• Report: #430403

Complaint Review: Summit Merchant Solutions, Certified Payment Processing, TMG

Thank You

Read how Ripoff Report saves consumers millions.

  • Submitted: Tue, March 03, 2009
  • Updated: Tue, May 22, 2012

  • Reported By:Jacksonville Florida
Summit Merchant Solutions, Certified Payment Processing, TMG
cpphr.com, summitmerchant.com Richardson, Texas U.S.A.

Summit Merchant Solutions, Certified Payment Processing, TMG Misleading Employment Description Richardson Texas

*UPDATE Employee: Strength in Numbers, Lets take them down

*UPDATE EX-employee responds: RE: Potential New Employee

*General Comment: potential new employee

*General Comment: Mark from palm coast

*Consumer Comment: This thread has me worried

*UPDATE Employee: Read your report is absolute is not true.

*UPDATE Employee: This is what sales is all about!

*UPDATE Employee: YOU MUST BE KIDDING ME!

*Consumer Comment: future employee

*UPDATE Employee: So sorry to hear that...

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

I was contacted by a recruiter from TMG regarding a Merchant Solutions Consultant position. It was explained to me that I would call upon pre-set appointments - businesses that were interested in credit card equipment/services and other merchant services.

After a brief conversation on the phone, I was sent paperwork to fill out and return. I did, and the next day I was offered the position. I was told that training would be held online all day this past Monday, and it was. In one day, they covered equipment, services, and costs. They also reiterated that all appointment would be pre-set, and that the merchant would be wanting to meet with us. The actual presentation was gone over once, with a one time role-play; hardly enough to prepare a person to be ready for the field. However, being a past Sales Manager, Sales Trainer, and Sales Representative with several years of experience, I believed that I could work my way through a few appointments until I was comfortable. Soon after the online training completed, the Sales Manager/Team Leader called, and asked that I not pitch the actual sale on the first few appointments, and to let him until I was better prepared. That actually made sense to me.

Well today I ran my first appointment. You are required to call in every morning between 9:00am and 9:30am to receive your first appointment. Failure to call in between that time every day disqualifies you for leads that day, and most likely the following business day as well. I called in at 9:00am sharp, and was placed on hold for at least five minutes before I the call was disconnected. I called back, and the same thing happened. The third time I was successful; however, my assigned Sales Manager/Team Leader wasn't there, and someone else gave me my appointment. I confirmed the information that was given to me, and asked if the merchant was expecting me. I was told yes, and at 10:00am.

When I arrived, lo and behold, the merchant had NO idea who Summit Merchant Solutions was, nor did they have any idea of an appointment.

Also required is to call from the merchant's office, and speak from a script informing the Sales Manager/Team Leader of what the merchant has and has not, so when they speak to the merchant they know what to offer. When I called from the merchant's location, again I was placed on hold for several minutes, disconnected, and had to call back two additional times before I finally gave up. The merchant was very patient, but had an appointment and had to leave. I then tried to call from my car, and again was placed on hold several times, never speaking to my Sales Manager/Team Leader. The person I spoke to offered to help, but at this point I had had enough, and wanted my Sales Manager/Team Leader to call me back.

Bottom line: this is a poorly run organization. I cannot believe I allowed myself to believe that this could be a legitimate operation, but being unemployed I guess I simply suspended my disbelief. I've never heard of being hired without an interview - that should have been my first red flag/warning.

The "training" is incomplete to say the least. They will tell you that you will no more than any merchant once you complete the training, but to be truly prepared to discuss a merchant's needs, a so-called "Merchant Solutions Consultant" should be given more training so they can truly provide a value-add service.

And most important of all - do NOT believe that your appointments will be pre-set. Yes, I only went on one appointment, but that is all it took to let me know that it was all a lie. The so-called call center is in or near Dallas, TX (I think Richardson), so everything they say is based on CST or CDT (Central Time).

Please do not allow yourself to be duped by this organization. I know times are tough especially if you are unemployed and looking for a job. They will promise you incredible commission opportunities, and perhaps if you get in front of someone that actually wants to talk about Merchant Solutions you may be able to sell something. In conclusion, unless you are very patient and have acceptable low expectations about what your employer guarantees and/or offers, then stay away from Summit Merchant Solutions, Certified Payment Processing, and/or TMG.

