• Report: #171491

Complaint Review: Smc

  • Submitted: Thu, January 12, 2006
  • Updated: Thu, June 21, 2007

  • Reported By:iuka Mississippi
996 Flower Glen Street Simi Valley, California U.S.A.

Smc, Specialty Merchandise Corporation Smc a ripoff they hide behind the bbb to protect them so they wont get in to trouble for what they do to people Simi Valley California

*Consumer Comment: RE: Ripoff of Specialty Merchandising Corporation

*Consumer Comment: SMC Response


*Consumer Suggestion: Hold the Phone a Moment

*Consumer Comment: This whole ripoff nonsense is insane!

*Consumer Comment: Rick - Lake Orion, Michigan are you an idiot or what?

*Consumer Suggestion: all the facts

*Consumer Comment: BBB report says otherwise

*Consumer Comment: Well the BBB Suspended SMC's Membership for FALSE ADVERTISING

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

I read alot of the stories on here and didn't know that smc ripoff so many people. I was one that they done the same thing to. They don't care if anyone makes money as long as they do. The take your money and leave you high and dry. When you see that they have rip you off you comfront them and ask for you money back after they lied to you and took your money. They blame it all on you and tell you that you don't get your money back. They told me I could tell who ever I wanted to and it would do no good that no one would liston to me. I wrote to the bbb and smc sent me a letter telling me like they was god and untouchable they had the bbb on thier side. They sent me email many emails telling me they put a flag on my members website and it was stay thier until I drop my complaint to the bbb. I bought a wedsite from my coach and she lied all about the whole thing and the site was a mess wrong phone # she said it would be done by chirstmas and it wasn't. She never explained nothing about how it worked she said to call her back and she would explian how it worked then. Well I did and smc would not let me talk to her and I told them what a mess the wedsite was they didn't care they said it was my problem not thier thiers. I am still paying on a website I can't even use because I can't order nothing from then until I drop my complaint with bbb. I am real mad and up set for what smc has done to me and lied about all of it. I couldn't never hard ever get ahold of them to talk about the problem. Ever since I become a member I tryed calling them and ever time they ask for my members # over the phone they said I had the wrong members # and wouldn't let me talk to anyone. They try to say I never tryed calling them about nothing but that not true how can you get ahold of smc when they tell you have the wrong members # and hangs up on you ever time. Smc really gets under my skin. I feel they should not get away with all they have done to me and other people they should be something we could all do legaly. We could take our story to news which I thought about doing but it would take more people that would stand up and tell thier story how smc ripped them off to. Around where I live they have a news center called channel 3 on your side that investergates consumer faud. I don't know about you but I think its time for smc to pay for all they have done to some people. The ones that come on here and worshiping smc are one of them and as far as I concern they are not on our side. I don't need no comment from them. I know what smc done to me and their comments don't mean a hill of beans to me. They need to get a life and stop putting thier nose where it don't belong. Oh I forgot they have a great life with smc. They can stay with smc for all I care they just don't need to tell me that I am not telling the truth and smc is so great. What are they afraid of that we will mess up thier great life by talking about thier fine smc. Well if it does will so be it. I want you to know I am here to stay and I am going to keep talking until someone liston and smc pays for what they done to me. So you might as well get use to me you smc fans cause I am here to stay. If they is anyone has any ideas on what we could do to make smc pay for what they done just email me dontagirl@mail.com I open for suggestions. If we sit here and do nothing then they won. I don't want that to happen. Smc fans don't write if you do you not going to like what I say. This is only for ones thats been ripped off by smc not smc fans hope you can read this.

iuka, Mississippi

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 01/12/2006 12:05 PM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/Smc/Simi-Valley-California-93065/Smc-Specialty-Merchandise-Corporation-Smc-a-ripoff-they-hide-behind-the-bbb-to-protect-th-171491. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Smc

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
0Author 9Consumer 0Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 Consumer Comment

RE: Ripoff of Specialty Merchandising Corporation

AUTHOR: Jerry - (U.S.A.)

I joined SMC corporation in February of 2007. I came into this program much like most everyone else who also joins, after watching a television informercial concerning their products and merchandise and knowing absolutely nothing else about the company.

