment: This is a difficult one ...........

*Consumer Comment: This is a difficult one ...........

*Consumer Comment: Information for Kathie

*REBUTTAL Individual responds: refund

*REBUTTAL Owner of company: Kathie Morris is a liar

*REBUTTAL Owner of company: Kathie Morris is a liar

*REBUTTAL Owner of company: Kathie Morris is a liar

*REBUTTAL Owner of company: Kathie Morris is a liar

*Author of original report: Judy P. Methven aka Jpm Yorkies and Maltese - Dishonest Rebuttal

*Author of original report: Now dba JPM Yorkies and Maltese

*Author of original report: Owner refused delivery of certified documents

*REBUTTAL Owner of company: Did Not Supply Proof of My fault

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

I purchased a yorkie puppy from Judy Methven in Oklahoma which was diagnosed with a serious congenital malformation known as atlanto-axial instability. This condition requires major surgery or the dog must be put down. I opted for the very costly surgery, knowing that I would be completely responsible for the vet bills. However, given the circumstances I expected a refund for the cost of the puppy (which was minimal compared to the cost of the surgery). Although I provided proof from a veterinarian that the conditon was not due to an injury, she refused to do anything about it. My puppy was the first litter from this dam (Bugaboo) and even though she has been notified of the congenital/hereditary condition, she continues to breed this female. All I am left to do is warn others about this situation.

Kathie
Holtville, California
U.S.A.

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 02/19/2008 02:57 PM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/Judy-P-Methven-Majestic-Yorkies-Maltese/Sand-Springs-Oklahoma-74063/Judy-P-Methven-Majestic-Yorkies-Maltese-Sold-me-a-yorkshire-terrier-with-a-congenital-310178. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Judy P. Methven - Majestic Yorkies & Maltese

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
0Author 9Consumer 6Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 General Comment

Seller is irresponsible.

AUTHOR: Jane Doe - (U.S.A.)

AAI can only occur if there is a genetic fault to begin with, even with injury.  Shame on this breeder.  It can take years to show up depending on severity but it is a breeding fault. 
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 Consumer Comment

This is a difficult one ...........

AUTHOR: Me - (U.S.A.)

I did some research on this, the breeder should have been informed on this immediately with the option of at least another opinion, so that she could at least make some sort of informed decision. I did notice that the OP completely ommitted the fact that it can be caused by trauma, which always makes me doubt. It CAN be caused by trauma, even jumping off the couch or another dog jumping on the back. It can also be congenital, so no one is to know now. Also, there is the question of whether it could have been treated non-surgically first. It is also QUITE reasonable if you are requesting a replacement or any sort of refund to expect those registration papers back! Most breeder's I know make that a requirement, as well as proof of spay or neuter. I'm not saying this is the case here, but we seem to forget that there are bad buyers as well as bad breeder's and breeders have the right to protect themselves as well.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#3 Consumer Comment

This is a difficult one ...........

AUTHOR: Me - (U.S.A.)

I did some research on this, the breeder should have been informed on this immediately with the option of at least another opinion, so that she could at least make some sort of informed decision. I did notice that the OP completely ommitted the fact that it can be caused by trauma, which always makes me doubt. It CAN be caused by trauma, even jumping off the couch or another dog jumping on the back. It can also be congenital, so no one is to know now. Also, there is the question of whether it could have been treated non-surgically first. It is also QUITE reasonable if you are requesting a replacement or any sort of refund to expect those registration papers back! Most breeder's I know make that a requirement, as well as proof of spay or neuter. I'm not saying this is the case here, but we seem to forget that there are bad buyers as well as bad breeder's and breeders have the right to protect themselves as well.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#4 Consumer Comment

This is a difficult one ...........

AUTHOR: Me - (U.S.A.)

I did some research on this, the breeder should have been informed on this immediately with the option of at least another opinion, so that she could at least make some sort of informed decision. I did notice that the OP completely ommitted the fact that it can be caused by trauma, which always makes me doubt. It CAN be caused by trauma, even jumping off the couch or another dog jumping on the back. It can also be congenital, so no one is to know now. Also, there is the question of whether it could have been treated non-surgically first. It is also QUITE reasonable if you are requesting a replacement or any sort of refund to expect those registration papers back! Most breeder's I know make that a requirement, as well as proof of spay or neuter. I'm not saying this is the case here, but we seem to forget that there are bad buyers as well as bad breeder's and breeders have the right to protect themselves as well.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#5 Consumer Comment

This is a difficult one ...........

