• Report: #696580

Complaint Review: Sears Holding Corporation

Thank You

Read how Ripoff Report saves consumers millions.

  • Submitted: Thu, February 17, 2011
  • Updated: Thu, February 17, 2011

  • Reported By: Rob — Lexington Massachusetts United States of America
Sears Holding Corporation
3333 Beverly Road, Hoffman Estates, IL 60179 Burlington, Massachusetts United States of America

Sears Holding Corporation SEARS Failed installation of TV, with negligence, not rectified - but payment taken in full. Burlington, Massachusetts

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

I paid over $300 to Sears for the installation of a TV.  The TV and the wall mount were also purchased at Sears.  I booked it on the phone, and they said the installation would include 3 addtional devices, including speakers, as well as the bundling of all wires from the units.

When the installation was done, the TV was at an angle, they said it would cost an additional $80 for the speaker installation, 2 holes were drilled into the wall by mistake, the TV mount adjustment was forcibly stripped by their power tools (which left the mount unadjustable), the installers took the tools that came with the wall mount, and they never bundled the wires as agreed.  When asked, the installers said that this issues should be fixed on our own.

Payment was taken in full on Dec 14th, and to date, with numerous calls to Sears, there has been no rectification of this problem.  I will include the email trail below.

-----Original Message-----From: (((REDACTED))) Sent: Sunday, February 06, 2011 8:06 PMTo: 'Sears Feedback'Subject: Response to SEARS - Complaint (KMM15204459I15977L0KM)

Dear Joan W.,  

Thank you for your email.  I would respectfully request that you read my email below and specifically respond to the 2 requests that I make.   Quite honestly, I'm not sure how to take your message below.  Perhaps I've misread it, but my complaint below details the series of problems, lack of communication and non-existent response to the installation team I've been trying to contact (on 1-800-326-8738) since mid-December.   I'm I to really understand that your recommendation is precisely to call the number, 1-800-326-8738, again?  As far as I can tell, your proposed action is effectively to say "call back".  I specifically wrote to you that, "To date I have no substantive response from the escalation team. I have called on Dec 15, 26, 30, Jan 3, Jan 24 and today, Feb 2. Payment was taken on Dec 14.".  

I'm not sure if perhaps you didn't actually read the email, or if you are providing me with some kind of generic answer, but how can this litany of failed responses be met with a recommendation to simply call this number during the specified hours?   I would like 2 things in response to my query. 

Firstly, I would like action on your part to insist that the installation team does its job (with communication from you about what steps you took), and secondly, I would like some financial compensation for the massive inconvenience and time this has caused me for a considerable period.   On one of my many calls, I was promised a $25 dollar gift certificate for the acknowledged inconvenience, and despite the fact that this is an unreasonably low, and relatively ungenerous, offer in my opinion, it never even came.    

If a customer pays over $300 dollars to mount a TV, it is reasonable to expect that it is done without the numerous, and quite outrageous mistakes.  As a reminder, these mistakes included leaving two holes drilled into our wall, stripping the TV mount we bought at Sears (rendering the mount impossible to adjust), and actually taking with them the tools that came with the TV mount we bought.  If the installation team ("escalated" on Dec 15th, no less) cannot come up with even a simple response to this customer after 2 months, than surely you would agree that this is far below the standard that any Sears customer should expect, and sure this client would be due a fair level of financial compensation.   

I look forward to your specific response to my 2 requests.  

Thank you very much,  

Rob    

-----Original Message----- From: Sears Feedback [mailto:Feedback@customerservice.sears.com] Sent: Friday, February 04, 2011 2:16 PM To: Wilkinson Jr, Robert H Subject: RE: Page Feedback - Complaint (KMM15204459I15977L0KM)  

Dear Mr. Wilkinson,  

Thank you for contacting Sears.  We appreciate hearing from you.   We apologize for the frustrating experience you have had regarding installation of your TV.   For assistance with or any information regarding your installation, please call 1-800-326-8738 Monday through Friday 7:30 am to 11 pm est., Saturday 8 am to 10 pm est. and Sunday 10 am to 9 pm est. Our national installation department will be able to assist you and will be able to answer any other questions you have about your installation.  

Once again, we apologize for the installation issues you have experienced and we thank you for choosing Sears.  We appreciate your business.  

Sincerely,      

Joan W.  
Customer Solutions   Sears Holdings Corporation  

Original Message Follows: ------------------------
 
Dear Michael,  

Thank you for your reply.  Frankly, I was hoping for steps to be taken to resolve my problem, not simply an acknowledgement that you received my complaint with interest.   What actions are you planning that will resolve this problem?  

Best wishes,  

Rob  

From: Sears Feedback [mailto:Feedback@customerservice.sears.com] Sent: Thursday, February 03, 2011 9:56 AM To: (((REDACTED))) Subject: Re: Page Feedback - Complaint (KMM15185766I15977L0KM)    

Dear Valued Sears Customer,  

Thank you for your recent correspondence. We are always interested in hearing from our customers, and regret it was this type of situation that prompted you to contact us. Please accept our apology for any inconvenience you may have encountered.   By sharing your concerns, you have enabled us to address the issues and provide feedback to the appropriate person. Truly, your remarks provide forthright feedback that will enable Sears to achieve excellence in everything we do.  

Once again, thank you for contacting us.  

Sincerely,   Michael F.  
800-469-4663   Sears Holdings Corporation      

Original Message Follows: ------------------------ [https://secure.opinionlab.com/ootoolkit/images/OpinionLab-logo.gif]   Sears.com Page Feedback   02/02/11 2:30 PM to 02/02/11 2:45 PM     [2] 02/02/11 2:32 PM   http://www.sears.com/ (from (((R4EDACTED)))I am extremely disappointed with the service I have received in relation to the installation of a TV I bought at Sears. The poor workmanship of the installation was appalling, but the follow up from Sears, including the escalation team, has been even worse. I have been complaining since the beginning of December 2010 (because the installers left holes in our walls, the TV is crooked, they stripped the screws with power tools so it cannot be adjusted, they took the tools from the TV mount we also bought from Sears, etc).. To date I have no substantive response from the escalation team. Apparently Sharon is my case manager (case 312367). I have called on Dec 15, 26, 30, Jan 3, Jan 24 and today, Feb 2. Payment was taken on Dec 14. My parents and I have been lifelong Sears customers, but now I may ask family and friends to stop going. I'm an avid blogger on consumer websites and generally Sears has been pretty good, but this has been the worst consumer support I've even had.  CLICK here to see why Rip-off Report, as a matter of policy, deleted either a phone number, link or e-mail address from this Report.

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 02/17/2011 10:11 AM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/Sears-Holding-Corporation/Burlington-Massachusetts-01803/Sears-Holding-Corporation-SEARS-Failed-installation-of-TV-with-negligence-not-rectified-696580. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Sears Holding Corporation

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.



Ripoff Report Legal Directory