I, too, was under one impression and quickly received another impression of this company shortly after joining for it did appear to me as if they were only interested in me spending money with them, and not in me making any money. However, I liked their product selection, pricing and services.

I quickly realized that this was a business, my business and not their (SMC's) business. They were not responsible for my own success, I was. They provided me with the Business Opportunity for me to go out and work whatever program I desired, but they were not going to get up and do my work for me. That was my responsibility. What I have learned is that many people get into Home Internet Businesses with the idea that once they do this they are going to get rich and do absolutely nothing on their own to make themselves money. But this is not the case.

Before going into any business, the individual doing this must realize that there are business costs and expenses in doing this. Second, the person doing this must have a feel for the products and/or services they wish to offer. Third, they should also have a strong business background (or at the least acquire one) so that they have some idea of how business works. Business, simply put, is all about buying and selling and producing something in exchange. You must be willing to make contact with your potential customers. SMC is not going to do this for you, this is something you must learn to do for yourself.

Now there are many companies in the marketplace that claim to provide you with many services, such as driving customers to your website, etc. Again, you will have to pay for such services, if you decide to use them, however, most who do use these types of services see little in return for their costs. What I am attempting to say here is that I am a very happy Customer, Client and Licensed Distributor for SMC for I already knew that if I was to get into any Home Based Computer Business or any other type of Business I would need to depend upon my own skills, especially Marketing skills if I was to be successful at making money. No one makes money for me, I make my own money by doing the work that is necessary to display, show and sell my own services and products.

SMC has spent millions of dollars in acquiring, manufacturing, shipping and importing excellent quality products and merchandise for me to sell. They are not going to sell these products for me and then pay me for doing absolutely nothing. SMC then spends millions of dollars per year in web page or web store design models which I can or do not have to purchase, my choice and my option. I choose to purchase my own Internet Store and for me it was a good choice. It cost me thousands and thousands of dollars less for me to purchase one from them than it would have cost me to have one designed for me. I happy for the decision and choice I made. But because I now have an eCommerce Web Site does not mean that I make sales over that site simply because I purchased one. It is like a car. If you buy a new car and then let it sit in your driveway, it will not perform the service it was designed to do, which is to drive you around from point A to point B. You must learn to drive it and then you must also drive it. The same with an Internet Home Based Business. You must learn how to use it for what it was designed for.

Yes, you must do something. You must roll up your sleeves and then go to work. SMC is not going to drive you around in your new car, for you. You must then learn how to make your website productive and to drive customers to your site that will then purchase your products and services in exchange for cash. SMC also spends millions of dollars per year, on behalf of their Distributors to print and provide them will top quality catalogs and each of these catalogs do cost money. However, for me to put together a 375 page, full color bleed catalog, featuring over 3,000 items, would be a nightmare. I do not have to print my own catalogs, for this is done for me by SMC and I then can purchase them at a very fair, wholesale price and am more than willing to do this. However, if I purchase 100 Catalogs and then never pass them out or get them into the hands of my potential customers, is that SMC's fault?

No! Once again, this is MY BUSINESS and my CUSTOMER BASE and it does not belong to SMC. I must go to work. I must get up and go to my potential customers and make sure to place a catalog in their hands. This is not SMC's responsibility to do this for me.

SMC has provided me with all of the coaching and all of the tools I need to work with. It is then my responsibility to learn how to use those tools for the purpose they were designed for . . . and those of us who do these things, we reap the benefits and make the money . . . exactly as SMC said we would.

Anyone who has a complaint against a company that has successfully been in business over 60-years, I assure you the problem is with them and not with the company. The person who wrote this letter, obviously does not have a business mind in the first place and regardless of whatever company they would have gone with, they would fail and therefore want to file a complaint. This person needs to take responsibility for the business they went into to do the work required to make a living, the same as if they worked for another employer. We do not make something for nothing. We need to learn how to work the program and then to WORK THE PROGRAM! Does this not make sense?

You may want someone to make money for you, but if you happen to be the employer, before you will be willing to pay the employee to make money for you, they must prove to you that they can do the job you have hired them to do for you in such a way as to make themselves and you the money you are willing to pay them for. We cannot hope to be successful at anything we are not also willing to put the work in, in order to reap the benefits. GO TO WORK. Don't expect anyone to make your money for you, for you have to work for the money you make.

