ED Magedson – Founder
Moving Management4 South San Francisco St. Flagstaff, Arizona United States of America
I would like to take this opportunity to discuss our recent interaction with Moving Management. I have decided to address this directly with your company as Moving Management is unreasonable to communicate in this matter. I will do my best not to take too much or your time, but feel this is necessary to bring to your attention as well as the Better Business Bureau. I hope we can remedy this in a timely manner. When my Husband contacted Moving Management, Thom was responsive, knowledgeable and built confidence whereas we decided to contract with them. All was going well until we suggested they move the date of the pickup due to weather. The response we received was as follows: there would be an additional charge of $1300, the movers are accustomed to moving in the snow, therefore is no need for the time adjustment for the sake of their company. Since it felt like all they wanted was more money and there was no real concern for their employees or our belongings we didnt dare even suggest delivering earlier. The movers where scheduled to be at the house at 7 am. They never called to get directions and because Thom had been there we didnt think it was necessary to make sure they knew where they were going. It was close to 9 when we got the first call that they were running late and should be there before 9, then they called saying they were lost, and finally showed up well after 10 (close to 11). The driver did a walk through looking at the additional special items, to make sure we were all on the same page. We let him know that we decided not to take one of them, the shed (which had been discussed with Thom earlier in the week). The loading commenced and seemed to go well. Then two thirds through the loading the driver said that he would not take the pool table because it was not crated. This was unexpected, since the original paperwork never required that it was to be crated. The quote only said broken down by others. We decided to have it broken down by a different company. If the driver had an issue it should have been addressed before the loading began not after we had no choice. They required us to sign a waiver for the Pool table shipment without being crated, releasing them from liability. Since the other option was not take it, we had no choice but to sign this make shift waiver. On the behalf of the loaders they did a great job packing our belongings with care. The driver left our belongings in Flagstaff and went home to Phoenix; this would not have been an issue if the snow storm they were so accustomed to working in wasnt already upon us. The highway was shut down and he could not get back to our belongings, this pushed them to the tail end of the estimated delivery date, which we accepted, since it was in the contract. Prior to our belongings being picked up, we sent pictures of the driveway of the new house and were assured that there will be no problem getting up it. Of course they had a clause in the contract stating there is an additional fee for a shuttle service if it is necessary. In addition to this we also showed the driver the pictures of the delivery drive on the day of pick up and he felt that it would be necessary to and suggested that they shuttle with a four wheel drive pick-up. Once again, we were told they would deliver first thing Monday morning. It again was mid morning before the driver called, needing directions, being over 45 minutes away. When they got to our road they were having trouble putting the chains on the tires (odd for those who are accustomed to the snow) and decided to go get a rental for the shuttle service. The main office called stating that since it was getting late it may be necessary to take two days to off load, which we accepted; not really having any other choice. The movers came to the drive which we spent over $500 clearing for them; and said since the rental truck that had bald tires he wouldnt go up the drive. Furthermore, we had no issues getting up the driveway with any of our vehicles. At this point it is almost 1pm. We then had to argue with the main office at Moving Management, since if they would have just packed up and delivered earlier this wouldnt be an issue. They were not only rude but truly made it our problem not theirs, even going as far as stating they wish they can control the weather but they cant. This all being said after we gave them a viable solution not to have these issues. We were required to find a storage facility that had available space or store it with the local Atlas site again more money to the company. I feel that the driver made this to be our only option because he had another load he had to deliver and didnt want to be late for that one. The reason why I have this opinion is because as previously stated he was planning on a shuttle with a four wheel drive vehicle and due to his untimely planning it was getting late, then showed up with a vehicle that he knew with the type of tires it had he couldnt finish the job. Now to the off loading of our belongings; the care that was taken to ensure safe travel was obviously gone. They balanced large objects on small, slicing the leather theater chairs with razor knives taking off the shrink wrap, and stacking them on top of each other breaking them. Boxes labeled fragile were upside down and had heavy boxes on top crushing them. The list can go on and on. All this was because he needed to get on to his next shipment. We then had to rent a vehicle, pay for the storage and gas to move our belongings, odd since that is what we paid over $5000 for this company to do this move. In addition they never told us the load weight or removed the additional fee for the special item we removed which they estimated at 400 pounds. All in all this has been the worse experience I have had with any company. I am requesting that I am refunded 20% ($1024.00) of the cost of service due to the above issues. I can provide all the documentation showing that we were trying to assist them in making this a smooth move and their comments in return.