Aggravated & tired of bs
Jacksonville, Florida
U.S.A.

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 03/03/2009 02:46 PM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/Summit-Merchant-Solutions-Certified-Payment-Processing-TMG/Richardson-Texas/Summit-Merchant-Solutions-Certified-Payment-Processing-TMG-Misleading-Employment-Descrip-430403. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Summit Merchant Solutions, Certified Payment Processing, TMG

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
0Author 10Consumer 0Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 UPDATE Employee

Strength in Numbers, Lets take them down

AUTHOR: stopcpp360 - (United States of America)

Most Unethical, Unprofessional, Unorganized bunch of liars I have ever worked for They promise big money and a rewarding career. I have actually spent more time and effort on the money they owe me.
 
I  have 100% conversion, yes they are not true appointments.  Think of them as "follow up
appointments"  They make a call to a company, and they are not there or say no, then you show up.  I didn't mind this.  I figured it wouldn't be arranged appointments.  I surpassed that obstacle and made all sales given to me. 

When it came time for payment....they didn't deliver.  The talked to me like a used car salesman.  I wasted time, and money with this company because I had to use my phone and ran over 600 minutes in one month, and 300$ in gas, just so they would only pay me a portion of my sales owed 3 weeks late.  I still haven't received my money for training or my second sale.  

Advice is to stay far away from them.  I want them out of business, personally.  I can't express it enough.  I had to drop two of my college courses because they would not pay me, and i would not work without being paid.

"If it sounds too good to be true, than it usually is" I'm an idealist, and the above saying is correct for these money hungry vultures.  My eyes are sore, by all the responses on these and other websites. Please respond to my email with brief information. I want to get a
large group of mislead employees to send to the Attorney Gen, Texas Wages Commission, Department of Labor, BBB, and as many organizations as we can touch

If anyone has had similar experiences, please send an e-mail to:
(((REDACTED)))

 I want to combine names for a lawsuit, and put these fraudulent companies out of business.

Also, please see my full report at
http://www.ripoffreport.com/Update_03f3c.aspx


CLICK here to see why Rip-off Report, as a matter of policy, deleted either a phone number, link or e-mail address from this Report.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 UPDATE EX-employee responds

RE: Potential New Employee

AUTHOR: PktChg - (USA)

I hope with all my being that the new year has found you with employment and NOT with CPP/TMG/TransTech/Etc. If you have taken the job and have already moved, I wish you well. You will have wasted a lot of money for an empty promise. If you have not moved as yet, RUN from this company!! ?I was a trainer there for 3 years and you will not be successful.

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#3 General Comment

potential new employee

AUTHOR: A - (U.S.A.)

I received a phone call from a recruiter yesterday regarding relocating to Tampa for a sales position.  I have found plenty of great information regarding CPP, as well as plenty of complaints and not so great information.  Picking up my life and moving is a huge commitment, and obviously not something I would like to do only to find out that that there is no money to make.  Please let me know how things go and of course any other opinions.  My move would be in January if I accepted the position
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#4 General Comment

Mark from palm coast

AUTHOR: wesleymiller - (United States of America)

MARK! From palm coast.. I live in palm coast as well and was interested in talking with you about CPP and your success with the company, as an employee of CPP your insight would be invaluable to me as a potential candidate for this growing industry.

my username at mail dot com, anyone is welcome to contact me with their success stories with CPP and as far as the original poster goes, this is sales. Things happen that are beyond your control and you quit on the first lead? I can see after a week of constant plugging away at it with no results, it is unfortunate that you gave up so easily, the payment processing industry as a whole is virtually recession proof if the company you represent is willing to undercut the competition.

I will train tomorrow for this position, as a former business owner, subcontractor, and prior merchant processor myself, I can see the potential here. Even if the leads are mostly dead as so many posters here allege. You can generate business yourself and as long as the product is solid, you create the value and market it properly to your prospective clients, the commissions will come rolling in.

I have sold kirby vacuum cleaners door to door before, talk about a scam. No leads involved there, no shame either, Have you ever gotten down on your knees and begged someone to let you clean their carpet? And then turned around and sold them an $1800 vacuum cleaner after properly marketing it to them, making more money in an hour than most people do in a week?