I have now invested almost $50,000 into SMC but I have Trade Shows going, Saturday & Sunday Markets going, have purchased Exhibit Tents, have acquired City Vending Permits, etc., meaning, daily I am out in the marketplace, meeting hundreds and thousands of potential customers and am then driving them to my Website for I have product displays to show them, as well as I sell these products, on the spot, and I give or pass out over a hundred new catalogs each and every day and then follow up on my Website with their email address, sending them information and offers. I am making money because I treat this as a business, my business, and because I do the work required to make myself successful.

I have nothing but praise for SMC, its staff and coaches for they have bent over backwards for me, because I am spending money with them daily, but I do this willingly, for I am selling the products, services and merchandise I am purchasing from them and they are making me money.

SMC is not doing my work for me, I am doing my own work . . . FOR ME.

I hope you can see the error of your way in claiming that SMC is a Ripoff Company.

Sincerely yours,
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 Consumer Comment

SMC Response

AUTHOR: Michael - (U.S.A.)

I clicked on the link to the BBB and found that the company with the Phoenix Arizona address, IS INDEED that of Specialty Merchandise Company. I recently looked them up on BBB.com for myself, yes they have an "A" rating..... on one of their company listings.... I don't know how though. IF you look they have a total of 296 complaints, this year alone. WOW!!!! Somebody is doin' someone!!!! That's sounds like your politicin Kerry Cox!!!!
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#3 Consumer Comment


AUTHOR: Charles - (Saint Kitts and Nevis)

Well I cannot believe the last two posters, first of all
Lauren - Augusta, Georgia wrote

" But they are in the process in the last year of trying to bring the site up to the 21st century. Granted, anything like this is going to be buggy for a period of time. But we got through Y2K with only a few hiccups here and there. I'm sure that SMC will handle whatever bumps show up along the way. "

Smc is trying to bring their web site up to the 21st century, GIVE ME A BREAK - We have been in the 21st century for SIX YEARS now, and Lauren says that they are in the process in the last year.

Lauren wrote " They've added a Community Message Area to the services." This is EVEN WORST than the so called web site that they build

Lauren wrote " This isn't a get rich with no work scheme." Well Lauren, have you seen their commercials, OR AM i JUST HEARING THINGS.

Lauren wrote: " SMC helped me learn the ropes, when I earned enough to expand I added other reliable and steady dropshippers to add to my product line. I'm not interested in selling "just" SMC products and no one is limiting you to do so. "

So they do huh, have you tried adding those products to your SMC web site - RIGHT, if you beg them they will allow you to add 100 products and NO MORE THAN THAT - to YOUR web site, i'm sorry I meant their web site that they sucked over $3000.00 of hard earned from from its member for the old 20th century web sites.

Well Lauren, I'm done

Now it's Rob - Calgary, Alberta turn.

Rob, you should be ashamed of yourself, writing a post without even bothering to read the entire BBB report that was in question - The report clearly states that they are one of the same companies. The SMC PROMOTIONS, INC. is nothing but SMC BOILER ROOM of scum bags and Bottom Mud Feeders who SUCK the last few pennies away from any indigent person.

4041 N. Central Avenue, #B100
Phoenix, AZ 85012


This company also does business as:
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#4 Consumer Suggestion

Hold the Phone a Moment

AUTHOR: Rob - (Canada)

Hold On! Before all of you blow a gasket. . .
make certain you are talking about the same company.

I did some checking with the BBB regarding SMC and came across the suspension notice. The company named in that suspension is listed as
SMC PROMOTIONS, INC. located in Phoenix.

The link on that page seems to be correct but the name and company address are all different from SMC you're all going nuts about. Note, the Specialty Merchandising Corp. (as seen on TV) is
located in California.

I dealt with SMC (Specialty Merchandising Corp.) for a while and although I wasn't with them that long (about 8 months) had little (if any) problem.

I've even been considering getting back into it. I'd even advise others to look into it.

Take a look at the negative report and see for yourself - it may not even be the same company. In fact, I'd guess they have nothing to do with
Specialty Merchandise Corp.

