• Report: #1061284

Complaint Review: Optimal Stack

Thank You

Read how Ripoff Report saves consumers millions.

  • Submitted: Sat, June 22, 2013
  • Updated: Sat, June 22, 2013

  • Reported By: JessicaLW — Seattle Washington
Optimal Stack
6330 North Washington Street Denver, Colorado USA

Optimal Stack Optimal Stack Free Trial is a Scam

*Consumer Comment: Optimal stack scam

*UPDATE Employee: Optimal Stack Customer Care

*General Comment: Laws...

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

My husband placed an order using my bank account for a "free two week trial" of these pills through an ad in Men's Health magazine. The ad indicated there would be a 2 week sample pack shipped to him and they would only charge him for shipping. There was nothing in the ad that said anything about the normal cost of the pills or that anything that would be charged to the account afterwards.

This morning I checked my account balance and there was a strange charge for $87 that I did not authorize. I first called my bank and explained my suspicions, and they assured me that since I did not authorize the charge I could file a report for fraud as soon as the charge finished pending on Monday.

My husband called the company, hoping to calmy work out a solution. He has barely used his pills and offered to send them back for a full refund, which I now see on the website that he is 100% legally allowed to do. Really, all the customer service department had to do was either explain WHY we were being charged $87 or agree to the refund that they are legally obligated to give us since it has been far less than 30 days since he ordered them.

My husband was totally calm and polite, and I could hear the customer service rep being rude to him over the phone. I then took the phone and told him that since it was MY bank account and I did not authorize the charge, that I could dispute it with the bank, which I know is a huge hassle for both the bank and the company. I didn't want to do that! I was hoping that they would just give us the refund in exchange for us sending the pills back... you know, like their website says they will!

The customer service rep was INCREDIBLY rude to me, told me my husband was irresponsible, "dared" me to march to Washington, DC and change the laws (still have no idea what laws he is referring to...are there supplement laws?) and basically lectured me....for what, I'm still not sure! He refused to give me his name and refused to put me in touch with his supervisor. He claimed he could refund us half the $87 "out of the goodness of his heart." Bullshit!

Needless to say, a fraud report is in progress with my bank and I am reporting this company to every rip off site imaginable.  I am a professional writer and will also be using my SEO knowledge to make sure anyone who Googles this company sees who they really are. It's one thing to be shady and hide things under fine print. It's another thing to entirely misrepresent your "deal" in a magazine ad and be completely disrespectful- and illegal- on the phone.

I have no idea if the dumb pills work or not. My husband barely had them long enough to try them, and now I will see to it that he ships them back, because I'm not out to rip anyone off, unlike Optimal Stack. But in my opinion, if your product works, you wouldn't have to scam people to make a profit. Just something to consider if you're tempted to order these.


This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 06/22/2013 02:01 PM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/Optimal-Stack/Denver-Colorado-80216/Optimal-Stack-Optimal-Stack-Free-Trial-is-a-Scam-1061284. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Optimal Stack

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
0Author 3Consumer 0Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 Consumer Comment

Optimal stack scam

AUTHOR: The judge - ()

There has been a great deal said in defense of optimal stack. I would like to say simply that I have no idea if the polls are a good product. I can say that I just bought some and I do feel like I was scammed. I found them on the internet and felt compelled to get a free trial that it said some lucky people might get. It said it was a new product and they wanted to spread the word and made the free trial sound like a big deal and I fell for it. When I ordered I found out I had to pay 4.95 shipping. That is why people give their credit card information. It seems legit to pay less than 5 bucks shipping for great free product. Later, much later....I realize I was billed 90 bucks and will continue to be if I don't cancel. Why did I not find that out before I ordered? Why did I not realize these details? The answer is because they hid it from me and didn't make it clear. Why would they do that? Because they knew that I would not pay 90 bucks for a little bottle. They knew I would pass immediately if I knew the real deal so they misrepresented it and tricked me. You can defend them if you want to. They can defend themselves if they want to. You can tell me how every detail was laid out and its the customers fault for not reading it carefully. What a load of garbage. I'm sure what they did is legal down to the letter but it is trickery. They make the good sound so good and hide the bad deep in the fine print that few people search through carefully. They broke no law but its still not ethical. If people knew what the charges would be almost nobody would bother with it and you people know that. It is sad that we must be so skeptical of everything. It is sad that we must learn not to trust anything or anybody. It is sad that anything that looks to good to be true usually is. You people can't tell me how reputable you are and honest and concerned. you're goal is to get people's money and do it legally so they can't stop it in time. Tell it like you need to. Make it sound good. leave out the real truth but bury it in fine print so legally your covered. I know what your up to and so do you!

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 UPDATE Employee

Optimal Stack Customer Care

AUTHOR: Customer Service - ()

Optimal Stack is dedicated to an extremely high standard of customer care and we are committed to wholly resolving any and all concerns that our customers may have about their purchase.  Our commitment to providing the highest quality service possible is reflected in the following policies:

- A 30-day money back guarantee.  If you’re not satisfied with the product for any reason at all, simply let us know and we’ll issue you a full refund.  No questions asked.


- A free 14-day trial.  We give our customers a generous trial period with the product so they’re able to try it before purchasing it.  Again, if for any reason at all you’re not satisfied, please contact customer service and we’ll cancel your account to ensure that you’re charged nothing further.

Please note that while this is a free trial, it is not a free sample.  It wouldn’t be viable for us to send out thousands and thousands of free bottles every month, but we can offer a trial period on the product so there’s no risk for our customers and they have ample opportunity to try it to see if it’s right for them.  A large majority of our customers who take advantage of this free trial go on to take Optimal Stack month after month and they do so because they experience results.  It works.

These results are a reality of Optimal Stack’s key ingredients: a proprietary blend of Taurine, Beta Alanine, Caffeine, Arginine, and Alpha-Ketoglutarate that was designed to boost stamina, strength, intensity, energy, and focus.


Our corporate mailing address:

Optimal Stack
6330 North Washington Street #8
Denver, CO 80216


Our website:

http://www.optimalstack.com


And lastly, please call us.  1-866-330-2928.  Our customer care department is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, and we want to hear from you.

Thank you for your time, thank you for your interest in Optimal Stack, and we look forward to helping you achieve your fitness goals.

Best Regards,

Optimal Stack, Corporate

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#3 General Comment

Laws...

AUTHOR: Tyg - ()

 The law the rep may have been referencing is about contract law. You have a "2 week trial". But your time doesnt start when you recieve the product, but when you first ordered it. As it can take up to a week to get the merchandise, you are already down a week when they arrive. That being said, the fine print states that you have to opt out BEFORE the 2 weeks are over. If you do not opt out of the trial period then you agree that they can bill you for X amount X times. You may not be able to dispute these charges with the bank. If this company chooses to fight this, all they have to show is that you DID NOT opt out of the trial period. That means you get locked into a contract that pretty much takes your cash. Im sure if you check thier website carefully you will find in thier T&C that very same wording. It is understandable how frustrated you must feel in this situation, but you got hit by the most common form of scam. They counted on the fact that you wouldnt READ about what your responsabilities were as the consumer.

Youre best bet is to cancel that account and card and reopen a new one. This may also backfire on you as they can and will take this debt to collections. If you cancel your account you MAY be hit with a ETF. Given the level of fraud on the consumers part, you can expect them to fight you on this. I would suggest that you try and work with them to see if there is ANY wiggle room in your contract.

Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.



Ripoff Report Legal Directory