Sales is hard, you have to be able to overcome objections, take control of the situation, demonstrate a need for the product, create value for the prospective client and ask for their business. Some people just don't have the balls to go out there and make it happen. If anyone can succeed with this company, I definitely can and will.

I will be making a post back here, with my experiences with the company, any sales i've made, anything else pertinent to this rip-off-report, except the next post will be either as a successful employee or ex employee. Look forward to a definitive answer as to whether this company is actually a rip-off or not.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#5 Consumer Comment

This thread has me worried

AUTHOR: ithinktfiam - (United States of America)

I recently saw a CPP job posting on Hotjobs. I submitted and they only asked minimal information. A couple of days later, I heard from a guy who said he was an HR manager. However, it clearly sounded like he was coming from a call center boiler room, it was easier to hear lots of other voices making pitches at the same time.

Still, I need work, I told him to send me the further information he had and then received three emails. One with login/pwd, a second with the url for further application, and a third with a long email with a brief overview of the company, its sales and the initial process.

When I went to apply, the folks wanted my SSN and drivers license number before the application was put in. Not knowing enough about the company, I was unprepared to do so.

The large email described how all the appointments were preset, but then said "We have 1,400 pre-set appointments being set and only about 30% are being touched in your area." Huh? That implies that they're setting appointments and nobody is showing up to 70% of them. That means folks won't expect us to show up and won't be prepared, leading to the original poster's surprise at his prospect's surprise.

I then decided to go out to the company's web site. Its product and service pages have no details about the products and services. Its "about" page has no real details about the company, its management or its financials. That concerns me.

I did check the Dallas BBB, and it shows they have no complaints in the previous 36 months, while other folks in the industry do, and that they've been members since 1993, so that's a positive point for them.

Finally, I searched the net for reviews of them, and this page was one of the ones I found. The description of being on hold multiple times to get appointments and to talk to the office while at a prospect do not paint a good picture. Neither presents a dedicated and professional sales setup. That had me worried. Then I read the replies, and my worries escalated.

First, it's hard to believe so many "successful" sales people have such terrible grammar and spelling. Second, I see that none of those people addressed the complaint of the original poster. They either whined that he complained or claimed that he's not a sales person because he couldn't reach the office and the "pre-set appointment" wasn't preset. An appropriate and professional response would have been to admit there were technical problems growth pains or some reason for the long hold times and disconnects.

A skilled sales person knows how to address problems without blaming the customer. The single complaint would have just cautioned me and made me ask more questions of the company. It would be a warning, not something that keeps me from talking to them. However, the multiple replies really scare me. I suggest anyone else considering the firm be very skeptical and careful, as that's what the replies suggest I should do.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#6 UPDATE Employee

Read your report is absolute is not true.

AUTHOR: Employee - (USA)

1. I think sales job is not for you. Reading your report about our company is misleading you. That is totally wrong. I just let you know about this company is really helping out of the hard situation during the worse economy. I thank you Lord. I still am making at least 10k per month. Last year I have the whole month vacation. I could not believe that I could reach that much income during this time of economy.


2. PROFESSIONAL SALES IS NOT FOR EVERYONE. Our company is very large and we have over 25 teams and each team have about 15-20 sales consultants in the United States. Even I am been with the company right on the year now. Every time I call in I still get place on hold, just be patients, if my team leader is not available, there is the next team leaders will be helped me right away. PATIEN IS THE VITURE. Busy is always happening there, that is meant the company is doing GREAT and always ACTIVE every minute. You quoted that: "I finally gave up... I have enough..." it's telling me that Professional Sale is not right for you.


3. Our company is providing a vehicle or the instrument for you and me to make rich. WE MAKE MONEY AND MERCHANTS SAVE MORE MONEY. That is the good place I want to be. You have to understand, having daily appointments is a blessing for me in the first couples months. Why? My sales team leaders will confirm every my appointments before I meet the merchants. I am so sorry for your first appointment was not going well. Remember most the merchant is the business person and they always busy, sometimes they even forgot their own appointment that they have been made with others. That is normal. You need to refresh the merchants mind by calling our head-quarter to find out when the appointment was made. Then the merchant and you will hear this: "Oh, I remember that now" Through this process, I have learned so much how to be a good sales consultant.


