• Report: #580700

Complaint Review: Merry Maids of Nashville, TN

  • Submitted: Sat, March 13, 2010
  • Updated: Sat, March 13, 2010

  • Reported By: Ocea — Smyrna Tennessee United States of America

Merry Maids of Nashville, Tennessee Blackburn failed to do work contracted AND filed a false complaint of animal abuse Nashville, Tennessee

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!




Merry Maids Corporate Office and staff attorney                               March 12, 2010                                                              


I make this complaint because the service I contracted for was not being performed by the Nashville, TN Merry Maids service for several months. So, I finally called the local office on 02-12-2010 (this was the day after our last cleaning service on 02-11-2010) I left a recorded message stating my compliant to the local office. I stated that I was not pleased with the service and gave specifics. Mr. Blackburn, the owner responded by returning my call on 02-12-2010 and I was informed by him that he would deal with it, he stated he would talk to that cleaning crew (Cheryl and Angela) and inform them of the situation and then he said he hoped I was pleased with the next cleaning service. I informed Mr. Blackburn that on a few occasions we left a list for the cleaning staff because I thought I could deal with the items in need of attention and without having to bring it to their employers attention. I wanted to deal with this in a diplomatic manner to avoid conflict or embarrassment for the workers but this obviously did not have its intended effect.


Merry Maids of Nashville, TN answer to this situation was to replace the cleaning staff. Although we were NOT informed of this decision at all (Merry Maids called on 03-10-2010 the day previous to the scheduled clean to confirm service but did not inform us about this change in staff) and we only knew of this change of cleaning staff after they arrived when we were approximately fifteen minutes from departure for a monthly doctors appointment. Ive dealt with chronic lumbar pain for over fifteen years. Additionally, we didnt have time to deal with new people being in our home like this. I am disabled; I was experiencing severe pain as we were leaving. As if that wasnt enough for the day, after my doctors appointment as we were sitting down to dinner, in Red Lobster my spouse (Alicia) received a very disturbing and extremely disrupting call from the animal welfare agency P.A.W.S from officer Farmer at approximately 5:30pm on 03-11-2010. This caused us serious stress and extreme emotional disruption. Neither of us could eat after this we were in shock!


The reason I write to you will become clear as you continue to read this letter (I will also forward a copy of this correspondence to Mr. Blackburn, owner of Merry Maids of Nashville, TN) I write to inform you that this New cleaning staff invaded our privacy, as well as breaching our contract. Then proceeded to call Mr. Blackburn who actually called the animal welfare agency P.A.W.S. Furthermore, the new cleaning staff entered rooms they had no contract to enter (evidence of violation and breach;) doors were left unlocked and opened, that were previously closed and locked. lights were left on in rooms that prior to their arrival were off and one they turned off that was to be keep on for the pups sake!


The new cleaning staff left a document stating that we Needed to call about our service today! This had NEVER happened previously! Merry Maids (Cheryl and Angela) had cleaned for us for approximately ten months without incident as far as matters as this is concerned.


Upon returning home we found the house NOT cleaned as contracted. I retrieved a message from my phone (which Ive saved) which states from Mr. Blackburn, owner of Merry Maids of Nashville, TN that because of animal feces and urine odor the cleaning staff had to stop cleaning! (THIS IS TOTALLY ABSURD AND ABSOLUTELY FALSE. I DEFY ANYONE TO SHOW ME PRICTURES OF THIS CONDITION AND WHY WOULDNT THE PREVIOUS CLEANING STAFF VOICE A CONCERN IF THIS WERE TRUE???)


Mr. Blackburn conceded to me today (03-12-2010) in a phone conversation (at approx 8:30am) that his workers told him that there was animal feces and urine in the utility room, they may have been but The problem with this, Merry Maids was NEVER contracted to enter that room, thus they had no business going in there. (breach of contract and invasion of privacy) There may have been a little animal waste on the puppy pads, or possibly on the floor if they missed the puppy pads. But this is absurd we broke NO laws by keeping them in there, the reason the pups were in there in the first place was because we were leaving for my doctors appointment and this is were we keep them when we have to leave and somebody else (Merry Maids in this case) are in their home. Furthermore, this room along with the garage is cleaned twice a day by my spouse and there is nothing more than normal amounts to clean considering they are animals AND THERE ARE NO LAWS STATING WE CANT HAVE OUR OWN ANIMALS WHERE WE WANT, MR. BLACKBURN, OWNER OF MERRY MAIDS OF NASHVILLE, TN HAD ABSOLUTELY NO REASON OR MERIT FOR CALLING THE ANIMAL WELFARE AGENCY, PERIOD!


