• Report: #546513

Complaint Review: SMARTAUTOWARRANTY - CARCHEX

  • Submitted: Mon, December 28, 2009
  • Updated: Tue, March 23, 2010

  • Reported By: Irv — Burleson Texas United States of America
SMARTAUTOWARRANTY - CARCHEX
10950 Gilroy Road, Suite D Hunt Valley, Maryland United States of America

SMARTAUTOWARRANTY - CARCHEX Carchex RIPOFF, DECEPTIVE BUSINESS PRACTICES, EXTREMELY POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE Hunt Valley, Maryland

*UPDATE Employee: Response from Company

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

I purchased an extended warranty from smartautowarranty.com sometime in September 2007.  This was suppose to give me 90,000 additional miles of coverage on my 2003 Honda Accord Coupe.  As stated in the contract my transmission is covered.  My transmission just went out and I had my vehicle towed to a Honda dealership to get it repaired.  When the dealership called the claims department they were given reasons why the repair may not be covered and the determination needs to be made by tearing down the transmission to see exactly what caused it to fail.  


They (Smartautowarranty) gave us a bunch of things that cause the repair to "not" be covered.  Here are the problems:



Problem 1 - None of this is in the contract nor was it explained at time of purchase. NO ONE would buy this if they explained it or had it in their contract.



Problem 2 - If they tear down my transmission and find that it's not a covered repair, I'm still left with the bill for the tear down.  ONCE AGAIN, NO ONE would buy this if it was in the contract.



Problem 3 - It's a dice roll not a warranty because they require too much work to be done on the car (which is your call) before they authorize the repair.  So after you (the consumer) have a part torn down to see what bolt is out of place, you are left with the labor for that if the repair is not covered. 



As of right now December 28, 2009 6:54 pm I'm still waiting on a phone call from or to be able to speak to the manager since Thursday December 24 2009.  I'm so lucky that I keep getting the same two people from the claims department and the customer service department, yea right.  My next course of action is to hire an attorney and sew.  This is a ripoff and no one should have to go through this again.  Please do yourself a favor request the contract in advance and tape record conversations about your contract if you have to for any of these companies.  Based on my experience with smartautowarranty/Carchex I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND DOING BUSINESS WITH THEM.

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 12/28/2009 06:02 PM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/SMARTAUTOWARRANTY-CARCHEX/Hunt-Valley-Maryland-21031/SMARTAUTOWARRANTY-CARCHEX-Carchex-RIPOFF-DECEPTIVE-BUSINESS-PRACTICES-EXTREMELY-POOR-546513. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on SMARTAUTOWARRANTY - CARCHEX

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
0Author 1Consumer 0Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 UPDATE Employee

Response from Company

AUTHOR: Ben - (U.S.A.)

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to this customer's posting. It is important to understand that sales organizations maintain no authority or discretion in the adjudication of claims. That responsibility rests with the Administrator of the contract. Similarly, if you buy insurance through your Allstate sales agent, Allstate is the entity approving and paying insurance claims, not the agent.

Each Administrator's contract contains specific Terms and Conditions which outline exactly what is covered by the contract as well as other important items such as claim procedures. We strongly recommend to all consumers to request and review the service contract information thoroughly prior to and after purchase so that they may get a clear understanding of the covered components associated with their purchase as well as familiarize themselves with the company backing the contract. At CARCHEX all contracts in their entirety are available for consumers to review prior to purchase and we proudly offer a 100% 30-day Money Back Guarantee and the highest quality products backed by top tier administrators and insurance carriers.

While we attempt to make every customer happy with their purchase, inevitably there are some instances in which a customer may be dissatisfied with the result of a claim. In all cases, we are available to work on behalf of consumers to help determine validity of any denial. CARCHEX is Accredited by the Better Business Bureau and has earned an A+ rating by delivery a high level of service for the better part of a decade. If you have any questions you may contact our customer service department directly. We look forward to the opportunity to serve future consumers thru our consultative sales process.

Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
X