• Report: #447076

Complaint Review: Sleepy's

Thank You

Read how Ripoff Report saves consumers millions.

  • Submitted: Tue, April 28, 2009
  • Updated: Wed, December 01, 2010

  • Reported By:Egg Harbor Township New Jersey
Sleepy's
4215 Black Horse Pike Suite 220 Mays Landing, New Jersey U.S.A.

Sleepy's - Kingsdown Mattress Warranty, exchange fee, inspections Mays Landing New Jersey

*Consumer Comment: in response to "they stay in business because of you"

*UPDATE Employee: Please respond back

*Consumer Suggestion: They stay in buisness because of people like you.

*UPDATE Employee: HERE TO ASSIST

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

This is a copy of a letter I wrote on April 23rd to my newspapers Consumer Action department.

On December 22, 2007 my wife and I purchased a Kingsdown Green/Blue labeled king mattress from Sleepy's in Mays Landing. Kingsdown has a Body Diagnostic system at the store that gives you a recommendation on the type of mattress they recommend for your specific body type. We purchased the one they recommended and spent $2,118.57 on the mattress/box spring, frame delivery and set up.

It was delivered on December 24, 2007 and it only took us several days to realize that this was not the right mattress for us. On December 31, 2007, we went back and tested more beds and selected a bed that was firmer (Blue/Red label) and was not originally recommend to us by their Body Diagnostic system. I had to pay a $399.00 exchange fee plus delivery ($79.99) again to get a bed we thought would be comfortable for us. The mattress supposedly was a better quality so I had to pay an additional $1411.31 including the previously mentioned fee and delivery. So I spent a total of $3,529.88 with Sleepy's.

The mattress was fine to begin with but after a while it started to sag. It has indentations or ruts in it where we each sleep. We called Sleepy's and they have now inspected it three times. They keep saying the manufacturer's warranty states that the indentation has to be 1 to be qualified as defective. We had it inspected the first time on August 20, 2008 and then again on February 14, 2009. The indentation increased on one side and on the other side. After a phone call and getting a supervisor on the line, they agreed to inspect it again. They did this on March 19, 2009 and said there is no significant change. The indentations are at 1 on one side and 1 on the other side. It is obvious that this bed is defective. The inspections are done toward the center of the bed where the indentations will not be as big. The first two reports also have the inspector's comments cut off. Why would they do this unless they are trying to hide something?

The indentations on each side where we sleep have created a hump in the middle. This hump is of significant size. Anyone lying on the bed can feel and see this large ridge down the center of the bed. It is quite uncomfortable to sleep on this bed that feels like two valleys on either side of a mountain. I have a bad back and I need a firm mattress. Sleeping on my back, side or stomach is very uncomfortable and I have waked up with my back being sore.

I have tried several times to get Sleepy's to replace the mattress. All I hear on the phone is that it is not considered defective per the manufacturer's warranty so they will not do anything. They have been very arrogant, rude and fast on the phone.

I am very frustrated with this product and believe it should be replaced, delivered and set up at their expense. After going through all my paperwork and the lack of concern on their part, they should also refund me the exchange fee and one delivery charge. Their system recommended a mattress that was not comfortable and has turned out to be defective.

I am turning to you for assistance in this matter. I will wait for your response and based on your input I will decide if this needs to be brought to the attention of the New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs.

I just now (10am, Thursday, 23rd) tried to call and resolve this again prior to sending this letter. I talked with Tiffany who was very rude on the phone. I asked to talk to a supervisor and I was told no one was available right now. I told her I would hold. She said someone will have to call me back. I asked her what department that was and she would not tell me. Then she informed me that I could get another inspection but it will cost me $50.00 because I have already had my two free ones in a year. She said rudely that I should have waited 60 days to have the 2nd inspection this year. I was never told in the past that there was only so many inspection allowed in a year and a supervisor recommended for me to have it done the last time. I guess the supervisor just wanted to get me off the phone. I am in sales and it just amazes me that a company like this can stay in business with such a consistently rude phone support people. There is a new surprise every time I talk to someone at customer service. After this last call, I would really just like to give them the product back and get a refund and not have to deal with this company ever again.

Bill
Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey
U.S.A.

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 04/28/2009 06:59 AM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/Sleepys/Mays-Landing-New-Jersey-08234/Sleepys-Kingsdown-Mattress-Warranty-exchange-fee-inspections-Mays-Landing-New-Jersey-447076. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Sleepy's

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
0Author 4Consumer 0Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 Consumer Comment

in response to "they stay in business because of you"

AUTHOR: Noname - (U.S.A.)

The kingsdown mattresses that are delivered to consumers are not the same mattresses exhibited in the stores. Don't disparage the victims: no doubt they DID try the mattresses and believed these were comfortable. My husband and I were very impressed with the mattress we tried in the store but we are wary because of all the complaints. Having said that, it seems that most every mattress has its critics. It's very hard to know which one will hold up and which won't.

In this case though, it really does seem that too many kingsdown mattresses fail prematurely. I would advise the original poster to file a complaint with his state consumer protection agency and also to file a small claims complaint. Sleepy's should be accomodating people who make complaints without forcing them to resort such measures. Sending inspectors whose sole purpose is to deny warranty coverage shows bad faith and only strengthens a case seeking refund.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 UPDATE Employee

Please respond back

AUTHOR: Exec. Asst W/sleepy's - (U.S.A.)

Good Morning Bill- My name is Jackie and I work with one of the executives at Sleepy's. It was very disappointing that we have not been able to provide you with a satisfactory resolution. It is my hope you will allow me to get all the facts and give us a chance to rectify the problem. Please contact me at 1-800-SLEEPYS Ext. 2355.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#3 Consumer Suggestion

They stay in buisness because of people like you.

AUTHOR: Inspector - (U.S.A.)

Did you not read the other reports here before you spent $3500+ on a mattress?

Next time don't fall for that "body diagnostic" crap. lay down and if it feels good, buy it. These gimmicks do not make the mattress worth $3500+.

They all seem to have the same problem, sagging, and Sleepy's has not done anything for them. "Here to assist" keeps showing up but, I think that is just for show. After all, why are they now so willing to "assist" when they didn't care before? If you do pull a new mattress (the only solution possible since you cannot repair a mattress) out of their tight little fists, please come back and let us know.

There is a new Sleepy's store opening in my town but, after doing a little research, I won't be buying there. Maybe they were a good store in the past. Another example of a big chain store getting greedy.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#4 UPDATE Employee

HERE TO ASSIST

AUTHOR: Deana - (U.S.A.)

Good morning, my name is Melissa and I am a Customer Relations Representative at Sleepy's LLC It has been brought to our attention that you filed a complaint online and we would like to offer assistance to you. I understand this is a public website and ask that you contact me directly at consumerrelations@sleepys.com and provide your account information so we may further address your situation.

We look forward to hearing from you, so we may expedite resolution to your situation.

Regards,

Melissa
Sleepy's LLC
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.



Ripoff Report Legal Directory
variations