AUTHOR: Me - (U.S.A.)

I did some research on this, the breeder should have been informed on this immediately with the option of at least another opinion, so that she could at least make some sort of informed decision. I did notice that the OP completely ommitted the fact that it can be caused by trauma, which always makes me doubt. It CAN be caused by trauma, even jumping off the couch or another dog jumping on the back. It can also be congenital, so no one is to know now. Also, there is the question of whether it could have been treated non-surgically first. It is also QUITE reasonable if you are requesting a replacement or any sort of refund to expect those registration papers back! Most breeder's I know make that a requirement, as well as proof of spay or neuter. I'm not saying this is the case here, but we seem to forget that there are bad buyers as well as bad breeder's and breeders have the right to protect themselves as well.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#6 Consumer Comment

Information for Kathie

AUTHOR: Bernie - (U.S.A.)

To Kathie, I suggest you file a complaint with the Attorney General/Consumer Division of the state that you purchased the puppy from, the Better Business Bureau, The United States Dept. of Agriculture, and go to the Humane Societies website and file a pet complaint.

You can file the complaints online or download the forms. You may not be able to get a monetary refund but this will become public record and they will keep the information in a database and use it to see if there is a pattern.

Smart consumers typically research breeders and once they come across the information, they will say away from this particular breeder.

Good Luck to you and I'm sorry to hear about your Yorkie.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#7 REBUTTAL Individual responds

refund

AUTHOR: Judy - (U.S.A.)

Let me ask you this. If you purchase a car or anything and it is faulty do you take it back to the dealer or store for a refund or replacement right away or do you get it repaired and then contact the car dealer and demand to keep the car for free because you paid for a repair? I offered a replacement puppy to Kathie. She refused the replacement and demanded to keep the puppy the AKC papers and wanted her money back. I do not give away free yorkie puppies. And I was not home when the certified letter came. I live way out in the country and did not see the point in driving for and hour to go to the post office to get it. Notice how in one of her reports she says she supplied me with proof from her vet and now in another one she says it was returned to her. This all happened almost two years ago and I have not had any other buyers that have had problems. As I said before. You cannot please 100% of the people 100% of the time. Notice that this is the only bad review that I have. And if Kathie would have followed the guarantee this would not have happened. She would have received a replacement puppy. As a matter of fact I will still replace the puppy if she follows the guarantee. I will send her a champion sired male puppy if she sends this one back along with his AKC papers. I am making this offer even though she has had the surgery done and I cannot get a second opinion now. Also again if anybody wants a copy of the email stating that her vet said the condition could be caused from injury I will gladly send it.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#8 REBUTTAL Owner of company

Kathie Morris is a liar

AUTHOR: Judy - (U.S.A.)

I was not contact by Kathie in a reasonalbe amount of time. My health guarantee clearly states that I must be contacted immediatley not months after a problem occurs. Kathie did not send me a vet report at all. She had the problem fixed and then contacted me. My veterinarian told me that after it had been repaired there was no way for me to get a second opinion. He told me that a neck injury could also cause this problem. the puppy could have been injured by another dog, been dropped or slammed in a door. When I told Kathie this she said "My vet said the same thing". I have an email from her telling me this. She said "but I know this did not happen". the fact is Kathie may not even have know if the puppy was injured by another one of her dogs unless she watched them 100% of the time. Also when she left a bad review for me on Puppyfind, they told her to send a vet report to prove that I was at fault. They then emailed me that they were not allowing her to leave the bad review because she sent them a copy of her vet report stating that the problem could be congenital or could be caused from injury. Even so I offered to give her a replacement puppy if she sent the puppy and his papers back which she refused to do. Then I offered her 1/2 her money back and she could keep the puppy but she would have to send me back his AKC papers. She refused this offer. I do not know of a breeder that would let her keep the puppy, and the AKC papers and give a full refund. After all of this trouble with Kathie, I then withdrew any offers because I felt like she was trying to rip me off. Also when she had the surgery done and had not contacted me before the surgery I feel like she took me out of the loop and took on the responsibility to herself. She gave me no input on how to best solve the problem. It is a sad day when people can ruin a persons reputation by putting false information on the internet. Please read my many many great reviews of happy customers on Puppyfind.com. Many have their phone numbers in them. I try very hard to breed healthy, happy, pretty puppies that are correct to the standard. but nobody can please 100% of the people 100% of the time. All I can do is my best and that I do. Judy
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#9 REBUTTAL Owner of company

Kathie Morris is a liar

AUTHOR: Judy - (U.S.A.)

