• Report: #573418

Complaint Review: Mometrix LLC

Thank You

Read how Ripoff Report saves consumers millions.

  • Submitted: Mon, February 22, 2010
  • Updated: Sat, March 02, 2013

  • Reported By: Gwyneth — Houston Texas USA
Mometrix LLC
Internet United States of America

Mometrix LLC DO NOT ORDER THEIR "EDUCATIONAL MATERIALS', unless you want to waste hours assembling the flash cards! Internet

*General Comment: my review of the response from mometrix

*UPDATE Employee: Look Beyond the Wrapper

*UPDATE Employee: Look Beyond the Wrapper

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

It seems there is no end to the schemes these days. I am studying for the National Academy of Sports Medicine board certification to become a certified personal trainer. The course is obtuse, redundant, difficult and stressful  unless you already have a kinesiology degree. It's like opening a Greek textbook. The last thing you need is more aggravation. More than once I wanted to throw the 100 pound book off a bridge.


To top it off, along comes Mometrix LLC of Beaumont, Texas, and waves a big flag on the internet, promising the 'secrets of success' to pass this exam. Apparently a good many folks flunk this exam which could be the subject of another Rip Off Report.... but I digress.


Mometrix LLC of Beaumont, Texas,  offers a FLASH CARD system, which in itself is not a bad idea, to help you memorize the material. Their ad is nice and seductive, and you actually believe you are going to receive, for the sum of $55.00 (!!!) a user-friendly set of cards that you can employ immediately. I mean, for that price, what else would you expect?


Instead, I got a giant envelope stuffed with a thick ream of 8 1/2 by 11 perforated, printed paper, and an instruction sheet. The instruction sheet directed me to 1) pull apart the 250 cards at the perforation lines in order to create the finished set of flash cards 2) then to organize the willy-nilly cards into some semblance of order by topic, one that follows the NASM textbook, since Mometrix had not bothered to do even that small favor for me, and then 3) find three  'little boxes' to stash the various cards in by subject and category, and finally 4) follow their convoluted system of memorization and shift the cards around in the  three boxes. This operation is even more difficult than the damned course.


Who does the thinking at Mometrix? If the deal had been only $15.00, I would not be so pissed. But for $55.00 I am supposed to sit around and waste hours getting the system ready to use? Doesn't that defeat the purpose? I mean, they could hire some dodo and buy a paper cutter and at the very least have this dodo cut the cards for you and rubber-band them. Even that would have been acceptable. But no, these entitled elitists at Mometrix would prefer that  I  run around finding little boxes to put the cards in, like I don't already have enough on my mind.  Way too much drama for a product that is supposed to ease your pain. It's like rubbing salt in a wound.


This company is a rip off with a zillion BBB complaints, and I have a dispute open with PayPal, since I paid through them.


CAVEAT EMPTOR and don't buy anything from this company unless you want to sit around the campfire cutting paper dolls.


This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 02/22/2010 07:19 PM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/Mometrix-LLC/internet/Mometrix-LLC-DO-NOT-ORDER-THEIR-EDUCATIONAL-MATERIALS-unless-you-want-to-waste-hours-a-573418. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Mometrix LLC

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
0Author 3Consumer 0Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 General Comment

my review of the response from mometrix

AUTHOR: annonymous - (United States of America)


I googled mometrix reviews and this website "Ripoff Report"  is the site that caught my eye.  I have used "Ripoff Report" on numerous occasions when I have bought something or wanted to get consumer knowledge about a product.

I have always found the website to be extremely helpful because it not only allows the consumer to claim what they believe to be true but also allows the proprietor to offer their honest views.

This said, I have cut and pasted the most important part of your response to the consumer that would make or break my decision to purchase your product and that stood out to best prepresent who you are and what you are about:

....."we feel a student would not be ordering flashcards in the first place if they did not plan to put forth effort in their preparation for their exam".

This statement from your business suggests that you really don't know why you sell your product, or what your consumers are looking for and why they would come to you with their business and their needs.  That was disrespectful to your customer base and a reaction I would expect from a business that does not support its product or the customer.

I have used courses in the past to help prepare for certification and registry in my field and now I am looking to further my education again and researching products to aid in my study. 

If this is truly how you feel that the students who purchase your product buy it because they don't plan to put the effort into their preparation for their exam then you should put it in writing on your website and see how your sales go from there.

NEWS FLASH: Students purchase products to help them prepare, add more indepth value to what they feel they need to know and want to know.  To increase their knowledge base.  To help not only to pass the exam but to be more confident in their decisions after they pass. 

I will be sure to remember the name of your business "NO- Mometrix" and if anyone asks me if I ever used them I will remember how you treated your customer and what you think of your customers.

To the customer who filed this complaint I would recommend Kettering.  You will always be treated as a valuable customer.

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 UPDATE Employee

Look Beyond the Wrapper

AUTHOR: Mometrix - (United States of America)

We at Mometrix do our best to produce study materials that will help students perform well on their exam.  We are sorry you were disappointed that our products are perforated, and had you contacted us you would have been welcome to take advantage of our generous refund policy.  We feel it's a bit unfair to label our company as a "ripoff" when you did not first contact us to seek a resolution for your problem.  As to your specific issues:



Many flashcard products are delivered perforated. The lower cost of perforation vs. cutting allows us to invest that extra money into product development, hiring writers of high caliber to develop the most relevant material for helping a student prepare for their exam.  It also allows us pass along savings on shipping to customers as the perforated product takes up substantially less volume.

We have found the most effective method for using the flashcards as outlined in the sheet included in the flashcard package. This does require a bit of effort on the part of the student, but we feel a student would not be ordering flashcards in the first place if they did not plan to put forth effort in preparation for their exam. The amount of time spent preparing the materials is minimal. The method of utilizing the flashcards as outlined would be effective, regardless of how the cards arrived.

If you would like to be diligent in your preparation for your exam, our flashcards are a good fit. If you have a limited amount of time to study and prefer a quick read with the most essential information, our study guides might be a better fit.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#3 UPDATE Employee

Look Beyond the Wrapper

AUTHOR: Mometrix - (United States of America)

We at Mometrix do our best to produce study materials that will help students perform well on their exam.  We are sorry you were disappointed that our products are perforated, and had you contacted us you would have been welcome to take advantage of our generous refund policy.  We feel it's a bit unfair to label our company as a "ripoff" when you did not first contact us to seek a resolution for your problem.  As to your specific issues:



Many flashcard products are delivered perforated. The lower cost of perforation vs. cutting allows us to invest that extra money into product development, hiring writers of high caliber to develop the most relevant material for helping a student prepare for their exam.  It also allows us pass along savings on shipping to customers as the perforated product takes up substantially less volume.

We have found the most effective method for using the flashcards as outlined in the sheet that is included in the package. This does require a bit of effort on the part of the student, but we feel a student would not be ordering flashcards in the first place if they did not plan to put forth effort in their preparation for their exam. The amount of time spent preparing the materials is minimal. The method of utilizing the flashcards as outlined would be effective, regardless of how the cards arrived.

If you would like to be diligent in your preparation for your exam, our flashcards are a good fit. If you have a limited amount of time to study and prefer a quick read with the most essential information, our study guides might be a better fit.
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.



Ripoff Report Legal Directory