• Report: #730745

Complaint Review: Ontario Ventilation Company

Thank You

Read how Ripoff Report saves consumers millions.

  • Submitted: Wed, May 18, 2011
  • Updated: Wed, August 17, 2011

  • Reported By: Ripped — Niagara Falls Ontario United States of America
Ontario Ventilation Company
715B Exeter Road London, Ontario United States of America

Ontario Ventilation Company ONTARIO VENTILIATON SCAMS LITTLE OLD LADIES!!! London, Ontario

*Consumer Comment: Ontario Ventilation confirms no-refund policy

*UPDATE Employee: RESPONSE

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

This company showed up at my mother-in-law's door claiming to be from the government and saying that they needed to inspect her furnace. She's 88 years old, and is frightened if anyone says they're from a government agency because she wants to make sure she complies with any laws. The person who entered her home examined her furnace and told her she needs to spend $400 to repair it. They set an appointment for tomorrow. When she told us, we contacted the company right away to tell them to cancel the appointment and to remove the $400 charge from her credit card. They refused to do so. They said that she signed a contract (which she did not) and that they would not return her money. We have told her that she is not to open her door for them when they come tomorrow, and we have contacted the local police in case she needs to call them. It is appalling that these people prey on little old ladies and that they refuse to obey the law (you have 10 days to cancel a contract you signed in your home -- but she did not even sign one!). The owner of the company was rude, belligerent and insisted that he would not refund the money even though the service has never been performed. BEWARE OF THESE DISGUSTING PEOPLE. WARN YOUR ELDERLY PARENTS ABOUT THEM! We will be filing complaints with the BBB and Consumer and Corp Affairs, as well as with the local police. We are also contacting our lawyer...who just happens to be my father.

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 05/18/2011 02:00 PM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/Ontario-Ventilation-Company/London-Ontario-N6E-1L3/Ontario-Ventilation-Company-ONTARIO-VENTILIATON-SCAMS-LITTLE-OLD-LADIES-London-Ontari-730745. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Ontario Ventilation Company

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
0Author 2Consumer 0Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 Consumer Comment

Ontario Ventilation confirms no-refund policy

AUTHOR: Ripped off in NF - (United States of America)

Thank you, Jonah, for confirming that your company refuses to refund payments for your company's services even when those services are not performed. I reiterate the points in my original report:

a.    The company requires FULL PAYMENT as the so-called deposit for their truck. Their truck was immediately  scheduled  to be at my Mother-in-Law's home the next day, and was cancelled within an hour of  her signing the work agreement. Obviously, the truck is not so fully booked as he leads on.

b.   In Canada any LEGAL contract signed in the home can be withdrawn without penalty for 10 days. No company can create an agreement that allows citizens to over-ride those rights, although Ontario Ventilation tries to do so. Their illegal agreement is now in the hands of the Ontario corporate affairs office;

c.     The company is also being investigated for false and misleading practices as a result of their claims to be acting on behalf of the Ontario government;

d.    The company is not an accredited member of the BBB and when approached by the BBB they say they will return the consumers money, but they do not follow through;

e.    The company is owned by Troy Van Dyck who has already been charged with fraud for other scams he has run. One bilked people out of millions of dollars; http://www.londontopic.ca/article.php?artid=8173

f.     The company to this day continues its same predatory practices.

Jonah, it's very telling that you turned your rebuttal into a sales pitch rather than offer to return my mother-in-laws money.

While the company reported to BBB that theyd be happy to refund my mother-in-laws deposit, they have not done so. They insist they cannot because we filed a complaint with the credit card company. They claim that if they were to refund it now, we would receive two refunds. This is patently false, and Ontario Ventilation knows it. Among the many complaints filed about them are several for agreement to refund deposits, but never following up.

I am forwarding this rebuttal to our lawyer as confirmation that the company continues to refuse to refund "deposits" (which are the total cost of service) in violation of Ontario contract law.

I urge everyone who has an elderly parent notify them of this company and its practices. 

And I thank Jonah for reinforcing my contention that the company adamantly refuses refunds although Ontario Contract Law provides a 10-day period for cancellations without penalty.

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 UPDATE Employee

RESPONSE

AUTHOR: Ontario Ventilation Company - (Canada)

My name is Jonah, and I work for the Ontario Ventilation
Company.

I would like to shed light on the allegations that have been
brought up in this article. The main objections the customer had with us were;
sales tactics, refund of deposit, and the size of our company. I would like to
talk a little bit about all three of these objections and provide our side of
the information.

SALES TACTICS: We first contact potential clients by phone.
We have a script that each employee must follow, simply stating: We are in the
area providing furnace and ventilation inspections. We are provided all our
calling lists from CAN PAGES, and scrub all our lists with the Do Not Call
list.

An inspector then greets the customer with full photo
identification and begins the inspection. If the inspector finds dirt, mould,
or mildew in the customers ventilation system, a furnace and duct cleaning is
recommended. Our base price for ventilation cleaning is $599.00, but discounts
can be taken off the price. We give seasonal discounts, same area discounts,
senior discounts, and various other discounts.

REFUND OF DEPOSIT: 
Once the ventilation cleaning has been scheduled, we require a deposit
to book the truck. The deposit is given to book a tentative spot on the truck,
for the cleaning to take place. If the customer backs out of the cleaning
without adequate notice, we lose the ability to book that spot. The deposit is
a preventative measure we put in place to stop this loss of money due to lack of
notice of cancellations.

SIZE OF COMPANY: The Ontario Ventilation Company has been in
business for 5 years and has done everything in our power to make sure that
customer satisfaction is #1. We strive to make the customers 100% satisfied in
every cleaning we do. We have a limited number of employees, but have an
abundant amount of love and dedication that goes into every cleaning.  The biggest sign we are not just some fly-by-night
company, is that we accept all major credits. Fly-by-night companies cannot accept
visa Master card or American express. Our company is also TSSA certified, which
means we can do maintenance /replace furnaces and air conditioning units, small
fly by night companies have no authority to do such work

In conclusion, I am hurt to hear that one of our customers
was so unsatisfied with our work that he felt the need to write a slanderous
comment on the internet.  Out of the
6,800 customers we have had in the past 3 years, only 16 complaints have been
filed with the Better Business Bureau. That is a complaint percentage of less
than .002%. 

I would like to invite anyone that needs their ventilation
system inspected, or anyone that needs a duct cleaning from us in the future,
feel free to contact the office and set up an appointment with us.

Sincerely,

Jonah Mattson

Ontario Ventilation Company 

Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
Wal-Mart.com USA, LLC

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.



Ripoff Report Legal Directory