• Report: #779530

Complaint Review: My Alarm Center

  • Submitted: Wed, September 21, 2011
  • Updated: Fri, September 23, 2011

  • Reported By: annoyed — USA
My Alarm Center
1400 N. Providence Road suite 3055 Media, Pennsylvania United States of America

My Alarm Center they refuse to let customers go, no matter how bad they treat you Media, Pennsylvania

*Author of original report: response from 'My Alarm Center', example of deceptive practices

*Consumer Comment: Your generally better off

*UPDATE Employee: A message from My Alarm Center

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

This is my opinion, and may not be 100% correct, I'll try to be brief, already wasted hours with them on the phone and I'd rather not waste anyone else's on their account.

My Alarm Center purchases contracts from alarm companies, and so you may have been sold to them without even realizing it.  Also, try to go with another company- opps, they sell it to My Alarm Center also- my advice, don't do an alarm contract- there are companies that don't require contracts and provide great service.

Our contract was cleverly disguised as a credit card authorization, reading the small print on the back reveals its a contract. 0.o ouch

They will say nice things, but heed this advice: do not believe anything they say- in fact, don't bother talking with them at all; get it in writing. The moment I refused to hear them and demanded things in writing- they stopped calling me.

Once they stop calling you, expect threats of lawsuits if you don't keep paying them for not providing any service. (contract never states they have to provide you Alarm Service, its just you agreeing to pay them for nothing).

Also, do not believe them if they say "so sorry about that, our mistake, we'll get it taken care of"; you will instead keep receiving bills for a service you cancelled, and they will no honor any verbal agreements, you have to hold another reps hand and walk them through the situation- they agree its taken care of but will refuse to put it in writing and just leave you talking with another rep in a couple of months.

Overall, a terrible experience and I really hope this alert prevents others from falling for it as well.

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 09/21/2011 12:28 PM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/My-Alarm-Center/Media-Pennsylvania-19063/My-Alarm-Center-they-refuse-to-let-customers-go-no-matter-how-bad-they-treat-you-Media-779530. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on My Alarm Center

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
1Author 2Consumer 0Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 Author of original report

response from 'My Alarm Center', example of deceptive practices

AUTHOR: annoyed - (USA)

The following is my opinion based off of experiences with them, it may contain incorrect information, i recommend you read any contracts from them to verify anything I say.

Lets look at this response and point out what type of a company this is:
"confusion over your monitoring agreement" - because of course, i'm just confused (sarcasm); don't expect anything else from them but to be treated nice, but ultimately like you're just confused; I mean logically, if you go with them, you must have had a lapse in judgement- so they do have a valid point looking down on customers.

"Contracts are utilized by most companies in this industry" implies that they must have contracts for this same reason, but alas, its an attempt to deceive. The contracts I have read from them are not 2 way agreements.
" because it holds alarm companies accountable for providing the services they guarantee in the contract" that's great, too bad you didn't say "My Alarm Center uses contracts this way", but I guess since contracts I saw from them had no guarantees, this statement could be considered shady but valid.

"The contract works as a binding agreement to ensure that customers receive the specified services they have been promised and that they pay their dues in a timely manner. " Wow, I wish it worked that way also, to ensure I get the services I paid for, but nope, contracts I read don't say they are required to provide anything. I paid my dues on time for 5 months and still had no service.


Bottom Line, 'My Alarm Center' is not customer oriented.
Read their contracts, Read their contracts, Read their contracts.

 I was disgusted with the part in one contract they sent me that said I would be giving them permission to enter my home whenever they deemed necessary to either remove the unit I owned or make the unit so it can't work with any other company but theirs. Even though its my unit that I own, they wanted me to agree to give them free access to my house whenever, and to make my property only usable to them. AND that they had the right to damage my unit and wouldn't be required to compensate me for it.

I know, if people read their contracts and took it seriously- they would be out of business.

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 Consumer Comment

Your generally better off

AUTHOR: mr rik - (USA)

just taking a burglary hit.  It should be cheaper in the long run.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#3 UPDATE Employee

A message from My Alarm Center

AUTHOR: My Alarm Center - (United States of America)

This is an official response from My Alarm Center. Please accept our apology for any inconvenience or confusion over your monitoring agreement.

Contracts are utilized by most companies in this industry because it holds alarm companies accountable for providing the services they guarantee in the contract. The contract works as a binding agreement to ensure that customers receive the specified services they have been promised and that they pay their dues in a timely manner.

We work hard to keep our customers satisfied and do our best to be flexible in certain circumstances, whether a customer is moving or having financial difficulties. That being said, we offer monthly contracts for customers who have met their original contract terms and wish to modify their new agreement.  

Again, we apologize for any inconvenience and hope you understand the benefits of having an agreement with My Alarm Center. Our friendly Customer Care representatives are available to assist you with any questions or concerns you may have Monday through Friday 8am-8pm EST at 866-484-4800.
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
X