• Report: #266385

Complaint Review: Lanier Marine Liquidators

  • Submitted: Thu, August 09, 2007
  • Updated: Sun, October 28, 2012

  • Reported By:PEARL Mississippi
Lanier Marine Liquidators
106 Henry Grady Hwy Dasonville, Georgia U.S.A.

Lanier Marine Liquidators THE BOAT CROOKS! Dasonville Georgia

*Consumer Comment: Lanier Marine

*Consumer Comment: Lanier Marine Liquidators

*Consumer Comment: A Locals Response

*Author of original report: Amendment to report.

*Author of original report: Ammendment to report.

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

I have been talking to a salesman by the name of Shane at Lanier Marine Liquidators in Dasonville, GA for a little longer than a week about a Crownline boat they were brokering for the owner. The boat looked really good in the pictures and I asked for the broker to send me additional photographs of the boat that were to include close ups of the hull. Again the photographs came out really good.

I remember asking the the broker about the condition of the hull. He responded by informing me that the hull was in "GREAT" shape and there were no signs of stress related cracks. I believe the words he used were, "this boat is in excellent shape".

Upon us reaching a sales price I was told that the motor had been rebuilt and that the trailer the vessel was sitting on was not rated to for that much weight. I informed the broker that I was not going to haul a boat across two states on a trailer that was not rated to handle the load. He then found me another trailer.

Before I left I received an additional photograph, which did not come out informing me that there was a few "blisters" on the hull but and was told not to worry about it. Lets be real here for a minute a few makes me believe that there may be three or lets just say I would go as high as seven or eight. I decided to go ahead and make the drive and we made an arrangement to pick up the boat on a Wednesday. I live in Jackson, MS about eight hours away.

I made the trip with the knowledge of it having a few blisters and average wear and tear. When we arrived we were met by a very unprofessional individual. He told us where it was at and led us in the gate to show us our boat that was suppost to be in better than average condition and owned by someone that had way more money than sense. This boat only had 120 hours! The story was making sence up to the point when we laid our eyes on it.

This boat looked nothing like it did on the pictures and looked nothing like the boat we were described and told all about. The "few blisters on the hull" turned out to look like some had unrolled a roll of bubble wrap on the hull of the boat. There were also stress cracks all over the boat and some were caused by the use of the improper trailer. I asked for the professional opinion and condition report on the hull of the boat from one of the hands there. He told me that in his opinion it was going to be best to put a Rhino Spray-In bed liner on the hull of the boat to keep the water from damaging the hull any further. Can you say REDNECK! He then told me that it was a used boat. Well DUH! I think that he thaught I must have had stupid on my face.

I then started to have him show me the hulls of the other used boats in the lot that suffered from the same condition. He was not very interested in that because he knew it was not normal. I climbed in the boat and the first thing I noticed was that the floor of the boat was in very poor shape. It was suppost to be in "excellent shape since it was kept in a covered boat slip away from the elements of the weather and sun."

I made a few calls to some of my local marinas and asked them about the boat and got some suggestions about the hull and the cost to repair the damage, all estimates came in at or around $2000. Keep in mind that I drove all the way from Jackson, MS to go buy a boat that was in excellent condition above full NADA high retail, and that was because of the condition it was in. I was ok with that. I was not ok with being lied to and told BS stories so get me in the door.

We decided to leave there at 9:45 after being there for over an hour and a half. OUR SO CALLED SALESPERSON SHANE NEVER ONCE CAME OUTSIDE AND INTRUDUCED HIMSELF WE NEVER HAD THE CHANCE TO MEET HIM. It was for the better though. I was very angry. I am very dissapointed in the brokers as they are in the boat business and should know boats.

At Lanier Marine Liquidators they dont know boats they know how to tell lies and waste your time and money. The trip cost me over $600 by the time I put a trailer hitch on my truck. I would advise any and all persons to stay away from them as all they have is crap that they want over retail price for on excellent condition. They dont have a single thing on their lot that is even close to excellent condition, most of it is rebuilt from other boats in the yard. Most will not even float!!!

Loafer3105
PEARL, Mississippi
U.S.A.

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 08/09/2007 12:40 PM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/Lanier-Marine-Liquidators/Dasonville-Georgia-30534/Lanier-Marine-Liquidators-THE-BOAT-CROOKS-Dasonville-Georgia-266385. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Lanier Marine Liquidators

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
0Author 5Consumer 0Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 Consumer Comment

Lanier Marine

AUTHOR: brucem101 - ()

 I too met with a crooked bunch there / I had called ahead (since it is a 120 mile round trip for me) to ask about a cylinder head for my boat. The man told me "yes we have one, it will be $150" . I was glad, and started the trek down there. When I arrived the guy I talked to was not in the office and I was talking to the counter sales guy who WAS there at the moment. He said "yeah we got one...you have to go pick it out for yourself, and it will run about $325-350 depending on its condition". I was livid!

I began to yell and fuss, and before I was done the origional guy I talked to came in and picked up on the conversation, and told me to ignore the other guy and that I could pick out my own for $150. This made the first guy mad and they got into an argument. Then MY salesman took me outside and explained that not everyone that worked there was good at pricing things and he apologised. But it goes to show you that you really roll the dice when you trade there....I got my part for the promised price, but could have taken it in the backside if the other guy had not shown up from his lunch. WATCH YOURSELF THERE!

