• Report: #756386

Complaint Review: Kerfin Inspection

Thank You

Read how Ripoff Report saves consumers millions.

  • Submitted: Mon, July 25, 2011
  • Updated: Mon, July 25, 2011

  • Reported By: Michael Simkhin — Chicago Illinois United States of America
Kerfin Inspection
10931 South Troy Street chicago, Illinois United States of America

Kerfin Inspection "HOME INSPECTOR MISSED MAJOR ROOF PROBLEM" chicago, Illinois

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

Here's a time line of what happened:

3/26/11: I hired Kerfin Inspection to do an inspection of a home I was interested in; after the inspection, Mr. Kerfin sent me an inspection report 

Regarding the roof, the report stated that it was approximately 10 years old,  & had only 1 layer of shingles; no additional comments about the roof were provided
 
As a further note- during the actual inspection, I had asked Mr. Kerfin if he would go up on the roof, & he stated that he does not go up on roofs- but from what he saw, the roof appeared to be in relatively good condition...again, his written report said the roof was in decent condition
 
5/16/11: I had a final walk through of the home; all aspects were in the same condition as they were at the time of the inspection
 
5/18/11: I closed on the home
 
5/28/11: We had our first big rain; during the rain, water had leaked into one of the upstairs bedrooms, behind the drywall, causing the drywall to bubble
 
6/2/11: I had a roofer come out (Perfect Roofing, 773-631-9120), & evaluate the roof; they  stated that there are 3 layers of shingles on the roof, and all 3 layers are in bad condition.

Further, that the home still had its original roof, from the 1940s, & had never had its roof torn off & replaced- only having shingles layered on top of shingles.


They stated that any repairs that could be made to the roof at this point would be very short term (such as caulking, etc)- & that the only way to remedy any leaking that caulking, etc could not solve would be with a complete tear off & replacement of the roof
 
6/9/11: I emailed Mr. Kerfin regarding the issue; he told me to contact his attorney, & I did

6/17/11: After not hearing back, I followed up with Mr. Kerfin again; he stated (taken verbatim from his email)

"Sue me and quit emailing me"

Mr. Kerfin is the epitome of what you DO NOT want to happen with you home inspection....STAY AWAY FROM KERFIN INSPECTIONS, THEY ARE A RIP-OFF!!!!

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 07/25/2011 01:57 PM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/Kerfin-Inspection/chicago-Illinois-60655/Kerfin-Inspection-HOME-INSPECTOR-MISSED-MAJOR-ROOF-PROBLEM-chicago-Illinois-756386. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Kerfin Inspection

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.



Ripoff Report Legal Directory