• Report: #6215

Complaint Review: Noble House Jewelers

Thank You

Read how Ripoff Report saves consumers millions.

  • Submitted: Fri, August 17, 2001
  • Updated: Tue, November 23, 2004

  • Reported By:Lee's Summit MO
Noble House Jewelers
7540 West 119th Street Overland Park, Kansas U.S.A.

Noble House Jewelers Rips Off Consumers with BAD return policy

*Consumer Comment: Other Side Of The Story

*Consumer Comment: Very Respectable Owner and Staff

*Consumer Comment: Nothing But GOOD Experinces

*Consumer Comment: Obviously a fake response. A lot of stores, not just jewelry stores, don't return layaway money.

*Consumer Comment: TO ZOE, I CAME ACROSS THIS SITE AS I AM SHOPING FRO WEDDING RINGS.

*Consumer Comment: Word of Mouth goes a long way along with the Internet

*UPDATE Employee: I would like to resolve this with you...

*Consumer Comment: Long Term Customer

*Consumer Comment: Advice to this consumer

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

Recently my wife put down a deposit of $100.00 on a $500.00 bracelet in layaway. Unfortunately, due to downsizing in corporate america, we found the need for these funds for basic living expenses.

When I went into the store I was advised by the manager he would be able to offer an in store credit or extend the amount of time we had to pay off the piece of jewelry. I advised him this was not what I believed was fair and was informed of his policy. I assume it has to do with someones commission and the pure greed of the store.

To complicate matters, my wife was going to purchase the bracelet in memory of her mother who was killed in an automobile accident in July. We simply do not have funds for basic living expenses and are awaiting an unemployment claim I have filed with the state. As most of you know, dealing with the government takes time.

My wife was working part-time, but has been placed on medical leave as she was hospitalized due to mental health issues arising from the loss of her mother and stress from the loss of our main source of income. Though my wife is now recovering and in outpatient therapy until our insurance runs out at the end of the month, we are also expecting our second child in December and already have a sixteen month old at home.

Call it poor judgment or whatever you like, but I will never do business with Noble House Jewelers in Overland Park Kansas again and will advise others of their policy... I had a television on layaway at Wal Mart - When I went into the store and asked to cancel the layaway the manager was more than happy to cancel the layaway and provide a complete refund.

Rick
Lee Summit, Missouri

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 08/17/2001 12:00 AM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/Noble-House-Jewelers/Overland-Park-Kansas-66212/Noble-House-Jewelers-Rips-Off-Consumers-with-BAD-return-policy-6215. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Noble House Jewelers

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
0Author 9Consumer 0Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 Consumer Comment

Other Side Of The Story

AUTHOR: Cory - (U.S.A.)

Encounter the lay a way problem once in a while. Something like 50-80% of the items put on lay a way get picked up. The rest we never see again. The problen with lay a way is that we pull the merchandise off the shelf, put it in lay a way, 2, 3 months later the customer comes back and says I don't want it anymore. So we get stuck with an item we might have sold to someone else. Normally we refund the lay a way deposit. If a store has a no refund policy and the customer understands the policy, that's the policy.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 Consumer Comment

Very Respectable Owner and Staff

AUTHOR: Jerry - (U.S.A.)

I have been doing business with Zoe since she had a little office in the back of her office to do her jewelry business. This has been about 20 years ago. I have purchased a lot of jewelry from her and I have never had a problem. Anybody that starts from scratch like Zoe did and makes it into the multi-store business as she has done, certainly is not the kind of person that she is being represented to be in some of these responses.

Zoe is a good hearted person and a very respectable business woman. It is very difficult for a person, especially a single lady, to build the kind of business that she has built. I have got to give her a lot of credit because knowing Zoe the way I do, it is very difficult for her to stick to the policy and rules when she knows what the conditions are. I have to agree with one of the previous responses. Rules are made for everybody, and unfortunately, sometimes people get hurt when they are enforced.