OBVIOUSLY OUR MAJOR COMPLAINT IS THAT THESE MERRY MAIDS EMPLOYEE'S WHILE IN MY HOME CALLED MR. BLACKBURN WHO CALLED THE ANIMAL WELFARE AGENCY P.A.W.S STATING OUR DOGS WERE NOT BEING CARED FOR PROPERLY AND THAT THEY HAD FUR MATTED ON THEIR EYES, ETC. THIS IS A BOLD FACED LIE WITH MALICIOUS INTENT.  Its malicious because it's NOT true and has no basis in reality!


As stated, Merry Maids has cleaned for us some now. We have all the correspondence left after every cleaning and they have never stated anything even close to this nature! We have on file every visit by Merry Maids of Nashville, TN these include cleaning dates of service with explanation left after each service. Original contract is also on file.


Furthermore, Mr. Blackburn stated to me in the voice mail I retrieved on 03-11-2010 after returning home, that his cleaning staff had to leave because of the alleged problem, oh really? Question, why did Mr. Blackburn state that they left without finishing the job because of the alleged problem and then he added that the previous cleaning staff (Cheryl and Angela) refused to come back because of this same problem (this is an absolute farce, total prefabrication!) I had already complained about them on 02-11-2010 about NOT doing the complete job (and they hadnt for quit some time) AND for that kind of money I expected them to do the entire job as contracted, the only reason he would state such a bold faced lie is because Id already as stated complained about them AND Id left several notes for them asking them to please complete the job in its entirety and they just would NOT do it! Mr. Blackburn was also trying to cover up the fact that he called animal welfare agency P.A.W.S. himself!


Continuing, why would Mr. Blackburn, owner of Merry Maids of Nashville, TN send another crew staff if this was actually a real problem, after all he also stated to me when I complained of the first cleaning staff not doing their job that according to OSHA regulations cleaning staff was NOT allowed to handle or dispose of animal waste? Why on earth If this were a real problem would he agree to send out another cleaning staff team? My complaint about the first staff team culminated After they were supposedly finished cleaning, I found a small piece of animal feces in front of the master bedroom which was not there beforehand and this was After they wet moped that floor. How could something just show up like that AFTER it was cleaned AND wet moped??? Mr. Blackburn was very defensive about this issue, he asked me if I thought they put it there, I stated this, all I know is that it was NOT there before they cleaned and afterwards it was, draw you own conclusions!


BECAUSE OF THE NEW MERRY MAID STAFF CALLING MR. BLACKBURN AND HE THEN CALLED THE LOCAL ANIMAL WELFARE AGENCY P.A.W.S, THEY ARE NOW DEMANDING AN INSPECTION OF OUR HOME INVADING OUR PRIVACY AND THE RIGHT TO LIVE PEACEABLE AND UNDISTURBED WITHOUT INTERFERENCE WHICH MERRY MAIDS HAS DIRECTLY CAUSED TO HAPPEN AND WITH MALICIOUS INTENT. Reiterating, its malicious because its NOT true and has no basis in reality! Ask Officer Farmer from the animal welfare agency who stated that this complaint had NO foundation!


REITERATING, THERE WAS ONLY ANIMAL WASTE WERE THE ANIMALS WERE BEING KEPT WHICH MERRY MAIDS HAD NO CONTRACT TO ENTER THE UTILITY ROOM OR THE GARAGE. The original contract reads this as well, stating specifically what rooms where to be cleaned and the rooms that were excluded which were the three bedrooms, the utility room, etc.