On a final note, please READ the tips on writing comments. A lot of the messages have no capitals at the beginning of a sentence or is there a space between each sentence. Those errors make a message really hard to read as does using chat room abbreviations (whatev, btw, etc). In fact, they tend to make you think a child wrote it.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#5 Consumer Comment

This whole ripoff nonsense is insane!

AUTHOR: Lauren - (U.S.A.)

I'm a 43yr old woman that has been a member of SMC since my mother got her membership back in the mid 1970's. She paid I think $150 for it back then. She was going through a phase, looking for something she could do from home. Far sighted for the times. She'd also gotten into Fuller Brush Co. and some Health Food Co. But it was SMC she stuck with.

I sold some of the items at my High School for Valentine's Day, Sweetheart's Day and the usual holidays. I made some good money for a 15yr old. Plus I offered mushy poems and notes to go with the items.

Later, my mom stopped bothering with SMC. She'd been a factory worker most of her adult life and it was taking its toll. So I took over the membership over the next few years.

Now I may not like the changes that have been happening in the last 5 yrs with the SMC website. Things are fairly outdated and they keep phasing out the items that sell the best for me.

But they are in the process in the last year of trying to bring the site up to the 21st century. Granted, anything like this is going to be buggy for a period of time. But we got through Y2K with only a few hiccups here and there. I'm sure that SMC will handle whatever bumps show up along the way.

They've added a Community Message Area to the services. This business is huge! Do you really thing that the staff can answer EVERYONE's little stumble in a 24hr period? That would mean hiring a huge staff and that would raise the white prices for the members. Not a good idea.

So the Member's Community Area is for members to assist one another with problems. Sort of the way people should act in the first place...you know? Helping each other when they're given the chance to do so, without looking for a way to get something out of it.

Now I will agree that the market can get very saturated with SMC products. But most don't realize that there are copy-cats out there that are trying to pass off cheap junk as SMC items too! Some of those fake Hong Tze items are what hurt my online store. The real Hong Tze items have a nice weight and you can feel the difference from the fake ones.

SMC imports the items they offer, they pay for the warehouses, the shipping, the duty on the items that are imported. They cover the costs of staff and buildings so the members can just sell the products and collect their share of the profit. No inventory, dropshipping and personally I've not had any problem getting ahold of someone at SMC "during their business hours".

I've sold very little in comparison to lots of others. I'm disabled now and looking forward to selling more. But SMC is only one dropshipper I use. I don't stick all SMC things into a shop and expect it to take off. You have to do the same thing you would with any business. You have to plan, get license and any other permits you need. You have to make a business plan, do marketing research and actually treat it like a business.

Those that succeed with SMC did their homework and treated this as a real business. They didn't whine and complain when they didn't make thousands of dollars. They knew that a business needs time to grow, that it takes real work and planning to succeed. And some people have made over many years...millions of dollars!

This isn't a get rich with no work scheme. This is a chance to build a business with a very low overhead, that offers many different business models to try out. SMC is flexible, they don't charge monthly fees like some dropshippers. They offer catalogs, support and online ordering. You can even check for inventory reports online.

SMC helped me learn the ropes, when I earned enough to expand I added other reliable and steady dropshippers to add to my product line. I'm not interested in selling "just" SMC products and no one is limiting you to do so.

I think the whiners should stop making all the noise and try working or at least planning out what they should do. Not complain that they haven't made tons of money when they don't even give the business a chance to work out.

I plan on continuing my SMC line, I just wish they'd offer more items that are easy to ship, like beauty/health items and less lawn/garden items. Who wants to pay for shipping on big fountains and wood patio furniture? More candles, beauty bars and bath stuff...and toss in more office supplies. They need to look more at decore and consumable items.

Ok I'm done...

Faithful SMC member since 1970's!
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#6 Consumer Comment

Rick - Lake Orion, Michigan are you an idiot or what?

AUTHOR: Charles - (Saint Kitts and Nevis)

Rick - Lake Orion, Michigan are you an idiot or what?

I cusy copied and paste the entire listing from the BBB - Since you seem like you can't find it on you own, I give you the link, ot maybe you thing we all here have made that up too.


Interesting readings at


and Rick, since you wanted to be so smug with the first poster, I giving you a little in return
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#7 Consumer Suggestion

all the facts

AUTHOR: Jennifer - (U.S.A.)