As much as I hate to say this to the person that is complaining about Zoe's business practices. If the loss of $100.00 in your financial plan is putting that great a strain on your life, then you had financial problems before you ever went into her store and you had no business spending that kind of money on items that are strictly classified as luxury.

In conclusion of my comment, I am very sorry for the financial position that you are in, but I must take Zoe's side in this matter. By the same token, this could be a wakeup call for you. It could be a lesson in your financial future to tell you that you must put money away for the future to be prepared for the type of situation you are in instead of going out and buying something you cannot afford in the first place.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#3 Consumer Comment

Nothing But GOOD Experinces

AUTHOR: Karen - (U.S.A.)

My husband and I have been doing business with Zoe for over 15 years with nothing but good experiences with her as well as her staff. Everyone is professional and Zoe has
always treated us friendly and professional.

I am sorry the family has had all of these problems but he should have ask to talk to Zoe if he was not satisfied with the managers answer.

As far as the resonance from Zoe, that is not her response, she would not react that way to anyone, I have had business dealings with her other than the jewelry we have purchased from her, and she would never talk that way.

In regards to the girl that will never go to Noble House for her business or her wedding set, she is the one that is loosing out because her $10,000.00 wedding set would have been less and better quality at Noble House than any where else.

Zoe and the Noble House employees are of the highest quality professional people and I am sorry this has happened to soil their good name.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#4 Consumer Comment

Obviously a fake response. A lot of stores, not just jewelry stores, don't return layaway money.

AUTHOR: Angela - (U.S.A.)

Obviously the "response" from Zoe is a fake. First, it is from "an employee with inside information" which does not require any validation of who you are in order to post it. Don't you think if it was really the owner of the store, she would have posted as "owner of the company"? However, that DOES require some sort of validation. Hmmmm. Also, do you really think she would sign off as "satan's jeweler"? Honestly, I can't believe some of you read that and believed that it actually came from the owner of the store.

Now, in response to the original complaint: I'm sorry that you're going through a tough time, but that doesn't mean that the rules no longer apply to you. I'm sure the "no refund" policy at this store is not a secret. A lot of stores, not just jewelry stores, don't return layaway money. When you place something on layaway, you have agreed to purchase the item and the store has every right to assume that you will pay the balance and take the merchandise. They take the item off the floor and lose any other potential customer who might be interested in purchasing the item. If you had paid for the bracelet in full and had already taken it home, would you have expected to store to take it back and refund your money because now you need it for something else? Like it or not, stores are in the business of selling things, not "holding" them for potential customers.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#5 Consumer Comment

TO ZOE, I CAME ACROSS THIS SITE AS I AM SHOPING FRO WEDDING RINGS.

AUTHOR: MONICA - (U.S.A.)

I BEGAN READING WITH MUCH INTEREST IN THE PROBLEM THAT THE COUPLE WAS HAVING WITH GETTING THEIR $100.00 BACK FROM NOBLE HOUSE. I AGREE THAT HE SHOULD HAVE READ THE "FINE PRINT" REGARDING THEIR LAY AWAY POLICY AND I FEEL THAT RULES OF A BUSINESS, ARE JUST THAT, RULES OR POLICIES.

I AM TOTALLY SHOCKED AT THE RESPONSE FROM ZOE, IF IN FACT THIS WAS REALLY HER RESPONSE TO THIS CUSTOMER! IF THIS IS THE CASE, SHE IS THE MOST UNPROFESSIONAL PERSON ON THE PLANET!

DO YOU ACTUALLY THINK YOU ARE FUNNY TELLING SOMEONE THEY CAN COME MOW YOUR FORTY ACRES WHEN, IF TRUE, HE IS IN A CRISIS IN HIS LIFE?

YOU ARE PATHETIC AND I WONDER WHY ANYONE WOULD EVER WANT TO STEP FOOT ON YOUR DOOR.

I DO THINK YOUR ADS ARE "CHEESY" ANYWAYS, IT DOES IN FACT REMIND ME OF THE GOLD BOOTHS AT THE MALL.

PLEASE, INVEST SOME MONEY IN CUSTOMER RELATIONS CLASSES.

