• Report: #876751

Complaint Review: OneGuard Home Warranties

Thank You

Read how Ripoff Report saves consumers millions.

  • Submitted: Tue, May 01, 2012
  • Updated: Wed, August 01, 2012

  • Reported By: VN — Arlington Texas United States of America
OneGuard Home Warranties
2325 West Utopia Rd Phoenix, Arizona United States of America

OneGuard Home Warranties One Guard Refuse to fix AC Phoenix, Arizona

*UPDATE Employee: OneGuard response

*UPDATE Employee: One Guard Response for VN

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

One Guard sold me a Warranty Policy on my home with an additional fee for coverage for Unknown Pre-existing Conditions. They never sent anyone to inspect the home.

Once we filed a claim, they denied it because it is a Pre-existing Condition. The same thing I bought extra coverage for. 

After months of going back and forth, they made it seem like they were going to replace our AC unit if we would have some additional work done at our expense. We did so and they still denied the claim.

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 05/01/2012 03:13 PM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/OneGuard-Home-Warranties/Phoenix-Arizona-85027/OneGuard-Home-Warranties-One-Guard-Refuse-to-fix-AC-Phoenix-Arizona-876751. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on OneGuard Home Warranties

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
0Author 2Consumer 0Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 UPDATE Employee

OneGuard response

AUTHOR: OneGuard Home Warranties - (USA)

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about the experience you had with OneGuard. We do apologize for any misunderstanding that may have occurred. Our number one priority is to provide an excellent customer experience and exceed all of our customers expectations.

Although your home warranty started just 5 days before this initial air conditioning claim was filed, we went ahead and sent out for service to diagnosis the problem you were experiencing. The technician informed us that there was a leak in the evaporative coil. The coil was badly rusted and not repairable.  It would have taken much longer than 5 days for the coil to be in this condition, as rust just doesnt occur overnight. You also disclosed to us that you had your own contractor out to your home a month prior to the effective date of your home warranty, to add twelve pounds of refrigerant and replace a contactor on your AC unit. This information you provided to us along with the picture we received from the contractor showing the severe amount of rust on the coil, indicates this was a known problem prior to the effective date of your OneGuard Home Warranty policy.

We never stated we would be replacing the AC unit if additional work was completed at your expense. This information has been validated after management reviewed 27 recorded phone conversations between you and our representatives.

Of course, sometimes we do make mistakes and when recognized we act quickly to rectify the problem to restore your confidence. We did in fact do that when you were misinformed about the cleaning of your coil. OneGuard did reimburse you $200 for your out of pocket cost to clean your coil. That being said, we have informed you that the rusted coil will need to be replaced, repair receipts sent in to us, in order for there to be future coverage for this item by your home warranty.

The intention of the home warranty is to cover mechanical breakdowns that occur due to normal wear-and-tear, after the effective date. The optional coverage you selected for Unknown Pre-Existing Conditions, is to provide coverage so long as the mechanical failure was a result of normal wear-and-tear and the breakdown would not have been detectable by a simple visual inspection and /or by operating the system or appliance. An inspection is not required.

We review all facts and circumstances regarding any claim that comes into our office. Before a claim is ever denied, we have three levels that review the details in order to validate the denial. OneGuard reviews all facts and circumstances regarding any denial and will always act with prudence and according to our contractual obligations.

Sincerely,

OneGuard

Home Warranties

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 UPDATE Employee

One Guard Response for VN

AUTHOR: OneGuard Home Warranties - (USA)

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about the experience you had with OneGuard. We do apologize for any misunderstanding that may have occurred. Our number one priority is to provide an excellent customer experience and exceed all of our customers expectations.  

Although your home warranty started just 5 days before this initial air conditioning claim was filed, we went ahead and sent out for service to diagnosis the problem you were experiencing. The technician informed us that there was a leak in the evaporative coil. The coil was badly rusted and not repairable.  It would have taken much longer than 5 days for the coil to be in this condition, as rust just doesnt occur overnight. You also disclosed to us that you had your own contractor out to your home a month prior to the effective date of your home warranty, to add twelve pounds of refrigerant and replace a contactor on your AC unit. This information you provided to us along with the picture we received from the contractor showing the severe amount of rust on the coil, indicates this was a known problem prior to the effective date of your OneGuard Home Warranty policy. 

We never stated we would be replacing the AC unit if additional work was completed at your expense. This information has been validated after management reviewed 27 recorded phone conversations between you and our representatives.

Of course, sometimes we do make mistakes and when recognized we act quickly to rectify the problem to restore your confidence. We did in fact do that when you were misinformed about the cleaning of your coil. OneGuard did reimburse you $200 for your out of pocket cost to clean your coil. That being said, we have informed you that the rusted coil will need to be replaced, repair receipts sent in to us, in order for there to be future coverage for this item by your home warranty. 

The intention of the home warranty is to cover mechanical breakdowns that occur due to normal wear-and-tear, after the effective date. The optional coverage you selected for Unknown Pre-Existing Conditions, is to provide coverage so long as the mechanical failure was a result of normal wear-and-tear and the breakdown would not have been detectable by a simple visual inspection and /or by operating the system or appliance. An inspection is not required. 

We review all facts and circumstances regarding any claim that comes into our office. Before a claim is ever denied, we have three levels that review the details in order to validate the denial. OneGuard reviews all facts and circumstances regarding any denial and will always act with prudence and according to our contractual obligations. 

Sincerely,

OneGuard Home Warranties

Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.



Ripoff Report Legal Directory