Yes, on the bbb site, smc does have an A rating - on ONE listing. There are three listings shown. ONE has an A rating, ONE has a C rating, and the other shows suspended. The suspended one is listed first. These are three reports on the same company. So saying they are in good standing is false. Two out of three entries say otherwise. My guess is that the one that shows an A rating was paid for.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#8 Consumer Comment

BBB report says otherwise

AUTHOR: Rick - (U.S.A.)

I went to the BBB website, and looked it up. They have an A rating, and are in very good standing. It don't say anything about their ads being false.

I've never had a problem with smc, or getting in touch with them. Some times there's a long hold, but that's because, people like me, are placing orders, that actually get out there and sell.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#9 Consumer Comment

Well the BBB Suspended SMC's Membership for FALSE ADVERTISING

AUTHOR: Charles - (Saint Kitts and Nevis)

The Better Business Bureau
4428 N. 12th Street
Phoenix, AZ 85014-4585

As reflected in the Phoenix BBB on: 02/08/06 at 8:54 PM PST
BBB Reliability Report

This information is not authorized for sales or marketing use.

Oprime Aqu Para Espaol

4041 N. Central Avenue, #B100
Phoenix, AZ 85012

The Better Business Bureau reports on members and non-members. Membership in the BBB is voluntary. Members must meet and maintain BBB standards. If a company is a member of the BBB, it is stated in this report.

Original Business Start Date: 01/01/99
Type of Entity: Corporation
Principal: Kevin Biggs, VP Sales & Operations
Phone Number: 602-308-2700
Fax Number: 602-294-0763
Web Site Address: www.smcorp.com
Type of Business: Mail Order & Catalog Shopping


This company's membership in the BBB has been suspended due to a failure to cooperate with the BBB on advertising matters.

The company responded to the advertising matter; however, we are currently in discussions with the company about their advertising.


Any complaints processed by the Bureau in its three-year reporting period have been resolved. The number and type of complaints are not unusual for a company in this industry.

When evaluating complaint information, please consider the company's size and volume of business. The number of complaints filed against the company may not be as important as the type of complaints and how the company handled them.

Closed Complaints
Number of complaints processed by the BBB in last 36 Months: 6
Number of complaints processed by the BBB in last 12 months: 4

Complaints Concerned
Product Quality Issues: 1
Outcome of the complaint -
Resolved: 1

Refund or Exchange Issues: 3
Outcome of all complaints -
Resolved: 2; Company made good faith effort to Resolve:

Customer Service Issues: 1
Outcome of the complaint -
Resolved: 1

Credit or Billing Issues: 1
Outcome of the complaint -
Resolved: 1


This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. The Bureau encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.


This company also does business as:


The BBB requested the company substantiate the following earnings claim: "Earn $600-$2000 in training." The company responded by providing substantiation to the earning claims; however the BBB initated a further request regarding the advertised claim on their website stating: "Want to make an extra $100 a week, a thousand, or maybe you would like to make millions!"

The company has responded by substantiating the training earnings claim and stating their website will be modified to discontinue the references to earnings of millions of dollars.


The home office is located in Chattworth, California.


An FTC rule requires a company to ship mail order merchandise within 30 days of receiving the order unless another time for shipment was clearly stated in the offer. If the company is unable to ship within the 30 days or specified time, it must notify the customer who may either agree to the delay or cancel the order. If the customer cancels, the company must refund any money paid within 7 days of receipt of the cancellation notice or send a credit notice showing that the account has been cleared of the charges. If the customer does not respond to the delay or cancel notice, the company has an additional 30 days in which to ship the merchandise. Any extensions require a repeat of the delay/cancel procedure. This rule DOES NOT APPLY to telephone orders charged to a credit card, to C.O.D. orders or to orders which the customer is not billed until shipment is made. Some mail order services are not covered; photo-finishing, seed and growing plants, magazine orders and certain book, record and tape clubs.

REPORT DATE: 01/19/2006

COPYRIGHT DATE: 2006 The Better Business Bureau

The information in this report has either been provided by the company, or has been compiled by the Bureau from other sources.


As a matter of policy, the Better Business Bureau does not endorse any product, service, or company. BBB reports generally cover a three-year reporting period, and are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information contained in this report is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy. Reports are subject to change at any time.
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?