• Report: #954848

Complaint Review: Maaco Collision Repair and Auto Painting

Thank You

Read how Ripoff Report saves consumers millions.

  • Submitted: Sun, October 14, 2012
  • Updated: Wed, October 17, 2012

  • Reported By: Richard — Milton Florida United States of America
Maaco Collision Repair and Auto Painting
189 West Burgess Road Pensacola, Florida United States of America

Maaco Collision Repair and Auto Painting Maaco WILL RIP YOU OFF Pensacola, Florida

*Author of original report: Maaco will rip you off

*Consumer Suggestion: It's Maaco

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

On October 10, 2011, I left my 1999

Dodge Ram with Maaco for a new paint job. Also, I requested that Maaco replace several parts. When I picked up my vehicle, the requested repairs were not completed. I had to take back my vehicle twice just to get the bottom half of the truck completely painted. The vehicle was covered in dust. When I cleaned the vehicle, I found that the paint was full of trash. A rubber bumper for the bug shield was left on and painted over. There was overspray on many parts of the vehicle. The bed cover was supposed to be fixed, but was not. When I asked about the bed cover, I was told that "we dont deal with fiber glass much". However, I explained clearly before leaving the vehicle that I wanted the bed cover fixed. When I spoke with Maaco about the paint, I was told that I purchased a "single coat" paint and that the trash was part of "minor imperfections". [continued below]....
..... The owner said I would have to pay more to get the paint right. I contacted the Maaco corporate headquarters about my complaint and spoke with Kathryn. She spoke with Maaco in Pensacola but the issue was not resolved. On November 21, 2011, I returned to Maaco to express my
extreme dissatisfaction with the job. The owner again reiterated that I purchased a 600 dollar paint job and all these imperfections were part of the paint job. However, according to the invoice, the amount I paid was over $1000.00. 

I brought my Father with me because he was present when I dropped off the vehicle and heard what repairs were supposed to be completed. After hearing that I would have to pay more, my Father looked at me and said "the best thing you can do is get an attorney". The owner replied that he would not be threatened and that "we are done". To appreciate the poor job that
was done on my truck, a person would have to visually inspect the truck. I took my truck to three different body shops and obtained the following estimates;

1. $4,708.15 

2. $6,020.68

3. $7,822.61

All three of the people I spoke with were in disbelief of the poor job that was done. Now the problem continues to get worse. Two of the truck emblems have fell off. There is paint peeling in two different areas.

Maaco is now refusing to address any of these issues because of the comment that was made about the attorney, stating that they will not be threatened. I sent pictures to Maaco headquarters. However, Maaco refuses to require that Maaco-Pensacola make this right. I have made every effort to resolve this problem through Maaco. This complaint may not list every issue because I continue to have more problems sometimes on a daily basis. I paid for this job by check and the check has cleared the bank. The original sales representative is Jeff Uher.

The owner's name is Michael Evers. 


This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 10/14/2012 01:37 PM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/Maaco-Collision-Repair-and-Auto-Painting/Pensacola-Florida-32503/Maaco-Collision-Repair-and-Auto-Painting-Maaco-WILL-RIP-YOU-OFF-Pensacola-Florida-954848. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Maaco Collision Repair and Auto Painting

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
1Author 1Consumer 0Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 Author of original report

Maaco will rip you off

AUTHOR: Richard - (United States of America)

Thanks Josh for your input. Since this occurred, I have learned about the cheapness of the paint. They use scotch guard pads to sand. If they would have explained to me that I was getting a cheap paint job, I would not have gone there. In fact, the manager basically inferred that I was going to love the paint job. They misrepresented the quality of their work. Even for a low budget paint job, this is not acceptable. I would have been better off not even painting the truck because now I have other damages to contend with in addition to the horrible paint job. I don't imagine all Maacos are like this because it is a franchise. I speculate that the owner is only concerned about money. Their annual revenue is between 1.5 and 2 million dollars. They try to get vehicles in and out as fast as they can. Also, I believe that if the work done to my truck were paid for by an insurance company, the results would have bee different. They want to keep business from insurance companies. However, since I paid cash, they could care less if I ever come back (WHICH I WON'T). 
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 Consumer Suggestion

It's Maaco

AUTHOR: Josh - (U.S.A.)

If you did even a modicum of research you would know that Maaco is not the place to go if you want a quality paint job.  You just aren't going to get that for $600 (or $1000).  They are cheap for a reason, and the reason is that they do quick and dirty resprays rather than a proper paint job (which typically cost around $5k and up).  For $1000, you can't even buy the proper paint for a complete respray.  Decent quality car paint is around $400 a gallon.  The paint Maaco uses is extremely low quality and will become oxidized and nasty in a few months.  
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.



Ripoff Report Legal Directory
grateful