His Response to BBB is as Follows:
This message is in regard to your complaint submitted on 2/11/2010 8:44:44 AM against Moving Management. After careful review, Better Business Bureau has determined that your correspondence is unclear, does not name any specific company, or does not contain enough information to determine what company the complaint is against. If you wish to pursue this matter further, please resubmit your correspondence with more specific information. Regards, Clarissa Ingram Your Better Business Bureau Business Response:
This first portion of this response is directed to the staff at the Better Business Bureau:
The customer filing this complaint was contracted with and serviced under a Bill of Lading with Atlas Van Lines. While I am a representative for Atlas Van Lines in the Flagstaff market, the contract was not with my company, Moving Management, but with Atlas Van Lines. Please remove the lodged complaint from my company profile.
I can address what I understand to be the stated complaints of thhe Vasquezes but due to the poor English, I am at a disadvantage in fully understanding what they have written. It appears there are five complaints: 1. The issue of the pool table not being properly serviced and prepped for shipping. As the owner of Moving Management, the individual who did the on-site walk-thru of the home with Mr. Vasquez and the company representative who wrote the service contract, I can unequivocably state that I discussed the need for the pool table to be disassembled and for the slate pieces to be crated. I have the email that I sent to Mr. Vasquez along with our quote where I specifically address their pool table. I noted that if we had the origin servicing of the pool table that there was a related charge of $546.00. Mr. Vasquez stated he would take care of this item himself as he knew someone in the area that could handle the required servicing. On the day of loading, the Driver found the table disassembled but the slate pieces were not crated. As a professional mover, I could not allow the slate to be moved unsecured. The Vasquezes did not want to pay for the slate pieces to be crated so as a compromise, we agreed to move the slate with a signed statement from them alliviating us of any liability in the event the slate was damaged due to it not being properly crated. 2. The Vasquezes had inquired prior to their scheduled load date of 1/19/2010 if we would want to load their household goods earlier such as the weekend prior of 1/16, 1/17 or 1/18. I responded in an emil that we could do this if this was their preference but as that weekend was a holiday weekend (MLK Holiday) there would be Overtime Loading rates. Mr. Vasquez replied back that he was just attempting to give us some flexibility to load at origin in Flagstaff as a large snow storm would be in the area on 1/19/2010. I stated in a reply email that we were confident, given that Mr. Vasquez would clear his property of snow and ice, that there would be no issue of getting him loaded as scheduled on 1/19/2010. Even with the snow storm, we had the shipment loaded and on the truck as scheduled on 1/19/2010. There was never a discussion of changing the contracted delivery dates. 3. Delivery of the shipment was contracted between 1/22/2010 - 1/25/2010. Due to the large storm system moving across the southwest and the overall poor road conditions, the interstates were closed. We as a company do not have the authority to order either the state nor federal government to let us pass. Due to the closures, the delivery that was scheduled for 1/22/2010 had to be delayed. Delivery was made on 1/25/2010. 4. There was discussion of a possible Shuttle Service at delivery. Based on pictures that the Vasquezes provided, I did state that it did not appear that a Shuttle would be required. I also stated in my response to the Vasquezes, in an email (copy of which I have), I clearly stated, "...As long as the road is clear and accessible to a tractor/trailer there should be no problem." On the day of delivery, the driver could not get neither his tractor/trailer or the Shuttle to the destination address. The driver actually did secure a Shuttle and made the attempt. Based on the inaccessible delivery address, we explained to the shipper that their shipment would have to be delivered to another location: either a mini-storage or to our local storage facility. The Vasquezes selected delivery to be made to a mini-storage. We have no control of weather or road conditions. If a delivery site is inaccessible, the customer is responsible to either make it accessible or make different delivery arrangements. 5. As to the claim of "sliced" chairs, crushed boxes, etc. at the time of delivery... the Vasquezes were requested to inspect their items at the time of delivery. They signed a statement that they had in fact inspected all of their goods and that no damage was discovered. I hope this addresses the stated concerns. I see no basis for any of the complaints as we fully met our contractual obligations, did not charge anything over the contracted amount and have signed documentation as to there being no damage to their items at the time we made delivery. Thank you, Thom Moffitt
This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 02/23/2010 10:45 AM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/Moving-Management/Flagstaff-Arizona-86001/Moving-Management-Altas-Van-Lines-Misrepresentation-poor-customer-service-indifferent-573673. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.
Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.
If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:Search Tips
In order to assure the best results in your search:
Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.