I was not contact by Kathie in a reasonalbe amount of time. My health guarantee clearly states that I must be contacted immediatley not months after a problem occurs. Kathie did not send me a vet report at all. She had the problem fixed and then contacted me. My veterinarian told me that after it had been repaired there was no way for me to get a second opinion. He told me that a neck injury could also cause this problem. the puppy could have been injured by another dog, been dropped or slammed in a door. When I told Kathie this she said "My vet said the same thing". I have an email from her telling me this. She said "but I know this did not happen". the fact is Kathie may not even have know if the puppy was injured by another one of her dogs unless she watched them 100% of the time. Also when she left a bad review for me on Puppyfind, they told her to send a vet report to prove that I was at fault. They then emailed me that they were not allowing her to leave the bad review because she sent them a copy of her vet report stating that the problem could be congenital or could be caused from injury. Even so I offered to give her a replacement puppy if she sent the puppy and his papers back which she refused to do. Then I offered her 1/2 her money back and she could keep the puppy but she would have to send me back his AKC papers. She refused this offer. I do not know of a breeder that would let her keep the puppy, and the AKC papers and give a full refund. After all of this trouble with Kathie, I then withdrew any offers because I felt like she was trying to rip me off. Also when she had the surgery done and had not contacted me before the surgery I feel like she took me out of the loop and took on the responsibility to herself. She gave me no input on how to best solve the problem. It is a sad day when people can ruin a persons reputation by putting false information on the internet. Please read my many many great reviews of happy customers on Puppyfind.com. Many have their phone numbers in them. I try very hard to breed healthy, happy, pretty puppies that are correct to the standard. but nobody can please 100% of the people 100% of the time. All I can do is my best and that I do. Judy
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#10 REBUTTAL Owner of company

Kathie Morris is a liar

AUTHOR: Judy - (U.S.A.)

I was not contact by Kathie in a reasonalbe amount of time. My health guarantee clearly states that I must be contacted immediatley not months after a problem occurs. Kathie did not send me a vet report at all. She had the problem fixed and then contacted me. My veterinarian told me that after it had been repaired there was no way for me to get a second opinion. He told me that a neck injury could also cause this problem. the puppy could have been injured by another dog, been dropped or slammed in a door. When I told Kathie this she said "My vet said the same thing". I have an email from her telling me this. She said "but I know this did not happen". the fact is Kathie may not even have know if the puppy was injured by another one of her dogs unless she watched them 100% of the time. Also when she left a bad review for me on Puppyfind, they told her to send a vet report to prove that I was at fault. They then emailed me that they were not allowing her to leave the bad review because she sent them a copy of her vet report stating that the problem could be congenital or could be caused from injury. Even so I offered to give her a replacement puppy if she sent the puppy and his papers back which she refused to do. Then I offered her 1/2 her money back and she could keep the puppy but she would have to send me back his AKC papers. She refused this offer. I do not know of a breeder that would let her keep the puppy, and the AKC papers and give a full refund. After all of this trouble with Kathie, I then withdrew any offers because I felt like she was trying to rip me off. Also when she had the surgery done and had not contacted me before the surgery I feel like she took me out of the loop and took on the responsibility to herself. She gave me no input on how to best solve the problem. It is a sad day when people can ruin a persons reputation by putting false information on the internet. Please read my many many great reviews of happy customers on Puppyfind.com. Many have their phone numbers in them. I try very hard to breed healthy, happy, pretty puppies that are correct to the standard. but nobody can please 100% of the people 100% of the time. All I can do is my best and that I do. Judy
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#11 REBUTTAL Owner of company

Kathie Morris is a liar

AUTHOR: Judy - (U.S.A.)