4. Let me give you a short analogy. There is many people buy computers at the BESTBUY store. Some just uses computer for playing games, others uses computer for internet, and others USES computer for MAKEING A BIG BUCKS OUT OF IT. Which one would you consider yourself be?


5. I just let you know that I am also working in Jacksonville as well. There is million opportunity in that areas. There are quite a few sales consultants in this city. Because I cant handle all my growing business too fast, I myself have to recruit my friend join in our TMG team few months ago, and the first month he is already super star. The first paycheck is over 8k. So please do not blame others. Dont downplay others by your failing. There is always someone to spill the beans isnt it?


6. This a great Job ever for me. I am very blessing through TMG. My customer is getting large. I dont have to go to any appointments after couple months, I understand the processing to making happen through my own appointments, Now the merchants from nowhere in the United States called me and want to sign up with our service that I can get at least few times a week. I work only fewer hours than my job before. All my appointment is 100% self generated. My regular is 5-6 hours a day from Monday through Friday. My goal this year is reaching up to 140k.


7. Sorry to hear that Professional Sales Job is not for you. You just let your success career and your good opportunity gone by in your life. Good luck to you my friend and take care.

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#7 UPDATE Employee

This is what sales is all about!

AUTHOR: Timvet4thid - (U.S.A.)

I have worked with this company for going on a month now and have worked in sales for many years.  I asure you that they do conferm the appointments.  But alot of the time what you run into in outside sales is the buisness owners will change there mind once you get there and act like they new nothing about it, or just say there are not interested.  This happens alot.  Sometime the buisness owners will even say that the owners are not there when infact they are the owners.  Outside sales is hard and you have to know your stuff to get the sales.  I the month that I have worked for the company which true does have other comany's like TMG that are sister comany's to them I have made $3800.00 in commision.   Granted I have worked my butt of for those sales and a few of them were self generated.  You have to have exsperience befor getting involved in outside sales.  I am srry to hear that things did not work out for you but one thing you have to get use to in sales is being told "NO"!  You may even go a whole week without making a sale but that day you make a sale it is all worth it.  Yes the company does have other names but each sister company does a different job.  Some deal with bigger buiz  and TMG for example who I work for deals with smaller buisnesses like mom and pop stores and one man operations.  Each does it's part to help the company grow.  I am very pleased with the company and they are very busy.  That is why you are put on hold alot.  But most employees are happy we only have a 20% turnover rate and that is because the individuals hired did not have sales exsperienc.   I wish you luck in your next venture.  Srry It did not work out for you.

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#8 UPDATE Employee

YOU MUST BE KIDDING ME!

AUTHOR: Tmg-albuquerque - (U.S.A.)

I was hired by TMG in early May, of this year and have found that this is one of the BEST companies in existance. I, on the other hand, have chosen to provide my own leads, as NO ONE can deliver this type of sale to you, on a platter.

Certainly, you were told that you would be provided leads, however, you were never guaranteed that they would just lay down for you and sign your contract. This is called SALES, my man! If I were an owner of this company, you would be facing some pretty serious charges.

Don't downplay our sucess, it's not very professional!
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#9 Consumer Comment

future employee

AUTHOR: Toast - (U.S.A.)

im supposed to be doing the online class for this tomorrow and having appointments on thursday i was wondering if you could give me more info about this if you could call me at (((ROR redacted))) or just email me at (((ROR redacted))) i would appreciate it because if it doesnt work i need an alternate means of employment

CLICK here to see why Rip-off Report, as a matter of policy, deleted either a phone number, link or e-mail address from this Report.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#10 UPDATE Employee

So sorry to hear that...

AUTHOR: Mark - (U.S.A.)

I am in the daytona area, I am sorry you had such difficulties your first day.
I am stunned that you would allow a few holds to get in the way of YOUR success.
With a city the size of Jacksonville you have a wealth of opportunity in your area.

please read my post at:
New TransTech Merchant Group/ TMGTransTech Merchant Group/ TMG/ CPP Worked for them know the real story!!!! Carrollton Texas

Hopefully it will enlighten...

Blessings,
Mark
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.



Ripoff Report Legal Directory
suspected