• Report: #101056

Complaint Review: Midas Auto Service Experts

  • Submitted: Wed, July 28, 2004
  • Updated: Wed, November 17, 2004

  • Reported By:columbus Ohio
Midas Auto Service Experts
6084 Livingston Ave Columbus, Ohio U.S.A.

Midas Auto Service Ripoff Experts somehow put a hole in my fuel tank while installing my exhaust Columbus Ohio

*Consumer Comment: lawsuit

*Consumer Comment: lawsuit

*Consumer Suggestion: lawsuit

*Consumer Comment: Thank you

*Consumer Suggestion: district manager

*Consumer Comment: Info regarding 6084 Livingston ave Midas

*Consumer Suggestion: I'm not the only one: somehow that does not surprise me.

*Consumer Comment: Info regarding midas location 6084 livingston ave

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

I took my 1985 Chevy Monte Carlo in to Midas at 6084 Livingston Ave in Columbus, Ohio to have a dual exhaust installed, transmmission service, oil change, and radiator flush and fill on Monday afternoon. I was quoted $500 + tax and told it would be done by 7pm. I went in at 7pm and was told it would be ready on tuesday by noon. I called tuesday at 3:30pm and was told 5:30pm/

At 5:30 I went over and was told they could not get the transmission kit and it would be in and finished by Wednesday afternoon. I called Wednesday at 2:30pm and was told it would be ready at 4pm. At 4:30pm I show up and the fuel tank is being propt up with a jack stand and fuel was pouring onto the floor.

The mechanic, for some reason had unstrapped the fuel tank. Granted, the car is an 85' but I filled the tank up 30 minutes before I took the car to the shop, there were no holes when I dropped the car off, or for the two days that they welded the exhaust on the car. The mechanic stated that it would be $215 + labor + tax. He also stated that the tank just started leaking so they took it loose and attempted to fix it (with out contacting me for approval). At this point I stated I would like to speak to the manager and was told he was not in and couldn't do anything for me anyway. I asked to speak with the regional manager and was told they did not have his number and he would not do anything either.

At this point I stated that I wanted the mechanic to find someone that I could speak with. The mechanic then stated that he was going to call the police because I did not want to pay for the work without speaking with a manager. I told the mechanic to contact the police because I had every right to get an explanation of how the car was damaged and why the started the work without authorization. I was told that I was threatening him and that he felt I may have a gun(neither statement was true). He never contacted the police, but I was told that I would still have to pay for the repair. The regional manager stated that since the car was older I either had to pay for the fuel tank or they would put the old tank back on (with the hole that they put in it). Not only will it cost me an extra $300+, I was treated like a criminal because I spoke up about ther wrong doing.

Greg
columbus, Ohio
U.S.A.

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 07/28/2004 05:41 PM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/Midas-Auto-Service-Experts/Columbus-Ohio-43232/Midas-Auto-Service-Ripoff-Experts-somehow-put-a-hole-in-my-fuel-tank-while-installing-my-e-101056. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Midas Auto Service Experts

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
0Author 8Consumer 0Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 Consumer Comment

lawsuit

AUTHOR: Melissa - (U.S.A.)

Greg,
Just wondered how your suit turned out. I go again on nov 18th @ 9 am for round 2.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 Consumer Comment

lawsuit

AUTHOR: Melissa - (U.S.A.)

greg,
i havent' heard from in awhile. i was just wondering if you got in touch w/my attorney?
i tried to email you from the info that i was given from the attorney generals office but you didn't respond. anyway, let me know.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#3 Consumer Suggestion

lawsuit

AUTHOR: Melissa - (U.S.A.)

greg,
i knew mr.sabo would give you the run arounds. let ms. black know that info bc he is a witness & he gonna try to prove that his mechanics are certifd. i need to call the people who certfy the mechanics. anyway, let me know what ms. black has to say. she is really nice.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#4 Consumer Comment

Thank you

AUTHOR: Greg - (U.S.A.)

I spoke with Mr. Sabo and he said he couldn't do anything to help me. He did not want to hear my complaint either. I will give her a call.

Thank You.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#5 Consumer Suggestion

district manager

AUTHOR: Melissa - (U.S.A.)

greg,
i forgot to tell you that the district manager of this particular location. his name is roy sabo & he's an idiot. he wouldn't listen to my complaint.he just wanted to argue the entire time and call me a liar. i have his number. i think his franchise location is over on refugee off hamilton rd.

definitle contact me via Rip-off Report [DELETED]bc the more people we can involve the more a chance we could possibly go class action.

[Place your comments below and be sure to include your FULL contact information so Rip-off Report can contact you.]
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#6 Consumer Comment

Info regarding 6084 Livingston ave Midas

AUTHOR: Melissa - (U.S.A.)

Greg, I can give my attorney's name and you can contact her and she will discuss more w/ you. it would be great if this could go class action against them. i am not sure if the bbb will print the phn# for my attorney but she can be found in the phone book or through directory assistance. her name is Sher black.she is w/goldstein and associates.There add:

4517 E main st
Whitehall, oh 43213
#: 2310003

When you call there ask to talk to sher if not leave her a voice mail & tell her that i told you to call her regarding midas. I am getting a list of complaints from da to snd to ms. black. i hope this info will help you. right now i have one round one of my lawsuit. if you join in then we can nail them.

let me know what she has to say
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#7 Consumer Suggestion

I'm not the only one: somehow that does not surprise me.

AUTHOR: Greg - (U.S.A.)

I'm sorry to hear that you were ripped off also. I have contacted the state attorney generals office and they are looking into this Midas location. If you have any info or suggestions I would be very interested.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#8 Consumer Comment

Info regarding midas location 6084 livingston ave

AUTHOR: Melissa - (U.S.A.)

Greg,
hey i just read your complaint that location of midas. right now i am pursuing a lawsuit against them for services not rendered. Please email bc i might be able to help you recoup losses.Contact me via ripoffreport.com rebuttal: [DELETED]

[Place your comments below and be sure to include your FULL contact information so Rip-off Report can contact you.]
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
X