• Report: #821498

Complaint Review: Painted Hills Ranch

Thank You

Read how Ripoff Report saves consumers millions.

  • Submitted: Wed, January 11, 2012
  • Updated: Fri, January 27, 2012

  • Reported By: cinnamongirl75 — Washington United States of America
Painted Hills Ranch
41235 Baptist Church Dr. Lebanon, Oregon United States of America

Painted Hills Ranch Painted Hills Ranch - Julie Ulm Review Lebanon, Oregon

*Consumer Comment: Good service from Painted Hills Ranch

*REBUTTAL Owner of company: PHR saddle sale

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

 Painted Hills Ranch Review

I purchased a beautiful barrel saddle from Julie in December 2011, I received my barrel saddle not as described & saddle did not match what was pictured on her website. I paid $800 cash for this saddle.
I received the saddle on a Friday and had her call me on Saturday morning and let her know what the saddle was missing and She admitted she was in a rush to get the saddle out the door, shipped and overlooked everything.
Julie did say she would make it right and wanted me to be happy with the saddle purchase, so I thought great this will turn out good.

she sent the wrong stirrups, no stirrup hobbles and no off-billet, after contacting her she promised to send me all those items to me and I would gladly ship the leather stirrups that she sent with the saddle back to her with a tracking number.
I also had to pay for a repair to the saddle that she already knew about and did not disclose to me before or during the sale but only after I asked her about it (have receipt)

When I contacted Julie on January 4th, 2012 to ask her where the 3 items where she could not remember everything we talked about so I had to remind her know what was missing & about the stirrups. [continued below]....
.....
Julie instantly copped an attitude with me and became rude which I could not understand why and felt her attitude was WAY out of line and her customer service could definitely use a lot of tuning up. I also asked if I would be refunded the shipping on the leather stirrups since she admitted to this mistake as her fault because she rushed out the door and did not check the saddle before it shipped (as the saddle was not as described).

However she said no at first and then said I will refund you $5 and thats all your getting, the attitude I was getting was unbelievable and told Julie that I LOVE the saddle but that I just wanted the saddle that was pictured on her website and thats it! I did not call to complain or return the saddle but thought it was only fair that she could soak up the shipping costs of her mistake.

I text Julie for pics of the items she was going to send me, Julie said she had already boxed everything up and sent the items with a friend of hers to drop off at the post office and that I would be pleased with the Stirrups, Stirrup hobbles and off-billet (which described was a latigo strap)

I was wrong......I put the leather stirrups in the mail (sent USPS) on January 4th, 2012 WITH a tracking number and since its about a 2 day wait for mail I figured I would receive those 3 items quickly, but after I text Julie on Saturday January 7, 2012 about the items she was supposed to ship, she told me that she has not had the time to make a phone call to her friend whom she gave the items to to ship to me and doesn't know if they have been shipped out yet.

On January 10th 2012 and asked again where the 3 items were and if she had a tracking number, she said she was not at home but in Portland and was sure my 3 items would arrive to me before she got home from Portland?
I FINALLY received my items January 11th and those w3 items were not shipped out until Monday January 9th NOT Friday January 6th as I was told (in text).

I text Julie after receiving my items on January 11, 2012 of her not telling me about the changes she said the changes were made looooooooong b4 you bought it, I simply didnt realize that the pics were different
I was NEVER at any point notified of changes on or to the saddle at ANY point in time during the sale process.

Items received were a pair of rawhide stirrups filthy and chunked up with mud, an off-billet for a back cinch and 2 mis-matched stirrup hobbles.

I made it a point to keep all my texts and receipts with ALL the transactions I have done with Julie and truly wish that this transaction had gone smoother.

Poor, poor business management.
Lesson learned here for me and I hope that if there is anyone else out there thinking of doing business with her to think twice, cause once she gets your money your not worth the time to her.
Greed is a terrible thing, what happened to customer service and being polite?

Julie Ulm
www.paintedhillsranch.net
http://www.paintedhillsranch.net/sale_barn.htm
http://www.paintedhillsranch.net/tack_shop.htm

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 01/11/2012 09:35 PM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/Painted-Hills-Ranch/Lebanon-Oregon-97355/Painted-Hills-Ranch-Painted-Hills-Ranch-Julie-Ulm-Review-Lebanon-Oregon-821498. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Painted Hills Ranch

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
0Author 1Consumer 1Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 Consumer Comment

Good service from Painted Hills Ranch

AUTHOR: Iowafarmgal - ()

After reading the initial complaint on this post I feel obliged to share my experience regarding Ms. Julie Ulm and her company "Painted HIlls Ranch". I initially contacted her about a saddle she had advertised. in addition to the posted pictures she gave me a detailed description of the saddles condition. She was quite open in telling me that the saddle was missing a back cinch and a breast collar. After discussing price, shipping, etc. we agreed on the full purchase price. I sent. Ms. Ulm a check, she waited until the check cleared (which is good business practice) and she contacted me to let me know the saddle would be shipped.

I received a USPS tracking number and was very surprised when my saddle arrived 2 days later. The saddle exceeded our expectations. It's condition was excellent. It was immaculate, the leather was in superb condition and I found nothing amiss. It had been packed carefully with ample material to protect and absorb any shock. I am very pleased with the service of Painted Hills Ranch and based on this experience would highly recommend them to anyone considering the purchase of a saddle From them.

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 REBUTTAL Owner of company

PHR saddle sale

AUTHOR: Juli - (United States of America)

Im going to start out by stating that I have a 14 day return policy on the saddles I sell. So, if this woman had been as dissatisfied as she claims to be she should have returned the saddle for a FULL REFUND.  BUT she didnt! so this claim is outrageously false and I can't figure out why she is doing it. And if any of you were on the receiving end of this type of appalling behavior you would feel just as I do. I encourage you to go to my website and read my return policy. You will scratch your head on this complaint.  She was never treated rudely- and as far as delayed shipping? would you consider  9 days from the receipt of the first shipment to receipt of the final shipment unreasonable?  Everything I sent her was clean. however USED- because I only sell used tack. The saddle is exactly as is pictured- the pictures she posted on this site are of the saddle when it was at my place- did you notice she failed to post pictures of the "not as described saddle" she claims she received? nope! the logical reason is....becuz it looked exactly like it did in the pictures when she received it. and any pictures she posts now would be after she has used it for weeks- so anything could have happened to it since then, correct? no repairs were needed and it was in no way unsafe- the "repair bill" she had done was a buyers personal preference change and not becuz the saddle was in any way unsafe.....if any of this womans claims were the truth she would have returned the saddle- wouldnt you? I find this complaint sad and pathetic. she is filing on literally every complaint forum she can find... over what? 5.00 hobble straps and a little debrie on the foot pedals of the replacement stirrups she was sent.  The original stirrups were beautifully tooled matching stirrups (100.00) I was happy to receive them in place of the rawhide stirrups she wanted (25.00) she didnt want the factory nylon off billet that it was pictured with....she wanted leather so i sent one to her at no additional charge. She was told it was used as well. I have been in business for over 25 years and this is the only complaint to be found....I rest my case. 
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.



Ripoff Report Legal Directory