• Report: #314443

Complaint Review: Sunset Group/Royal Fishermen's S.A. DE C.V.

  • Submitted: Mon, March 03, 2008
  • Updated: Tue, May 26, 2009

  • Reported By:Winchester Massachusetts
Sunset Group/Royal Fishermen's S.A. DE C.V.
Bahia Del Espiritu Santo No. 9 Playacar Fase 1 Playa Del Carmen, Q. Roo, Mexico, Mexico

Sunset Group - Royal Fishermen's S.A. DE C.V. Royal Fishermen's, Sunset Lagoon, Sunset Royal, Sunset Group, Time Share Fraud Playa Del CarmenPlaya Del Carmen, Q. Roo, Mexico

*General Comment: I was scammed too

*Consumer Comment: sorry to hear

*Consumer Comment: sorry to hear

*Consumer Comment: sorry to hear

*Consumer Comment: sorry to hear

*Consumer Comment: too bad

*Consumer Comment: Down payment

*Author of original report: UPDATE

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

My family and I were on vacation in Mexico 12/28/07 1/08/08 and were victims of time share fraud. The scam started as we arrived in Mexico and passed customs at the Cancun International Airport, when we were ushered by a very officially dressed woman to Mauricio Flores, a person sitting behind an information stand, who promised us discount on tour in return for us attending a time share presentation at Sunset Fishermens. We agreed to attend the presentation.

Next day we arrived at Sunset Fishermens and before we met the salesman we were taken to an isolated balcony where several Sunset representatives asked us questions and examined our passports and credit cards with the intensity we had not encountered even when passing customs. It felt more like an interrogation than a prelude to a time share presentation.

We were then introduced to salesman Mark Myers, who represented himself as an American citizen. He showed us around the resort and then we were taken to a room where he offered us different time share packages, until after 6 hours and a lot of pressure we agreed on a particular one. They brought out champagne for us to drink and then they gave us the paperwork to sign, after that they charged our credit card for the down payment.

That night as we got back to the resort where we were staying we began to look at the contract in more detail. We found numerous omissions of what was discussed and promised and also found numerous legal flaws in the contract itself. Example: The name of the developer signing the contract does not appear in the contract. At this moment we decided to cancel the contract for a full refund, as it was our right to do so, in accordance with one of the contracts clauses.

The next morning Mark Myers called us and we told him that we decided to terminate the contract within 5 business days of contract signing for full refund of the money we paid like the clause in the contract allowed for. Mark told us that we could not cancel since we signed special contract revoking this right to cancel within 5 business days. The very existence of this special contract is doubtful, as the Sunset Group had never given a copy of it to us.

Suspicious of the way we were manipulated and deceived, we decided to do some research online about the Sunset Group. We found numerous other Rip Off reports and webpages describing the different machinations, deceit, and fraud that the Sunset Group was committing, which confirmed our decision to cancel the contract right away.

Online we found the Mexican Consumer Protection Agency (PROFECO) and the website said that buyer has the legal right to cancel the contract within 5 business days of contract signing for full refund in accordance with Mexican Consumer Protection Laws. We also found out from the PROFECO website that it was illegal to waive the right to cancel within 5 business days, what Mark had told us on the telephone in the morning was in fact a LIE, and it just reaffirmed the kind of company that we were dealing with.

The next business day, January 2, 2008, we sent termination letters both through registered mail and email to Sunset Fishermens, which was within 5 business days from contract signing.

Contract clause and PROFECO site state that time share company must return the amount paid within 15 business days of contract termination, however 15 business days passed without us receiving refund nor any response from the Sunset Group.

Then on February 5, 2008 we got a very strange email from Jennifer Snyder at Sunset, where she asked us to contact her without specifying what for. We wrote back stating that we canceled contract within 5 business days of contract signing and still had not received refund that was already overdue. Subsequent responses from Jennifer did not address the issue of the refund and she was finding excuses to stall time without resolving the issue.

By this point we know what to expect from these people and we will do everything to get our money back, notify others of this fraud using all available resources on the Internet, and notify the US and Mexican government agencies.

Yuri
Winchester, Massachusetts
U.S.A.

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 03/03/2008 09:38 PM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/Sunset-GroupRoyal-Fishermens-SA-DE-CV/Playa-Del-Carmen-Q-Roo-Mexico-77710/Sunset-Group-Royal-Fishermens-SA-DE-CV-Royal-Fishermens-Sunset-Lagoon-Sunset-Roy-314443. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report.

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Sunset Group/Royal Fishermen's S.A. DE C.V.

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
0Author 8Consumer 0Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 General Comment

I was scammed too

AUTHOR: ThomasR - ()

Sunset Group, along with Sandos Playacar and Mayan Palace, has a terrible reputation regarding of timeshares. I recently traveled to Playa del Carmen and I got stuck with a Royal Elite timeshare, so far  I haven´t received anything of what they told to me that I would receive for my membership. I am know working with profeco to get out of this. 

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 Consumer Comment

sorry to hear

AUTHOR: Selena - (U.S.A.)

your experience definitely sounds different than a friend of mine. She owns a timeshare with Sunset and never had any problems. She goes there every year. I asked if she knows someone in particular to help you out but she doesn't. You should try calling member services and i'm sure they'll help you out. Good luck.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#3 Consumer Comment

sorry to hear

AUTHOR: Selena - (U.S.A.)

your experience definitely sounds different than a friend of mine. She owns a timeshare with Sunset and never had any problems. She goes there every year. I asked if she knows someone in particular to help you out but she doesn't. You should try calling member services and i'm sure they'll help you out. Good luck.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#4 Consumer Comment

sorry to hear

AUTHOR: Selena - (U.S.A.)

your experience definitely sounds different than a friend of mine. She owns a timeshare with Sunset and never had any problems. She goes there every year. I asked if she knows someone in particular to help you out but she doesn't. You should try calling member services and i'm sure they'll help you out. Good luck.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#5 Consumer Comment

sorry to hear

AUTHOR: Selena - (U.S.A.)

your experience definitely sounds different than a friend of mine. She owns a timeshare with Sunset and never had any problems. She goes there every year. I asked if she knows someone in particular to help you out but she doesn't. You should try calling member services and i'm sure they'll help you out. Good luck.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#6 Consumer Comment

too bad

AUTHOR: Leannes33 - (U.S.A.)

It's too bad. you should have kept the timeshare and just sold it, but it has some great benefits. I've been to royal sunset many times and it's definitely not a rip off. They have some of the most attractive suites i've stayed in.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#7 Consumer Comment

Down payment

AUTHOR: Timeshareholder - (U.S.A.)

I suggest use of a credit card for the down payment. Fight the charge when it comes in if you cancel timely.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#8 Author of original report

UPDATE

AUTHOR: Yuri - (U.S.A.)

Jennifer Snyder a Sunset Representative contacted me by telephone and told that I should get my refund within the next couple of days. I will post if it was empty promises or their real intention to resolve the issue.
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
X