• Report: #1066255

Complaint Review: Shopper Local

Thank You

Read how Ripoff Report saves consumers millions.

  • Submitted: Thu, July 11, 2013
  • Updated: Mon, July 15, 2013

  • Reported By: auscam — Montpelier Virginia
Shopper Local
2222 Sedwick Rd # 102 Durham, NC 27713 Durham, North Carolina USA

Shopper Local Register Tape Network Blackmailing crooks Durham North Carolina

*Author of original report: Still having issues with company

*REBUTTAL Owner of company: I am having issues now

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

I have never heard of this company before and the only reason for this report is because I started to get random invoices for services that I was not interested in the first place so I tossed them in the trash.  I don't even run a business so I have no need for business advertising anyways and left it at that.  About 2 months later this same company hacked into my bank account and stole over $350 from me which also over drafted my account.  I called the bank that day and was told it was fraud and filled out all the required paper work requested by the bank. 

 

The bank refunded my money and all the over drafting frees within a couple of days and had also blocked this company from hacking into my account anymore.  Everything at this point was back on track and I put all of this stress behind me.  About 4 weeks later I get a letter from an unknown source and no return address and decide to open it just to see what it was.  To my surprise the company who hacked my bank account had sent the letter and was trying to invoice me for the money they stole from my bank account 4 weeks before, but that’s only half of the problem.  I had noticed another letter behind the invoice claiming if I don't pay up they will report it to the credit people which they claim will forever trash my credit report and then call their lawyer to take more legal actions against me. 

I decided to contact the Better Business Bureau and file a report against them for the scam they are trying to pull on me.  About 2 days later I get a response from the company claiming they are not a scam and require a signature on all advertising contracts and asked if I signed up for register tape advertising.  I have never heard of such in the first place and responded that information with no success.  They sent another response the next day and told me "Well ok I will send you a copy of your contract have a great day" and nothing else was said in that response.

A few days later I login to my personal email and to my surprise this company somehow had sent me an email with the subject "shopper local contract" which at this point has me filling like they are hacking my whole life because I never gave them my personal email in the Better Business Bureau when I filed the report.  When I open the email after scanning it for a computer virus a picture file loads and above text that says "contract is set to auto renew you need to call to cancel.  When I look at the image file I notice that it is a contract from a company called RTN and not Shopper local as they claim to be and to my surprise they have every number I can think of that is tied to my bank account which has me wonder how they can get such information in the first place.

I look further and see that someone has signed my name on the bottom of the contract to make it look real in everything, but I notice off the bat that they completely spelled my name wrong and it even looks like a girl singed my name because of the style of writing used and looks nothing like my signature at all.  I emailed them back and said to cancel this I am not interested in any of your products or services and no email response back since.  They continued to send invoices everyday sometimes more than one all with different amounts, but with return addresses.  The last 2 invoices I got I did not even open instead I sent them back with a post-it note saying return to sender refused. 

I haven’t heard from them in a couple of days and just want to let the whole world know about these Blackmailing Crooks who try to scam normal people into believing they owe the money for something that they did not even start it just does not add up and I am one person who is not falling for their pyramid scheme and you should not fall for it either.


This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 07/11/2013 12:46 PM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/Shopper-Local-/Durham-North-Carolina-27713/Shopper-Local-Register-Tape-Network-Blackmailing-crooks-Durham-North-Carolina-1066255. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Shopper Local

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
1Author 0Consumer 1Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 Author of original report

Still having issues with company

AUTHOR: l4repair - ()

I am glad to come across your post as well it sounds like they are nothing more than a big scam company, their harassment continues every day and now they send multiple invoices with different amounts with different company names and from Texas now instead of North Carolina.  When I call them they keep telling me a have advertising account with them and need to pay up all my charges.  They keep on saying that I am doing nothing more than scamming them out of the money I owe them.

First off I do not know who any of these companies are and second off I do not even run a business and third off I never signed any contracts with them or anyone for that fact as I am, just a college student and have nothing that requires any contracts not even my pre-paid phone so I know its fraud, but they continue to try hacking my bank account and keep telling me they will report all this debt to the credit people which they claim will destroy my report which is total BS!  

Stay clear of this company if they try to contact you in any way they just scam people into believing they have an account and owe money and when they know you know it’s a scam they try scare tactics to make you pay and when that is not enough they tell you how Shooper Local is the Parent company of RTN, AD Cart and all these other BS companies you have never heard of before all to convince you that you owe the money and I know better than to fall for that.  These people are crooks using high tech ways to hack and scam people out of hundreds if not thousands of dollars so stay clear you have been warned!

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 REBUTTAL Owner of company

I am having issues now

AUTHOR: Smalll Buisness - ()

 Glad I found this post....I am currently having an issue with this company. I myself have not heard of this company but decided to utilize them since we were just starting our buisness. I was contacted out of nowhere by a gentlemen regarding advertising with a local market here in Florida and we agreed to meet with him. He explained the system to us as best possible and showed us proof of what they offer so we decided we should try it. We signed a contract and made our fisrt payment. Two weeks later I get a call that we had not given them our artwork when indeed this was not true. I PERSNALLY gave the gentlemen our card alond with what we wanted on the ad and he took it and told us that he would personally be given it into the office and on 7/14/2013 he would take the receipts himself to install into the stores register for 7/15/2013. When this time cam around

I received another call asking us about the artwork again so I resubmitted the information and was told that we run no later than 7/29/2013. Mind you I have an email from the comapny telling this aswell. Well it is now almost the end of August 2013 and Ive visited the store a few times and not once did our advertisment come up. I questioned then store and at first was told that the shipment had not arrived. Then they proceeded to ask me if I needed a coupon from the receipt. I then told them no I was the owner of a company set to advertise with them and the lady went flushed. She then told me that her particular register did not have the tape but the other ones did.

I have now spoken to a few peopleand was told that I was given the wrong information by the sales person and the store and that it would be looked into. I then get a call telling me that the tape was shipped later than the date promised the second time and the tape had been sitting somewhere in the store. When I asked her for a copy se told me that she believed that the tape with our stuff was not loaded and most likely sitting somewhere in the store.

Also nw Im told I have a different rep. An once that person got back from being out of town he would go and handle the issue. So in the mean time I have been charged for two months and havent received the service I signed up for....

 

                  

 

Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.



Ripoff Report Legal Directory