I WILL NOT BE SHOPPING AT THIS STORE AND I, TOO, WILL NOT RECCOMEND YOU TO ANYONE.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#6 Consumer Comment

Word of Mouth goes a long way along with the Internet

AUTHOR: Tiffhanie - (U.S.A.)

My boyfriend and I were looking for an upscale jewelry store to purchase our wedding set. When I heard about this site, I am truly discusted with what Zoe wrote as her responce to this customer. Word of Mouth goes a long way, and reaches alot of people. I will never purchase ANY item from Noble House, Thanks Zoe for helping me in my dicision as to where I won't buy my $10,000.00 wedding set. I will also give this information to everyone I come in contact with to let them know...Noble House is not a "Quality" company to shop at!! If this is how Zoe treats her customers I will not ever give her my money. You have no class or compassion. Zoe you must have really needed that $100.00 to get your hair, and nails done. That's what "FAKE" blonds do. (Did that go over your head)?? You are a discrace!!!!!
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#7 UPDATE Employee

I would like to resolve this with you...

AUTHOR: Zoe - (U.S.A.)

I'm so sorry to hear of your loss. Had this been brought to my attention I would have given you the oppurtunity to plea your case.

In the past when faced with a similiar situation I have given refunds to individuals if they provide certain paperwork or proof of an unfortunate event such as a death or loss of job.

In your case I would suggest you provide a copy of a death certificate or a picture of the tombstone. If you would like to use your unemployment for your excuse. I suggest you pull your bosses shoe out of your a*s and bring it to my store along with your original receipt.

If you are unable to provide these things I will let you pay your lay-away off with food stamps or by mowing my 40 acre lawn weekly for 5 years.

Either way we decide to take care of this I want to make sure that you will remain a Noble House customer for many years to come. I have built my business on situations like this and need people like you to make it in a very competitive market place.

Please feel free to stop by any of my stores to speak to my slaves anytime.

With all good wishes, I remain

Yours truly, Zoe "satans jeweler"
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#8 Consumer Comment

Long Term Customer

AUTHOR: Janet - (U.S.A.)

To Whom It May Concern,

I was shocked to read your comments about Noble House Jewelry. I have been a Noble House Jewelry shopper for more than a decade. There is no better jewelry store to purchase fine quality jewelry at a very reasonable cost.

If I had a "beef" with the company I would have asked to visit with the owner, Zoe. My questions to you are:

1. Why didn't you identify yourself on your complaint?
2. Did you ask to speak to the owner for resolution?
3. Didn't you read the agreement you signed when you put your item into layaway?

I have personally put many many items in layaway, knowing what the rules were. This is one way that you get such terrific buys at Noble House. If everyone that put something on layaway, came back and wanted their money back... the costs would be passed on to the rest of us customers. And I personally like my great buys!

Please sign this.

The Queen of Layaways!
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#9 Consumer Comment

Advice to this consumer

AUTHOR: Suzanne - (U.S.A.)

I have been doing business with Zoe and Nobel House for over 10 years.



While I agree that there are always extreme circumstances to some situations, the staff at Nobel House always has made it very clear that no refunds will be given. The policy is posted at the store and also on your receipts that are given.



It's a very sad situtation that this person is in, however, a suggestion might be to take the store credit, and when things improve, get the bracelet made or give a gift certificate to someone that can use it at the store.



If they made an exception to one person, they would have to make it for many. When dealing with an upscale jeweler like Nobel House, I'm not sure how someone can compare it with Wal-Mart.



I've dealt with other jewelers in town before discovering Nobel House and none compare....and most, if not all have no refund policies.



I suggest to this consumer that next time, before placing deposits down, ask about the refund policy before you decide to buy, it will save time and frustration.



And just an added note, Zoe has told me herself that her employees are not paid on commission. It makes the buying experience there much more enjoyable than going to a mall jeweler and being "hounded" by every sales associate in the store. So, again, greed and commission had nothing to do with this. It is simply a policy and one that should be followed for every consumer.



I have no problem if my name is used for this response.
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.