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 Consumer Comment

Lanier Marine Liquidators

AUTHOR: Ford - (United States of America)

I'm sorry to hear of your problems but I'm surprised. I've bought boats, engines and parts from Shane since 1998. My experience is that they sell good items at cheap prices. As with any used things you have to check it out but Shane has always been straight with me and my dad. I recommend them for anyone who wants good deals
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#3 Consumer Comment

A Locals Response

AUTHOR: Steve - (United States of America)

I lived very near this dealership for years and would frequent there lot and look at boats for sale. The first thing I noticed was that 95% of them are junk, rotting floors or transoms, cracked hulls etc. However, now and then I would see a decent rebuildable boat and in fact purchased 2 from them that worked out well. I do not know how they get these boats but I think it is a tax write off donation thing as I always wondered about those and where the donated boats went. I would also notice people shopping in amazement of how poor these boats were after driving to the lot and as mentioned in your statement basically lured in by pictures and half thruths by the salesmen. I felt sorry for these people but the truth is it is not illegal just unethical and buying over the Internet is very tricky, and believe me these guys know that and count on you to be lured in by the low price deal. There are far to many internet salesmen that know this and capitilize on our weekness of thinking we found the deal. There are no deals, dont drive a long distance on a salesmans word, they are there to sell. In the case of Lanier Marine, the salesman know nothing about boats, I doubt if they have ever even owned one of their own. It is basic knowledge at best and thats the upper end of the sales team, the mechanic and general help are simply trained monkeys that have no input and just direct you to sales. Again, I had the benefit of being local so I could pick and chose without any costs, but if you are not local and have to travel very far based on what they tell you over the phone then be advised, there is a 95% chance that you will be VERY disappointed. Also, those boats that fall in to the 5% of decent boats are overpriced since so many are junk, the ones that are not junk are priced as if they were really something. Anyone looking for more than a DIY rebuild should... STAY CLEAR OF THESE GUYS.... 
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#4 Author of original report

Amendment to report.

AUTHOR: Loafer3105 - (U.S.A.)

I am including an amendment to the report that was filed on 08/09/2007. I have spoken with Lanier Marine, and they have since decided that they would apologize for the misrepresentation of the boat. This email does not really depict what we had discussed, but I will give them an A+ for effort. They took my concerns and tried in every way to rectify the situation. All in all I will say that I am satisfied with the outcome and would consider Lanier Marine Liquidators again. I would not say that they are crooks any longer they are infact hard working people that are trying to make an honest living.

Here is the email I received from Shane at Lanier Marine regarding this report.


Ryan, we are sorry to here of your dissatisfaction with our brokered boat. We had reduced the price, we made available a better trailer to include in the deal, we sent 60 pictures at your request, and we stated the boat condition to include that the boat had blisters. We do not know what more we can do to make a buyer happy with their experience when traveling a great distance to consider a purchase than to send unlimited information in the way of pictures and to offer marine inspectors or surveyors to be your eyes if you do not want to come look for yourself which you did not choose to do. We apologize that our brokerage customer's boat was not up to your expectations.

Please visit our website www.LanierMarineLiquidators.com to view over 300 boats and over 500 motors for sale.

We are now open at our new 15 acre used boat superstore! From Atlanta take Ga 400 North, cross Ga 136 and take the next road to the right Henry Grady Hwy. We are the second business on the right. There is a sign on Ga 400.

Affordable Boat and Camper Storage now available for only $365/ year!

Shane
Lanier Marine Liquidators, Inc.
106 Henry Grady Hwy.
Dawsonville, Ga. 30534
Tel: 770-888-2628
Free: 800-815-0580
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#5 Author of original report

Ammendment to report.

AUTHOR: Loafer3105 - (U.S.A.)

I am including an ammendment to the report that was filed on 08/09/2007. I have spoken with Lanier Marine, and they have since decided that they would apologize for the misrepresentation of the boat. This email does not really depict what we had discussed, but I will give them an A+ for effort. They took my concerns and tried in every way to rectify the situation. All in all I will say that I am satisfied with the outcome and would consider Lanier Marine Liquidators again. I would not say that they are crooks any longer they are infact hard working people that are trying to make an honest living.

Here is the email I received from Shane at Lanier Marine regarding this report.


Ryan, we are sorry to here of your dissatisfaction with our brokered boat. We had reduced the price, we made available a better trailer to include in the deal, we sent 60 pictures at your request, and we stated the boat condition to include that the boat had blisters. We do not know what more we can do to make a buyer happy with their experience when traveling a great distance to consider a purchase than to send unlimited information in the way of pictures and to offer marine inspectors or surveyors to be your eyes if you do not want to come look for yourself which you did not choose to do. We apologize that our brokerage customer's boat was not up to your expectations.

Please visit our website www.LanierMarineLiquidators.com to view over 300 boats and over 500 motors for sale.

We are now open at our new 15 acre used boat superstore! From Atlanta take Ga 400 North, cross Ga 136 and take the next road to the right Henry Grady Hwy. We are the second business on the right. There is a sign on Ga 400.

Affordable Boat and Camper Storage now available for only $365/ year!

Shane
Lanier Marine Liquidators, Inc.
106 Henry Grady Hwy.
Dawsonville, Ga. 30534
Tel: 770-888-2628
Free: 800-815-0580
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
X