I concede malicious intent because after I complained about Merry Maids NOT doing the job I was paying for. So, Mr. Blackburn sent a new cleaning staff here and this happens after their first time cleaning. BTW: The kitchen was cleaned, the kitchen floor cleaned, the living room and front hall carpet was vacuumed, front bathroom was cleaned or I should say they were attempted. AT WHAT TIME DID THESE TWO THINK IT WAS RIGHT TO CALL MR. BLACKBURN WHO CALLED THE ANMAL WELFARE AGENCY BASED ON THEIR ACCUSATIONS?!?! IF AS MR. BLACKBURN STATES IN HIS VOICE MAIL THAT THE SMELL OF ANIMAL FECES AND URINE WAS SO BAD THEY HAD TO STOP CLEANING, WHY WOULD THEY WAIT SO LONG AND DO THIS MUCH WORK IF THIS REALLY WAS AN ISSUE!?!?. . .why didnt they say something to us before we left, I even asked the older lady if there were any questions she had and she replied no, I think we got it. They both had already walked around the house before we departed and still no questions, but after we leave they do something so malicious and downright egregious. This action is absolutely hateful, hurtful, malicious, mean spirited, outright prefabricated lies, extremely egregious and downright evil!


I ALSO FIRMLY BELIEVE THIS CLEAING STAFF LOOKED AT THE JOB AND THE TIME ALOTTED TO FINISH (one hour according to Mr. Blackburn in our phone conversation on (02-12-2010) AND SIMPLY LOOKED AT EVERYTHING THAT WAS TO BE COMPLETED AND CONCLUDED IT COULD NOT BE DONE AND TOOK THIS ACTION TO AVOID BEING COMPLAINED ABOUT IF THEY DID NOT ALSO MEET THE STARDARD OF CLEANING I CONTRACTED FOR. The previous staff could NOT finish this job in the one hour given to them to complete it, so they would skip items such as ALL the kitchen cabinets, several times they missed the base cabinets in the bathrooms as well. Not to mention the time I had to call them to come back and Finish the job because entire places were missed, overhead light fixtures, entire cabinets with stemware that were supposed to be dusted were completely ignored, as well as many other items.


There is NO other motive for them to take such malicious action against us! They  cannot deny this action either weve lived here for over five years NO ONE has ever made a complaint about us in any way, especially about our animals! Reiterating, the first time a New staff team from Merry Maids comes to clean the animal welfare is contacted AND this new cleaning staff just happens to stop there work and leave supposedly because offensive animal odors AND they leave a document stating to call about todays cleaning. The owner calls and states why hes terminating our service!


This house is in the same condition now as it was when Merry Maids originally contracted with us to clean. If there was a problem the representative did not make it known and in fact made contract with us for service, which speaks for itself! We had the dogs at that time and their names are on the contract as the walk around was completed. Our pups are small Pomeranians and pom-a-poos, none weigh over nine or ten pounds. They are house broken and we use puppy pads which I might ad are expensive to purchase for nothing more than a pup doing its business on and trashing it! This goes to the kind of care we give to our pups! This also shows the high level of personal hygiene we choose for them! So, this action is even more egregious considering we do so much for our pups which are family members to us!


Reiterating, there has never been a complaint made or service threatened to cancel do to any conditions in this home by Merry Maids previously. Our neighbors have visited with us unannounced (which we have never minded, we love our neighbors!) and have never stated anything of this nature and this is something that If it was really the problem Merry Maids say it was anybody walking in here would notice this alleged condition, period! It just does NOT exist! Additionally, I wholeheartedly believe the first workers spoke to these workers and said things about us because we complained about their lack of work ethics and this has spilled over to the incident at hand.


We may contact an attorney to investigate our rights and proceed with litigation in this incident, these are extremely egregious allegations Mr. Blackburn made to the Animal Welfare P.A.W.S. agency. Officer Farmer from the animal welfare agency P.A.W.S. stated after his inspection of our home and our pets on 03-12-2010 that there was no foundation to this complaint and that these accusations were completely false, Officer Farmer stated, It is a pleasure to come to a home and find animals in good condition like this nothing complained about had any merit whatsoever!


Ive read the complaints board and the lack of cooperation from corporate offices and how lax Merry Maids can be about taking care of incidents such as this but I can assure you this will NOT go away!


I demand someone of responsibility to inquire of this incident and take the appropriate action.


Merry Maids Corporate office should contact me as to the disposition of this incident.




Ocea, Smyrna, TN




 




This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 03/13/2010 07:31 PM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/Merry-Maids-of-Nashville-TN/Nashville-Tennessee-37167/Merry-Maids-of-Nashville-Tennessee-Blackburn-failed-to-do-work-contracted-AND-filed-a-fal-580700. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Merry Maids of Nashville, TN

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
X