• Report: #1086607

Complaint Review: Real Property Management Pros

  • Submitted: Mon, September 23, 2013
  • Updated: Mon, September 23, 2013

  • Reported By: Linda — DeRidder Louisiana
Real Property Management Pros
6518 Old Carolina Road Haymarket, Virginia USA

Real Property Management Pros RPM Breach of Contract...no periodic inspections like contract states Haymarket Virginia

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

I hired this company in December 2011 to manage my property in Haymarket, Virginia since I live in Germany.  The contract was signed and ratified.  Each month I paid 8% of my rent money collected.  The account manager was great, but then she left the company and no one let me know she had left.  I didn't even have a contact name of her replacement.  

Per the contract, I am to have periodic inspections of my property inside and out and the first account manager sent me an email in December to introduce herself and provide me a copy of the ratified contract and to let me know she had been in touch with my tenants and scheduled a walk-thru.  In July 2012, I receive an email stating my tenants are in compliance with the lease, no discrepancies found.  Seven months later!

In September/October 2012 I received a letter regarding numerous HOA violations and informed the "new" account manager which he did nothing. [continued below]....

.....  I had to take care of the HOA violations which were in error myself.  I was charged $50 for a violation which to this day don't know what is for.  

When stom Sandy hit in October 2012, my home was damaged.  I reached out to my tenant and found that for three days the management company had been notified and was handling the situation.  Not sure how they were handling the situation because not one person contacted me to alert me that my home was damaged. 

I was never notified by the management company that my home was damaged and I called the manager of the maintenance department and he stated he had a contractor they used and would reach out to him for an inspection. 

I contacted my insurance company because it involved some expensive repairs.  I told the manager of maintenance that I was waiting for my insurance company to get back to me and he told the contractor who then upped his repair price by 3.  A $1400-1700 repair now was changed to $3300 and more.  Nothing was done when I complained to the manager, Patty Young.  She did nothing but say she will have a talk with him.

After many more account managers, my tenants lease was nearing end in April, but they wanted to move in February.  There were not let out of their lease and my house was inspected the day before they left to another state and an inspection was done and pictures taken.  That was all.

My home had massive damage from my tenants dog and children.  Wallpaper was peeled off the walls, screens torn, lineolumn flooring and door frames were chewed up by their dog.  Carpet was bleached in two rooms.  And the list continued on.

The property management company did nothing.  They returned the security and pet deposit to me and left me to fix the house blindly.  

I was left to hire a contractor who was reasonable to repair everything and repaint the entire house.  My home is not a small house.  The house was being shown in the same state my tenants left it in and everyone that saw it was not even interested in renting it due to the damage.  

I had to repair everything within a month before it could be rented and shown.  I did get a contract on my home, however, the property management company kept the broker's fee.  I fought them and they turned over all monies to me and then I fired them.  

I proved to Patty Young that there was not but one inspection on my home and per their contract it states there would be periodic inspections done on the home.  I was even left with a repair from the kitchen flooring that was never collected from the tenants.  Had to fight to get that back, since it was their responsibility to collect it before the tenants left.

I had to send pictures and a lenghty letter to my tenants to recoup the money for the damages the security deposit did not cover.  

All in all, do not use this company.  I even contacted the main company in Utah and spoke to Stacey Brown and had to leave numerous messages.  She responded on one of my calls.  She was no help because I asked to speak to the owner of this company and she said she would contact them.  Still waiting.....

After much debate, Patty Young contacted me on August 5, 2013, I sent her a timeline about all the correspondence between her company and myself and to this day, September 23, 2013, I have not heard from her.  

I am asking for my 8% monthly fee back since they did not "manage" my home and left it in the manner where extensive damage was done by my tenants.  They breeched the contract and refused to help me and use the excuse as "you had a contract when we took over managing your home".  They knew I had a contract and new tenants and accepted the responsibility of managing my home.  

They have several offices and you would think they would be a bit more professional; however, stay away and use someone else.  These people don't have a clue as to what they are doing.  I got more excuses than assistance.

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 09/23/2013 08:30 AM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/Real-Property-Management-Pros/Haymarket-Virginia-20169/Real-Property-Management-Pros-RPM-Breach-of-Contractno-periodic-inspections-like-contr-1086607. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Real Property Management Pros

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?