I was not contact by Kathie in a reasonalbe amount of time. My health guarantee clearly states that I must be contacted immediatley not months after a problem occurs. Kathie did not send me a vet report at all. She had the problem fixed and then contacted me. My veterinarian told me that after it had been repaired there was no way for me to get a second opinion. He told me that a neck injury could also cause this problem. the puppy could have been injured by another dog, been dropped or slammed in a door. When I told Kathie this she said "My vet said the same thing". I have an email from her telling me this. She said "but I know this did not happen". the fact is Kathie may not even have know if the puppy was injured by another one of her dogs unless she watched them 100% of the time. Also when she left a bad review for me on Puppyfind, they told her to send a vet report to prove that I was at fault. They then emailed me that they were not allowing her to leave the bad review because she sent them a copy of her vet report stating that the problem could be congenital or could be caused from injury. Even so I offered to give her a replacement puppy if she sent the puppy and his papers back which she refused to do. Then I offered her 1/2 her money back and she could keep the puppy but she would have to send me back his AKC papers. She refused this offer. I do not know of a breeder that would let her keep the puppy, and the AKC papers and give a full refund. After all of this trouble with Kathie, I then withdrew any offers because I felt like she was trying to rip me off. Also when she had the surgery done and had not contacted me before the surgery I feel like she took me out of the loop and took on the responsibility to herself. She gave me no input on how to best solve the problem. It is a sad day when people can ruin a persons reputation by putting false information on the internet. Please read my many many great reviews of happy customers on Puppyfind.com. Many have their phone numbers in them. I try very hard to breed healthy, happy, pretty puppies that are correct to the standard. but nobody can please 100% of the people 100% of the time. All I can do is my best and that I do. Judy
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#12 Author of original report

Judy P. Methven aka Jpm Yorkies and Maltese - Dishonest Rebuttal

AUTHOR: Kathie - (U.S.A.)

This breeder stated in her rebuttal that she offered half the money back, which is a blatant lie. She offered nothing. She said she would have put the puppy down if it were her. I saved every communication from this breeder and no such offer was made.

My veterinarian who performed the surgery clearly stated (in writing) that there was no evidence of trauma and the condition can be hereditary thereby preventing me from breeding this male. As a responsible breeder, I would not take the chance of passing this condition on.

The circumstances did not fit into any of her terms and I was left with no options. The puppy would have died if I shipped him back to her. If he by some chance survived the flight, she would have put him down rather than have the very expensive surgery, and the absence of trauma never would have been revealed. In addition,

Honestly, if an offer of half the money would have been made, I would have gladly accepted.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#13 Author of original report

Now dba JPM Yorkies and Maltese

AUTHOR: Kathie - (U.S.A.)

Judy P. Methven is now doing business as JPM Yorkies and Maltese.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#14 Author of original report

Owner refused delivery of certified documents

AUTHOR: Kathie - (U.S.A.)

Once the owner was made aware of what was in the certified letter addressed to her, she refused to accept delivery of the documents. Her rebuttal stating that I did not provide proof is false. The fact is she refused to sign for the certified documents and they were returned to me.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#15 REBUTTAL Owner of company

Did Not Supply Proof of My fault

AUTHOR: Judy - (U.S.A.)

When I sold Kathie the yorkie puppy she was given a health guarantee with the conditions that are covered. She did not follow any of the requirements. She did not contact me about the problem until months and months later after she had already had the problem fixed by her veterinarian. Even so I offered to replace the puppy but told Kathie that she would have to return the puppy and the AKC papers. She refused to return the puppy with the papers. That is when she told me that she had had it fixed.

I then offered 1/2 her money back if she would return the papers. She refused to return the AKC papers and said she was keeping the puppy, the papers and wanted her money back. I do not know any breeder that would agree to that. Also when I contacted my veterinarian he told me that this problem could be caused by trauma and that because Kathie had had it repaired there was no way for me to get a second opinion. Kathie had also posted many very nasty reviews on Puppyfind about me and when Puppyfind contacted her she supplied them with a letter from her veterinarian stating that this problem could be congenital or caused from trauma.

So they took the nasty reviews off and told her that if she continued to post them she would be banned from the website. My guarantee clearly states what conditions are covered and that I must be contacted immediately not months later when a problem occurs. Also I do not refund money but do give a replacement puppy if I am supplied proof that it is one of the conditions covered and it must not be something that is caused from an injury like being dropped or slammed in a door, or hurt by another dog.

When Kathie got the problem fixed without contacting me prior then she took on the responsibility on herself because she gave me no say whatsoever in the matter. Also not all congenital things are inherritable so the puppy will be fine to use as a stud dog now that the problem is fixed. I have never had this problem before. Also I had already bred the female again before Kathie contacted me, but she was bred to a different male. I was not supplied proof that this was not caused from trauma! Judy
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.